Is it true by 30yo, your life is more or less set already?

Eliwood

I realised a lot of people who "made it" really cannot escape the survivorship bias and self enhancing bias traps. Based on this thread already so many think is caz they did something that why they achieved something. Or is caz the lack of doing something that why didn't get it.

Seems like is really easy to sell false hope to those suffering by just blaming them that they must be not doing enough.

And easier for people who "made it" to credit to what they did or how they think.

Suddenly luck is out of the equation. And no I don't think luck means sit there do nothing be lucky and huat. But luck plays the most important part in everything you do.

If u have really tried the best you can and the only thing holding u back is bad luck, then u r essentially in the best circumstance u can be given that luck is part of ur life.

The best of ur life is probably now and things are likely to go downhill as u age.

While this is cold comfort, it is still better than any false hope i suppose.

IAmChiobu12M

Ok la, we give up.

It's all luck.

Tough luck my friend....I think you are set for life.

If you ever need a drink I can treat you to a kopi c to cheer you up.
Can your kopi c boost my luck? If yes I'll take 10 cups. But I prefer teh c siew dai la. No like coffee.

IAmChiobu12M

If u have really tried the best you can and the only thing holding u back is bad luck, then u r essentially in the best circumstance u can be given that luck is part of ur life.

The best of ur life is probably now and things are likely to go downhill as u age.

While this is cold comfort, it is still better than any false hope i suppose.
Yes it is, thank you.

thorsten139

Can your kopi c boost my luck? If yes I'll take 10 cups. But I prefer teh c siew dai la. No like coffee.
i don't sell snake oil. grounded in reality

only 1 cup, me too poor to give you 2nd free cup.

interchangeable w teh/kopi/horlick/milo. any combination of c/gao . my own pref is kopi/teh c kosong

anyway one man's perceived bad circumstance could be someone else's perceived awesome circumstance. jiayou

IAmChiobu12M

i don't sell snake oil. grounded in reality

only 1 cup, me too poor to give you 2nd free cup.

interchangeable w teh/kopi/horlick/milo. any combination of c/gao . my own pref is kopi/teh c kosong

anyway one man's perceived bad circumstance could be someone else's perceived awesome circumstance. jiayou
Actually I'm curious. What's the difference between gao vs dilou. Are they the same?

trd_charlie

What makes you think having someone means will get laid? If true, so many edmwers won't kpkb sexless marriage liao.

There are also unique rs where girl want piak guy dw too. But due to some reasons no choice have to continue the rs until marriage.

But jin sad la...going 30yo still bbfa no one to exercise together jin cham :frown: :frown: :frown:
By laid I mean more like a partner. Sex is only that 20 - 30 mins gratification. The mental support outside of bodily pleasures is what matters.

Your avatar and nickname so satki you bb? Don't ruin my imagination pls.

Mephist0pheLes

What makes you think having someone means will get laid? If true, so many edmwers won't kpkb sexless marriage liao.

There are also unique rs where girl want piak guy dw too. But due to some reasons no choice have to continue the rs until marriage.

But jin sad la...going 30yo still bbfa no one to exercise together jin cham :frown: :frown: :frown:
chance of guy dont wan piak is significantly lower than girl that dont wan piak lah

thorsten139

Actually I'm curious. What's the difference between gao vs dilou. Are they the same?
if i remember...gao is less dilution....dilou is no dilution.

my fav is kopi c gao kosong, but abit too long...

nanyang kopi i can only drink w milk c....

i only do pure coffee with espressos i make myself

IAmChiobu12M

By laid I mean more like a partner. Sex is only that 20 - 30 mins gratification. The mental support outside of bodily pleasures is what matters.

Your avatar and nickname so satki you bb? Don't ruin my imagination pls.
Caz alr bb dinobu real life and frenless liao. Better act yige satki here a bit pretend pretend so got some online frens pcw w me :frown: at least here pretend chiobu can get some online attention ma. And is also to match our Andy Lau here ma. So same status.

Mephist0pheLes

Caz alr bb dinobu real life and frenless liao. Better act yige satki here a bit pretend pretend so got some online frens pcw w me :frown: at least here pretend chiobu can get some online attention ma. And is also to match our Andy Lau here ma. So same status.
can get free omakase from the bbfa here is successful liao

thorsten139

maybe cos the girl out of shape, u put one 20 yo xmm and the >35 yo guy in the same room u see he stand anot
Maybe is work stress and family commitments....

Its fairly common for guys sex drive to pummel in their late 30s....

like some really will just want uninterrupted rest even if got chiobu in front....

IAmChiobu12M

this one i really nv really hear of la...late 20s all only just started working....

little to no commitment....

nothing much to do, i can't tihnk of any reason for decreased libido, unless they had none to begin with.
Until now I'm still guessing the reasons. To date there is no answer besides the 3 possible conclusions. Asexual, gay, spoil.

IAmChiobu12M

Elon Musk’s father owned a profitable emerald mine and was a rich property developer in South Africa.
Jeff Bezos’s parents fronted him $300,000 to Amazon in 1995.
Bill Gates’s parent were wealthy and had strong connections to IBM.
Buffett’s father was a highly-successful investor and four-time congressman.
Larry Page, Sergey Brin's parents were senior professors and NASA execs (with connections to big VCs)

In short, the parent set the foundation for their success, or not. Having a rich, influential or powerful parent very important. Can access to many things ordinary people cannot. Including knowledge, experience and connections, money asides. That is provided own self is also smart and talented enough to use it to own advantage. :s22:

Not denying that. They are good.

To win u have to be good, no matter if u get handed good or bad cards.
Although some people are given cards that are impossible to win...

Real Rags to Riches no longer available in many countries de, our local entrepreneurs all got money from 'hidden' sources.

One prominent F&B Boss in his late 20s always say he rags to riches but actually he was a bookie de, last time purposely situate his stall in a famous lup sup place as a venue for collecting bookie money, hearsay 1 month around $50K++, btw, he took over bookie business from the laopeh.

I have two friends from primary school who are siblings, they grew up with separated parents and always claimed to be poor despite staying in a 5-room flat. I knew their father was a Security Guard but didn't know how tf they can survive to this day, both siblings had never had a part-time job growing up but were still able to succeed in school as No.1 and No.2 of their cohorts in Poly. The Older Sibling not even 30 but is working as CFO for a famous Middle East Company owned by a Saudi Prince, salary around $1M/Year. Younger Sibling jumped around Accenture, Bloomberg, Deloitte, etc, not sure where she currently is but from what I heard, salary around $300K/Year. Only recently found out their father is a Big-Time Bookie, poly allowance a month $20K.

once u are in the upper tier of society, your status is guaranteed

likewise, when u r in the middle or bottom, u can do whatever u want but u will still forever be stuck

the upper tier is controlled by a handful, they will not let new outsiders to join them

All these prove my point. Really is set.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.