Is Induction Cooker Really Good?

Jeremy1

It's convenient and you no need to worry about cook halfway suddenly out of gas.

wongminmin

Can't use my wok if use induction.

gb2zrqt7gp0b1.jpg

Apparatus

Can run ah? I thought illegal to do so

Ask your electrician lah. Your house likely already used up the 13A+ breakers by your washing machine and aircon. If there's a spare 13A+ breaker can use for induction cooker.

abyzab

If you watch the video and the comments, almost all of the comments are scolding the video for being stupid.

For old folks like me who are forgetful, induction cooker is a MUST for safety and easier cleaning reasons
1. It has a timer and temperature sensor so that you do not have to watch the cooking when you have the experience learnt to set the timer and wattage correctly. Even if you forget, the high temperature will cut off. There's no direct flame so less chance to catch fire.
Unlike gas stove will burn the house down.
Nowadays so many old folks living alone. Need to implement this nationality.

2. Easy to clean. Since there's no open flame, when I'm pan frying with some oil splattering, I'll place a piece of newspaper onto the cooker top to catch the oil.
Walah , my fav pan fried prawn w Korean BBQ sauce( 乾煎蝦魯) faster to cook than instant noodles.

DragonFire

instead of using cheaper gas, induction is just using lots of more expensive electricity to heat things up. but indeed electricity is faster in heating. your money, your choice.
Is all relative. SP wanted to charge me 60k to install a gas line, and provisioning LPG would have required substantial rework to meet SCDF requirements.

UncleG

I only use induction cooker to boil liquids. I still use LPG cylinder for cooking. One cylinder can last me over 1 year and I actually cook quite often.

tanahgu

U use 5000w, your house will trip electricity immediately.

Hdb socket is max 13A so can handle max 3120w

Wok hey from house chibaboom

no need take these $20 taobao stove specs too seriously
got 500w can steal laugh liao

batuchka

Summary is. For normal people who do light cooking, just get induction. For people who really do cooking like fried rice, stir fry and soups, get a gas stove + induction stovetop.
hmm i do cook stuff like fried rice and beef/mutton kali induction no go?

abyzab

hmm i do cook stuff like fried rice and beef/mutton kali induction no go?
I do fried rice on induction cooker w non stick pan.
I can set temperature to 200C but I only need 140C.
It's too too easy, fast and tasty that I have to limit myself.

Since I cannot use a big wok to fry all on high flame, I'll adapt by cooking the oil and aromatics first on high heat.
Then decant ingredients & oil to a plate.
Then add back any aromatic oil ( especially those I kept from pan frying prawns 乾煎蝦魯) to fry the rice and egg.
Then add back the ingredients for mixing.
Then decant to the same plate. ( Less plate to wash & the non stick pan just rinse and wipe w tissue if not too dirty).
Try it a few times to learn how to use induction cooker. It will be so easy later.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
Never look back since switching over 4 to 5 years ago.
u mean induction?
maybe need some getting use to

perhaps me could try getting a sole induction, that portable one
see how

if it's good or easily adaptable when it comes to cooking, then can switch to a full induction stove

banbleh

Used an Electrolux induction hob for 14 yrs liao, it's great, boils soup real fast. Stir fry is not shiok cos can't move the pan about but cooks properly too. I use a scanpan ctx, works well.
It is super easy to clean n I sometimes use the surface for food prep too.

Wu-Han Clan

induction is good, cleaner and safer

i don't see a difference in the food taste cooked between stove and induction

all these talk about simi 'wok hey' missing form induction is rubbish, you also can't get 'wok hey' from that small fire stove
this... all the wok hey excuses is juz :poop: ... they wont even fry hor fun at home... at most they cook some factory standard cai png for their family...

Mrtesting

Just like dishwasher

You never hear anyone complaining about induction after buying it

KakiMeow

Can onli put one type of pot right :s11:

Then pan can anyhow?

Or ijjit normal metal or ceramic pot can oso use?

Apparatus

Can onli put one type of pot right :s11:

Then pan can anyhow?

Or ijjit normal metal or ceramic pot can oso use?

You need to choose those magnetic pots/pans to work e.g. cast iron, iron and some types of magnetic SS. If your pot/pan is non-magnetic can put a magnetic heat diffuser between the cooker and the pot/pan

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.