JCS Elementary + Intermediate = JLPT 3

My sensei at IKOMA says
BASIC 1 + BASIC 2 + JLPT 4 Prep (3 months) = JLPT 4

Intermediate 1 + Intermediate 2 + JLPT 3 Prep (3 months) = JLPT 3 :D

me too, i am watching jap dramas 2 learn the accents and tokyo slang... :D

joy883

i see...

me aim 2 score well... my grammer still beh zai, didn't hit above the 90% mark i set 4 myself as a target in JLPT 4... :D

moshi yokereba, JLPT 3 no Bunkei oshiete ne! :D

haha onaji onaji! we both set high stds sia.. lols.. was aiming abv 350 for jlpt 4, but screwed up my listening.. haaaa...

anata ha jlpt 3 o uketa? kantan des-hita.. kedo.. benkyou shinakatta.. so jus aiming for a pass ha!

joy883

hmm, i also don know leh...

i heard from my JCS teacher - Kutsuma Sensei (in 2007),
she say JCS Elementary + 1/2 Intermediate = JLPT 4
JCS Elementary + Intermediate = JLPT 3

My sensei at IKOMA says
BASIC 1 + BASIC 2 + JLPT 4 Prep (3 months) = JLPT 4

Intermediate 1 + Intermediate 2 + JLPT 3 Prep (3 months) = JLPT 3 :D

me too, i am watching jap dramas 2 learn the accents and tokyo slang... :D

ha? so u shd take intermediate le ma.. y still in basic?.. actually i feel that jlpt 3 3 mths thingy is crap.. v waste $.. can self study 1.. i feel la.. ahahah

any nice dramas to recommend? recently watched Absolute bf (zettai kareshi) and Hanazakari no kimitachi e (hana kimi) both v nice! duno wat to watch next now haha.. mayb densha otoko..

KuroI-Kaze

hahha yup! hiragana n katakana! depending on ur tutors la actually.. mine was vvv superb nice tutor, so we are stressed to memorise both n often uses it.. we hav dictation n spelling in class often too.. depends on the tutors... ours used kanji from 2nd half of the yr too, which most tutors dun.. basically yr 1s are told to be taught in hiragana only.. but i feel it is v insufficient la.. so like i say, it depends on ur luck, n till now, im still v appreciative of my yr 1 tutor who helped us build a strong foundation n liking for jap =DD

For jlpt 3.. ahemm.. ha.. if u study, sure pass! if u dun.. hahah pray (like me)!! anyway, even till intermediate, it is not sufficient.. u hav to self study abit more grammers to score well... elementary intensive is ok.. but intermediate.. hmm.. duno abt u la, for me, i think it would be tough, esp if u r working adult..

I hope my sensei would stress alot on our foundation too T_T Currently unemployed and to me learning japanese is like how babies need to learn walking. Im feeling so excited now I cant wait for the 1st lesson to start.

joy883

I hope my sensei would stress alot on our foundation too T_T Currently unemployed and to me learning japanese is like how babies need to learn walking. Im feeling so excited now I cant wait for the 1st lesson to start.

hahah ya i know the excitment! lols! anyway, there r alot materials online to read n listen.. u can start surfing ard lo... once a wk for 2 hrs in class is not enuff if u wan listen n speak fast haaaaa

KuroI-Kaze

Firstly, i enrolled in the Intensive Elementary in JCS during 1st half of 2007 and now in Basic class in IKOMA..

to apply for Intermediate class for JCS, u must have either JLPT 4 or Elementary Cert...

I agree that in JCS the class size is big, but to me it doesn't really matter, assuming u have a good teacher and hardworking...

anything just feel free 2 ask, they will be more than helpful 2 help.. and with big class = more friends...

In addition, JCS only focus on written part and listening... so JCS students may tend 2 be a bit weak on conversation, my way is that I will chat with the teacher after class 2 brush up my edo accent... if u need a partner to help spar with conversation, i am willing to aid u...

Lastly JCS is cheap... and there are special courses that focus only on conversation in JCS...
:D

I see, i had already signed up intensive elementary which will end at june next year. PLanning to take intensive intermediate straight after that. Finally, take JLPT3 at dec the same year.

Yes ! Please train me in my conversation. =D

Btw for JLPT, is the questions all MCQ based for all 3 sections?

joy883

I see, i had already signed up intensive elementary which will end at june next year. PLanning to take intensive intermediate straight after that. Finally, take JLPT3 at dec the same year.

yup all mcq but dun think u can smoke it thru jus by guessing! =D

Ah_keong

haha onaji onaji! we both set high stds sia.. lols.. was aiming abv 350 for jlpt 4, but screwed up my listening.. haaaa...

anata ha jlpt 3 o uketa? kantan des-hita.. kedo.. benkyou shinakatta.. so jus aiming for a pass ha!

nope, i taking next year... for now i still slacking... :D
oh... :D

Ah_keong

ha? so u shd take intermediate le ma.. y still in basic?.. actually i feel that jlpt 3 3 mths thingy is crap.. v waste $.. can self study 1.. i feel la.. ahahah

any nice dramas to recommend? recently watched Absolute bf (zettai kareshi) and Hanazakari no kimitachi e (hana kimi) both v nice! duno wat to watch next now haha.. mayb densha otoko..

well, i took basic because

1) Revision of my JLPT 4 stuff
2) See the IKOMA style of class and teaching
3) Accompany my friend
4) Sponsored by my friend...

I taking intermediate nest year Jan 6th I think... JLPT 4 and 3 can self study bah...
I did that last year when I selft study for 6 months after i got my Intensive Elementary cert...

I can recommend you CHANGE / PUZZLE / Last Friends / for now, i need 2 go home check the titles... u watch GTO before? :D maybe i can add u in MSN??

Densha Otoko is nice...

Ah_keong

i understand...
well, if u don mind, I can meet u and we can exchange pointers as I usually hang around bugis (JCS) area and Orchard (Ikoma) area... :D

learn together can learn faster... thats my approach... :D

joy883

OMG ~ there's a 25% chance to score if there are 4 answers for us to choose. =:p

25% chance.. but i think most of the time when u try to logic out sth n choose the "best" ans, it is always the wrong ans? haaa... unless u r those v lucky type who goes by feel!! lols!

Ah_keong

u can try that bah, but it is quite siong...
Intensive classes are tiring for me that time because I was working in the day...
think will be better if u are not doing anything in the day and studying jap...

i will be taking intermediate normal this Jan...
so maybe we can exchange pointers in conversation in JCS...... :D

yah, but wat i can say is.. its hard 2 tikam if u are not that level roughly... :D

joy883

well, i took basic because

1) Revision of my JLPT 4 stuff
2) See the IKOMA style of class and teaching
3) Accompany my friend
4) Sponsored by my friend...

I taking intermediate nest year Jan 6th I think... JLPT 4 and 3 can self study bah...
I did that last year when I selft study for 6 months after i got my Intensive Elementary cert...

I can recommend you CHANGE / PUZZLE / Last Friends / for now, i need 2 go home check the titles... u watch GTO before? :D maybe i can add u in MSN??

Densha Otoko is nice...

hahah i guess the ultimate reason is cos its free! lols! so how u find ikoma n jcs? which is better?

i dun like GTO haha.. prefer those romance stories ba.. hehe.. ok shall watch densha otoko 1st =)

joy883

u can try that bah, but it is quite siong...
Intensive classes are tiring for me that time because I was working in the day...
think will be better if u are not doing anything in the day and studying jap...

i will be taking intermediate normal this Jan...
so maybe we can exchange pointers in conversation in JCS...... :D

yah, but wat i can say is.. its hard 2 tikam if u are not that level roughly... :D

yes! super hard to tikam!! hahaha! u can try 1 jlpt paper (without studying at all) n tikam.. i think i got only 20-30% correct! lols... =.='''

Ah_keong

hahah i guess the ultimate reason is cos its free! lols! so how u find ikoma n jcs? which is better?

i dun like GTO haha.. prefer those romance stories ba.. hehe.. ok shall watch densha otoko 1st =)

IKOMA more balanced bah... 2wards grammer / listening / vocab / conversation / while JCS focus more on grammer and vocab then listening... JCS more ppl = more friends bah...

romantic ah, have u watched hana yori ?? like F4 like that 1... :D

Ah_keong

wonder how to be as pro as ah keong :D

no lah, i only JLPT 2.5 like that only with no cert...
there are more pro ppl here like terraj and dimitri_can who are around JLPT 1 level...

my jap rusty liao so i am now coming back to remove my rust, share my knowledge and exchange pointers and advice with japanese lovers here... :D

joy883

IKOMA more balanced bah... 2wards grammer / listening / vocab / conversation / while JCS focus more on grammer and vocab then listening... JCS more ppl = more friends bah...

romantic ah, have u watched hana yori ?? like F4 like that 1... :D

hahah hana yori yah!! lame lame leh lols.. i watched movies only.. haha.. got dramas de ar? i din know..

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.