iRobot Scooba experience

kkysnoopy

hi my scooba has the old firmware because i bought it 4 months ago so the firmware should be the older one.

Initially the scooba able to clean and scrub my hard floors to a shiny and clean between the tiles from black color to white color. But recently, the scooba keeps saying I'm stuck. I've been using it for 4 months , do you think I should can the accessories such as the tanks , the semi round cylindar, and battery ?

Initially, the scooba can clean my 108m 4room flat without monitoring but recently, it keeps saying I'm stuck after 20 minutes and won't clean . I need to power off and on it back to get it to clean but after sometime it stuck again, it stuck on my hard floor surface without anything blocking it. I'm not sure whether I should send for service or not. The battery also did not last long nowadays, like 50 minutes and stopped for tank refill, another 10 minutes it died.

uno_bliss

hi my scooba has the old firmware because i bought it 4 months ago so the firmware should be the older one.

Initially the scooba able to clean and scrub my hard floors to a shiny and clean between the tiles from black color to white color. But recently, the scooba keeps saying I'm stuck. I've been using it for 4 months , do you think I should can the accessories such as the tanks , the semi round cylindar, and battery ?

Initially, the scooba can clean my 108m 4room flat without monitoring but recently, it keeps saying I'm stuck after 20 minutes and won't clean . I need to power off and on it back to get it to clean but after sometime it stuck again, it stuck on my hard floor surface without anything blocking it. I'm not sure whether I should send for service or not. The battery also did not last long nowadays, like 50 minutes and stopped for tank refill, another 10 minutes it died.
4 mths battery run time drop to half, unlikely even with ridiculously intense usage. There may be other reasons leading to battery short time.

But if ur Scooba was bought from say Amazon, could jolly well be sold by some housewife who received ages ago as some house-warming gift. I ever met 2 customers who bought "new" Scooba but the factory date was 2006, the "new" unit was sitting somewhere for >5 yrs & the battery couldn't hold charge at all. LL buy new battery, and I OSMO v6 update for them cos 2006 was very old software v1 or v2.

Ur "I'm stuck" issue could be many possibilities, but water tank is not one of them. Can't tell without testing, worse type is those intermittent problems. When customers pass me, I test ok, then return liao say relapse. Haiz... So ideally is grab a video clip when it happens.

Here's my repair ad: uno bliss | eBay
Queries pls PM or email me unobliss@yahoo.com

Jubooo

The scooba 380 I sell comes with the latest firmware since 9 months ago. What model are you using? You might want to bring scooba down to me for a diagnosis.

Jubooo

I managed to upload the floor layout of my place... Will the Scooba be able to recognise the Living Room, the common Room & the Master Bed Room as 01 space? The store room will be closed and was not calculated into the floor area to be cleaned...

Like I said in my previous post the total area is 443 SQFT but the actual cleanable space is definitely below 410 SQFT. Will the Scooba be able to go into both rooms to clean... I will be starting the Scooba in the Living Room... I hope this gives a much clearer picture for the Sifus out there...

PS Sorry if the image is small... I can't seem to be able to get it any bigger...

FloorPlan.jpg

Like Uno said, theoritically it is able to cover the whole area with 1 tank. Look at the latest post by kkysnoopy, it cleans 108m. Like I said previously, it all depends on how you look at it, single pass over an area = clean or several overlapping pass = clean?

I think no one can give you a definite answer as in whether scooba is able to carry out the job as every environment is different. However, I can tell you most or even all of us are satisfied by what scooba can do.

uno_bliss

I managed to upload the floor layout of my place... Will the Scooba be able to recognise the Living Room, the common Room & the Master Bed Room as 01 space? The store room will be closed and was not calculated into the floor area to be cleaned...

Like I said in my previous post the total area is 443 SQFT but the actual cleanable space is definitely below 410 SQFT. Will the Scooba be able to go into both rooms to clean... I will be starting the Scooba in the Living Room... I hope this gives a much clearer picture for the Sifus out there...
Must squeeze time to reply u cos u say "Sifu" make me high... Maybe I'm guru or gundu.

Ur floor plan I've seen before at customer's home. I can safely say will be fine with Scooba 1 full tank (good for 425 sq ft). Cos ur rooms will have cabinets & bed. Living will also have cabinets & couch (if can't go under then can deduct off Floor area). Just try to tidy up some stuff, eg. don't put laptop bag on floor, an ironing board in the middle of nowhere, slippers & shoes push to wall, so on...

peter2883

Must squeeze time to reply u cos u say "Sifu" make me high... Maybe I'm guru or gundu.

Ur floor plan I've seen before at customer's home. I can safely say will be fine with Scooba 1 full tank (good for 425 sq ft). Cos ur rooms will have cabinets & bed. Living will also have cabinets & couch (if can't go under then can deduct off Floor area). Just try to tidy up some stuff, eg. don't put laptop bag on floor, an ironing board in the middle of nowhere, slippers & shoes push to wall, so on...

Thanks Sifu for your information... I'm now more confident of getting the Scooba... Hopefully it will be able to clean the area I want cleaned...

Vachel Chan

Thanks Sifu for your information... I'm now more confident of getting the Scooba... Hopefully it will be able to clean the area I want cleaned...

Glad you have the interest of getting the Scooba, Pretty Sure the Scooba 380/390 would work great for you!! If unsure, can always arrange to see a scooba Demonstration at your home to see if it fits your needs, layout and requirements. Although the Scooba does not learn your home during Cleaning, it should work fine. :)
The new LG Roboking Square models 6260 / 6261 ($858) have a learn function, whereby you can get it to learn and memorize its path from its docking station to the rest of the house, would have to re-learn if you move the dock though.

For videos and specifications on a range of Robotic Cleaners, Do checkout Autovacstore.com

*For Windoro WCR-1001 ($659), yes sold here and aboard, but mainly for residential use at balcony glass windows or panels. somehow feel would be best suitable for shop front and hard to reach tall glass panels.

peter2883

One last question... I just noticed there is a difference between the 380 & the 390 in terms of the way it picks up dirt...

Can anyone verify which has a better or more efficient way of picking up the dirt between the 02 models? Thanks

uno_bliss

One last question... I just noticed there is a difference between the 380 & the 390 in terms of the way it picks up dirt...

Can anyone verify which has a better or more efficient way of picking up the dirt between the 02 models? Thanks
380 v7 & 390 are literally same thing, except colour.
390 took away 3 accessories, 380 has always been the model with the most accessories.

There's no diff in the physical design & cleaning method.

bigbearbear

Hi all

Newbie on irobot or similar product. Very interested to get one. Look through both irobot roomba and scooba. More interested on roomba actually.

Anyone can kindly give some advice on roomba vs scooba?
Any other recommended brands?
Where to get the best price?

Thanks all in advance.

peter2883

380 v7 & 390 are literally same thing, except colour.
390 took away 3 accessories, 380 has always been the model with the most accessories.

There's no diff in the physical design & cleaning method.

Thanks for the reply... When I was watching the video of the 380 it looked to me like the ways it picks up dirt is different and I was worried and thought I should get the 390...

Well this makes my choice easier since both models are exactly the same...

uno_bliss

Thanks for the reply... When I was watching the video of the 380 it looked to me like the ways it picks up dirt is different and I was worried and thought I should get the 390...

Well this makes my choice easier since both models are exactly the same...
I know for a fact they're same, I got a customer who bought 390 when in US for brief job attachment.
Later she wanted to get a 2nd Scooba, wanna whack one time 2 Scooba clean together her HDB 5 room.
I convinced her 380 v7 is better with the 3 additional accessories.
I saw the 390 at her place, everything is interchangeable with 380.

uno_bliss

Hi all

Newbie on irobot or similar product. Very interested to get one. Look through both irobot roomba and scooba. More interested on roomba actually.

Anyone can kindly give some advice on roomba vs scooba?
Any other recommended brands?
Where to get the best price?

Thanks all in advance.
It always bores me to repeat myself (I'm not a senile old man... yet), so here's my posts from long ago:
Post 1: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/51886581-post7482.html
Post 2: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/51444605-post7406.html

I've been selling iRobot products full-time on eBay since Aug 2008.
For local ready for delivery items & local round the clock tech support from me, pls visit my eBay iRobot store: uno bliss | eBay
Queries pls email me unobliss@yahoo.com

bigbearbear

Thanks for the info. Another noob question. What are the differences between the roomba models?
I am real keen on the roomba. Want to see demo. Where can I find the demo?

It always bores me to repeat myself (I'm not a senile old man... yet), so here's my posts from long ago:
Post 1: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/51886581-post7482.html
Post 2: http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/51444605-post7406.html

I've been selling iRobot products full-time on eBay since Aug 2008.
For local ready for delivery items & local round the clock tech support from me, pls visit my eBay iRobot store: uno bliss | eBay
Queries pls email me unobliss@yahoo.com

Vachel Chan

Robokings can party rock??? :s13::s13::s13:

The New LG Roboking Square are pretty Hot is Korea. Really amazing technology in navigation, corner cleaning with square design and object sensing, never bumps into any furniture or walls with Ultrasonic sensors.

The New Lg Roboking Square 6260 LVM (black, $858) are now available locally with warranty.

For videos and specification of a range of Robotic Cleaners, Do Checkout Autovacstore.com

peter2883

Ok I managed to get my Scooba yesterday and it works great... I ran it once today letting it clean the 02 rooms and the living room... The better half was surprised it worked well (Although there were some dirt left behind which is understandable)... It managed to collect quite a fair bit of hair and it got stuck in the brushes... Dirty water was greyish which means its doing it's job... I used the packs of cleaner that came with the Scooba...

Then I let it run the living room area again... It collected more hair in the brushes but less this round...

Then I let it run in the kitchen... It went one round and I tried making go another round but the battery died on me and I'm charging the battery again for another round later this evening...

Overall the Scooba did a fairly good job... Cleaned up the dirt and hair in the house... It had a clean feel afterwards (Like a person mopped the floor) only thing was it was not able to clean the sides very well (Which I already knew and understood the limitations of the Scooba)...

Overall I'm satisfied with the results (But I might get a Roboking further down the road to vacuum plus wet wipe the place before using the Scooba)... The Scooba did surprise me when it did managed to get into both rooms (Although it did get stuck twice in my Master Bedroom due to cables, no fault of the Scooba. I've cleared this so that it wouldn't have any problems the next time I use it)...

I bought this from Vachel and the demo was done, I know how it works in the first place, questions I asked was answered and issues that I had with the Scooba was informed to me and proved to be correct (Vachel made good his product & proved to me that it works)... The Scooba can and will go to both rooms, cleaned up the entire area of 02 rooms and living room...

I would recommend for people interested to buy this from Vachel although you need to give him advance notice... I tried getting a demo on Friday evening (It was around 1500 on Friday itself) but he couldn't make it... Tried to reschedule on Saturday he said couldn't make it the whole day... At the end managed to schedule on Saturday morning at around 0900 but he came slightly after 0930...

Overall I can say I'm satisfied with the service and the product knowledge he has... Price is a special price provided to HWZ members... Please PM him directly for price...

peter2883

I let the Scooba run another round in the living room and the kitchen... And the floor really feels very clean...

I would recommend the Scooba to everyone that is looking for a robot vacuum and this washes the floor too!!! Best buy ever!!!

kifo

The New LG Roboking Square are pretty Hot is Korea. Really amazing technology in navigation, corner cleaning with square design and object sensing, never bumps into any furniture or walls with Ultrasonic sensors.

The New Lg Roboking Square 6260 LVM (black, $858) are now available locally with warranty.

For videos and specification of a range of Robotic Cleaners, Do Checkout Autovacstore.com

What about the new 6271 black? Will I have to wait months???

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.