jogging and motivation thread

Ender

On MC for the past 2 days including today as I am suffering from cough . I don't have fever but i feel I am still unfit to run. But my colleague who also a marathoner runner (his PB 3:45hr) told me if he going to sick . He would still go for jog and actually feel better after sweating it out.. did anyone try that before and really help ?
Now at this moment aqi is all green. SengKang totally no smell. If you are sure yours is allergy, and not infection , I feel you can do a light run. Distance and intensity adjust to how much you can handle the symptoms.
If aqi is moderate to bad, then avoid since you are susceptible to the haze.

winningeleven

For me is mai lah......just rest esp if got malaise feeling. Never tried before tho.......
Get well soon.

For me if feeling well but somehow have headache, going for slow jog will feel better.

But when feeling tired with no symptoms, will just rest. Tried before slow jog and felt even worse.
Likely the haze. allergy. confirm no fever? Can run, or not depends on smell.
as long as not feverish .. i will run. my coughs and running nose are mostly minor and running with nasal breathing helps clear it for me. But this varies widely from person to person, when my wife have coughs.. its almost always serious and will last for at least a week and cough until lungs wanna come out.
My cough is quite bad actually. It is worst than yesterday. My last run was my 6km below 30 mins on 24 mar . I didn't smell any haze during that period. I think I kanna the virus from workplace ..a lot of my colleagues were sick recently.

I went to buy food just now and I tried to walk fast .

Yes with this cough . I shouldn't try to run at all.

Kuudere

I will stick to my runs down to mbs and the kallang river haha
Definitely, especially with income eco run at that area, I probably have to get in some fast runs there as well.
Nice. From the way Hui ran in it, looks like a cadence shoes. Might get this too aside from the Li Ning E6.

I tried the plaid 2.0 earlier, it was on sale at $129, I couldn't feel the bounce and snap effect, so I didn't go for it.

Currently, I tried Metaspeed Sky edge and NB SC elite v5, both works for me. I might get the latter as marathon shoes since it's on sale on the new balance website for $230. I can feel the bounce/snap from the shoes. It's not the fastest shoes out there, but I just need a comfortable shoe for my marathon.

I might drop by IMM this weekend and make a decision on what to get by next week.
E6 is almost 99% getting. After watching Kofuzi comment that E6 is less aggressive than other top tier shoes, I guess this may suit me. My experience with Nike VP fly4, a very aggressive shoes, gave my right metatarsals a beating after 27km.
IMG-1155.jpg

This is my vapourfly 4 after 246km. It's a very aggressive and unstable shoe, that's also why I felt that it fits 5k/10k running the most. 10k onwards, I felt that it gets uncomfortable. I like the explosiveness of vaporfly 4, but it's just not marathon shoes. Prefer more stability, so far my experience is that vaporfly trades off stability and cushioning for speed.

I think a lot of people say that the max they will run with VF4 is HM and no more than that.
Will rely on you when to get it haha. I still am reluctant to pay >200 for any shoe. Maybe E6 will only be cheaper when E7 comes out haha
It's not easy to find racing shoes that are <200 even on sales. I think it's still worth it to get >200 but <300, as long as I wear those shoes for races and pre-race intervals (sufficient to last 2 race seasons 5-6 months).

Possibly if you go overseas holidays and it's on sales? Then probably got a good chance to get cheaper shoes.
On MC for the past 2 days including today as I am suffering from cough . I don't have fever but i feel I am still unfit to run. But my colleague who also a marathoner runner (his PB 3:45hr) told me if he going to sick . He would still go for jog and actually feel better after sweating it out.. did anyone try that before and really help ?
I experienced the same in early feb. I didn't run on those days, but as soon as after my MC, I did recovery runs. And this worked out for me.

I used to run when I was sick, and while I managed to sweat it out but I don't necessarily feel better. So now, I just get in the rest I need.

Sadisticnoob

Yeah, i guess these things really gotta self DIY and see how much you can tahan with your own fav snacks, beverages or self-mixed maltodextrin power and actually i think also can dial it back down a little accordingly as well coz ultimately it is also a matter of energy usage/output, in which their "watts" are higher than ours.

She runs her 10k in 32-33 mins, so i think if we really wanna experiment, liquid nutrition mixed with gels or snacks, with a total intake of 90g/hr shd be more than optimal in a race environment. 40-60g/hr i think as you'd have experienced before, also no issue can support.
Doesn't matter if it is ultimately not oxidised and turned into energy, coz Connor of GCN and Sarah of GTN did get tested and their exogenous oxidation rate is just like 45g/hr. That means the actual utilization of the carbs and turning into energy, not only able to tahan GI issues or able to absorb it past the intestinal walls.

Bonus :

I'd recommend also play with Kang Shi Bo drinks first if dont wanna play with iherb's maltodextrin powder, the main +ve is that maltodextrin isnt sweet and some folks might not be able to tahan the sickly sweet flavour of sugary drinks. The kang shi bo beverage comes in various sugar concentrations between 5.4g all the way to 12.3g/100ml depending on flavour so just read the label. and can get in 500ml or even larger 1000ml bottles that can squeeze into the back of the jersey.
All these are typically using HFCS-55, ie 55% fructose and 45% glucose....which is basically the same 1:0.8 Glucose:Fructose ratio as commercial gel products.

For sure there is weight of coz, but for testing purposes is ok. So next time if go RHB Lekas ride then can mix maltodextrin with water at the R&R areas......but of coz for those into timings and racing this is a somewhat moot point coz of time wastage. The nutrition bottle can just mix to a certain concentration, ie 90g per 200ml and then you additionally take in a bit of gels like 1 gel per hour, the other bottle can be plain water.

Note : Actually fructose needs at least 90 mins to be processed by the liver before it becomes glucose, ie the Glycemic index is not as low as glucose. Glucose is basically instant energy, maciam 5 mins after drinking can feel effect and press turbo already, with peak effect reached by 15 mins.
Maltodextrin gets processed into glucose solely. But of coz as Ah Soon mentioned in simple layman terms in Alvinawwy's video, the total possible intake is limited if it is just glucose only, coz our intenstines have 2 absorption pathways, one for fructose and one for glucose.

For cycling and FM, of coz the durations are long......so ok. But if just HM and fuelling is a thing for the runner, dont really need fructose, glucose can liao (ie Glucolin powder from NTUC which is dextrose, which is basically glucose's identical twin brother)
Lekas too me is considered very short as my weekend rides are a little shorter than those distances. I usually eat 1 gel for every hour of riding , i like the n8 gel that is sold in malaysia . RM 8 for one packet which is dirt cheap.

For my regular rides, i dont usually fuel even if its 100 km.

Will probably look at nutrition at above 140km races.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.