Japan Sample Itinerary thread

joeson

Solo maiden trip to Tokyo

Hi all,

I'm planning a solo trip to Tokyo this May after my friend flew my aeroplane & decided to not go with me to Tokyo. Bought the Scoot sales tickets last year during their Christmas sales.

Arrival: 03 May 2014 Singapore Taipei
00:55 AM 05:40 AM
03 May 2014 Taipei Tokyo
06:50 AM 11:00 AM

Departure: 11 May 2014 Tokyo Taipei
12:10 PM 14:20 PM
11 May 2014 Taipei Singapore
15:35 PM 19:55 PM

Day 1: Shinjuku + Shibuya

Day 2: Imperial Palace, Akihabara, Asakusa

Day 3: Harajuku, Shibuya, Ghibili Museum

Day 4: DisneySea

Day 5: Hakone (stay over)

Day 6: Hakone, Factory outlets, back to Tokyo City

Day 7: Tsukiji, Odaiba, Ginza

Day 8: Roppongi, Aoyama

Day 9: Free and easy til Departure

My accomodation is a studio apartment booked through Airbnb- the location is at Higashi-Shinjuku.

Appreciate any comments. Thanks in advance! :)

cpuer

Hi all,

I'm planning a solo trip to Tokyo this May after my friend flew my aeroplane & decided to not go with me to Tokyo. Bought the Scoot sales tickets last year during their Christmas sales.

03 May 2014 Taipei Tokyo

My accomodation is a studio apartment booked through Airbnb- the location is at Higashi-Shinjuku.

I assume your free and easy till departure is at Narita? Working backward, you need to be at the check-in counter by 10:10am. That means you will need to take Shinjuku's NEX at 8.02am(arrival at T2 9.25am). 8am is peak hour. So be mindful of the delay that may caused you when you set off from Higashi Shinjuku. Or Consider taking a cab from Higashi Shinjuku to Shinjuku straight, wont caused you too much as they are quite near to each other. Or reach Shinjuku really early to beat the crowds at both station like what I did.

evilerniex

Hi all,

03 May 2014 Taipei Tokyo

[going to be quite rush to squeeze 3 places in a day. especially since ghibli museum is out of the way. for ghibli studio, u need to buy tickets in advance from lawson coz they dun sell tickets at the museum itself. do try to get it the day u arrive in japan, coz the tickets may get sold out fiast]

[odaiba is beautiful at night, i suggest going ginza after tsukiji, then odaiba for evening till night. ginza is walking from tsukiji as well.]

[roppongi is a night spot, so u can go there in the evening. aoyama is a shopping area, so i dunno if u can spend the whole day there. aoyama is also harajuku, so maybe u can combine harajuku and aoyama on the same day and free up some time in day 3? or u can visit tokyo tower before going to roppongi coz tokyo tower is near roppongi]

[u probably dun have any time for free and easy in the morning since ur flight is at noon. do cater some buffer time in case of train delay, finding ur way around etc]

some comments above

renyreny

A price comparison for osaka pass to get maximum benefit. Arranged according to price.

Attraction Entrance fee Train Station Type time Closing risk
(28)Osaka Suijyo Bus (Aqua-Liner) - depends 1880 Osakajo-koen Sta. boat DEPENDS ON SEASON
(25)Cruise Ship Santa Maria 1600 Osakako Station boat 11:00-17:00
(26)Captain Line 1100 Tempozan boat 8.45 - 930
(5)Natural hot spring Naniwa no Yu 800 Tenjinbashisuji hot spring 8/10am - 1am
(24)Tempozan Giant Ferris Wheel 700 Osakako Sta Sky scenery 10:00-22:00
(7)Tombori River Cruise 700 Namba boat 1pm - 9pm (depends)
(23)Natural Open-air Hot Spring Spa Suminoe 700 Suminoekoen hot spring 10:00 - 2:00am
(1)Floating Garden Observatory 700 Umeda Sky scenery 10am -10.30pm
(15)Tsutenkaku Tower 600 Ebisucho Sta Sky scenery 9:00~21:00
(10)Osaka Castle Museum 600 Osakajo History 9am -5pm
(16)Shitennoji Temple (Chushingaran, Honbo Garden) 600 Shitennoji-mae Yuhigaoka Stn Scenery 8:30-17:00
(12)Osaka Museum of History 600 Tanimachi History 930 -5pm
(6)Osaka Museum of Housing and Living 600 Tenjinbashisuji History 10 - 5pm mon/tues/wed
(17)Tennoji Zoo 500 Dobutsuen-Mae animal 9:30 - 18:0
(8)Dotombori ZAZA 500 Namba show (j) 11.30 - 4pm depends
(9)Kamigata Ukiyoe Museum 500 Namba Art 11:00-18:00(last admission 17:30) mon/tues
(3)Museum of Oriental Ceramics, Osaka 500 Naniwabashi Art 9am - 4.30pm mon/tues
(27)Osaka Prefectural Government Sakishima Building Observatory 500 Trade Center-Mae Sky scenery 1pm -10pm
(22)Sakuya Konohana Kan 500 Tsurumi-Ryokuchi Sta Scenery 10:00-:17:00
(2)HEP FIVE Ferris Wheel 500 Umeda Sky scenery 11am - 10.45pm
(4)Osaka Science Museum 400 Nakanoshima Science (kids) 9.30 - 4.00pm
(21)Osaka Museum of Natural History 300 Nagai Sta History 9:30 to 16:30
(14)Entrepreneurial Museum of Challenge and Innovation 300 Sakaisuji Honmachi History 10 - 5pm mon
(18)Osaka City Museum of Fine Arts 300 Tennoji Sta. Art 9:30-17:00
(19)Osaka Human Rights Museum (Liberty Osaka) 250 Imamiya Sta History 10:00-17:00
(13)Peace Osaka (Osaka International Peace Center) 250 umeda History 930 -5pm
(20)Nagai Botanical Garden 200 Nagai Sta Scenery 9:30 to 16:30
(11)Osaka Castle Nishinomaru Garden 200 Osakajo Scenery 9:00 - 16:30

joeson

I assume your free and easy till departure is at Narita? Working backward, you need to be at the check-in counter by 10:10am. That means you will need to take Shinjuku's NEX at 8.02am(arrival at T2 9.25am). 8am is peak hour. So be mindful of the delay that may caused you when you set off from Higashi Shinjuku. Or Consider taking a cab from Higashi Shinjuku to Shinjuku straight, wont caused you too much as they are quite near to each other. Or reach Shinjuku really early to beat the crowds at both station like what I did.

ah ok! thanks for the advice. :) will incorporate it into my travel planning. :) when u say really early, means reach shinjuku at 7am?

cpuer

ah ok! thanks for the advice. :) will incorporate it into my travel planning. :) when u say really early, means reach shinjuku at 7am?
My experience was at 6.45am weekday in Shin-Okubo, one station north of Shinjuku on Yamanote line. At that time the trains appear crowded but not sardine can kind of packed. But its already forced us to enter into the train with our big luggage via multiple doors. You can gauge from here how much earlier you want to be at Higashi-Shinjuku.

random_person

ah ok! thanks for the advice. will incorporate it into my travel planning. when u say really early, means reach shinjuku at 7am?

Higashi Shinjuku is not far from the Shinjuku Station. If you don't wanna leave early, you can just walk from your place to the Shinjuku station and take NEX from Shinjuku. Just take it as a morning stroll. I personally love walking around in Japanese neighbourhoods. :) But of course, I am assuming that you don't have many things to carry around. :)

Jorgensen

Day 1 - Thursday
Arrival at Narita Airport (1130)
Buy Suica & Nex cards at airport
Checked in hotel at Shinjuku
Buy Hakone Free Pass at Shinjuku Station

- Shibuya
- Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building & West Shinjuku

Day 2 - Friday
- Tsukiji Fish Market
- 1 day Kamakura & Enoshima trip

Day 3 - Saturday
- Asakusa
- Sensoji Temple , Nakamise Dori, Tokyo Skytree, Edo-Tokyo Musuem
- Ueno
- Ueno National Park
- Tokyo National Museum

Day 4 - Sunday
- Meiji Shrine
- Ota Memorial Museum
- Harajuku (Takeshita Dori Street) & Aoyama
- East Shinjuku

Day 5 - Monday
- 1 Day Hakone overnight stay

Day 6 - Tuesday
- ½ day Hakone
- Akhabara Electronic Dept
- Tokyo Tower and Zojoji Temple (Optional)

Day 7 - Wednesday
- Checked out hotel
- Return Singapore (1400)

Any advice on the above itinerary?
Thanks

evilerniex

Day 1 - Thursday
Arrival at Narita Airport (1130)
Buy Suica & Nex cards at airport
Checked in hotel at Shinjuku
Buy Hakone Free Pass at Shinjuku Station

- Shibuya
- Tokyo Metropolitan Government Building & West Shinjuku

Day 2 - Friday
- Tsukiji Fish Market
- 1 day Kamakura & Enoshima trip

Day 3 - Saturday
- Asakusa
- Sensoji Temple , Nakamise Dori, Tokyo Skytree, Edo-Tokyo Musuem
- Ueno
- Ueno National Park
- Tokyo National Museum

Day 4 - Sunday
- Meiji Shrine
- Ota Memorial Museum
- Harajuku (Takeshita Dori Street) & Aoyama
- East Shinjuku

Day 5 - Monday
- 1 Day Hakone overnight stay

Day 6 - Tuesday
- ½ day Hakone
- Akhabara Electronic Dept
- Tokyo Tower and Zojoji Temple (Optional)

Day 7 - Wednesday
- Checked out hotel
- Return Singapore (1400)

Any advice on the above itinerary?
Thanks

how about putting east and west shinjuku in day 1, and shift shibuya to day 4 with harajuku to minimise travelling. u probably dun have much time in day 1 also, coz by the time u clear custom, travel to shinjuku and check in hotel, it is going to be late afternoon

Jorgensen

how about putting east and west shinjuku in day 1, and shift shibuya to day 4 with harajuku to minimise travelling. u probably dun have much time in day 1 also, coz by the time u clear custom, travel to shinjuku and check in hotel, it is going to be late afternoon

Noted
Anyway, for Day 6, is it worth to visit Tokyo Tower and Zojoji Temple?For night View?
I have some other places in mind, like Roppongi/Ikebukuro?

evilerniex

Noted
Anyway, for Day 6, is it worth to visit Tokyo Tower and Zojoji Temple?For night View?
I have some other places in mind, like Roppongi/Ikebukuro?

i personally think it is worth it to visit tokyo tower. it after all one of the most iconic attraction in tokyo. tokyo tower is near roppongi too, so u can visit roppongi after that.
the only concern is the time. by the time u get back to tokyo from hakone, probably half a day gone. still need to check in hotel, and dunno how much time u need at akihabara. bare in mind the travelling time between these places too

Jorgensen

i personally think it is worth it to visit tokyo tower. it after all one of the most iconic attraction in tokyo. tokyo tower is near roppongi too, so u can visit roppongi after that.
the only concern is the time. by the time u get back to tokyo from hakone, probably half a day gone. still need to check in hotel, and dunno how much time u need at akihabara. bare in mind the travelling time between these places too

Thanks for advise :)
I planned to leave Hakone before 12pm.
Around 2pm plus should be able reached Tokyo and check in hotel
3pm start exploring Akihabara
7-8pm explore Tokyo Tower and Roppongi
Hopefully not too rush for a nice relaxing trip :)

Btw, should I include Ikebukuro or any other places which I have missed out in my itinerary?

cpuer

Btw, should I include Ikebukuro or any other places which I have missed out in my itinerary?

IMO, Ikebukuro is not worth your time. Unless you want to eat Mutekiya ramen, otherwise with your limited time, better spend it else where.

But the ramen is so shiok that maybe you should still go Ikebukuro :s13:
–Ë‘n–[–³“G‰Æ -“X•Ü*î•ñ-

Crexzz

IMO, Ikebukuro is not worth your time. Unless you want to eat Mutekiya ramen, otherwise with your limited time, better spend it else where.

But the ramen is so shiok that maybe you should still go Ikebukuro :s13:
–Ë‘n–[–³“G‰Æ -“X•Ü*î•ñ-

Plus the new KIT KAT "boutique" at Ikebukuro Seibu's basement - just opened earlier this month

Exclusive flavors only available at the store, if anyone is interested

evilerniex

i like Odaiba. but ur itinerary already quite packed, not possible to squeeze Odaiba in without sacrificing some other places

evilerniex

Just a guess....because of the life sized Gundam statue? :crazy:

life-size gundam is one of the many interesting things there. before there is the gundam, i liked the place for the night view of rainbow bridge and statue of liberty.

siian_

8D 7N in Tokyo

Hi Everyone,

I'll be going to Tokyo in 2 weeks time. 1st time to Japan and mainly to visit Disneyland&sea, a little shopping and food.

Will be stay at Granbell Shinjuku (Opening Promo :) )

Here's my itinerary, please offer some kind advice :)

Day 1 (Wed)
1030 - Reach Narita A/P
1500 - Check in Hotel
Explore Shinjuku Area

Day 2 (Thursday)
Disneyland

Day 3 (Friday)
DisneySea

Day 4 (Sat)
Tsukiji Fish Market
Asakusa (浅草)
Ginza
Tokyo Tower

Day 5 (Sun)
Shibuya
Harajuku

Day 6 (Mon)
Tokyo Station
Yokohama (Ramen M. & Nissim Cup Noodle & Cosmoland)

Day 7 (Tues)
Shinjuku/Shibuya
Odaiba

Day 8 (Wed)
Scooting Back in Morning :(

What do you guys think?

Some Qs.
- Skytree worth visiting?
- Should I get Open-date disneyland tickets in SG and extend for another day at park?

Appreciate your kind reply! Happy Lunar New Year! Huat Ah!

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.