Japan Sample Itinerary thread

Hetheone

First thought was that you were suggesting No. 1 ryokan Kagaya. Was staying next door, Kagaya is too expensive. Don't like its sister ryokan Aenokaze with the compulsory performance during dinner. Will try next time round when I'm visiting Noto Hanto and Ishikawa again. Hope to visit Notojima via local bus. We really love that area and the people - more laid back and more friendly.

Tink is different area, kaga onsen is near mountain area....

They have ryokan like Araya Toto-an, Beniya Mukayu, Hatori, Morinosumika....

Anyway u can visit there again next time round when u got more time in Kanazawa....

This coming trip u seem to have more time in tokyo.....

Looking forward for good food ya.....

thwysg

Tink is different area, kaga onsen is near mountain area....

They have ryokan like Araya Toto-an, Beniya Mukayu, Hatori, Morinosumika....

Anyway u can visit there again next time round when u got more time in Kanazawa....

This coming trip u seem to have more time in tokyo.....

Looking forward for good food ya.....

Well, Omaki Onsen is only accessible by boat, so we were in the middle of a Gorge too. Can only see sky, mountains and water. :)

Journey to Omaki was very interesting, hope to visit them during winter!

Next trip to Japan most likely is to Kyoto area - city, and all the way to Japan Sea and Kinosaki Onsen. Cross fingers first.

Hetheone

Well, Omaki Onsen is only accessible by boat, so we were in the middle of a Gorge too. Can only see sky, mountains and water. :)

Journey to Omaki was very interesting, hope to visit them during winter!

Next trip to Japan most likely is to Kyoto area - city, and all the way to Japan Sea and Kinosaki Onsen. Cross fingers first.

I will b at Kanazawa mid next month....

Omaki onsen looks nice..... Thanks for your highlight......

Now not sure to go coming trip or the next trip in end feb......

Since u mention winter is a much better time to go.....

thwysg

Tokyo - August 2013

D01 - SG > Tokyo
D02 - Edogawa Hanabi Taikai
D03 - Tokyo: Shiodome, Shinbashi, Yurakucho
D04 - Tokyo: Tsukiji, Ginza, Akiba
D05 - Tokyo: Ikebukuro, Akiba
D06 - Mt. Fuji Climb
D07 - Mt. Fuji > Tokyo: Omotesando, Harajuku, Shibuya
D08 - Tokyo: Odaiba
D09 - Tokyo > Awashima Island (Shikoku) > Tokyo
D10 - Tokyo Bay Dai Hanabi Sai, Comiket (we skipped, way too many summer activities everywhere, tons of people)
D11 - Tokyo: Toraya, Ginza Sembikiya, Kyukyodo, Itoya > TDR
D12 - TDR
D13 - TDR
D14 - TDR > SG

Flights
SIA

Hotels
Park Hotel
Keio Plaza Tokyo
Hotel Nikko Tokyo (now renamed as Hilton Tokyo Odaiba) - great view of Rainbow Bridge before the fireworks festival, which we switched to another room on the actual day as the hotel blocked out that room for balloting.
Hilton Tokyo Bay

*Note: Went to Tokyo only because bro-in-law wanted to tag along. His first visit. We were very lucky that Zuji had 50% off all Japan hotel bookings so we had better rooms at a lower cost. Minus Hilton Tokyo Bay.

thwysg

wah!! day trip to Awashima Island from tokyo :eek:
got some events there?

mt exhibition with limited edition masking tapes held in the only school building that has been closed on that island. And oh yes, very very interesting to be on so many trains followed by community bus then a ferry. Took the ferry with the residents heading back to the fishing island. Got to see sunset when on the train crossing the seas with the islets. Very beautiful.

thwysg

Tokyo - April 2012

D01 - SG > Tokyo: Shinjuku
D02 - Tokyo: Roppongi/ One Piece Ten, Meiji Jingu, Harajuku, Omotesando
D03 - TDR
D04 - TDR
D05 - Yokohama: mt exhibition, Landmark Tower
D06 - Tokyo: Senso-ji/ Hana Matsuri/ Shirasagi no Mai, Sumida-gawa Koen, Ikebukuro
D07 - Kyoto: Nijo Castle, Tetsugaku no Michi, Ginkaku-ji
D08 - Club Yokoso day tour: Katsunuma Winery, Isawa Onsen, Mt. Kachi Kachi Ropeway, Kawaguchi-ko, Oshino Hakkai, Fuji-Oshino Berry Land, Yamanaka-ko, Wasabi no Sato, Shinjuku
D09 - JTB Sunrise day tour: Mt. Fuji 5th station, Owakudani, Hakone Ropeway, Ashinoko, Hakone Onsen
D10 - Hakone > Tokyo: Ginza
D11 - Tokyo: Akiba, Ueno
D12 - Tokyo: Tsukiji, Nihonbashi, Ningyocho (lunch)
D13 - Tokyo: Odaiba
D14 - Tokyo: > SG

Flights
SIA

Hotels
Keio Plaza Tokyo
Hilton Tokyo
Hotel Okada (too pricey for room with attached open-air bath)
Grand Pacific Le Daiba (now known as Hotel Nikko Daiba)

Main purpose was for One Piece Ten which we got a friend to buy advance tickets from 7-11 and sakura season. Very bad weather as there was a passing typhoon (rare in early April). Had heavy rain almost for a week. Totally not prepared when the temperature dropped below 5° for those days.

evilerniex

u stayed at the disney resort itself? which hotel u stayed and how was it?
thinking of staying a night for the experience.. but the price a bit scary

thwysg

u stayed at the disney resort itself? which hotel u stayed and how was it?
thinking of staying a night for the experience.. but the price a bit scary

Stayed at MiraCosta this April for 3 nights just before GW. Cost us ¥64,800 per night for the room (Porto Paradiso Side Superior Room Harbor View) under regular season. Breakfast is not included. Two restaurants to choose from. Service was very good. We had room service for one night while watching the night show directly in our room. The staff who delivered the meals laid the table before serving us. No need to camp and squeeze with others.

Everything could be reserved through its booking portal once you have a hotel room booking. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at different hotels and parks. There's 4 special shows which we only went for one dinner at Diamond Horseshoe Show - only for Disney hotel guests. Bought our tickets on the day we checked in - special multi-pass which allow us to visit two parks on first day. Anyway there's no indication of the parks for all days on the pass. Special entrance to the park - Happy15 Entry. We asked for hotel delivery in all our shopping, to be collected at the concierge.

The thing is I booked exactly 6 months ahead once the system is open for that first night (I stayed by the mobile for 3 mornings while in the office). So I ended up with 3 different rooms (just grab any twin room) for the booking. Upon checking in, you can request your desired room throughout the stay. Requires a ¥30,000 deposit. Settle your bill when you check out.

*Important - They do not have chip card readers so please activate your credit card magnetic swipes, including all shops and restaurants in the parks.

Let me know if you had any other queries.

evilerniex

Stayed at MiraCosta this April for 3 nights just before GW. Cost us ¥64,800 per night for the room (Porto Paradiso Side Superior Room Harbor View) under regular season. Breakfast is not included. Two restaurants to choose from. Service was very good. We had room service for one night while watching the night show directly in our room. The staff who delivered the meals laid the table before serving us. No need to camp and squeeze with others.

Everything could be reserved through its booking portal once you have a hotel room booking. Breakfast, lunch and dinner at different hotels and parks. There's 4 special shows which we only went for one dinner at Diamond Horseshoe Show - only for Disney hotel guests. Bought our tickets on the day we checked in - special multi-pass which allow us to visit two parks on first day. Anyway there's no indication of the parks for all days on the pass. Special entrance to the park - Happy15 Entry. We asked for hotel delivery in all our shopping, to be collected at the concierge.

The thing is I booked exactly 6 months ahead once the system is open for that first night (I stayed by the mobile for 3 mornings while in the office). So I ended up with 3 different rooms (just grab any twin room) for the booking. Upon checking in, you can request your desired room throughout the stay. Requires a ¥30,000 deposit. Settle your bill when you check out.

*Important - They do not have chip card readers so please activate your credit card magnetic swipes, including all shops and restaurants in the parks.

Let me know if you had any other queries.

thanks for the detailed write up! :)

thwysg

thanks for the detailed write up! :)

Oh yes, all guests would be given a personalized room key (without the room number - so please remember it!) and as well as a seasonal Disney Resort Line multi-day pass.

Hotel has its own postmark for posts sent out from there and as well as the hotel's exclusive merchandise - individual hotel designs for cookie tins and Mickey and Minnie plushies dressed in the hotel's costumes. Each guest is also entitled to buy Disney hotel tote bag with a luggage tag with an alphabet (initials) - need to show your room key.

If cost was an issue, there's another newly opened Disney hotel - Celebration Hotel. Further away from Maihama. Or Ambassador Hotel which you get to meet Chef Mickey while having breakfast (need to indicate Chef Mickey and the timeslot when you make online reservations).

My SO was telling me it's better to stay at MiraCosta than Disneyland Hotel (not within the park) though more pricey. So hope to stay there again! :)

evilerniex

Oh yes, all guests would be given a personalized room key (without the room number - so please remember it!) and as well as a seasonal Disney Resort Line multi-day pass.

Hotel has its own postmark for posts sent out from there and as well as the hotel's exclusive merchandise - individual hotel designs for cookie tins and Mickey and Minnie plushies dressed in the hotel's costumes. Each guest is also entitled to buy Disney hotel tote bag with a luggage tag with an alphabet (initials) - need to show your room key.

If cost was an issue, there's another newly opened Disney hotel - Celebration Hotel. Further away from Maihama. Or Ambassador Hotel which you get to meet Chef Mickey while having breakfast (need to indicate Chef Mickey and the timeslot when you make online reservations).

My SO was telling me it's better to stay at MiraCosta than Disneyland Hotel (not within the park) though more pricey. So hope to stay there again! :)

looks like need to cater more money if want to stay disney... coz want to buy merchandise also =:p

ck_siong

hi all,
Look for advice/feedback , thanks

Going - 15 Nov 2016 to 25 Nov 2016 (Tokyo + Kyoto)

Day 1 (15 Nov) - Tokyo Haneda Airport, JR to Kyoto
Day 2 (16 Nov) - Kinkakuji Temple, Arashimaya, Chikurin no mich, Fushimi Inarai Taisha Shrine
Day 3 (17 Nov) - Himeiji Castle (half day), Sanjusangen-do, Kiyomizu-dera Temple (open till 9pm from mid Nov to early Dec), Gion
Day 4 (18 Nov) - Nishiki Market, Nara (Isonokami Shrine & Nara Park), Uji for green tea (if time permits), JR to Tokyo , Night at Shinjuku area
Day 5 (19 Nov) - Tsukiji Market (Fish market), Ginza area, Akihabara (Electronics)
Day 6 (20 Nov) - Ueno Park & National Science Museum, Ameyoko Market (Market street), Samurai Museum
Day 7 (21 Nov) - Tokyo Disneyland
Day 8 (22 Nov) - Tokyo Disneysea
Day 9 (23 Nov) - Lake Kawaguchiko / Fuji Five Lakes to see Mount Fuji
Day 10 (24 Nov) - Asakusa Kannon Temple (Sensoji), Edo-Tokyo Muesem, Rikugien Garden
Day 11 (25 Nov) - Tokyo Haneda Airport to Singapore

thwysg

hi all,
Look for advice/feedback , thanks

Going - 15 Nov 2016 to 25 Nov 2016 (Tokyo + Kyoto)

Day 1 (15 Nov) - Tokyo Haneda Airport, JR to Kyoto
Day 2 (16 Nov) - Kinkakuji Temple, Arashimaya, Chikurin no mich, Fushimi Inarai Taisha Shrine
Day 3 (17 Nov) - Himeiji Castle (half day), Sanjusangen-do, Kiyomizu-dera Temple (open till 9pm from mid Nov to early Dec), Gion
Day 4 (18 Nov) - Nishiki Market, Nara (Isonokami Shrine & Nara Park), Uji for green tea (if time permits), JR to Tokyo , Night at Shinjuku area
Day 5 (19 Nov) - Tsukiji Market (Fish market), Ginza area, Akihabara (Electronics)
Day 6 (20 Nov) - Ueno Park & National Science Museum, Ameyoko Market (Market street), Samurai Museum
Day 7 (21 Nov) - Tokyo Disneyland
Day 8 (22 Nov) - Tokyo Disneysea
Day 9 (23 Nov) - Lake Kawaguchiko / Fuji Five Lakes to see Mount Fuji
Day 10 (24 Nov) - Asakusa Kannon Temple (Sensoji), Edo-Tokyo Muesem, Rikugien Garden
Day 11 (25 Nov) - Tokyo Haneda Airport to Singapore

Seems alright. Except Day 2 which you're heading North > West > South. Still possible since the torii gates at Fushimi Inari is open 24hrs.

fatboy9174

Hi all,
1st time going Japan, looking for advice/feedback on my itinerary. Not sure for my day 5 & 7 is too less spot to cover. Thanks!

Going - 28 Nov 2016 to 8 Dec 2016 (stayed @ Osaka for entire trip)

Day 1 (28 Nov) - Fly at night to ITX Airport

Day 2 (29 Nov) - Reached ITX at 9am. Stored luggage at Namba station. Osaka caste. Afternoon check in Airbnb. Evening go Dontoburi/Kuromon Ichiba market.

Day 3 (30 Nov) - Instant ramen museum,Osaka Aquarium,Osaka Bay Arena, Umeda Sky Building

Day 4 (1 Dec) - Himeiji Castle & Kokoen Garden for half a day, head back to Osaka Minami area - Amerikamura, Den Den Town, Ebisubashi-suji, Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi

Day 5 (2 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Fushimi Inari,Kiyomizu Temple, ???)

Day 6 (3 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Arashiyama area,Nijo Castle,Gion/Pontocho)

Day 7 (4 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Kinkaku-Ji,"Nishiki Market & Daimaru Department Store,???)

Day 8 (5 Dec) - USJ

Day 9 (6 Dec) - Day trip to Kobe

Day 10 (7 Dec) - Day trip to Nara (Todaiji Temple, Nara Park/Nara Temple, Horyu-ji temple,Katsuga Taisha Shrine,Kofukuji Temple,Gangou-Ji Temple, Higashimuki Shopping Street )

Day 11 (8 Dec) - Head back to Singapore

evilerniex

Hi all,
1st time going Japan, looking for advice/feedback on my itinerary. Not sure for my day 5 & 7 is too less spot to cover. Thanks!

Going - 28 Nov 2016 to 8 Dec 2016 (stayed @ Osaka for entire trip)

Day 1 (28 Nov) - Fly at night to ITX Airport

Day 2 (29 Nov) - Reached ITX at 9am. Stored luggage at Namba station. Osaka caste. Afternoon check in Airbnb. Evening go Dontoburi/Kuromon Ichiba market.

Day 3 (30 Nov) - Instant ramen museum,Osaka Aquarium,Osaka Bay Arena, Umeda Sky Building

Day 4 (1 Dec) - Himeiji Castle & Kokoen Garden for half a day, head back to Osaka Minami area - Amerikamura, Den Den Town, Ebisubashi-suji, Shinsaibashi/Dotonburi

Day 5 (2 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Fushimi Inari,Kiyomizu Temple, ???)

Day 6 (3 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Arashiyama area,Nijo Castle,Gion/Pontocho)

Day 7 (4 Dec) - Kyoto day trip (Kinkaku-Ji,"Nishiki Market & Daimaru Department Store,???)

Day 8 (5 Dec) - USJ

Day 9 (6 Dec) - Day trip to Kobe

Day 10 (7 Dec) - Day trip to Nara (Todaiji Temple, Nara Park/Nara Temple, Horyu-ji temple,Katsuga Taisha Shrine,Kofukuji Temple,Gangou-Ji Temple, Higashimuki Shopping Street )

Day 11 (8 Dec) - Head back to Singapore

3 days for kyoto is actually just rite. day 6 may be a bit packed coz arashiyama got quite a lot to see and can take half a day or more. u can adjust and shift ur plan accordingly base on how much u can cover.

if u really find urself having spare time, how about visiting tennoji area for haruka 300 building observatory, the tallest building in japan?

thwysg

3 days for kyoto is actually just rite. day 6 may be a bit packed coz arashiyama got quite a lot to see and can take half a day or more. u can adjust and shift ur plan accordingly base on how much u can cover.

evilerniex - just curious, is 7 days too much in Kyoto city during koyo season? I've not explored the whole city yet but intending to.

nemo88

I would go to Kyoto earlier in your trip if possible, at least be flexible to monitor the koyo status. The last day for Kiyomizudera night illumination is 4Dec, so can use that as a gauge - the leaves are expected to be past peak by then.

evilerniex

evilerniex - just curious, is 7 days too much in Kyoto city during koyo season? I've not explored the whole city yet but intending to.

usually 2-3 days enuf to cover the main sights. if u want to explore in great detail, u can easily fill up all 7 days. koyo season is more crowded too, so may need more time at each place. they have night illumination, so can stay for tt also, though tt doesnt affect the number of days.

but i think depends on person ba. for me i dun really like kyoto coz too crowded, and i am not tt into temples. so 2 days if probably the max for me. if i have 7 days, i would split it to do kyoto and some other places

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.