iRobot Scooba experience

bakasa2002

Hi, brother

The aerovac bin is just improved on the original standard bin,
Even no pet user, the aerovac bin still can picking up more than 80-90% of single cycle cleaned.
If you don't mind the extra cost of $70~80 of the bin only.
Just try your own, you will find up the better results.

If not why the 700 series and all model is just redesign the aerovac bin 2..

Agreed ... I also no pets and I found that I have to empty the bin less often and also the filter is easier to maintain than the old design. It is so good that I change all my 3 Roomba bins to Aerovac. :)

bakasa2002

Loving the roomba more and more. Should have bought it when i shifted into my new house. Now i think i only need to mob once every 2 weeks and no need to sweep. Save me alot of time!

That's y many bros here that have been using roomba for a while will agree with the statement - 'In Roomba, we trust!' :)

bakasa2002

After trying out on my first robotic cleaning machine, suddenly have to urge to buy scooba so that i no need to mob as well. Getting more and more lazy. But budget wise cannot lah. Too siong liao somemore need buy milk powder as well. lol.

Anyway one good thing about this roomba is that it can at least maintain as not so dusty environment, although not 100% dust free. It is because my baby which is about 4 mths old keep getting rashes when she is in my house. But in my mother in law house, she is ok. So i suspect the dust is causing this so at least the roomba can help me to keep my area less dusty and better for my baby as well.

From what i know is that the scooba cannot complete the whole house(HDB flat) in one single charge and need to manually change the water in the machine. And no auto dock. Is it true? Any cons about the the scooba 380?

Scooba has no dock and is not a completely automated solution for 2 reasons, 1) One tank cover about 400+ sqf, so u have to change water once to let Scooba complete 850sqf of cleaning on one batt charge 2) it is unlikely to completely clean a 4rm HDB on one charge, unless your hse is 850sqf or less and that is the rated coverage for 380 on paper. I think that is the assumption that house is squarish size of 850sqf.

IMO, Scooba is more ex compare to a Roomba as a investment and normally use on a less frequent basis than a Roomba. If you know what you are getting into and not expecting too much, then it will be a worthwhile investment. One plus point is that Scooba cleaning is much superior then any mop you can find on the market. In fact, it might be the best web robotic cleaner that mop floors, beat the Mint + hands down. :)

xaleysan

I had problem with charging my irobot 560 battery recently. So, I replaced it and it's working like new. just fyi

Hi how much did you get your battery and from where?
Mine seems to need to charge a lot longer than before and its 'stamina' also is a lot shorter, not as hardworking. I should think I will need to change the battery too.

Okane

Scooba has no dock and is not a completely automated solution for 2 reasons, 1) One tank cover about 400+ sqf, so u have to change water once to let Scooba complete 850sqf of cleaning on one batt charge 2) it is unlikely to completely clean a 4rm HDB on one charge, unless your hse is 850sqf or less and that is the rated coverage for 380 on paper. I think that is the assumption that house is squarish size of 850sqf.

IMO, Scooba is more ex compare to a Roomba as a investment and normally use on a less frequent basis than a Roomba. If you know what you are getting into and not expecting too much, then it will be a worthwhile investment. One plus point is that Scooba cleaning is much superior then any mop you can find on the market. In fact, it might be the best web robotic cleaner that mop floors, beat the Mint + hands down. :)

What about the dryness of the floor after scooba went through? Because my bedrooms is all parquet so if the floor is too wet after the mob by scooba, im afraid it might spoil the parquet. Any bros here using scooba and is having parquet floor?

uno_bliss

What about the dryness of the floor after scooba went through? Because my bedrooms is all parquet so if the floor is too wet after the mob by scooba, im afraid it might spoil the parquet. Any bros here using scooba and is having parquet floor?
My everywhere is parquet, except 1st floor is marble & kitchen/toilets are tiles.
I've been using Scooba for >3 yrs. Scooba is quite dry, dryer than conventional mop & bucket.
But still too wet for laminate cos from the point Scooba squirts clean water, to the point it sucks up dirty water, there'll be few seconds in between, and during that short time, water can seep through the laminate gap & cause warpage.

bakasa2002

It is relatively dry for my home w tiles when my Scooba was ok, can't comment on parquet.

Caveat - My Scooba is about 5 yo le, so a bit siao siao, does leave a bit of wetness but shdn't use as a benchmark, cos' it been giving me a bit of problems. Maybe Scooba users can chip in. :)

Vachel Chan

Can try using Scooba with a floor Cleaning solution, should leave the floor drier than when used with only water. Can try using Scooba with "Magic Clean" solution, Seems to leave floors drier, the "quick Dry" formula seems to work, not sure how though. Just remember to never use it with Dettol or even Dettol floor cleaning solution. Could cause some repairable damage to the Scooba tank.

bakasa2002

I am using Scooba cleaning solution fr iRobot but I think it's nt the solution prob, it's the aging Scooba problem. Time to get a new one .... ;)

bakasa2002

Just when I am thinking abt a new Scooba and waiting for next woot, this has to come out!

Breaking news! Latest edition to the Scooby family - THE 390!!! :)

scooba390.jpg

thewiseone

Look at the price! :s22: I believe its essentially the same Scooba as the older models, merely equipped with a supposedly better battery power management. :s8:

Just when I am thinking abt a new Scooba and waiting for next woot, this has to come out!

Breaking news! Latest edition to the Scooby family - THE 390!!! :)

scooba390.jpg

aklryan

like to find out:

1) Any comment on this Cleanmate QQ3 (the new 3rd
generation). I read some review that QQ2 is pretty ok
except it has hard time finding its charging base. Price wise
is much cheaper then irobot/LG.

2) Another question is any local seller carry Evolution Robotics
Mint?

3) LG roboking comes with mop (dry) function. Does it mean
the robot can sweep and vacuum and mop at time? How it
fair on the mopping capability when compare to the Mint?

LG price still abit steep that may puts me off (at the moment). I am thinking whether to make a combination to get a cheaper robot like QQ3 for sweeping and vacuum + sterilize using the UV and the Mint for mopping.

Jubooo

like to find out:

I think I'm the best person to answer this question since I own it before. Cleanmate does a decent job in vacuuming but do not expect too much for this as it's AI cannot compare to any of the leading brand discussed here. It basically follow a set of predetermine logic to your preset running time. Homebase does not have halo around it and the robot itself will push it around during cleaning time but not sure about the QQ3. Sterilisation? Does it really work? I'm still giving it a benefit of doubt and I switch it on most of the time :)

2) Another question is any local seller carry Evolution Robotics Mint?

I'll have the mint plus up in Apr.

3) LG roboking comes with mop (dry) function. Does it mean the robot can sweep and vacuum and mop at time? How it fair on the mopping capability when compare to the Mint?

From what I see, it is a microfibre cloth attachment on the bottom of the robot and would be a great piece of tool but not necessary to pick up anything being miss by the vacuum and brushes.

bakasa2002

like to find out:

2) Another question is any local seller carry Evolution Robotics
Mint?

3) LG roboking comes with mop (dry) function. Does it mean
the robot can sweep and vacuum and mop at time? How it
fair on the mopping capability when compare to the Mint?

LG price still abit steep that may puts me off (at the moment). I am thinking whether to make a combination to get a cheaper robot like QQ3 for sweeping and vacuum + sterilize using the UV and the Mint for mopping.

1) Cleanmate is diff fr iCleanbo right? If I rem it's the version that cost $300 and was not doing a v gd job? I saw iCleanbo in action at a friend's plc, it's quite cool, v quiet but not sure if it is cleaning as well compare to the Roomby. ;)

2) Yes, the 'local seller' is me lor ... I been trying to sell my Mint for a while, you keen? Under-utilised. Do note Mint and Mint+ is diff hor. ;)

thewiseone

iRobot is really rehashing old technology with no innovation. Ever since their first Roomba and Scooba series, they are merely making cosmetic touches, minor improvements and repackaging old models at a higher price. Look at the Scooba... they may have made some minor improvements since the 1st model but it still sports the same navigation and cleaning system. The worse thing is, they even removed the light sensing feature from an earlier model of the Scooba. For the Scooba, i suppose the lack of competitors means there's no pressure to innovate. :(

Well, we need someone to take the plunge and let us know...

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.