jogging and motivation thread

Ender

@xllms @Tudo88 and other Coros users. The coming firmware update quite major upgrade. Lucky Coros pace 3 also getting it despite being one gen old.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2026/03/software-strategy-guidance.html

COROS Spring 2026 Software Update Adds Race Pace Strategy, Climb Guidance, and more!​

UntitledImage-10.png

Ender

Wow 160km week when he was in uni.

edit - now i am not saying this along the lines that this is a lot of mileage (esp for a pro/semi-pro/whatever) or a lot hours in a week in terms of duration, that's over 10-11 hrs per week at his pace. But more so from the angle that he has a big commitment which is studying in uni, and he still has the discipline to squeeze out so much time for training.

edit 2 - Fwah......Singapore is the only country whose athletes brings 10-year series to the SEA games. 🤣
SEA game athletes, I think other discipline that self sponsored also spend many hour outside their fulltime job to train. That's why when SRY criticize the upper bureaucrats I support.

WussRedXLi

SEA game athletes, I think other discipline that self sponsored also spend many hour outside their fulltime job to train. That's why when SRY criticize the upper bureaucrats I support.

In the end i also believe some companies of these athletes also support in ways like extending a a flexi schedule to them, for eg coming in late and going back late, should they prefer morning trainings. Or if they prefer some heat training prior to compeition then maybe change to coming in early and knock off at 4 so that they can start before 5pm. Or even at least 1 day WFH for some suitable roles. But how that affects their job performance and carrer climbing (ie they cant really have morning meetings prior to 11am), i dont know liao.

Tudo88

@xllms @Tudo88 and other Coros users. The coming firmware update quite major upgrade. Lucky Coros pace 3 also getting it despite being one gen old.

https://www.dcrainmaker.com/2026/03/software-strategy-guidance.html

COROS Spring 2026 Software Update Adds Race Pace Strategy, Climb Guidance, and more!​

UntitledImage-10.png
The only update I want is to have Spotify integrated into the watch but unlikely to happen haha.

Anyway, what are your guys fitness score on the app? On a recent interview,Suguru one is 99.5! I have to say the race predictor on Coros is quite accurate I feel. Garmin ones quite off

WussRedXLi

mine was 160 per session but that was a few years ago
wow then its give me hope! haha.. i was running 50 to 70km per week before i came down with this PF..

the shockwave therapy not cheap right??

Other than ESWT, which can only be done in-clinic by a professional, does work for any sort of inflammation, including major issues like rheumatic arthritis. My wife's case the specialist also said that is another tool in the event if too pain and the various injections, IV, oral meds dont work,

But can also check out E-stim, electrical stimulation therapy. It's probably best for muscles, but there is some science in it working for tendons as well. Might not be the best, but then ESWT we are talking about costs in the thousands for the full works and full "injury season". 😅

Around 2-3 days ago i posted a Runmax uncle review video of a Jap one, i think only $200+, but must get from Rakuten and i am not so sure how to 3rd party it from Japan.......that one unfortunately aint a Taobao thingy that one can still easily 3rd party over.

Srsly, just go do your proper strengthening in the appropriate muscles (heck, do all of them for lower limbs lol, including even the feet/sole internal and external rotation and even toes grappling exercises) and also plyometrics. I dont seem why if they work for me as a 50+ age and past nearly 3 years no injuries of any sort, they wont work for the younger folks which would probably have a larger effect.
But ok, then again, my mileage is largely static one. lol. (that's another beauty for 3k to even a bit of 10k, you wont burn out even with a full year of training sprinkled with some deloads here and there)

WussRedXLi

Taobao actually has these e-stimulation devices, it's basically how you adjust the frequency (Hz), pulse duration and intensity. Can check out that rakuten product and see if it can be replicated. Cheap enough to try also.

Dont think will worsen injury, that's the thing. No harm trying while watching youtube etc. 🤣
Not like EWST, even if there is a DIY option, this causes microtears and wanna promote microhealing......which is probably not really DIY-able coz risk of some trauma, and the device cost is much more costly.

https://item.rakuten.co.jp/ufit-shop/low-frequency-therapy-device/

https://s.taobao.com/search?catId=100&commend=all&from=sea_1_searchbutton&ie=utf8&initiative_id=tbindexz_20170306&page=1&preLoadOrigin=https://world.taobao.com&q=电刺激&search_type=item&sourceId=tb.index&spm=a2141.241046-sg.search_paste.0&ssid=s5-e&tab=all&type=p

DIY EWST. Not gonna be cheap. 🤣

s_mario

Other than ESWT, which can only be done in-clinic by a professional, does work for any sort of inflammation, including major issues like rheumatic arthritis. My wife's case the specialist also said that is another tool in the event if too pain and the various injections, IV, oral meds dont work,

But can also check out E-stim, electrical stimulation therapy. It's probably best for muscles, but there is some science in it working for tendons as well. Might not be the best, but then ESWT we are talking about costs in the thousands for the full works and full "injury season". 😅

Around 2-3 days ago i posted a Runmax uncle review video of a Jap one, i think only $200+, but must get from Rakuten and i am not so sure how to 3rd party it from Japan.......that one unfortunately aint a Taobao thingy that one can still easily 3rd party over.

Srsly, just go do your proper strengthening in the appropriate muscles (heck, do all of them for lower limbs lol, including even the feet/sole internal and external rotation and even toes grappling exercises) and also plyometrics. I dont seem why if they work for me as a 50+ age and past nearly 3 years no injuries of any sort, they wont work for the younger folks which would probably have a larger effect.
But ok, then again, my mileage is largely static one. lol. (that's another beauty for 3k to even a bit of 10k, you wont burn out even with a full year of training sprinkled with some deloads here and there)
been doing all the strengthing exercie including those toe grabbling exercises haha.. but everytime when it seems to recover the pain will be back.. hopefull the Runeasi 3D Gait Analysis will give me an understanding of the root cause and tackle from there..

WussRedXLi

Nowadays just hoot AI blindly can liao. True or not or scientifically rigourously tested or not, dont ask me. 🤣
Basically it's something like "dont stop exercises as it restores blood flow", but it does not have the same tendon strain coz of the physical acitivity but still has the blood flow improvement factor.
Whether or not that blood flow improvement is the same as physical exercise, not sure.
But for sure you can do it for 1-2 hrs while sitting on the chair watching youtube. 🤣

E-stim (electrical stimulation) therapy improves blood flow to tendons primarily by inducing muscle contractions that act as a "pump" to increase circulation, reducing inflammation, and stimulating the release of signaling factors that promote vascular growth. By creating rhythmic contraction and relaxation, the stimulation helps deliver oxygen and vital nutrients to injured tendon tissues while facilitating the removal of waste products.
www.coastalorthoteam.com +3
How E-stim Improves Tendon Blood Flow:
  • Muscle Pump Action (NMES): Neuromuscular Electrical Stimulation (NMES) mimics natural signals from the nervous system, causing nearby muscles to contract and relax. This repetitive action enhances local circulation, which is critical for treating tendonitis.
  • Vascular Dilation and Relaxation: E-stim, particularly TENS (Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation), can reduce sympathetic nervous system activity, resulting in the dilation of blood vessels (vasodilation) and increased blood flow to the surrounding area.
  • Angiogenesis and Healing Factors: Certain types of e-stim, such as Low-Intensity Pulsed Ultrasound (LIPUS) or specific electromagnetic fields, can increase the expression of vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF). This factor is crucial for angiogenesis (the formation of new blood vessels) to mend injured tendons.
  • Restoring the Electrical Environment: Tendons have a piezoelectric nature, meaning they generate their own electrical fields when under stress. When a tendon is injured, this natural electric environment is broken. External e-stim helps restore this environment, which boosts metabolic activity and collagen production, supporting repair.
    National Institutes of Health (.gov) +7
Key Modalities and Effects:
  • NMES/EMS: Used for strengthening muscles and increasing blood flow through strong, rhythmic contractions, helping to reduce swelling and aid recovery in injuries like Achilles tendinitis.
  • TENS: Primarily used to modulate pain, it also increases local circulation by reducing sympathetic activity and increasing skin temperature, which alleviates inflammation.
  • Pulsed Electromagnetic Fields (PEMF): This technique induces electrical currents to increase nutrient delivery and enhance collagen production in damaged tendons.
    National Institutes of Health (.gov) +3

WussRedXLi

been doing all the strengthing exercie including those toe grabbling exercises haha.. but everytime when it seems to recover the pain will be back.. hopefull the Runeasi 3D Gait Analysis will give me an understanding of the root cause and tackle from there..

I guess really need to fully recover then see see and do those proper. Talking about a time frame of 3 months, not 3 weeks or so.
That's why the last time we conversed on this, i am wondering if they would do imaging as well if the specialist see a need without risking over-diagnosis......X-rays for hard, MRI for soft tissues.

Unfortunately this whole journey for such more serious injury takes time also also a bit of DIY. That's also why some just take up cross training like cycling or swimming or even Hyrox and get hooked in other areas or become hybrid athletes. 🤣

WussRedXLi

Taobao also has ESWT, but this is the Radial head variant. Not the focussed head one.
The radial head type is only good for more surface based injuries, but the PF is quite deep inside and so need the focussed wave variant to penetrate.

But i think for AT and PFPS, these radial head ESWT might be effective as the achilles tendon and patellar tendon are much closer to the skin surface. Not sure, need to google / AI.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ali_refid=a3_430008_1006:1122307996:H:wFFmx7EndrPB7He6FyXK485mUA6gSHev:fc169a4551d2fb6963e3a49476441af3&ali_trackid=282_fc169a4551d2fb6963e3a49476441af3&id=611765979995&mi_id=0000z2hONOAPypF0qD07NpuMqlWG_xJ49jwKPTofX4QGEtk&mm_sceneid=1_0_111564629_0&priceTId=2147812617750089898402332e103e&skuId=5789849930004&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.12&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"1035b87f9ff785e1417f19c629f253d1"}&xxc=ad_ztc

Note : not advocating DIY "medical" prodcedures. But unfortunately, nowadays with costs and uncertain economic/career factors, it is what it is. A full investigation and recovery sessions might cost more than my road bike liao.

WussRedXLi

which is probably not really DIY-able coz risk of some trauma, and the device cost is much more costly.
DIY EWST. Not gonna be cheap. 🤣

Watched the video. I'd retract my statement regarding not DIY-able. It might just be the tool at low treatment intensities/rates if you are the special outlier type in which after changing shoes, insoles, strengthening/plyo (might not work coz you are not the type who can do such things well for eg) or even someone who is more at risk for calcified soft tissue ( calcium hydroxyapatite within the PF)........and it's recurring over the years.

Then this might be the remaining good option. For sure you'd need some skills and knowledge and reading up to do, but it isn't not doable for a "handy" person.

Better than just leaving it as it is, suffering 1-3 months every year or every 2-3 years as a recurring, then after 20-30 years kena tendonosis which will require surgery to take out the necrotic/dead tissues.
This can happen with chronic cases, my wife already lost 14 degrees of elbow flexion for one of her elbows with chronic inflammation, in only ~9 months, due to undertreatment (somemore by a govt restructured hospital specialist clinic). CRP, ESR values lagi high of coz, but that also means it happened in double quick time. You can get it with lower levels but very long and chronically inflammed conditions over years as well, bit by bit you lose the function over time and it adds up.

WussRedXLi

Taobao also has ESWT, but this is the Radial head variant. Not the focussed head one.
The radial head type is only good for more surface based injuries, but the PF is quite deep inside and so need the focussed wave variant to penetrate.

But i think for AT and PFPS, these radial head ESWT might be effective as the achilles tendon and patellar tendon are much closer to the skin surface. Not sure, need to google / AI.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ali_refid=a3_430008_1006:1122307996:H:wFFmx7EndrPB7He6FyXK485mUA6gSHev:fc169a4551d2fb6963e3a49476441af3&ali_trackid=282_fc169a4551d2fb6963e3a49476441af3&id=611765979995&mi_id=0000z2hONOAPypF0qD07NpuMqlWG_xJ49jwKPTofX4QGEtk&mm_sceneid=1_0_111564629_0&priceTId=2147812617750089898402332e103e&skuId=5789849930004&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.12&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"1035b87f9ff785e1417f19c629f253d1"}&xxc=ad_ztc

Note : not advocating DIY "medical" prodcedures. But unfortunately, nowadays with costs and uncertain economic/career factors, it is what it is. A full investigation and recovery sessions might cost more than my road bike liao.

Seems like some of the models do have different heads for different depth focus. That's for PF which needs a bit of different focussing depth

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?ali_refid=a3_430008_1006:1151924748:N:kNeB6nIsDaxEG8h4a4hNXvPz8+2drWBZ:eeb2fe57b40ec0c65408a5ae2508bc14&ali_trackid=1_eeb2fe57b40ec0c65408a5ae2508bc14&id=621372397784&mi_id=0000O1WdMEzV7YuPPSup2LXvBBrqrjTTxpEtwzIgKz9uLEA&mm_sceneid=1_0_130757918_0&priceTId=2147812617750089898402332e103e&skuId=5187034542974&spm=a21n57.1.hoverItem.22&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"9c7b0cac1d8456fa75c18d938b0de9b4"}&xxc=ad_ztc

7335gZ2.jpg

WussRedXLi

@s_mario

Can try, first session 50 bucks including consultation but need to take AL coz weekdays b4 6pm appt, subsequent FROM 92. Most other docs cost $170 upwards.
If need 6 sessions, think 1k shd suffice if not complicated case. If need 8-12 sessions, then LLST (lan lan suck thumb)

But then if they are using the radial type of ESWT for PF which is rather deep seated, it might not be very effective as it's more surface based. Radial is more for other areas of tendoniopathy. But 50 dollars first session, can trial lah.
When coupled with proper physio and maybe even proper shoes and what nots, success rate shd be very high.

https://healinghands.com.sg/shockwave-therapy-singapore/

milkiee

honestly imo, running gait is hardly the main cause for PF. it's mostly an overused injury.
i did a 3D gait analysis with ufit podiatry and didn't get much takeaway from that session.
like i mentioned before, shockwave therapy can help you recover but strengthening is still the long term remedy. now i'm mostly doing heavy load single calf raises and seated calf raises as prevention. its working well so far.

WussRedXLi

Stage 2 @ Tour de Thailand just now.

SG got outsprinted in bunch sprint, or rather got blocked (standard) and could not choose another better line coz insufficient power. Think she got 6th or 7th

Actually cannot say lousy line also, racecraft and positioning for final sprint is decent. Neck to neck in 5th during bunch sprint and she still got the draft for the real final kick. If just got that extra bit of kick in power, 4th or 5th is no issue. If lucky, 3rd also can.

Below is ~ 70-80m mark and just before that she was still drafting. Before the purple jersey "caught" and blocked her for a while and she followed the green and the red on RHS closed in on her (probably as tatics).

Regardless, still good effort and decent result.
Just found out, is Elizabeth Liau.

Back of jersey, look for the red merlion logo

oZOV0as.jpg

7KzU0I0.jpg

5jM2xxK.jpg

SG sprinted while on the hoods. (grey helmet)
Ou0w7Uh.jpg

4bdjOOy.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.