iRobot Scooba experience

NRlover

Hi, sorry for side tracking, thinking of getting the neato vx-11, anyway, does it come with a singapore 220v ready adaptor? anyone here used it before. seems like there are mixed reviews. considering between a roomba and an a neato..

u might wanna check out iclebo, iclebo.com.sg

desmond1974

u might wanna check out iclebo, iclebo.com.sg

The iclebo seems really OVERPRICED. Anyway, i saw it at the IT show, cost $838, seems like of cheap plastic quality, as compared to the Roomba. I just felt that it doesn't actually mop the floor, just uses a mirco fiber cloth to wipe the floor. Anyway, i saw the iclebo at the it show, seems like its of poor plastic quality. Read on some forum,here's a comparison u may useful forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1417413

The Roomba 560 is only around $500 and the Neato Vx-11 i saw only is less than $600 with shipping and local warranty. So i really feel the iclebo is a bit ex.. over budget.

desmond1974

any other product that has the superior intelligence of iclebo, the superior cleaning of the roomba or scooba and a price to beat? :p

Actually i feel price is more important for me, wouldn't paid so much for a robot vaccum cleaner, cos not sure if it really works for my home. around 500+ still ok.. thats why i now seriously considering the Neato vx-11.

acchien

Thank you, Anyway, where did you buy your neato xv-11? I tried to buy from the US, but the shipping cost from US is really ex. just curious, how much did you pay for it? In SGD or USD..

I bought mine from amazon.com for US$399. Shipping by vpost was another S$80 cos' Amazon.com but the neato retail box into another big shipping box. After I registered my warranty online Neato Robotics was kind enough to send me a free filter even though I specified my Singapore address.

desmond1974

I bought mine from amazon.com for US$399. Shipping by vpost was another S$80 cos' Amazon.com but the neato retail box into another big shipping box. After I registered my warranty online Neato Robotics was kind enough to send me a free filter even though I specified my Singapore address.

Ok.. That's cool!! did you need to pay GST on your Shipment? without GST works out to about $579.. if need to pay GST then not worth it to self import le. cos locally can get Around $599 with free same day delivery and warranty!! I enquired le.. hehe..

bakasa2002

hi all,

Just went to Sim Lim Tower today to ask about AC-AC Converter. Which is to convert our local power 230~240VAC to 110~120VAC US.

Approximately 100W is $24, 200W is $38.

As there are several different wattages available starting from 80 to 100 to 200 and more, the uncle cautioned me to check my appliance's required input before buying.

My item is still coming in from US, so I want to confirm it first.

Hope this info helps anyone who is looking into a power converter to power your US appliance. I cheap out a little and bought an Evolution Mint Robot Cleaner. Is more like a micro mouse pushing a magic clean swipe around. But I think it will be even less maintenance than a Roomba or Scooba.

bro, nv tell me ... I wanna sell off my Mint leh .. a bit under utilised. ;)
Yeah, you won't need a coverter, cos' it's universal voltage for Mint, u just need the right adaptor plug for US 2 pin.

If anyone wanna get stepdown transformer that wk with roomba or scooba, pls pm me, got 2 in the store, can sell for $20 bucks each. :)

bakasa2002

To add on to other pts brought up by fellow bros, if it's your first robot for the hse and you are only intending to invest in one, get Roomba over Scooba. The Scooba will come naturally when you are impressed w the Roomba, if you are not impressed, take it as $ saved cos' a Scooba is a heavier investment than the Roomba. Let me qualify this, this is excluding Neato, cos' personally not used that b4. ;)

It will take care of the essential cleaning daily. Good enough to keep the floor 'amazingly' clean that you will forget you have a vacuum cleaner sitting in your storeroom, unless u need to clean those hard to reach areas/corners, but for that I am using my handheld KONE. My electrolux had been banished to the cold palace for a few yrs alrdy. I used it less than 5 times a yr. :)

Most bros here get a robotic cleaner cos' they want to cm hm to clean floors w minimum maintenance and roomba allow you to do just that. On avg, I clean the bin once every 3-5 days. I have been using roomba and scooba since 2007, and basically the routine will be to ensure the VW are in place, pick up kids toy and my stand fans fr the floor, then allow the roomba to run on schedule. Being kiasu, I let it run b4 I leave the hse and I schedule another 3pm run, so upon completion of first run, it goes back for more juice, then 3pm it start cleaning again! I know I am a slave driver! ;P

Even if your bot does not have scheduling, one pass will also be cleaner than having you dragging the heavy electrolux all over the hse, not to mentioned the back breaking bending down, and coping w the messy wires! There will always be skeptics, esp when you seen Roomba running all over the place when it is started. My recommendation to my pals has always been, let it run, don't watch, don't think, go down kopitiam for a nice solid bf, come back 1.5 hrs later, you will be convinced! ;)

bakasa2002

Ok.. That's cool!! did you need to pay GST on your Shipment? without GST works out to about $579.. if need to pay GST then not worth it to self import le. cos locally can get Around $599 with free same day delivery and warranty!! I enquired le.. hehe..

Anything abv SGD$400 will incur GST, it's a question of whether the $80 by Vpost is inclusive of GST and handling or not. Bro, where is 560 selling at $599 in sgp?;)

uno_bliss

... ... ... It will take care of the essential cleaning daily. Good enough to keep the floor 'amazingly' clean that you will forget you have a vacuum cleaner sitting in your storeroom, unless u need to clean those hard to reach areas/corners, but for that I am using my handheld KONE. My electrolux had been banished to the cold palace for a few yrs alrdy. I used it less than 5 times a yr. :)

Abusive Lab Test: Handheld Vacuums: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGnM5gFzdfc

... ... ... one pass will also be cleaner than having you dragging the heavy electrolux all over the hse, not to mentioned the back breaking bending down, and coping w the messy wires!

I use these 2 handheld vacuum for stairs & furniture:
a) Black & Decker Flex PD1200 ($159 from Home Fix) = Suction 25W, flexible hose & brush head, use 10 mins, charge 8 hrs
http://www.blackanddecker.co.uk/homeproducts/productdetails/catno/PD1200/
b) Philips FC6130 ($69 from Harvey Norman during Philips Roadshow, UP $79) = Suction 150W, flexible hose & brush head, by 7m cable to power socket
http://www.philips.com.sg/c/vacuum-cleaners/minivac-900-w-fc6130_01/prd/
*A typical big vacuum has suction ~300W (suction watt is known as Air Watt, not electrical power consumption which can be as high as 1500W)

knightskid

There is no way you can runaway with gst.

Anyway, I have just placed my order through buyhappier with coupon code weloveyou which gives 15% discount and 3-yr warranty, best is, free shipping to my vpost u.s address :s12:. So the cost i paid is USD$339.15.

As for shipping charges, currently vpost is having promotion for credit card, see which bank gives the best discount and use that to ship your items.

acchien

Anyway, I have just placed my order through buyhappier with coupon code weloveyou which gives 15% discount and 3-yr warranty, best is, free shipping to my vpost u.s address :s12:. So the cost i paid is USD$339.15.

Wow that's a good deal for a NEATO especially given the current exchange rate.

tekster

There is no way you can runaway with gst.

As for shipping charges, currently vpost is having promotion for credit card, see which bank gives the best discount and use that to ship your items.

it really depends. if you wanna get state of the art and latest cleaner, then you might incur costs. so far, my cleaners have been around USD130-150. so i've not incurred any GST costs.

desmond1974

Anything abv SGD$400 will incur GST, it's a question of whether the $80 by Vpost is inclusive of GST and handling or not. Bro, where is 560 selling at $599 in sgp?;)

I saw on autovacstore.com, selling neato VX-11for $599, with free delivery and 6 months warranty, brand new roomba 560 is about $500 i think, anyway seems like if u buy with scooba or roomba in a bundle with the neato can get further discount. can safe some trouble of self importing, about the same price.

kimsim

Hi, May i know who have own a ROOMBA DIRT DOG?

What's so special on Dirt Dog?
Cheaper price, All yellow looks, got dog leg logo?

Thank you!

uno_bliss

Hi, May i know who have own a ROOMBA DIRT DOG?

What's so special on Dirt Dog?
Cheaper price, All yellow looks, got dog leg logo?

Thank you!
I sold Dirt Dog before long ago, it's discontinued product. Basically same as current Roomba 4000 single button, except the bin is just a container. Rubber beater brush is a mini bristle brush instead. Yellow wheel tires i believe is tougher rubber for outdoor floor. No dock, no virtual wall. But compatible with dock, virtual wall and can even schedule using scheduler remote.

kimsim

I sold Dirt Dog before long ago, it's discontinued product. Basically same as current Roomba 4000 single button, except the bin is just a container. Rubber beater brush is a mini bristle brush instead. Yellow wheel tires i believe is tougher rubber for outdoor floor. No dock, no virtual wall. But compatible with dock, virtual wall and can even schedule using scheduler remote.

Wah~ sound like good, still better than Roomba 435/440.
just insert the vacuum bin 400 series come with motors then can works like normal vaccum roomba.
but only different color all bodies on yellow and vacuum are red.. haha so funny looks.

uno_bliss

Wah~ sound like good, still better than Roomba 435/440.
just insert the vacuum bin 400 series come with motors then can works like normal vaccum roomba.
but only different color all bodies on yellow and vacuum are red.. haha so funny looks.
Nope. Put vacuum bin into Dirt Dog oso won't work like Roomba, cos there's no power supply to bin and motherboard oso different. U can turn Roomba 400 series into Dirt Dog, but not the other way. 435/440 bin shape oso different from Dirt Dog bin shape.

kimsim

Nope. Put vacuum bin into Dirt Dog oso won't work like Roomba, cos there's no power supply to bin and motherboard oso different. U can turn Roomba 400 series into Dirt Dog, but not the other way. 435/440 bin shape oso different from Dirt Dog bin shape.

Wah! Like that only same as 500 series Pets Series attached on high capacity bin is does not have built-in motor :) just forget it on Dirt Dog at the moment.

bakasa2002

Abusive Lab Test: Handheld Vacuums: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IGnM5gFzdfc

I use these 2 handheld vacuum for stairs & furniture:
a) Black & Decker Flex PD1200 ($159 from Home Fix) = Suction 25W, flexible hose & brush head, use 10 mins, charge 8 hrs
http://www.blackanddecker.co.uk/homeproducts/productdetails/catno/PD1200/
b) Philips FC6130 ($69 from Harvey Norman during Philips Roadshow, UP $79) = Suction 150W, flexible hose & brush head, by 7m cable to power socket
http://www.philips.com.sg/c/vacuum-cleaners/minivac-900-w-fc6130_01/prd/
*A typical big vacuum has suction ~300W (suction watt is known as Air Watt, not electrical power consumption which can be as high as 1500W)

uno bro, you shd test the Dyson, v impressive cleaning! ;)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.