jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Interesting.... but anyway the first one not too dissimilar to the cross legged sit n stand test (need to do few reps also i think). Just that this one needs your iliopsoas and abdominis as well.

Ha.....the 3rd one, one legged balance, try to train it with eyes closed, for propioception benefits.

I included the last vid, they are saying that this Sit n Rise Test is best scored with going down and esp rising back up steadily without wobbles. But i suspect this kind of standard would not be easy with folks older than 60 unless trained to a quite high standard in some related sports that induces some carry over.

WussRedXLi

I dont know, but i feel high pull up slightly more impressive. And technically less demanding in technique........esp for me lah, stupid stupid type...... as usual, good eg is SBJ, cannot means cannot.
But when done cleanly, it requires more raw strength than clean muscle ups.

Once i reach 10 strict pull ups level, i think i will try to train high pull ups as next progression. I cannot progress with weighted pull ups, other than the occasional 7.5kg with my drinks. Even the shopee weighted vests are only up to 10kg.
2nd video says it best, if you only train with strict form ( and slow) bodyweight pull ups, dont expect to unlock this skill. And a lot of that raw strength progression comes from WEIGHTED pull ups, not spamming lots of reps of normal pull ups.

But i still lack the pull explosivity. I have the "endurance" tho. For push no issue in terms of dips or overhead press (last time i do push ups also no issue, like for clapping push ups)..... dont know why leh.

ps. My body seems to prefer a narrower grip too, that is how i trained for my pull ups. Which is also preferred for high pull ups.

Bonus

sph777

Perhaps I’ve damaged my body—once, I could walk in the sun without burning, but now my skin is reacting strangely. My recovery has also slowed. :frown:
From what I read, singapore UVB is strongest during midday, and exposure of 10 to 20 minutes with exposed limps is good enough for each day. Any more is too risky. Hence I think leave the exposure to Sun for NEAT activities and errands, rather than training. Most of us train for more than an hour, that's too long to be under the sun.
I also have no idea, I just do 30 mins of swimming about 3 times a week during lunch, hope no long term bad effects

WussRedXLi

Oh....i re-read Ender's reply. 10-20 mins of sunlight on exposed limbs each day is what he said.

My Oslo (norway) midday sun is 30 mins total per week for 20k IU. Different "units", mine is per week his is per day. lol. Though no mention is it half naked body or just short sleeve hands/legs exposure.
If spread over Mon-Fri 5 days work week, that is just 6 mins per day with zero exposure on weekends.

Anyway, more useful google. I learnt something new again today, staying out longer wont make you more D3.

https://overcomingms.org/program/sunlight-vitamin-d/uv-index-calculator

How much time should I spend in the sun?​

You need 10 to 15 minutes of all-over sun on a ‘UV index 7’ day. You will need longer if the UV index is lower (e.g. 20 to 30 minutes if the index is 3.5) and less time in the sun if higher (e.g. 5 to 7.5 minutes if the index is 14).

Staying out longer than that won’t make any more vitamin D. Expose as much skin as modesty and temperature allows. The more skin exposed in a sitting, the more vitamin D is made, but only up to a certain maximum (about 10,000 to 15,000 IU). No more is made by staying out longer, and excess exposure raises the risk of sunburn and skin cancer.

And really be careful during midday hours. Can rack it up real fast. Based on the above, the sun at midday (eg 1-2.30pm lunch time) has 8 times more UVI and 8 times less duration needed for D3 production. That means 2 mins at waiting for 1 green man then equals to 16 mins at 9-9.30am or 32 mins at 8.30-9am.

Another eg

Swimming outdoors for 10 to 15 minutes, two or three times a week (with most skin exposed) can produce 10,000 to 15,000 units of vitamin D per session.

This estimate is based on a UV index of 7, typical for spring in hotter regions (e.g. Australia) or summer in cooler regions (e.g. the UK).

Singapore in Feb

KvSreXS.jpg

xllms

first run in my Xiaonian in SG at marina bay. Force myself to keep my HR within 150. Until near the end, cruise @ approx. 5min/km pace for approx 0.5-1km until helix bridge then back to 150 cap.
Xiaonian midsole feels so good in SG temperature. Even better when one picks up the pace.
temp-a1ce4a75-a3d7-439e-9764-60fdb6091ab3-coros.png

sph777

first run in my Xiaonian in SG at marina bay. Force myself to keep my HR within 150. Until near the end, cruise @ approx. 5min/km pace for approx 0.5-1km until helix bridge then back to 150 cap.
Xiaonian midsole feels so good in SG temperature. Even better when one picks up the pace.
temp-a1ce4a75-a3d7-439e-9764-60fdb6091ab3-coros.png
Welcome back! Here until end CNY?

Kuudere

I was sitting on the fence where to sign for eco run, coz I might have a surgery coming up for my hemorrhoids. Todays with the doctor, I almost wanted to go for the surgery, but the Doc tyhink it not that big, and try for lifestyl change plus meds. Also the risk might be too severe to take for the size of it. So decided not to go for it, also mean I can sign up for this race.

Done, $32 with Policy holder code. Cheapest HM in Singapore.
I probably will sign up later, might go for 15k instead. I need to solve my early morning GI issue when running

You are correct. The athletes are also higher trained than i originally imagined. Fitness was 2.4 timing around 7.9 mins on avg before the test. Just 6 weeks plyo training as intervention.....not months etc.

The key takeaways got typo i think......is not 23.9 but 3.9% avg improvement. (combined value between men and women). Some improved much more than others also, coz it ranged from 9.9% improvement to just 1.1% improvement. Though, still not too shabby........shd translate to 5K as well.

It's very good money that can be tapped coz the plyo training is not difficult or time consuming at all, dosage is 2x per week. Actually if office got quiet room, can even do there after lunch.....like how some of us are doing as well. :unsure:

For me actually i had been doing already for more than a year (similar dosage and frequency, sometimes just 1x per week actually), but just wondering how much is it aiding my 3k, 5k or even the occasional 6-8k. At least now i have an answer. But then for me a bit risky, i dont warm up one. 😓 :oops: But so far so good no issue in my grand scheme of things.

For 2.4k, the men were getting improvements in the 18s range on avg.
Might seem not a lot, but it is not insignificant in the 7-8 mins fit zai range.

rYVa95L.jpg

I got the details from another link :
https://journals.lww.com/nsca-jscr/..._plyometric_training_on_endurance_and.13.aspx

Subjects
For the intervention, a group of competitive middle- and long-distance runners (22 menand 14 women; 22.1 ± 2.7 years of age) were recruited. They had a minimum of 2 years of competitive experience at national and international level, with personal best times that ranged from 3:50 and 4:27 (minutes:seconds) at the 1500 m (men and women, respectively) to 2:32 and 2:52 (hours:minutes) at the Marathon (men and women, respectively). Subjects had no explosive strength training experience in the last 6 months. Athletes completed (mean ± SD) 6.94 ± 1.8 running endurance training units per week, for a total running weekly volume of 67.2 ± 18.9 km (TG 64.7 ± 18.8 km; CG 70.0 ± 19.3 km; no significant difference between groups), where high intensity interval training bouts of long (i.e., >1 minuteute) duration were the preferred training method.

This training load was added to their respective competitive schedule. Although the V[Combining Dot Above]O2max was not measured, the whole group of athletes (including women) underwent a 2.4-km time trial running performance test in a mean of 7.9 ± 0.8 minutes before intervention, suggesting a high level of fitness in comparison with previous reports (28,34–36).

2.4-km Running Endurance Test​

This was the only test that took place outdoors. The wind velocity at all times was between 5.5 to 9.9 km·h−1, the relative humidity was 50–66%, and the temperature was 13–14° C (Chilean Meteorological Service, Santiago, Chile). Athletes were instructed to run for maximal performance. The head coach took results as a guide to select athletes for competition, so motivation was considered maximal. Athletes individually completed 6 laps in a 400-m outdoor polyurethane track. Because the middle- and long-distance runners recruited for the study compete in different distances, we choose a standard distance for all athletes (2.4 km), as all of them were accustomed to this test as part of their annual general fitness assessment battery. For the specific warm-up, 2 submaximal laps around the track were completed, and 4 minutes later athletes had 1 maximal attempt to complete the test.

After 6 weeks of treatment, a significant reduction was observed in 2.4 km (p < 0.01) and 20 m (p < 0.01) time test in the TG. Also, after training, the TG shows a significant difference in 2.4 km (p < 0.05) and 20 m (p < 0.05) time test in comparison with the CG (Table 1).

Treatment​

The plyometric training intervention period lasted for 6 weeks, as this time frame had shown to be adequate for significant endurance related adaptations (28,36,37), and was carried out during the initial part of the competition season. No reduction in running endurance training volume was applied to the TG (i.e., the TG and CG kept their usual volume of running endurance training during the intervention). The athletes were instructed to maintain their usual dietary habits for the entire duration of the study and they did not perform plyometric exercise during intervention (other than the planned explosive exercises for the TG). Before the initiation of the plyometric training period, the athletes were instructed as to the proper execution of all the exercises to be done during this period. The plyometric training took place 2 days per week (with at least 48 hours of rest between sessions) because this training frequency had been shown to induce significant explosive-related and endurance-related adaptations in endurance athletes (36), with significant superior efficiency as compared with higher training frequencies (6). Plyometric training sessions lasted less than 30 minutes and were completed immediately before the endurance training. Standard warm-up (i.e. 5 minutes of submaximal running and several displacements, 20 submaximal vertical jumps and 10 submaximal longitudinal jumps) was used before the main part of the training session. The plyometric exercises consisted only of DJs (bounce drop jumps), with a total of 60 DJs per session (2 series of 10 jumps from a 20 cm box, 2 series of 10 jumps from a 40 cm box, and 2 series of jumps from a 60 cm box) for the TG. This volume has been used in previous studies, obtaining significant positive results (4,6). The rest period between repetitions was of 15 seconds, as previously recommended (31), and between series was of 2 minutes. The control group did not perform plyometric training and underwent the same testing protocols as the TG.

Athletes from the TG used the same surface (i.e., wooden floor) to complete all the plyometric training sessions. Athletes were instructed to place their hands on their hips and step off the platform with the leading leg straight to avoid any initial upward propulsion, ensuring a drop height of 20, 40, and 60 cm. They were instructed to jump with maximal intensity for maximal height and minimum contact time in every jump. These instructions were intended to maximize explosive strength requiring fast SSC. A researcher was always present during training sessions, motivating athletes to give their maximum effort in each jump.
It’s quite significant, and also goes to show that those who aren’t as fast (weaker leg strength) have a lot more to benefit.

18s off 2.4km at high 7 min pace, has a lot more translation to longer distances, at least a min off 10k time.

I have done jumps in stadium before (max = 150), massive hamstring gains. Will be interesting to try this out.

WussRedXLi

It’s quite significant, and also goes to show that those who aren’t as fast (weaker leg strength) have a lot more to benefit.

18s off 2.4km at high 7 min pace, has a lot more translation to longer distances, at least a min off 10k time.

I have done jumps in stadium before (max = 150), massive hamstring gains. Will be interesting to try this out.

Yeah I still remember, basket, it took me like more than 1 year to improve my 5k timing at such fast paces when i was super gian at that distance....call it genetic limit or simi limit, not really good at phrasing it. Merely like what....for 60 seconds of improvement, or just 5.5%.

But for beginner stages.......30 min improve to 25 (20%), isnt gonna be terribly difficult.

It's the same for all other things, calisthenic exercises for eg.

I guess as long as it is an area that is still *untapped*, it might be pretty fruitful to tap into it.
Same as what Run Elite channel says, if a runner all along never runs VO2max or neuromuscular range (say strides and a wee bit of SIT), you can still expect gains.......simply because it has been untouched.

Of coz, if one's aerobic base and threshold still got rooms for improvement, then this might not be something to really focus on lah. But just assuming that one has already done all he/she can do, be on at least a semi-structured routine, good mileages and recovery routine, not much more room for improvement or squeeze in more hours of training, just to get that lagi small % of improvement.

Side story : Past few months to nearly a year, i really I upped my strength training coz of personal interest there to improve both strength wise and aesthetics wise (not plyo exercises, that one i just do and be done with it coz no real interest. Last weekend i went to Serapong hill sentosa for some climbing test. Around half a year ago i could get up of coz, but must need a fair bit of effort.
Last weekend i went up, albeit rather slowly (slower than usual), but the HR was so low, plus i felt almost "floating up", coz the muscular strength needed was not anywhere my limit.

Somemore what i have been doing just "merely" mike mentzer's HIIT style, 1 warm up set (eg dips only do 5 reps, very little warm up even) and 2 workout sets, one of which is hard and 1 all out, hit failure and then shake it out before bashing out some more reps, and lastly shake it out again to clear lactate, then all out till the last rep you might only be able to hold it half rep isometrically and shaking for 5-10 seconds.
DOMS is not a good indicator of training effectiveness for muscles but i quite often get that, then i'd make sure i recover well (3 days usually) before embarking on next session.
I know for my age, i do daily. confirm is walk forward 5 steps walk backwards 4.8 steps one and plateau after a certain stage coz the high reps i cannot confirm i hit a hard enough level of stimulus in training, maciam doing for the sake of doing only.

Young chap here doing Serapong. It's not as long as Lor Sesuai @ Bukit Timah rd (that one popular with runners) but there is a certain part at the first 1/3rd that is !!#%@@#!@# steep, i believe even steeper than Sesuai. Beginners wo leg strength for sure "fall" one, and after falling then good luck....no need to mount and pedal liao coz too steep to restart.

articland05

that what wife said..
i still did a short 50mins easy run. imho not that bad.. pretty minor.
my eyes usual will feel dry and teary when the air is really bad
...running will inhale so much air and more PM2.5 residue will get trapped inside your lungs then normal breathing and forever accumulate there

better dont run. not worth it

sph777

I probably will sign up later, might go for 15k instead. I need to solve my early morning GI issue when running

Maybe can pace u if u do 15k haha but u prob faster for this shorter distance!

GlassDoor

...running will inhale so much air and more PM2.5 residue will get trapped inside your lungs then normal breathing and forever accumulate there

better dont run. not worth it
NEA say 1hr pm2.5 is in the normal range. 24hr PSI is also in the good to moderate range.
imho can still continue with normal exercise regime unless there are underlying health concerns.

Ender

crazy to run outdoors in hazy days
do more harm then good for ur body

did feel the air isn't too good, throat feeling something during my run this morning.

that what wife said..
i still did a short 50mins easy run. imho not that bad.. pretty minor.
my eyes usual will feel dry and teary when the air is really bad
From my app, there was a spike around 8am to 9am. In general most of the day the AQI is good.

articland05

NEA say 1hr pm2.5 is in the normal range. 24hr PSI is also in the good to moderate range.
imho can still continue with normal exercise regime unless there are underlying health concerns.
trust own nose lor
last time I iron teeth go run liao then sore throat, cough etc...not worth it. probably i am the sensitive group :frown:

xllms

From my app, there was a spike around 8am to 9am. In general most of the day the AQI is good.

its about relative difference. Coming from deep winter (av. low single digit degC) dry cool air of below 100 aqi, probably does have a difference on me as well.
all these metrics are just scientific justifications only. How one feels is subjective. We have to take care of ourselves.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.