iRobot Scooba experience

NRlover

Robotic Vacuum Cleaner review in Straits Time

Hi, I m new in this forum, thinking of buying a robot vacuum, anyone of you have the review posted in Straits Time few months back? I will be great if anyone of u can share with me. Thanks

tidalstorm

I have a roomba 380 that I bought locally. After using for 1.5 yrs, it seems that the battery (or related PCB) got problem... cos I fully charged the roomba (greed light in the battery indicator), then when I turn it on to make it start vacuuming for 5 secs, the battery led showed red and refuses to move even when I pressed the start button...

Anyone knows what could be the problem? Is the battery koyak? The battery sold by the local distr is every ex leh... Dun wan to buy a battery and end up it is not the problem then I pengz liao...

Please advise....

PS: Roomba is really good..... but expensive!

uno_bliss

I have a roomba 380 that I bought locally. After using for 1.5 yrs, it seems that the battery (or related PCB) got problem... cos I fully charged the roomba (greed light in the battery indicator), then when I turn it on to make it start vacuuming for 5 secs, the battery led showed red and refuses to move even when I pressed the start button...

Anyone knows what could be the problem? Is the battery koyak? The battery sold by the local distr is every ex leh... Dun wan to buy a battery and end up it is not the problem then I pengz liao...

Please advise....

Tidal, if battery was working fine one day, and koyak the next day, then something wrong with PCB.
If working fine, but u shelved it for >3 mths, then battery is probably repairable. I've repaired such case including battery that leaked.:eek:
If battery performance had gradually dropped, that's normal, just like all rechargeable appliances that's used regularly, eg. mobile phone, laptop, PDA.

I carry various types of iRobot batteries: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html?_nkw=battery+-330

U can email me unobliss@yahoo.com

absoluthunk

I'd like to get a roomba for my 3-room HDB flat (around 74 sqm in total) with ceramic/homogeneous tiles. I don't have any pet. Which model is recommended?

And I don't want to go through the trouble of getting the transformer for the US set. What are my options?
1. get it from the local distributor/retailer
2. get the modified set from sellers on ebay singapore
Any other options? what are the differences between different options in terms of warranty coverage? Which retailer is cheaper?

Thanks for your advice!:s13:

uno_bliss

I'd like to get a roomba for my 3-room HDB flat (around 74 sqm in total) with ceramic/homogeneous tiles. I don't have any pet. Which model is recommended?

And I don't want to go through the trouble of getting the transformer for the US set. What are my options?
1. get it from the local distributor/retailer
2. get the modified set from sellers on ebay singapore
Any other options? what are the differences between different options in terms of warranty coverage? Which retailer is cheaper?

Thanks for your advice!:s13:
U can consider basic Roomba units which i'm selling: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html

Jubooo

Please advise....

Isn'y scooba 380 more expensive than roomba? :) Your battery may have suffered from 1 or more bad cells which leads to premature death and charges to full earlier than the other good cells.

I'd like to get a roomba for my 3-room HDB flat (around 74 sqm in total) with ceramic/homogeneous tiles. I don't have any pet. Which model is recommended?.........

http://shop.ebay.com.sg/robovac8/m.html

tekster

Tidal, if battery was working fine one day, and koyak the next day, then something wrong with PCB.
If working fine, but u shelved it for >3 mths, then battery is probably repairable. I've repaired such case including battery that leaked.:eek:
If battery performance had gradually dropped, that's normal, just like all rechargeable appliances that's used regularly, eg. mobile phone, laptop, PDA.

I carry various types of iRobot batteries: http://shop.ebay.com.sg/uno_bliss/m.html?_nkw=battery+-330

U can email me unobliss@yahoo.com

yea man, uno_bliss repaired my faulty battery. works really great now. even more charge than before. upz for the man.

uno_bliss

yea man, uno_bliss repaired my faulty battery. works really great now. even more charge than before. upz for the man.
Tekster, thanks for the compliment.:s8:

Just to clarify for other forum readers, battery repair is not performing miracles during this Xmas season.:angel:
It involves accurately measuring battery cell capacity using computerised charger/discharger, then re-build battery pack using matching cells.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=47702246&postcount=6938

Some of us may have seen "Miracle Battery Revival Guides" from US eBay promising that one could re-animate dead corpse a la Frankenstein.:s16:
For your own safety, I recommend not trying those methods cos a 12V car battery contains enough current to set a car on fire.
http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=45333802&postcount=6742

Karina

I had sucessfully revived 2 batteries using that method that Jubooo mentioned. It's so simple and only takes a few seconds to revive 1 battery. Both mine and my mum's batteries are running for more than 6 months now and still going strong. Initially it runs for less than 1 min and just died there, it really is a miracle!!!

uno_bliss

I had sucessfully revived 2 batteries using that method that Jubooo mentioned. It's so simple and only takes a few seconds to revive 1 battery. Both mine and my mum's batteries are running for more than 6 months now and still going strong. Initially it runs for less than 1 min and just died there, it really is a miracle!!!
Karina, thanks for the input.
BTW, ur last post was 11 mths ago.:s22:

kun1he2

Sorry, what method might that be? Is it to hold dock and spot buttons for 10 secs to reset the roomba?

Anyways, my recertified half year old roomba 560 battery now lasts 85 mins, which is insufficient to complete a mission with 2 lighthouses.

Besides the abovementioned dock+spot reset - is there any way to force start a 16-hour refresh charge?

Jubooo

Yo Jason, great to hear that the battery is working for you :) Mine already went through a second revival :s13:

I forgot to mention that this method does not work for the roomba which you buy from me for your second storey, the battery type is different. You will have to replace the bad cell/s for this type.

Jubooo

Sorry, what method might that be? Is it to hold dock and spot buttons for 10 secs to reset the roomba?

Anyways, my recertified half year old roomba 560 battery now lasts 85 mins, which is insufficient to complete a mission with 2 lighthouses.

Besides the abovementioned dock+spot reset - is there any way to force start a 16-hour refresh charge?

You will need a 12-24V battery source to do this. Firstly you have to check whether your battery is a NiCd or NiHM. It only works with the black 2200 mAh NiCd battery.

Roomba will monitor the battery voltage and determines whether to go through a refresh charge or not so you cannot force it.

You might like to stop using the lighthouse as 85 mins run time is good enough to clean the whole house randomly. Try it and see if it works for your layout. If you schedule it to run daily, the odds are your house will be pretty well maintained even if roomba miss a little here and there.

kimsim

Hi everyone here.

May I asking it irobot where can buy & How much ?
Have any year end promotion now?

Thanks to advice.

Karina

Yo Jason, great to hear that the battery is working for you :) Mine already went through a second revival :s13:

I forgot to mention that this method does not work for the roomba which you buy from me for your second storey, the battery type is different. You will have to replace the bad cell/s for this type.

Bro, I'm Jackson lah. Haha you still remember me :s12: I did the same method as you did on my mother's battery with my car mechanic :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.