jogging and motivation thread

Whispers

Me too . Sub 4 for full marathon also on my bucket list .

I didn't care much about HR for long run coz I feel it will improve naturally.

My best HR was below 150 for 27km long run is 2hr 35mins long run at 5:35mins/km

I observed many sub 4 hours runners usually would have a HM closed to 1hr 50 mins... Not many I know sub 4 marathoner did 1hr55mins to 1hr 59mins for HM and still managed to go below 4 hrs for FM...

eh if u can hold that effort for so long...u r almost there already...HR<150 as well

WussRedXLi

Beautiful moment, yes. But then full bonk means full bonk liao lah....fuelling mistake etc. There is no way "you can do it" aka mind over matter no matter how loud the spectators shouting and encouragement would help.
(actually passing him pure glucose water in isotonic concentration would help greatly within 5 mins)

If last few hundred metres, others still can drag you over the line. But if > 1km, good luck man.

I remember that 1 ride when my kid literally full bonk until he shouted cannot liao, stop stop. And he then dismounted bike and fell to his ass to the grass side over the kerb. I then quickly cycled to the nearest kopitiam with 100 plus, heng there was 1 nearby. Within 5 mins later he felt so much better, and 10 mins we could limp to the nearest hawker to eat.

From then on, we always carry fuel with us, better dont risk. And he can recognise the early signs of bonking.

WussRedXLi

The spray i think is to cool during stopping (coz no airflow) and also provides very light lubricity.
The backpack is for ice, but i am wondering if that is powdered dry ice or pellets, coz i can see a fair bit of water vapour condensation

If robots use ice, so can you. I thought i was the only crazy fella to be using ice cooling with water / towels for TTs here for max performance.

Improvement over last year's race:
1) Better cooling technology
2) AI technology, with 40% of the robots running autonomously
3) More advanced satellite guidance, to handle more terrain variations, including some 90-degree sharp turns
4) Better running mechanics
5) Better exoskeletons, lighter yet stronger

WussRedXLi

The spray i think is to cool during stopping (coz no airflow) and also provides very light lubricity.
The backpack is for ice, but i am wondering if that is powdered dry ice or pellets, coz i can see a fair bit of water vapour condensation

If robots use ice, so can you. I thought i was the only crazy fella to be using ice cooling with water / towels for TTs here for max performance.

Improvement over last year's race:
1) Better cooling technology
2) AI technology, with 40% of the robots running autonomously
3) More advanced satellite guidance, to handle more terrain variations, including some 90-degree sharp turns
4) Better running mechanics
5) Better exoskeletons, lighter yet stronger

Ok from this angle, confirm pelleted dry ice (2nd cut)

WussRedXLi

i have to say that the stamina and everything is getting better.
average 6:30 pace feels quite ok now compared to the initial stages.
legs feel tired on some days, inside of left knee is sore to touch sometimes.

6-7 hours of running, add in the cool downs n such, probably goes up to 9-10 hours per week. split into 5-6 sessions, ~2 hours each. then cannot ignore rest, min of 7 hours.
- so working backwards, wake up at 7am, means sleep at 12mn.
- reach home at 6-7pm, depends on work, skip dinner and start running at 730pm. end at 930pm.
- eat something, shower, then must prepare for bed liao...
- do this for 5-6 days out of 7 days...

now im wondering if its worthwhile to go through with this...

PS. One more snippet of info

AI Overview

A 4:00 hour marathon in Singapore's hot and humid conditions is generally equivalent to a time between 3:35 and 3:45 in a cooler, temperate-climate marathon like Barcelona.
Runner's World +1
This estimation is based on a performance difference of approximately 6% to 10% caused by heat and humidity, which places a higher physiological burden on the body—leading to faster dehydration and higher heart rates—compared to running in optimal, cooler temperatures (around 5°C–10°C).
Runner's World +1

Why the Difference?
  • Thermal Strain: Singapore's high humidity (often over 80–90%) inhibits sweat evaporation, reducing the body's ability to cool itself.
  • Performance Hit: A 4-hour marathoner in hot, humid conditions (e.g., 25°C+ with high dew point) may find their time slowed by 15 to 25 minutes compared to a cool-weather race.
  • Effort Level: A 3:40 pace in Barcelona (roughly 10–15°C) might feel significantly more comfortable and sustainable than a 4:00 pace in Singapore, where the body is fighting to prevent overheating.
    Runner's World +2

Ben Khoo also churned the numbers, it varies between 12 mins and 25 mins. So the AI info above is pretty accurate

https://www.instagram.com/reels/DBSnVHqS1mT/

kaisin82

it was a 14degrees run yesterday during mid day sun and it was hot as hell, weird as it may sound. regretted sleeping in and starting the run late.

fingers crossed I can hit a sub 4km for the marathon, hopefully with all the energy from the crowd and hydration stations

xenotine

Anyone suffer from such a long flu?
Had not been running since last day of March, afraid it may hinder recovery

Entire Apr is having flu, loss of voice , dry cough , some fever .
Both my rhr and resp rate before and after April . Is crazy .

WussRedXLi

it was a 14degrees run yesterday during mid day sun and it was hot as hell, weird as it may sound. regretted sleeping in and starting the run late.

fingers crossed I can hit a sub 4km for the marathon, hopefully with all the energy from the crowd and hydration stations

There is literally no doubt that you can do it esp that you are overseas in Canada now.....unless there are issues that happen that is totally out of your control, eg you wanna pang sai/throw up coz of GI issues coz not accustomed to fuelling, or your later race durability is not there coz your musclature not sufficient (then you cramp lah, legs not there lah etc). Since you can already like churn out 3 reps of ~ 45-50 mins 10k with somewhat minimal rest in between.

Now probably a bit too late and too risky to start low rep high intensity (eg 80% of 1RM) strength training already....really helps with late race durability, late race fatigue and RE. Or even plyometrics (RE).......

I remember your raceday is already somewhat close, so only thing is to sort out the fueling adaptation to the max and hope for the best. If your race is still like over 2 months away, this is no issue.
The science behind sufficient fuelling is very clear and well tested by multiple athletes be it on youtube or in studies. If i am not wrong, i have already shared in several posts to you before.

Personally, i have also found this to be very true. I can fuel up to 90g g/hr no issue, with peaks at 120g/hr region...... after 60-80km tempo ride, i still can go gun WCH or Sentosa rolling hills/Mount Faber LT2 effort no issue, taking sufficient fuel before the gunning of coz. I have also tried "dont take", wow.....may god bless me man, more often than not is cut short ride.
Musclature wise, no issue, not the limiter here.

And the best part is, i am not even fuelling with the preferred and scientific gels, simply coz i cannot afford to do it this way day in day out.

WussRedXLi

Anyone suffer from such a long flu?
Had not been running since last day of March, afraid it may hinder recovery

Entire Apr is having flu, loss of voice , dry cough , some fever .
Both my rhr and resp rate before and after April . Is crazy .

Get well soon bro.

That's why i wear my KF94 and also sanitise my fingertips (IPA, finger tips) or palms after touching high touch surfaces.

No issue at all that hinders my training in any way, just common cold types that come and go in 2-3 days, like only 3 times, since the start of covid lockdown period. No fever or barely any fever. And 1 x covid episode then in 2022 only, that one i had high fever of coz. Also, all these episodes are coz of my family members spreading, not that i kena it from outside one.

Wearing masks and being careful is good. All my family members also do this when travelling on public tpt or going to shopping centres with crowds etc. (coz if just 1 fella kena, at home spread, in the end also LLST)
So the overall risk is very low. Keyword is when ventilation is low, ie AC conditions.

WussRedXLi

@sales69 and @GlassDoor

I think you break 10k 40 mins and sub 1:20 respectively with 14 degrees C, no ?

You 2 i think leader in heat adapter in this thread. People go take cover like allergic to sunlight, you 2 go run. 🤣

:oops: :oops:
Running a 10k in 14°C (57°F) instead of a 38°C (100°F) heat index can make you roughly 3 to 5 minutes faster. A 45-minute 10k in 38°C heat index would likely translate to a time between 40:00 and 42:00 in ideal, cool conditions.
Third Coast Training +3
Why the Time Drops Significantly
  • Optimal Temperature: The ideal temperature for running 10k-marathon distances is around 5°C to 15°C (41°F-59°F).
  • Heat Penalty: At 38°C (100°F), the body struggles to cool down, forcing significant blood flow away from working muscles to the skin, which drops pace significantly.
  • Rules of Thumb: Runners often experience a 3% decrease in speed for every 10°F (5.5°C) increase above 50°F (10°C).
    Third Coast Training +4
Estimated Pace Shift
  • 38°C (100°F) Heat Index: 45:00 10k = 4:30 min/km (7:15 min/mile) pace.
  • 14°C (57°F) Temperature: A comfortable, cooler pace at this temperature often feels 20–30 seconds per mile faster for the same effort level.

sales69

@sales69 and @GlassDoor

I think you break 10k 40 mins and sub 1:20 respectively with 14 degrees C, no ?

You 2 i think leader in heat adapter in this thread. People go take cover like allergic to sunlight, you 2 go run. 🤣
Cannot I'm lousy runner. :o

Run in HK at 18C also huff and puff and sweat lots. Maybe it's the humidity. (90+ RH)

But after run, the cool-down phase feel shiok. Do bar exercises at fitness corner very cooling. :s13:

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.