jogging and motivation thread

s_mario

Can try this hip stretches in addition to the usual plantar stuffs.

I did for two days and felt good relief. Like things loosen up.

Still need to learn manage my load.

Last Saturday wear my new Altra shoes ran 5k at tortoise pace.

Felt pretty okay but cannot speed up, otherwise will pain. After run quite comfortable at 4/10 pain.

Then backside itchy ran a few strides. Became 6/10 pain.

Then walk 1.5km to buy burger king, became 7/10 pain. :(

thanks i did those in the video and not sure whether it helps.. everytime i feel like my feet recovering pain increases.. haha.. i even swtich from doing elilipcals , cycling to rowing to avoid giving my feet pressue..

but then i walk a lot daily (min 15k steps to average 20k steps) so maybe this is 1 of the reason of my plantar just doesnt go away..

u still having pain? the way u mention like me.. i dont dare run at fast or tempo pace.. got 1 time i thought i almost recover and went for a 8km tempo run.. end up next day pain is 7/10.. sianz..

sph777

If bought on carousel, the price can be cheaper but have you tried the shoes before running in them? I personally feel that each carbon plate shoe feels different, even though they are all optimised for racing. Carbon plate shoes will generally perform better if you run faster paces, and the trade off is comfort. If you don’t feel comfort later into the race, then your pace will naturally drop. Or worst, end up getting injuries after the race. That’s why I don’t mind buying from carousel but must at least try the shoes once 😂

I have been wearing my watch to sleep for healthy 365 points.

A few things in general:

1. I mostly get in at least 6 hours sleep, very seldom under 6 hours. If I want to sleep more, I have to sleep earlier whether I run later in the evening or not.

2. I prefer evening runs, because I tried morning runs on weekends and I feel more tired after the runs. If I combine that with my 5 days work in office job, it will be a recipe for disaster.

3. I have 2 recovery days with no running, in which, I usually sleep earlier and get at least 7 hours of sleep.

4. On weekends, I actually nap once or twice, to get in the full recovery rest I need, on top of 7+ hours of sleep.

5. I have experimented napping after work, and it feels a lot easier to hit interval paces. But it isn’t worth it if you are covering long slow mileage, because you end up eating and sleeping later.

I want to run night races, in terms of logistics and preparation, I am more used to it 🤣
I'm gonna run for my longer sat run before deciding if it's suitable for the 15k ntuc income ecorace.

sales69

thanks i did those in the video and not sure whether it helps.. everytime i feel like my feet recovering pain increases.. haha.. i even swtich from doing elilipcals , cycling to rowing to avoid giving my feet pressue..

but then i walk a lot daily (min 15k steps to average 20k steps) so maybe this is 1 of the reason of my plantar just doesnt go away..

u still having pain? the way u mention like me.. i dont dare run at fast or tempo pace.. got 1 time i thought i almost recover and went for a 8km tempo run.. end up next day pain is 7/10.. sianz..
Maybe the walking plays a big part. That is about 12km++?

I'm still having pain. At night when wake up to piss, cannot put pressure on the injured leg.

After doing the hip stretches, can put pressure with a little pain. So that's a big improvement.

Yesterday did some weighted squats and felt pain.

Might go for slow run later.

I think really need to manage distance and effort to recover!

sph777

I'm still having pain. At night when wake up to piss, cannot put pressure on the injured leg.

After doing the hip stretches, can put pressure with a little pain. So that's a big improvement.

My podiatrist asked me buy stability shoe (gel kayano), got for me custom insoles. Ran in the insoles and kayano for short distances each week. Also did electro static treatment for 5 sessions

s_mario

how long have this plantar been for u? i feel like i have been changing my running form becos of plantar.. i am more of mid foot strike but now i tend to use my forefoot to run

WussRedXLi

my ankle no issue.. can do over 5 reps asian deep squat no issue.. i really hope can solve my feet issue as i am really missing my running.. a simple 4km slow run will result in some pain later in the day liao..

i still want to run a under 40 mins 10k, 1 hour 30 mins hm and a under 4 FM.. lol..

Great, that means no obvious big issues there in terms of mobility. See what they can find out in detail for ya.

sales69

My podiatrist asked me buy stability shoe (gel kayano), got for me custom insoles. Ran in the insoles and kayano for short distances each week. Also did electro static treatment for 5 sessions

Indeed stable platform is better. Maybe firm helps too. I always felt less pain during/after when wearing Redhare 9U.

Unstable shoe like Feidian 6E feel shiok when running but the pain after is... :s13:

how long have this plantar been for u? i feel like i have been changing my running form becos of plantar.. i am more of mid foot strike but now i tend to use my forefoot to run
Started around late Jan. So about 2 months.

Initially I thought change to running strides, max 1km or 2km will manage the pain.

But seems like getting worse. Now just do slow jogs.

True that will change running form. Body auto adjust to avoid pain.

Sometimes cause ache in other places. I have to adjust back haha.

s_mario

haha, same advice.. i brought gel kayano (2 pairs.. lol) and insoles.. didnt get the customised insoles as i wanted to try some off the counter insoles.

i didnt get the electro static treatment though.. how long have u got plantar? was wondering whether i should tell podiatrist i want to do this electro static treatment..

WussRedXLi

Ask your podiatrist/speciialist, forefoot might worsen PF if you change from mid/heel strike wo the associated prehab/strength/whatever work, if i dont remember wrongly.

Ask him what are the steps in rehab and even prehab for prevention. If he is a good doc, he will be able to share good specific tips and exercises for you to fix it once and for all, and not just some typical insoles/shoes change as band aid.

Why? Coz the reason is that we all like to buy/change shoes esp, so the issue will forever not be fixed. Unless if you can tahan it and not change, and the mileage / intensity also not change after slowly building it up, ie just for health purposes.

sph777

haha, same advice.. i brought gel kayano (2 pairs.. lol) and insoles.. didnt get the customised insoles as i wanted to try some off the counter insoles.

i didnt get the electro static treatment though.. how long have u got plantar? was wondering whether i should tell podiatrist i want to do this electro static treatment..
in 2024 had it for 2 months before seeing podiatrist, took 3 months from there to be pain free before continuing training proper

WussRedXLi

its a left distal radius fracture...

Seems like wrist

THWC-distal-radius-fracture-surgery-perth-2.webp

WussRedXLi

I guess this is also the reason why they say not to always wear the high stack / soft foam / carbon plate / etc racy type shoes for your training. Not that cannot wear totally, but cannot over-wear them. But hell yeah, i know the feeling, i like stuff like the Plaid. But alas, if body not up there, there is a price to be paid over time.
Esp if little to no prehab done so that your musculoskeletal system can meet the increased stressors aspect of these shoes if you are one who is training and trying to improve both distance and pace. If nothing changes much and you do much lower mileages, then i guess the risk is much lower.

And everyone is different too, different biomechanics different strength of the tendons, the bones, the muscle flexibility, the joint mobility etc. So the limits that you can tahan before getting injured is also different.

s_mario

Ask your podiatrist/speciialist, forefoot might worsen PF if you change from mid/heel strike wo the associated prehab/strength/whatever work, if i dont remember wrongly.

Ask him what are the steps in rehab and even prehab for prevention. If he is a good doc, he will be able to share good specific tips and exercises for you to fix it once and for all, and not just some typical insoles/shoes change as band aid.

Why? Coz the reason is that we all like to buy/change shoes esp, so the issue will forever not be fixed. Unless if you can tahan it and not change, and the mileage / intensity also not change after slowly building it up, ie just for health purposes.
oh good advice.. will ask the podiatrist.. just got the clinic sending me a form to fill in asking me my running history, shoes, issues etc.

hope i can solve this PF once and for all..

WussRedXLi

oh good advice.. will ask the podiatrist.. just got the clinic sending me a form to fill in asking me my running history, shoes, issues etc.

hope i can solve this PF once and for all..

It is likely that once you IDed the root cause(s) and fix the PF, the AT and PFPS, ITBS, Shin splint risks all also would go down as well. All related.

milkiee

shockwave therapy did wonders for my PF.
i tried to cut back on my run and let it self heal but it was a very slow process.
went to see a podiatrist to got a custom insole but i didn't like how it changed the underfoot feeling when i run.
eventually, i settled on a physiotherapist that did shockwave therapy for me.
i started seeing her in early june and my last session was in early sept.
after that, i started training for SCSM 2025 with peak mileage at 60km per week.
there was still this nagging sore on my injured arch after run but i continued with my strength training etc.
fast forward to today, i am fully recovered without any niggle or ache in my feet with an average of 45-50km mileage per week.

in short, it's the shockwave therapy that helped me recovered fully imo.

s_mario

i tried to cut back on my run and let it self heal but it was a very slow process.
went to see a podiatrist to got a custom insole but i didn't like how it changed the underfoot feeling when i run.
after that, i started training for SCSM 2025 with peak mileage at 60km per week.
there was still this nagging sore on my injured arch after run but i continued with my strength training etc.
fast forward to today, i am fully recovered without any niggle or ache in my feet with an average of 45-50km mileage per week.

wow then its give me hope! haha.. i was running 50 to 70km per week before i came down with this PF..

the shockwave therapy not cheap right??

sales69

I guess this is also the reason why they say not to always wear the high stack / soft foam / carbon plate / etc racy type shoes for your training. Not that cannot wear totally, but cannot over-wear them. But hell yeah, i know the feeling, i like stuff like the Plaid. But alas, if body not up there, there is a price to be paid over time.
Esp if little to no prehab done so that your musculoskeletal system can meet the increased stressors aspect of these shoes if you are one who is training and trying to improve both distance and pace. If nothing changes much and you do much lower mileages, then i guess the risk is much lower.

And everyone is different too, different biomechanics different strength of the tendons, the bones, the muscle flexibility, the joint mobility etc. So the limits that you can tahan before getting injured is also different.
I guess I became lazy with these advanced shoes.

Last week I tried the Altra zero drop shoe. Escalante Racer 2.

Wow the familiar wide toe splay is back. Ground feel. Very flexible. Zero drop, less cushioned but not uncomfortable. Very similar to NB Minimus I worn years ago. (Last time run 5k, 5min pace)

Then the problem starts. My lazy mechanics don't know how to handle the shoes. End up ran at 7min pace to get familiar. :s13:

Last stretch 500m tried to run fast but couldn't get the lift-off, kicking back right. Need to relearn how to run!

sales69

Thanks for sharing. Think I will explore shockwave therapy as well.

This doesn't sound scientific. Once I tried an exercise Wuss shared.

It's like a glute bridge then sudden kick out, land on heels.

I only tried 1 time and hit the heel damn freaking painful and stopped.

Don't recall doing any other stuffs.

Next day all of a sudden felt almost painless like 1/10. Maybe that one time shock did helped.

Thought I had recovered so ran more. Then went back 6/10 pain again.

Haven't been able to replicate the effect with same exercise yet.

Kuudere

Wow 160km week when he was in uni.

edit - now i am not saying this along the lines that this is a lot of mileage (esp for a pro/semi-pro/whatever) or a lot hours in a week in terms of duration, that's over 10-11 hrs per week at his pace. But more so from the angle that he has a big commitment which is studying in uni, and he still has the discipline to squeeze out so much time for training.

edit 2 - Fwah......Singapore is the only country whose athletes brings 10-year series to the SEA games. 🤣
Uni is very possible, there's a national marathoner that averages that mileage while studying in sg.

His peak week was 195k which was 14 hours of running in a week.

My job quite similar, a lot of walking. Averaged about 15k steps today, but on usual days maybe 8-9k from walking excluding running.

Not easy to recover.
I'm gonna run for my longer sat run before deciding if it's suitable for the 15k ntuc income ecorace.
Can try running threshold run to see how it goes. I might also try my new shoes next week.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.