It's true. I really feel damn shy to wear my Rolex

Multiversal

Wear Rolex but also wear old style Chinese long sleeve.... Noone can see you wearing 金勞!u will b very safe even in JB....
Oh, those were the days when we went to work wearing a long sleeved shirt, a tie with print-lines slopping to one side, and bell bottomed pants. Now you see, now you don't. It's not a lot different from opening your wallet and letting people see a thick wad of notes, and also that AMEX card. Green had status, gold even higher. :ROFLMAO:

sAVaGEmP5

I hardly see people wearing watches these days. Even the smart watch has lost its hype.

Occasionally, I'd see a boomer wearing a cheap looking watch.

Or else, a zoomer wearing a colourful smarty....honestly, I didn't see a lot of them wearing Apple iWatch, or Garmin or what have you.

And here I am owning a Rolex, which I feel damn shy to be the only person wearing one at any hawker centre or food court or McD. Damn it, nobody wears that in restaurants even!

What am I keeping it for? To console myself, aka lie to myself, that it's a highly desirable object that needs servicing every half a decade for a price that should keep the Rolex technician employed and paid well, and cover the rental of the posh looking premises? Tell myself, to borrow a phrase from PP, that I don't own it but keep it for the next generation(s)? BBFAs don't buy that line though..

Same thing i own 2 ferraris, 1 mclaren, 1 911 gt3 and 1x old RR.

When i go hawker center every1 walk there, nobody drive. so i decided to bmw there instead.

hope ts overcome his need for society approval

Multiversal

Li ka shing now wear Apple watch.
No more Seiko or 400 USD Citizen.

https://www.edigest.hk/投資/李嘉誠-棄用精工錶-改戴apple-watch-1677764/
I remember watching an interview of him where he said he did not buy a luxury watch because he did not want to have to take care of it.

He was asked why he wore a solar powered watch and he replied that he did not want to have to keep changing battery. Hmmm...people do change. Now he has to keep charging his smartwatch daily but he didn't mind.

Multiversal

i threw away my automatic watch for smart watch

now i am throwing away my smart watch for smart ring...

at the end of the day. to tell time, i just need my phone. to answer calls i have earpieces. to track my sleep and heart rate and even notifications, i can use a smart ring.

back to a rolex... i dont know what it can do? if someone needs desperately to show off he is wealthy, there are many other better ways to do that. if someone needs to accumulate wealth, there are many other better ways to do that too.

to TS, if u need to be shy about wearing a rolex. it isnt because no one wears it. instead, u might be shy wearing because a rolex wearer's mindset is way outdated and a tad foolish
Spot on. (y)

Multiversal

Why get Tudor? That is the cheap line of Rolex right? Last time around $500. Not buying because I like watches or movement. Buying because it is a Rolex, looks like a Rolex and people can tell at a glance that it is a Rolex.

lady-une-gundam-wing.gif
51609673_0.jpg
A Tudor is what a Rolex is worth, if it is not called a Rolex. Still, some people will say that the Tudor is overpriced.

Multiversal

What are some shops to start looking at?
I am not looking at buying another Rolex, and so I cannot answer your question. :)

And I don't intend to go all over Singapore to find out for you....................though I more than half suspect that you are not intending to buy one anyway, but only trying to give an impression that there's a market, there's still BIG interest in Rolex watches, while trying to keep its prices up, and while knowing fully well that the resale prices have fallen sharply...hard truth which Rolex collectors who have been monitoring the market all know... :ROFLMAO:

Investing does not guarantee sure tio, sure gain. Some investments lose money, some don't earn as much as we wish. TKL invested in Forest City. He has a video showing what a wonderful place FC is... can ride bicycle, and be treated like a VVIP because the security guard tabek him. :ROFLMAO:

eq2addict

Best watch to wear is the HPB tracker.
Can get free ntuc vouchers.

People will also think you down to earth.
Imagine you are the ceo and wear that watch while driving a S class. Respect 🫡
drive everywhere cannot clock steps. then random unker will think the ceo sohai

NintendoSwitch

A Tudor is what a Rolex is worth, if it is not called a Rolex. Still, some people will say that the Tudor is overpriced.
There are people who are fans of watches. And there are people who only buy the brand. Tudor is the cheap brand of Rolex. I bought before the cheap brand of Omega forget what it's called liao. From my descriptions u can tell that I am the latter. Zero interest in simi movement or whatever. Can show off can liao. Tudor and the other brands watch lovers rave over I have zero interest in. Googled a bit and finally found the name. Tissot. Piece of trash.

zephxion

There are people who are fans of watches. And there are people who only buy the brand. Tudor is the cheap brand of Rolex. I bought before the cheap brand of Omega forget what it's called liao. From my descriptions u can tell that I am the latter. Zero interest in simi movement or whatever. Can show off can liao. Tudor and the other brands watch lovers rave over I have zero interest in. Googled a bit and finally found the name. Tissot. Piece of trash.
Depends who you want to show off lor. Rolex is for the peasants and tudor is for the watch enthusiasts.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.