JCS japanese classes

Ah_keong

oh ok :p
me wantin to learn more but self learning need lots of motivation lol... i want to learn more coz i find that my talkin not smooth.... :( dont know which sch should i go for ....

well, without foundation knowledge, its hard 2 do self learning...
thats 4 me...

i would recommend IKOMA as the teaching is very balanced from grammer, vocab, listening and speech.... :D

Ah_keong

Just came back from jcs, took the 6 month intensive course. Can I continue directly to take Intermediate after elementary ends?

Most slots are gone when it reach my turn. Especially those popular timings.

yes, its possible provided u pass the elementary exam... :D

Ah_keong

Hope that someone quits and you can take over. My slot AN1 seems unpopular, not much people apply for that timing from what i had aboserved.

The textbook look so werid , made me feel like its produced internally by jcs.

yup, the textbook is tuned inline with JCS chapters for elementary and intermediate... :D

joy883

ha my frd n i went to reg b4 7am lo.. anyway, to get a time slot is secondary.. most impt is that u r lucky enuff to get a gd tutor =D

minasan, ganbarimasho!

ahmahippo

well, without foundation knowledge, its hard 2 do self learning...
thats 4 me...

i would recommend IKOMA as the teaching is very balanced from grammer, vocab, listening and speech.... :D

oh ok :D
thanks for the info :D
but IKOMA got test for their lesson too?

shuinx2

usually their test is based on all-written? or oso got oral?

think i gonna find other jap learning sch le... but which 1 registration still open? or some sch registration open anytime?

Ah_keong

ha my frd n i went to reg b4 7am lo.. anyway, to get a time slot is secondary.. most impt is that u r lucky enuff to get a gd tutor =D

minasan, ganbarimasho!

yah, i agree... last time my teacher is kutsuma sensei.. quite good... and 1 more i think is naoko (i forgot the surname but quite pretty) sensei also gd... :D

Ah_keong

usually their test is based on all-written? or oso got oral?

think i gonna find other jap learning sch le... but which 1 registration still open? or some sch registration open anytime?

there is written / listening and oral test... :D

KuroI-Kaze

To Ah Keong:

SO there's a test required to pass if I do not have JLPT4 for entroll into the intermediate level. Do you studied in JCS before? Mind sharing some of your experience there? Im quite concern as I heard about some bad comments like too many people in a class which minimise the chance for class interaction.

To Joy883:

Indeed, having a good sensei is more important than anything. Anyway the timing I got is what I wanted. Im a happy man ^_^

joy883

To Ah Keong:

SO there's a test required to pass if I do not have JLPT4 for entroll into the intermediate level. Do you studied in JCS before? Mind sharing some of your experience there? Im quite concern as I heard about some bad comments like too many people in a class which minimise the chance for class interaction.

To Joy883:

Indeed, having a good sensei is more important than anything. Anyway the timing I got is what I wanted. Im a happy man ^_^

the size of the class does not matter (IMO), i came from a big class too, but if u r e hardworking kind, jus ask anything u dun understand, the tutors will explain... interaction wise, yes true, not much, but u could get contacts from ur classmates n then self practice using msn or email lo ha... but i agree, we are strong in grammer, speaking wise, hav to take initiative to practice on our own.. but then again, jcs is considered v cheap, so dun expect TOO much... jus self practice, listen to jap songs, watch animes/dramas, shd b able to surpass those in gd n ex sch ba =)

haha got gd timing but if u gena ahemm.. haa.. then also sian half lo.. lols.. i would rather take a lousy slot if the tutor is v gd =D anyway, they dun disclose until u start ur class 1 haha.. so gd luck to all of us! =D

KuroI-Kaze

To Joy883:

I see ! The first thing to do is to memorise Hiragana and katagana like the back of our hand right?

Is JLPT3 easy to pass? I actually planned to take up intensive course for both elementary and intermediate courses, finish them and get ready for JLPT3 next year dec. I wonder if I can cope ..

joy883

To Joy883:

I see ! The first thing to do is to memorise Hiragana and katagana like the back of our hand right?

Is JLPT3 easy to pass? I actually planned to take up intensive course for both elementary and intermediate courses, finish them and get ready for JLPT3 next year dec. I wonder if I can cope ..

hahha yup! hiragana n katakana! depending on ur tutors la actually.. mine was vvv superb nice tutor, so we are stressed to memorise both n often uses it.. we hav dictation n spelling in class often too.. depends on the tutors... ours used kanji from 2nd half of the yr too, which most tutors dun.. basically yr 1s are told to be taught in hiragana only.. but i feel it is v insufficient la.. so like i say, it depends on ur luck, n till now, im still v appreciative of my yr 1 tutor who helped us build a strong foundation n liking for jap =DD

For jlpt 3.. ahemm.. ha.. if u study, sure pass! if u dun.. hahah pray (like me)!! anyway, even till intermediate, it is not sufficient.. u hav to self study abit more grammers to score well... elementary intensive is ok.. but intermediate.. hmm.. duno abt u la, for me, i think it would be tough, esp if u r working adult..

Ah_keong

To Ah Keong:

Firstly, i enrolled in the Intensive Elementary in JCS during 1st half of 2007 and now in Basic class in IKOMA..

to apply for Intermediate class for JCS, u must have either JLPT 4 or Elementary Cert...

I agree that in JCS the class size is big, but to me it doesn't really matter, assuming u have a good teacher and hardworking...

anything just feel free 2 ask, they will be more than helpful 2 help.. and with big class = more friends...

In addition, JCS only focus on written part and listening... so JCS students may tend 2 be a bit weak on conversation, my way is that I will chat with the teacher after class 2 brush up my edo accent... if u need a partner to help spar with conversation, i am willing to aid u...

Lastly JCS is cheap... and there are special courses that focus only on conversation in JCS...
:D

Ah_keong

wow.... must be hard hor....

abt ikoma, wonder is basic 1 + basic 2 = jlpt 4?

well, if you study hard enough, i believe is not a problem to pass it... :D

yup, after Basic 1 and Basic 2, there will be a JLPT 4 prep for 3 months then u are ready 2 go... :D

Ah_keong

hahha yup! hiragana n katakana! depending on ur tutors la actually.. mine was vvv superb nice tutor, so we are stressed to memorise both n often uses it.. we hav dictation n spelling in class often too.. depends on the tutors... ours used kanji from 2nd half of the yr too, which most tutors dun.. basically yr 1s are told to be taught in hiragana only.. but i feel it is v insufficient la.. so like i say, it depends on ur luck, n till now, im still v appreciative of my yr 1 tutor who helped us build a strong foundation n liking for jap =DD

For jlpt 3.. ahemm.. ha.. if u study, sure pass! if u dun.. hahah pray (like me)!! anyway, even till intermediate, it is not sufficient.. u hav to self study abit more grammers to score well... elementary intensive is ok.. but intermediate.. hmm.. duno abt u la, for me, i think it would be tough, esp if u r working adult..

is intermediate tough??

i took elementary last year jan, the stuff taught i forgot liao! :D

joy883

is intermediate tough??

i took elementary last year jan, the stuff taught i forgot liao! :D

hmm.. to me, so long u hav interest, it is kantan ne =) though sometimes frustrated at those new grammers, those ba-forms etc if u know wat im saying haha.. hated the "if" grammers lols... so many forms... anyway, passing is not a prob, the prob is if u can score well.. depends on indivduals how high u r aiming =)

joy883

Firstly, i enrolled in the Intensive Elementary in JCS during 1st half of 2007 and now in Basic class in IKOMA..

to apply for Intermediate class for JCS, u must have either JLPT 4 or Elementary Cert...

I agree that in JCS the class size is big, but to me it doesn't really matter, assuming u have a good teacher and hardworking...

anything just feel free 2 ask, they will be more than helpful 2 help.. and with big class = more friends...

In addition, JCS only focus on written part and listening... so JCS students may tend 2 be a bit weak on conversation, my way is that I will chat with the teacher after class 2 brush up my edo accent... if u need a partner to help spar with conversation, i am willing to aid u...

Lastly JCS is cheap... and there are special courses that focus only on conversation in JCS...
:D

hmm ikoma's basic = jcs's intermediate?
ha im tryin to get tuned to jap accents by watching dramas now =DD

Ah_keong

hmm.. to me, so long u hav interest, it is kantan ne =) though sometimes frustrated at those new grammers, those ba-forms etc if u know wat im saying haha.. hated the "if" grammers lols... so many forms... anyway, passing is not a prob, the prob is if u can score well.. depends on indivduals how high u r aiming =)

i see...

me aim 2 score well... my grammer still beh zai, didn't hit above the 90% mark i set 4 myself as a target in JLPT 4... :D

moshi yokereba, JLPT 3 no Bunkei oshiete ne! :D

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.