is Teck Whye Hawker Center still around?

dambio

I could find answer in Google AI reply there is Teck Whye Hawker center and this forum post also mentioned about Teck Whye Hawker Center but it's a 2008 post:

https://www.mycarforum.com/forums/topic/2304277-kopi-with-milk-increased-to-90-cents/

either I remember wrongly or got Mandela Effect liao because conspiracy theorists said that in year 2012, we actually been moved to another reality / timeline due to end-of-the-world disaster actually had happened and hence many of the old reality is gone because of the reality merging ... :s13:

@Medicated Oil
There's no hawker centre in teck whye all along iirc.

kuti

Since when teck whye have hawker center??

Only remember some kopitiams near the temple area nia

SkyNinja

Teck whye kopitiam, nearer to the ntuc fairprice. The roti prata and curry nice. Always long queue

coyote

I recall there was one where there were many delicious food there ... now I don't seem to find it except got what Teck Whye Shopping Center which doesn't look like the hawker center I saw before ...

It has few kopitiams around that area nowadays. I saw what looks like a previous generation hawker center like those wet markets in Malaysia. They use it as make shift stalls for people to sell things from vegetables, fruits and etc.

deathan9el

Honorary Mentor
ya that's why it's so strange for me because I remember there was really a hawker center last time ... :s13:
could be that those that had said no, was b'cuz it could be way before their time

btw did this happened when u were in the 1940s? :crazy:

xcodes

It has few kopitiams around that area nowadays. I saw what looks like a previous generation hawker center like those wet markets in Malaysia. They use it as make shift stalls for people to sell things from vegetables, fruits and etc.

this hawker center (probably make shift type) you saw got sell orh lua aka oyster omelette or not?

One Piece

Ya lor.. no famous food in Teck Whye. Got slightly above average only. The “middle” coffee shop has long queues for fishball noodles etc. coz it is cheap and large portion and the Chinese vegetarian. I suspect the coffee shop is owned by the boss and thus, prices can be kept low and in the evening, you can see him drinking 1-3 cans of Carlsberg at the seats with the shutters down.

The coffee shop near 4 fingers, 10-15 years ago had a small Tze char is decent for the price but after the stall owner pass away, the spouse could not continue. Had a Reno after that was closed for sometime due to stall/ table placement disputes and now it’s an integrated stall with noodles and rice etc. in its latest incarnation. Have not tried and does not look convincing yet to me.

The Wen jiang chicken rice near maccas is nice but expensive, you get what you pay for.

The BKT/claypot rice stall near NTUC around for a long time. Use to like the dry prawn noodles near the outlet near the temple/ntuc. Now not easy to get table, so din eat in sometime.

A few of the Indian Muslims stalls (about 2 at the Center) changed ownership a a few times. Some owners Prata is decent, some so so only.

the Malay Muslim stall near maccas is decent. Recently there is a noodle store there that has fish slice soup that is ok la..

The kway chup at the coffeeshop next to CC was good before the uncle retire and let others took over, and there was also a chicken rice stall with long queue at blk 16.

coyote

thanks for replying ... then this is so strange for me ... :s13:

I won't know that structure was previously a hawker center. It looks like those wet markets in Malaysia that could house easily > 100 stalls. The place is somewhere between choa Chu Kang CC and the Sheng Siong at teck whye lane.

standarture

TS probably calling by wrong name. Just like most of us call Bukit Merah View Hawker ad Henderson Hawker instead.

dexterkim

I recall there was one where there were many delicious food there ... now I don't seem to find it except got what Teck Whye Shopping Center which doesn't look like the hawker center I saw before ...
teck whye lastime got swimming pool blk 7 and fish pond at blk 4 lol
L9sFAfA.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.