iRobot Scooba experience

bakasa2002

Tekster, the difference is in the supplier. You got your 330 from woot right? iRobot is different especially in accessories.

As you know the price of a shipping a robot is pretty decent but I was once slap with a US$150 shipping cost for a 560. That's more than US$100 for shipping "Air"

Wooh ... I think you will love the 'Air' packs that they use in the US, very good for protecting delicate stuff ... Certainly not the irobot. lolx!

tekster

Wooh ... I think you will love the 'Air' packs that they use in the US, very good for protecting delicate stuff ... Certainly not the irobot. lolx!

yea, love those super gigantic bubbles. feels like i can use them as pillows. hahah...

tekster

Tekster, the difference is in the supplier. You got your 330 from woot right? iRobot is different especially in accessories.

As you know the price of a shipping a robot is pretty decent but I was once slap with a US$150 shipping cost for a 560. That's more than US$100 for shipping "Air"

they always send me in different forms and package le. but with all 3 of my irobots, no extra padding. just one time with extra brown/corrugated box.

uno_bliss

Alternative to iRobot Scooba Enzyme

Few days back I bought Envizyme floor cleaner $6.8 from NTUC.
Wrote a bit about it here: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showpost.php?p=56335409&postcount=8096

Envizyme.jpg

It's clear & non-viscous, contrary to what I expected from concentrated detergent (eg. Mama Lemon).

I used ~10 ml for full Scooba tank, after using, floor isn't super smooth like what I get from Kiwi Kleen (milky light blue Super Active).
There's no foam on the floor, but got big bubbles (10 cts size) when I empty dirty tank. Maybe I put too much since the exact dilution factor should be 3 ml to 1 L water. So far only used on my parquet floor & toilet, yet to try in oily kitchen.

Then next day I used Kiwi Kleen on same floor, the Kiwi Kleen was still noticeably greyish after use. So... either Envizyme can't dissolve as much dirt compared to "non-organic" detergent, or my floor is simply too dirty (cos I never Scooba >2 wks liao).

bakasa2002

My replacement 230 is at CGW, but they put the vol weight at 7+ kg! TMD!!! The other time I got it from iRobot in March, it was less than 3kg! I had to 'scream' my head off at the CSO, telling her that it is the same package, same vendor and same item, how can the weight just doubled?????

After a few min of exchg, then she tell me will contact me to see if can repack. To add salt to the wound, iRobot packing slip indicate the cost at USD $299.99 means I got to kana GST another time. OMG! :(

uno_bliss

My replacement 230 is at CGW, but they put the vol weight at 7+ kg! TMD!!! The other time I got it from iRobot in March, it was less than 3kg! I had to 'scream' my head off at the CSO, telling her that it is the same package, same vendor and same item, how can the weight just doubled?????

After a few min of exchg, then she tell me will contact me to see if can repack. To add salt to the wound, iRobot packing slip indicate the cost at USD $299.99 means I got to kana GST another time. OMG! :(
Dunno why iRobot invoice treat as new order, difficult for u to request iRobot for email indicating it's warranty replacement cos they may Qs why u so particular about item value.

So u just have to convince CGW it's warranty replacement. Get CGW to double check & give u dimension, if dimension is indeed extra big, then no choice. Does CGW have re-pack service?

bakasa2002

I tried talking to CGW, they were saying they have to take the declared value of the item, cannot suka suka make changes, else they also in deep ****, cos' everyone will do the same.

As far as customs is concern, they will not care whether it's a replacement, they will see that it is a item of $299.99, that's all. TMD. Really kanna GST and handling 2x .... :(

Jubooo

It'll be about US$60+ to ship that back then. Too bad my flight is last minute or else I can help you to bring back :(

bakasa2002

It'll be about US$60+ to ship that back then. Too bad my flight is last minute or else I can help you to bring back :(

I still need to pay $7 for repack right? They just drop me a email saying it will be fr 7kg to 3 kg after repack ... Like that ok bo? I never repack b4 leh, they cannot repack for free meh?

Jubooo

I still need to pay $7 for repack right? They just drop me a email saying it will be fr 7kg to 3 kg after repack ... Like that ok bo? I never repack b4 leh, they cannot repack for free meh?

I think your account should be US$10 for repack. It should be around US$60+ for the whole thing. Repacking for US$10 is worth it or else it's about US$100 for 7 KG with tax.

android

I think your account should be US$10 for repack. It should be around US$60+ for the whole thing. Repacking for US$10 is worth it or else it's about US$100 for 7 KG with tax.
at least cgw offers repacking... some dun even do that and insist on charging you for air....

bakasa2002

at least cgw offers repacking... some dun even do that and insist on charging you for air....

quite true leh ... but dunno they got smoke me or not, cos' this is the same item that I am shipping fr same vendor, so I wonder how cm first time in March, it was abt 3kg wo repacking and now they say it's 7kg box???

Do you think it's possible to ask them to email me a picture of the original box and after repacking?

tekster

quite true leh ... but dunno they got smoke me or not, cos' this is the same item that I am shipping fr same vendor, so I wonder how cm first time in March, it was abt 3kg wo repacking and now they say it's 7kg box???

Do you think it's possible to ask them to email me a picture of the original box and after repacking?

give it a try.

though i don't think they are that free to smoke people lo.

uno_bliss

As tekster said, they're not so free to smoke.

Here's a possible smoke scenario:
a) u pay $10 to re-pack. CGW says "Sucker... Guys we've just received $10 more of revenue, beer on the house!"
b) u go ahead to ship 7 kg. CGW says "Dang, he called my bluff. Sorry Joe, u'll have to go find a big box with Volumetric Weight 7 kg, and transfer all the shipping labels over. Can u do that for me Joe? I'll buy u beer when the next sucker pays me."

But... wrongly transferring dimension measurements is possible, so ask them to measure again & give u dimensions.

bakasa2002

give it a try.

though i don't think they are that free to smoke people lo.

americans these day unemployment rate quite high leh ... hehehe ... maybe they got some mexicans to do it for a fee ... Like our FT here. lolx ... I am just thinking aloud lah ... :)

acchien

I just bought a roomba off woot.com. Volumetric weight is 5.2kg and actual weight 5.3kg. Shipping via vpost costs S$50.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.