ITE> Poly > Local Uni?

Zidane

Hi everyone, I was a former ITE graduate and came from the long route. I did badly for my O levels L1r5 32 points, went on to ITE and SP. My gpa is about 3.6.

What are my chances of securing a place in uni since my ITE grades would not be taken into consideration in the 20% component?

Any students who have managed to enter local universities from ITE, mind sharing your experiences?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

kingtrade

Hi everyone, I was a former ITE graduate and came from the long route. I did badly for my O levels L1r5 32 points, went on to ITE and SP. My gpa is about 3.6.

What are my chances of securing a place in uni since my ITE grades would not be taken into consideration in the 20% component?

Any students who have managed to enter local universities from ITE, mind sharing your experiences?

You aim what course? What's ur poly course?

MoxLotus

wow .. b4 i say anything ... i will clap for ur achievements so far as an ITE grad ... i really respect ITE grads who have done well in poly and able to move to uni ...

Ok now here comes the question will u be able to make it into uni? the answer is yes .. but u gotta stick with ur course that u studied in poly ...

ImLostHere

actually this is the question that i alway wanted to ask. Some more i worst than TS i only got 'N' level from NT, nitec in ec that higher nitec in ec. currently com eng in one of the poly. sometime i worry if i study hard and uni reject will i be able to take it and if the reason is due to i came from ite. i think i will go bang the wall.

geekboy

Must you attend a local uni? Considering your study route, you should be around 26 or 27 already if you're male and served NS, do you want to enter the job market as a fresh grad at 30?

Anyway, if you really want to enter local uni, just apply, no harm trying, only application fee gone if you fail.

If I were you though, I would start working and study part time to make up for the difference in work experience.

bl_eye

ya
study part time while working seems to be a better choice for u
else at 30...w/o work experience is quite diff to get a job...

MoxLotus

ya

lol .. study parttime is the worst choice ... unless u r doing part time master/phd...

if u r doing a part-time degree, u might as well flush ur degree down the toilet bowl ...

kingkongikiss

anyone can explain the 20% component thing? and so ite graduate loss out 20% ? so even if get GPA 4 at poly is only like 3.2% (- 20%out the component thing)? or they be looking only on the poly GPA?

Kyoji83

Study a part time local Uni & start full time work as fresh poly gradute maybe no a good choice for TS.

This is because as a fresh poly gradute, he have alot of things to learn from company. He may needs to work OT. In this case, how is he going to go for his lessons?

Local Uni have more modules that D/L degree which mean alot of modules in 1 term, how is he going to have time to self study or do assignment? On top of that, local Uni also look at attendance. Do you think the company will always print out 'Letter of OT' to cover his attendance?

For Poly/Uni, I advice to study full time if you are a fresh gradute.

ya

MoxLotus

anyone can explain the 20% component thing? and so ite graduate loss out 20% ? so even if get GPA 4 at poly is only like 3.2% (- 20%out the component thing)? or they be looking only on the poly GPA?

it will be considered as a case by case basis ... when they process ur application, they will take into your ITE background into consideration... after all not everyone took O level in poly ... so maybe they will use ITE GPA to replace the O lvl component ..

ernesttan664

it will be considered as a case by case basis ... when they process ur application, they will take into your ITE background into consideration... after all not everyone took O level in poly ... so maybe they will use ITE GPA to replace the O lvl component ..

like TS, i finished my N lvl (Normal Tech) and moved on into ITE then to poly (SP). I was invited to attend the early admission for local uni talk last month. The dean from NTU said that those who do not have a O lvl result will get 0% for that component:s27:

ImLostHere

like TS, i finished my N lvl (Normal Tech) and moved on into ITE then to poly (SP). I was invited to attend the early admission for local uni talk last month. The dean from NTU said that those who do not have a O lvl result will get 0% for that component:s27:

no O level means zero, that i hopeless liao

Buaya_Hunter

but the problem is i from NT de leh i never take phy, hist or this before and somemore i never study during my sec sch. how to tahan.
anyone with out O level make it to uni pls tell me how u get in ty.

First thing first, what is ur desired course, uni and your course? Seriously, I can tell u that for application to local uni, poly gpa is still the top consideration. No use having a tok kong o level result but getting a medicore poly gpa.

ernesttan664

First thing first, what is ur desired course, uni and your course? Seriously, I can tell u that for application to local uni, poly gpa is still the top consideration. No use having a tok kong o level result but getting a medicore poly gpa.

qft, if u work hard in poly, i dun see a problem getting into uni at all

ImLostHere

guys i study in com eng currently with a gpa around 3.85 i want to try to get into ntu or nus com eng but then like someone say no O level mean i only got 80% from my poly. is like abit hopeless lor the 20% alot leh.

kcxdes

guys i study in com eng currently with a gpa around 3.85 i want to try to get into ntu or nus com eng but then like someone say no O level mean i only got 80% from my poly. is like abit hopeless lor the 20% alot leh.

Why don't you just email/call up the admission dept of the local unis to check with them how they would evaluate your case. I doubt they will penalise you for the lack of O's.

ernesttan664

are you by any chance studying computer engineering @ SP? coz i also studying computer engineering :o anyway not to worry la, should be able to get in de

ImLostHere

are you by any chance studying computer engineering @ SP? coz i also studying computer engineering :o anyway not to worry la, should be able to get in de

confirm not sp becos my higher nitec abit cmi wun get in. Too naught when i was young lol. now scare all this.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.