Is it really over for Intel®?

Intel is ...

• dead man walking, soon to be buried

Votes: 58 50.9%
  • will bounce back, buyed Intc at $10 sure huat!

Votes: 56 49.1%

• Total voters

kimsix

intel just hit all-time low in 5 years, yesterday $29 as from OP, now its $21.

@kimsix
image.png

https://wccftech.com/intel-in-big-trouble-class-action-lawsuit-14th-13th-gen-cpu-instability/

my intc wlwl all wlwl! I trusted pat the man! :o

Interesting intel at its lowest point, decides to hold on their foundry

amd during bulldozer, sell all the fabs.

we shall see if Pat made the smart choices, i think praying china attack tsmc faster!

wwenze

Biden will make sure Intel don't die to AMD

But yea Intel best days from Sandy Bridge and then after Haswell start having problems... 14nm delayed until Broadwell disappeared, Skylake core is the base for like 7 generations and even newer gens not much diff... AMD wouldn't have managed to catch up in most sane situations but they did

Phen8210

we shall see if Pat made the smart choices, i think praying china attack tsmc faster!
did u buy nvda, it can pay for itself and also pay for your losses :ROFLMAO:

watzup_ken

I feel tripling down the foundry business is probably the worst investment for Intel now. Clearly at this early stages, Intel is already suffering heavy losses from it. And this is despite government payouts to cushion the startup cost. Then they will need to buy equipment, hire skilled labor for such role which is scarce in the US, and pay for the running costs. If they have sufficient clients and healthy margin, I think its ok. But I think whatever they are getting as clients, the margin is going to be thin because people recognized that TSMC is probably the best out there.

TheSYF

lucky i am on alderlake no such issue. Seeing AMD having the more efficient chips nowadays, guess my next PC will be AMD. No more overprice and inefficient chips.

TanKianW

At least we know Pat is true Intel blood, hope he can use his rage to steer Intel ship on track!

KECS2rt.png

https://www.anandtech.com/show/2089

If Pat do make Intel stay afloat, and comes out with new cutting edge architecture and compete in the game again, my bets it will likely be from the Intel Isreali team but the Gaza war is not helping. If they do come out ahead in the next or next-next cycle (if they survive) they will surely try to crush AMD once and for all on every bizz front by hook or by crook this time round. You dun make the mistake twice! So I hope even if they do recover to the game, it will be just on par or slightly better than with AMD. Sufficiently humbling for them to continue to innovate, keep AMD (not saints too) in check, so all consumer continue to benefit with good pricing and advancement in chip technology.

Fact is even ASML and TSMC are raising their prices, so expecting more expensive chips ahead for consumers while they “tan par par” from server and AI clients, and continue to have “chip shortage/crunch” to raise the price!

The next innovation I will hope is from silicon lithography (might happen in Japan) or new material to replace silicon for chip making. Just like transitioning of copper from aluminium in chip making which brings great boost. That will surely make ASML less “monopoly” in EUV lithography.​

kimsix

If Pat do make Intel stay afloat, and comes out with new cutting edge architecture and compete in the game again, my bets it will like be from the Intel Isreali team but the Gaza war is not helping. If they do come out ahead in the next or next-next cycle (if they survive) they will surely try to crush AMD once and for all on very bizz front by hook or by crook this time round. You dun make the mistake twice! So I hope even if they do recover to the game, it will be just on par or slightly better than with AMD. Sufficiently humbling for them to continue to innovate, keep AMD (not saints too) in check, so all consumer continue to benefit with good pricing and advancement in chip technology.

Fact is even ASML and TSMC are raising their prices, so expecting more expensive chips ahead for consumers while they “tan par par” from server and AI clients, and continue to have “chip shortage/crunch” to raise the price!

The next innovation I will hope is from silicon lithography (might happen in Japan) or new material to replace silicon for chip making. Just like transitioning of copper from aluminium in chip making which brings great boost. That will surely make ASML less “monopoly” in EUV lithography.​

I think Intel cpu IPC still strong. It is the foundry holding them back.

When their IDM2.0 comes online, buyed big capital assets, wait until 2027 wtf?? Pat really bet the whole farm on it. 2021 to 2024, nothing improved :o

My time when studying, Intel has the very best foundry. Wtf happened can throw away such a big lead :o

Something like sony who took too late transitioning to LCD tech. Intel talents how can they missed EUV boat...

TanKianW

When their IDM2.0 comes online, buyed big capital assets, wait until 2027 wtf?? Pat really bet the whole farm on it. 2021 to 2024, nothing improved :o

My time when studying, Intel has the very best foundry. Wtf happened can throw away such a big lead :o

Something like sony who took too late transitioning to LCD tech. Intel talents how can they missed EUV boat...

That makes sense too.

But my guess is that their foundry tech cannot catch up liao. Too far behind. Not something you can solve by “building more”.

Who knows, the next best cutting edge chip might be out from Chinese foundry very soon. :LOL:

Phen8210

It's just complacency. One can be born with many advantages, but those more competitive will eventually overtake them.

Next, the worst part of all these, which nobody has mentioned yet, is that the current state of Intel is mainly self-inflicted, not just due to their lack of technological advancements. Ethical issues did considerable damage because of how they handled things, such as lack of transparency, hiding critical information from customers, unethical handling of RMA, and mass layoffs. They are about to face some severe lawsuits.

The scariest part of all these is that Intel is so incompetent that AMD didn't have to do anything. Imagine you are an olympic athlete competing for 1st place with a rival, and that rival basically forfeits. That was how easy it was for AMD.

So ya, it's more or less over for intel. AMD is not under American CEO anymore, they are under Lisa Su, a person with Asian blood, not American blood.

Even INTEL own fanboys are going against them, it's over already.
https://www.reddit.com/r/intel/

kimsix

dont know why this Steve, his videos always front loaded with drama, but not much new info there.

It is just a review of what we already know from old posts taken from several forums

Like a dumpster dive on every single mistake that was made even if there is no connection between the reported issues.

Phen8210

dont know why this Steve, his videos always front loaded with drama, but not much new info there.

It is just a review of what we already know from old posts taken from several forums

Like a dumpster dive on every single mistake that was made even if there is no connection between the reported issues.

Well, their downfall isn't just related to technical issues, but their ethics and unprofessionalism. Otherwise, I don't think it would have double crashed. They have lost the trust of many stakeholders. The way they do things is just asking for it, it even feels like they are desperately trying to shut down the company.

With all things considered, who dares to buy INTC.. lol. At least not now, given the severity of things.

The normal response for a stock that just heavily crashed, is to have at least some significant recovery.. but until now it has been completely flat. This usually does not happen.

So much **** happening, its not gonna stop anytime.
https://www.tomshardware.com/pc-components/cpus/intel-customer-bemoans-cpu-rma-process
image.png

With how prevalent social media is in our era, intel should not have acted recklessly, I would say this is even going to be worse than the dark times before amd got back in the game. They haven't considered how their actions would have a business impact on themselves, they still think they are the intel from Sandy Bridge era where they are the king in the market.

Their reputation has been damaged already.
image.png

matique

Intel still has a stronghold in oem systems for businesses, and that is unlikely to change soon as some business tools are built to be optimised to run on Intel, with these software not playing well with AMD drivers. AMD would need to step up their software compatibility side of things if they want to capture this market. Most of you are working...go around your office to see what the desktops are mainly running.

How intel survives in the coming years would be how their foundry succeeds. Just a reminder to all, Intel holds most, if not all the orders for ASML's High NA EUV machines, with TSMC being the second customer after the order to Intel is fulfilled. If Intel could leverage this edge they hold, I think they would be fine.

That said, Intel is losing hard in the data center side, as well as consumer chips. They handled the recent degradation fiasco in the worst way possible, though they recently announced an extended warranty for the chips.

Hopefully Pat can turn it around. Remember, competition is key. Intel held a large share in the earlier years because AMD could not compete. If Intel were to fail and be non-competitive, AMD could repeat Intel's mistake and stagnate.

For myself, i'll see if the new Ultra 9 chips can dethrone the future 9800x3d of AMD, with both systems pushed. Fastest chip wins after all. I've a feeling the new x3d chips would do quite well, especially if the IF can be pushed. The IMC on the new U9 chips seems good as well, but unsure if intel would allow extreme pushing of its chips as it has in the past.

matique

He has to get the views somehow, the dude thrives on drama and regurgitation, reeling in views with content that serves the lowest common denominator. For someone who prides on "neutrality" he has some very, very spirited views regarding matters, blowing things well out of proportion i.e. AMD CPU bulge saga and Intel's current degradation saga.

TanKianW

A good and informative watch YouTuber into the semiconductor world and the tech behind the manufacturing. I find such videos more educational and help you understand the subject matter to help you make your own judgement and assessment on the industry. This Youtuber is from the semi-con industry, but he also covers a broad spectrum of tech-related subjects. Worth a watch.​

https://www.youtube.com/@Asianometry

TanKianW

Intel still has a stronghold in oem systems for businesses, and that is unlikely to change soon as some business tools are built to be optimised to run on Intel, with these software not playing well with AMD drivers. AMD would need to step up their software compatibility side of things if they want to capture this market. Most of you are working...go around your office to see what the desktops are mainly running.

How intel survives in the coming years would be how their foundry succeeds. Just a reminder to all, Intel holds most, if not all the orders for ASML's High NA EUV machines, with TSMC being the second customer after the order to Intel is fulfilled. If Intel could leverage this edge they hold, I think they would be fine.

That said, Intel is losing hard in the data center side, as well as consumer chips. They handled the recent degradation fiasco in the worst way possible, though they recently announced an extended warranty for the chips.

Hopefully Pat can turn it around. Remember, competition is key. Intel held a large share in the earlier years because AMD could not compete. If Intel were to fail and be non-competitive, AMD could repeat Intel's mistake and stagnate.

For myself, i'll see if the new Ultra 9 chips can dethrone the future 9800x3d of AMD, with both systems pushed. Fastest chip wins after all. I've a feeling the new x3d chips would do quite well, especially if the IF can be pushed. The IMC on the new U9 chips seems good as well, but unsure if intel would allow extreme pushing of its chips as it has in the past.

There is a Chinese saying:

破船还有三千钉

Before I start running all servers solely on AMD and their EPYC, I hope they buck it up.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.