Jazz servicing so expensive??

spinex

Dont bother go jb if you just wanna do a oil change unless you are going over to do shopping etc.

But for many items replacement is worth it. Multiple items replacement cost in SG, the parts and labours margin can easily hit $400 to $500. No choice spore labour and rental is expensive.

For a comparable replacement in JB. Likely only $200 rm if you just bring all the items or oils you want to replace. Most will be happy just to charge you labour cost for it.

$400 sgd .. 3.5x easily $1300rm . vs paying say rm $200 to 300 for the same labour. Both i exclude parts and oil cost. Basically just comparing labour cost alone. Saving of rm $1000 easily.

spinex

Please read carefully. I said Labor to replace engine oil. But I am not surprised that you jumped and reacted w/o being detailed.

Sorry didnt read properly hence i asked you labour and engine oil.

Comage

Jazz fake spark plugs $19
https://shopee.sg/Spark-Plug-NGK-La...bf&xptdk=707f864a-7ee2-40d3-b87c-43518c1340bf
Got comments that the resistance numbers not correct.

China claim to be original spark plugs $50+
https://shopee.sg/NEW-12290-5R0-003...22&xptdk=75af60d9-086a-426f-b3fb-0a8a84956022

NGK premium spark plugs $90+
https://shopee.sg/NGK-Premium-RX-Sp...89&xptdk=c65f433c-4f44-4ab3-bfea-100122376489

Spark park is easy to change.
Just need a socket tool and a wrench.

You will need a strong magnet too to lift the bolt out after unscrew

But for JB to charge cheap, pay cheap often expect cheap.
In SG, pay exp don't mean receive exp.
So ask properly what spark plugs they giving.

I think better to use a multimeter to test the plugs first before use. :o

Boss, don't anyhow say "spark plugs is easy to change".

Spark plugs go into the cylinders, need to seat straight before tightening - need to use torque wrench and torque-to-spec before replacing the ignition coils.

How many car owners here have a torque wrench in their car tools? How many even know what is a torque wrench?

Don't give me nonsense like "oh hand tighten can already + quarter turn gao liao".

There's bad advice, and then there's shlt advice.

Emperor_Hippo

Spark plugs go into the cylinders, need to seat straight before tightening - need to use torque wrench and torque-to-spec before replacing the ignition coils.

How many car owners here have a torque wrench in their car tools? How many even know what is a torque wrench?

Don't give me nonsense like "oh hand tighten can already + quarter turn gao liao".

For experienced folks, usually when say things, we usually say halfway.

Cos some of us have that really evil vision of seeing some cheapskate attempting to replicate with disastrous results. :evil:

Those who really dunno, wun go and try it one.
It's blue blooded cheapskates that will go try it. :s13:

xufxin5kk7441.jpg

testerjp

I do these type of things, deal with fluid, with high pressure, steam and heat, don't attempt to smoke me. :o

If you are so scare, please be more professional and use a threadlocker. :o

tomsss

i guess ppl tend to choose to cheap it out on servicing because of unscrupulous workshops that carrot unsuspecting ppl gao gao.... cos most sinkies are clueless when comes to car servicing, repairs and the technical aspect of it overall. Most would choose to wait until something happens, then go get it fixed.... the issue is when you wait until something happens, usually some damage is already done and you'd be spending more than what you could have saved if it was detected earlier.

keenklee

I do these type of things, deal with fluid, with high pressure, steam and heat, don't attempt to smoke me. :o

If you are so scare, please be more professional and use a threadlocker. :o
IMHO.
NGK Spark Plugs say one, not I say one.

SPARK PLUG INSTALLATION​

Torque is one of the most critical aspects of spark plug installation. Torque directly affects the ability of the spark plug firing end to dissipate heat to the cylinder head. A spark plug that is under-torqued will not be fully seated in the cylinder head and heat dissipation will be slowed. As a result, the firing end of the spark plug can overheat and pre-ignition can occur. Serious engine damage can follow.

Proper torque specs for both aluminum and cast-iron cylinder heads are listed below.

Source : https://ngksparkplugs.com/en/resources/spark-plug-installation

keenklee

IMHO.
I got torque wrench ! ..... somewhere. :ROFLMAO:
Relax... SG usually operate by argaration. :cool:

li9ht5peed

For experienced folks, usually when say things, we usually say halfway.

Cos some of us have that really evil vision of seeing some cheapskate attempting to replicate with disastrous results. :evil:

Those who really dunno, wun go and try it one.
It's blue blooded cheapskates that will go try it. :s13:

xufxin5kk7441.jpg
no matter how good the mechanic, they all must start as a noob. mistakes will be made. i've made many mistakes in my life, and was forced to correct those mistakes. that's how we learn. at more advanced levels, u can't anyhow. mistakes can be costly or ppl can die

keenklee

no matter how good the mechanic, they all must start as a noob. mistakes will be made. i've made many mistakes in my life, and was forced to correct those mistakes. that's how we learn. at more advanced levels, u can't anyhow. mistakes can be costly or ppl can die
IMHO.
Some mistakes cannot be made one. E.g. talking to another colleague while tightening back the drain plug and strip the thread .....

MIVEC525

400 for plugs and battery still high side.

plugs and battery should be no where near 300 max

oklah. 60k mileage. actually ltos of people here dont believe. but i knw quite a few same range . mileage about the same cause lazy to drive.. end up at home and take public transport more lol
plug and battery and engine oil, oil filter and servicing....

pwongkk

i guess ppl tend to choose to cheap it out on servicing because of unscrupulous workshops that carrot unsuspecting ppl gao gao.... cos most sinkies are clueless when comes to car servicing, repairs and the technical aspect of it overall. Most would choose to wait until something happens, then go get it fixed.... the issue is when you wait until something happens, usually some damage is already done and you'd be spending more than what you could have saved if it was detected earlier.

I agree on this. My jazz only 1st servcing go back to KM. After that the next 14 years do at my trusted workshop. No major problems encountered, contary to what many people claims must die die go back to AD.

End of 10 years, car still in such good condition that I extended the COE for another 5 years. Another reason is it's a manual.

On the 15th year, car is still in good condition but too bad need to scrap.

My maintenance regime is quite standard, and at times I dragged EO change to 12k km. Again contary to what many say, I pumped Ron 92 petrol at SPC. Car did not feel sluggish or "no power".

Some parts I DIY change myself.

keenklee

I agree on this. My jazz only 1st servcing go back to KM. After that the next 14 years do at my trusted workshop. No major problems encountered, contary to what many people claims must die die go back to AD.

End of 10 years, car still in such good condition that I extended the COE for another 5 years. Another reason is it's a manual.

On the 15th year, car is still in good condition but too bad need to scrap.

My maintenance regime is quite standard, and at times I dragged EO change to 12k km. Again contary to what many say, I pumped Ron 92 petrol at SPC. Car did not feel sluggish or "no power".

Some parts I DIY change myself.
IMHO.
What was your mileage?

coyote

View attachment 47141
Is this pricing OK? Intro my frd go this workshop...get the $158 package service. End up they recommend change so many things , bill become $800...after discussion with me, just change battery and spark plug...now $500...
Is the pricing OK? Thks.

Too expensive, find something cheaper... Even go back to distributor also cannot be that expensive.

Enola88

Hmmmmm …..
No charge for miscellaneous $10 for screws & nutz

linzw00

IMHO.
The coolant consist of water and coolant concentrate or pre-mixed ?
Dont really understand question but ya, it should be mixed 50-50. I used the battery distilled water.

Or do you mean the coolant bottle is concentrated or premixed? Then its the former. Hv to diy mix 50-50. At least for my variant.

compuser

Last time when I was in NS BVeh Mechanic, people just tighten spark plug with wrench.
Where got so hard, 17/18 yo ah beng can do it. :s13:

One of the most changed parts. The wiper and alternator also change alot.

You tighten until cannot easily tighten anymore, then go another quarter turn can liao.
Only scare is overtighten and strip, you will feel it one, it slips and slides.

My copper compression fittings i DIY at home, done in the same way.
30 years hot and cold water going through with thermal and cold water expansion, still not leaking.

I see most of the JHK workshops also don't care one.
Even if they use a torque wrench, don't know how accurate is it or has it been regularly calibrated/tested or not.

keenklee

Dont really understand question but ya, it should be mixed 50-50. I used the battery distilled water.

Or do you mean the coolant bottle is concentrated or premixed? Then its the former. Hv to diy mix 50-50. At least for my variant.
IMHO.
If used distilled water and mix with the coolant concentrate, should not have any issue.
Some workshop may mix tap water with coolant concentrate.
Then could be the flushing process. Usually tap water is used but not all are drain.

I had an experience before just after major servicing i.e. coolant change - the radiator developed microscopic leaks.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.