jogging and motivation thread

rECKleSSfElla

Kofuzi got his hands on the Li Ning Feidian 6E and gave a pretty glowing review of it. Other than one Anta review he did, don't think he is much of a china shoe reviewer.

Saw prices come down to below SGD$150 for this shoe on PDD. Still around 3 mths to 6.18 so the wait shall go on..........

winningeleven

Kofuzi got his hands on the Li Ning Feidian 6E and gave a pretty glowing review of it. Other than one Anta review he did, don't think he is much of a china shoe reviewer.

Saw prices come down to below SGD$150 for this shoe on PDD. Still around 3 mths to 6.18 so the wait shall go on..........

I saw lazada selling at $260++. Not bad for a super shoe compared to the pricing of alphafly and adios pro 4 which retailed more than $300.

All thank to suguru Osako that made people noticed it

winningeleven

Bought SB3 for close to sgd200 in Japan with tax free.. sg sells 319..

wah lau.. sg really cannot buy branded running shoes..
Yes.
Every year I went to Japan and always come back with a new running shoes .

Last year oct 2025 . I bought megablast . This year CNY . I bought adios pro 4. All at least $100 ++ cheaper compared to sg .

Sadisticnoob

fUjuoJ7.jpeg

Finally broke sub 30 in a long while. will try again this sunday

xllms

Yes.
Every year I went to Japan and always come back with a new running shoes .

Last year oct 2025 . I bought megablast . This year CNY . I bought adios pro 4. All at least $100 ++ cheaper compared to sg .
moi went japan last sept and bought asics NB5. Should have saved the money and buy Lining Red Hare 9 ultra 😂

Kuudere

Ya, chickened out as I don't run with lights haha
To be fair, that spot doesn't have a lot of people running/cycling after you get past commonwealth. But if you are up for the challenge, I recommend running through hillview side of rail corridor in the morning, that area is filled with dense vegetation. Your heartbeat confirm vo2max from just easy run :ROFLMAO:
Unfortunately, i think for us amateur levels, the best shot to play with 120g/hr is really with self DIY liquid mixes.
For cycling it's easy in terms of practicality, 1 bottle with nutrition and the other bottle plain water. Also rear jersey can add another PET bottle 500ml of anything you want. Running a bit lehceh, might need to self devise some DIY very small ziploc satchets to contain the exact grams of powder.

Holly Archer is can one lah.....quite the elite in training for anything. She tried London 2025 and didnt get a good time after coming from 1500m-5k. Then continued to pursue Hyrox which she also just started in late 2024.

Last weekend

The HYROX Elite 15 is the premier, invitation-only competition tier in HYROX fitness racing, featuring the top 15 male and female individual athletes and elite doubles teams globally. It represents the pinnacle of the sport, where athletes compete in Majors and championships for a spot in the World Championship.

We picked up a 60-second penalty, followed by two additional 15-second penalties, 90 seconds in total for some small mistakes that, in reality, didn’t give us any advantage at all.
Despite the penalties, we still crossed the line in 55:35 and finished 7th overall ..,which, considering the setbacks, shows just how strong our performance actually was.

BTW bro, just a small tip, and i believe it is quite the practical good tip that works for me, try to don KF94 masks when you are just 1-2 month before your big important races (esp overseas). Also, wear it with a good fitting. Maintain good hand hygiene also, hand sanitizers esp for the fingers thumb, index and middle finger after touching any high-touch surface.

I decided to max out at 2 gels per hour, nothing more than that.

I don't like running with mask, prefer to run at gym treadmill instead.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11540989/

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9656209/
U r right. Despite as a recreational jogger .I always run a HM distance at least once a month.

Last year I suffered hip bursitis that left me MIA for 6 to 8 weeks which forced me to skip SCSM 2025 FM

My running form for this year 2026 so far haven't pick up yet .
Once you start training for marathon, you will run HM distance almost every other week and even longer. Most likely will run slower pace if you are aiming for <4:00:00.

If you use pfitz calculator, your aerobic pace is 6.32 - 7.07 min/km, long run is 6.15 - 6.49 min/km.

For me, I am aiming for <3:30:00, with aerobic pace at 5.43 - 6.13 min/km, long run is 5.28 - 5.58 min/km.

I usually run at the faster end of the range, but am able to recover and build up my mileage safely.

Lol 420 ez pace 😢

https://www.instagram.com/reels/DAJtNTTtm5E/

This guy 415 easy pace, 1.01 HM runner. For 2:20 marathoner, 4.20 min/km is within that recovery range of 4.09 - 4.29 min/km, so it's believable~
they are doing 120grams of carbs per hour now which is damn crazy , im only doing like 40 grams per hour
My recent long run of 26km, I consumed 36 grams over 2 hours 15 minutes. That was ~25s/km average off my goal marathon pace. I am trying to train up to at least 60 grams per hour. It will be a lot of gut training :ROFLMAO:

sph777

To be fair, that spot doesn't have a lot of people running/cycling after you get past commonwealth. But if you are up for the challenge, I recommend running through hillview side of rail corridor in the morning, that area is filled with dense vegetation. Your heartbeat confirm vo2max from just easy run :ROFLMAO:

I decided to max out at 2 gels per hour, nothing more than that.

I don't like running with mask, prefer to run at gym treadmill instead.

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11540989/

https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC9656209/

Once you start training for marathon, you will run HM distance almost every other week and even longer. Most likely will run slower pace if you are aiming for <4:00:00.

If you use pfitz calculator, your aerobic pace is 6.32 - 7.07 min/km, long run is 6.15 - 6.49 min/km.

For me, I am aiming for <3:30:00, with aerobic pace at 5.43 - 6.13 min/km, long run is 5.28 - 5.58 min/km.

I usually run at the faster end of the range, but am able to recover and build up my mileage safely.

https://www.instagram.com/reels/DAJtNTTtm5E/

This guy 415 easy pace, 1.01 HM runner. For 2:20 marathoner, 4.20 min/km is within that recovery range of 4.09 - 4.29 min/km, so it's believable~

My recent long run of 26km, I consumed 36 grams over 2 hours 15 minutes. That was ~25s/km average off my goal marathon pace. I am trying to train up to at least 60 grams per hour. It will be a lot of gut training :ROFLMAO:
I will stick to my runs down to mbs and the kallang river haha

WussRedXLi

they are doing 120grams of carbs per hour now which is damn crazy , im only doing like 40 grams per hour

Yeah, i guess these things really gotta self DIY and see how much you can tahan with your own fav snacks, beverages or self-mixed maltodextrin power and actually i think also can dial it back down a little accordingly as well coz ultimately it is also a matter of energy usage/output, in which their "watts" are higher than ours.

She runs her 10k in 32-33 mins, so i think if we really wanna experiment, liquid nutrition mixed with gels or snacks, with a total intake of 90g/hr shd be more than optimal in a race environment. 40-60g/hr i think as you'd have experienced before, also no issue can support.
Doesn't matter if it is ultimately not oxidised and turned into energy, coz Connor of GCN and Sarah of GTN did get tested and their exogenous oxidation rate is just like 45g/hr. That means the actual utilization of the carbs and turning into energy, not only able to tahan GI issues or able to absorb it past the intestinal walls.

Exogenous oxidation refers to the body’s metabolic process of breaking down ingested carbohydrates (exogenous) for energy during exercise, rather than using stored glycogen (endogenous). It is a key factor in endurance performance, with athletes typically oxidizing 1.0–1.7 g/min when consuming optimized carb blends, improving performance by sparing muscle glycogen and maintaining blood glucose.

Bonus :

I'd recommend also play with Kang Shi Bo drinks first if dont wanna play with iherb's maltodextrin powder, the main +ve is that maltodextrin isnt sweet and some folks might not be able to tahan the sickly sweet flavour of sugary drinks. The kang shi bo beverage comes in various sugar concentrations between 5.4g all the way to 12.3g/100ml depending on flavour so just read the label. and can get in 500ml or even larger 1000ml bottles that can squeeze into the back of the jersey.
All these are typically using HFCS-55, ie 55% fructose and 45% glucose....which is basically the same 1:0.8 Glucose:Fructose ratio as commercial gel products.

For sure there is weight of coz, but for testing purposes is ok. So next time if go RHB Lekas ride then can mix maltodextrin with water at the R&R areas......but of coz for those into timings and racing this is a somewhat moot point coz of time wastage. The nutrition bottle can just mix to a certain concentration, ie 90g per 200ml and then you additionally take in a bit of gels like 1 gel per hour, the other bottle can be plain water.

Note : Actually fructose needs at least 90 mins to be processed by the liver before it becomes glucose, ie the Glycemic index is not as low as glucose. Glucose is basically instant energy, maciam 5 mins after drinking can feel effect and press turbo already, with peak effect reached by 15 mins.
Maltodextrin gets processed into glucose solely. But of coz as Ah Soon mentioned in simple layman terms in Alvinawwy's video, the total possible intake is limited if it is just glucose only, coz our intenstines have 2 absorption pathways, one for fructose and one for glucose.

For cycling and FM, of coz the durations are long......so ok. But if just HM and fuelling is a thing for the runner, dont really need fructose, glucose can liao (ie Glucolin powder from NTUC which is dextrose, which is basically glucose's identical twin brother)

WussRedXLi

80c from Scarlett supermarket, the ah tiong supermarket. But Kung Hai supermarket (people's park & clementi) 60c only.

BTW, for health purposes, do this only during your sessions and in appropriate doses, in which the glucose would be literally instantenously utilized by the muscles. This way we avoid the associated pancreas insulin excessive production. At least that's the theory.
Dont have to worry too much abt using that few times in training and testing, and in races (how much do we really race anyway). Of coz if you are overfueling, like spamming sweetened beverages, bananas, maltodextrin and within 5 hrs go makan 2 full meals, then i have nothing to say.
Actually this thingy also depends on other factors as well, eg total body muscle mass, visceral fats esp around belly for guys, NEAT etc. so no 2 individuals are gonna be the same.

Other sedentary folks' one cup of lifestyle beverages + sendetary office environment lagi jialat..... ie starbucks, easily 100+ grams of "fuel". heh, in addition to lunch, plus snacks like Old Chang Kee, nowadays even goreng pisang also became commercialised in malls (forgot that famous brand, damn expensive).
Actually, tbh, my office got a lot....grabfood is easy and v accessible.

KSF.jpg

WussRedXLi

Also....for T100/Ironman races, folks like Sam Long / Magnus Ditlev / Kristian Blummenfelt take in 150-170g/hr as often documented by them.

There is a risk of overfueling and bloating tho..... Sam Long kena that in 2025 T100 Singapore. K Blmmenfelt was actively vomitting on his bike once, presumably GI cannot tahan (even though they need that kinda intakes for that intensity)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.