jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Shanti popped hammies in 100m finals. :eek:

Hope not too serious (doesnt seem like it, not like those ones which they hop and limped) like at the insertion point and affecting tendons. If so it might be easily a good few months of rehab, sometimes up to 9 months before able to return to the sport. If muscular grade 2 or more tear, that's a bit lower at 3-6 months but still. If just mild grade 1 strain then ok, at most 1 month then can fully hoot liao.

And yeah, still doing my "basic" hamstring curls and iliopsoas raises with the bands. (iliopsoas i also do L-sit leg raises during my dips/pull ups , shd be sufficient for my cycling and shorter distance running ba)

WussRedXLi

Actually those of you who are experiencing plateaus or unable to hit late workout targets esp the higher volume sessions that go over 60 mins / PB that you have been unable to hit for several tries or whatever. Might just be a practical solution to try, be it training of for actual race.
Even if you do not bonk by 60 mins, it prepares you for the next session, which for many that might be tomorrow. (post session meal also essential, make no mistake, unless if your session is really short)

I just read the comments, same as my experience with Kang Shi Fu beverages. No gut issues, or maybe it is much lower incidence.

Heck even intra session fuelling works for those gym bros into longer, higher rep higher sets work. I have seen these egs, and for gym, it is a fast feedback loop should you wanna experiement. You literally see the results instantly coz the number of reps/sets you can dish out is very "visible" and it much more obvious that say trying out a TT of any sort.

But this is not new or the first time i have come across. Eg, the Bike Baju gang members some of them was doing this before they got their gel sponsorship. Coz of the price.
The only "issue" is that this is gonna be somewhat sweeter than your commercial gels coz maltodextrin is not really sweet (it then rapidly gets metabolized into glucose)

The only issue is that for running races, this becomes a logistical issue unless if you are willing to try mixing it on the spot with your own soft flask with your own pre-prepped powder satches using the water at the aid stations.
For cycling, not so much.

WussRedXLi

Highly concentrated sugar water in AONIJIE soft flasks (TB savvy runners would know this)

Actually i have 6 of these AONIJIEs still, 3 x 420ml and 3 x 250ml. But not used nowadays. 🤣

Exactly the same strategy that i have been mentioning. (second vid).

rECKleSSfElla

For those interested, Ang Moh content creator given a tour of the Dynafish HQ and production factory. Long video but the actual tour part starts around 4:40.

Some info from the video. The new colorways for the Xiaonian will be released in summer aka 2nd half of the year. Also apparently they have a prototype of a proper marathon racing shoe but not sure if it will be mass produced. Can see the brand is operated by a really small team so expect progress to be slow.

WussRedXLi

Seriously, you know what. Just F the maltodextrin and fructose powders.

Just put your table sugar into small ziplocs and then pour into soft cups or something. If during running races, then water aid stations and hope that they dont screw up and no plain water.
If you feel that race day you'd prefer a less sweet option, then spend on the maltodextrin powder and fructose powders....smaller portions not so expensive.
Really don't see why 90-120g/hr shd present any issue if even my kid can tahan for higher intensities portions of the session.

108g sugar in 750ml is a fair bit sweeter than my 56g in 500ml. (honey lemon Kang Shi Fu with HFCS -55 55% fructose and 45% glucose, actually quite enjoyable to drink esp with some plain water to rinse after that).

For cycling, bananas would make up the other half. For me no issue at all with even 6 bananas in a session (provides potassium as well) but that's me, after all it is still somewhat "hard" foods.

cherynsq

Retired my Nike Vomero 15 and asics novablast 2.
Transition to Nike Alphafly , Kiprun Challenger , Li Ning Red Hare 9 Ultra and Puma Deviate Nitro 3

overall experience of this rotation= too fast .
Might be looking for a max cushion shoe to slow down for recovery run

WussRedXLi

Lastly, if you have fructose intolerance, then LLST. Can only get the maltodextrin powder (glucose basically, but without the sweetness).

That also means you'd then be limited to 60g/hr due to the absorption ceiling imposed by the SGLT1 transporter in our small intestines responsible for glucose absorption. But still better than nothing.

People cannot tolerate the fructose in soda drinks containing High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS) primarily because of a condition called fructose malabsorption (or dietary fructose intolerance), where the small intestine is unable to properly absorb the high levels of free fructose found in the beverage. When this unabsorbed fructose reaches the large intestine, bacteria ferment it, resulting in gas, bloating, abdominal pain, and diarrhea.
Medical News Today +2
Why HFCS in Soda Causes This Issue:
  • Excess Free Fructose: Unlike regular sucrose (table sugar), which is 50% fructose and 50% glucose chemically bound together, HFCS (commonly HFCS-55 used in soda) has 55% fructose and 45% glucose, with the fructose floating free. This high ratio of free fructose overwhelms the body’s limited absorption capacity.
  • Rapid Delivery: Because the fructose is already broken down, it is dumped into the system instantly, rather than being digested slowly like natural sugar in fruit.
  • Lack of Fiber: Unlike fruit, which contains fiber that slows digestion, soda delivers a concentrated dose of liquid sugar all at once, overwhelming the gut.
  • Presence of Gut Sensitivity: People with irritable bowel syndrome (IBS), Crohn’s disease, or those on a high-fructose diet are more prone to this malabsorption.
    Medical News Today +4
Symptoms and Management:
  • Symptoms: Common symptoms include nausea, stomach pain, gas, and diarrhea, often occurring within 30 minutes to 2 hours after consumption.
  • Lowering Intake: People with this sensitivity can often manage it by reducing soda intake, avoiding drinks with high HFCS content, and ensuring they do not consume these drinks on an empty stomach, as consuming them with other foods can sometimes improve absorption.
  • Difference from Hereditary Intolerance: This is different from the rare, serious "hereditary fructose intolerance" (a genetic inability to break down fructose), which causes severe liver and kidney damage.
    University of Virginia School of Medicine +5

WussRedXLi

Water temp 31 deg C.

Heng, not 32 deg C. Swim leg would then have to be be cancelled.

32 deg C 74% RH
42 deg C heat index

Tai Seng station also 41.9 deg C heat index.

WussRedXLi

@Kuudere For reference

https://ultraspire.com/the-link-bet...ition Connection,water needs increase as well.

AI Overview

Insufficient hydration is the primary cause of gastrointestinal (GI) distress when fueling high amounts of carbohydrates (60–120+ g/h) with gels because the body requires adequate fluid to dilute highly concentrated sugars to facilitate absorption and prevent osmotic stress. When gels are taken without enough water, the resulting high-concentration "hypertonic" mixture pulls water from the blood into the intestines, triggering cramping, bloating, nausea, and diarrhea.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +4
Here is why insufficient hydration causes GI distress with high-carb gels:
  • Osmotic Disruption: Gels are hypertonic, meaning they contain a much higher concentration of solutes (sugars) than the fluids in your body. To make these sugars absorbable, the body must "water them down" by drawing water from the bloodstream into the small intestine. Without sufficient external water intake, this process dehydrates the body further, reduces blood volume, and causes significant stomach discomfort.
  • Reduced Blood Flow and Gut Function: During high-intensity exercise, blood is shunted away from the gut to working muscles, sometimes reducing splenic blood flow by up to 80%. When combined with dehydration, this under-perfused gut cannot efficiently move or absorb the high concentration of nutrients, leaving the gel to sit in the stomach and ferment.
  • The "Sloshy" Stomach and Emptying Delay: Dehydration slows gastric emptying (the rate at which the stomach empties into the small intestine). A concentrated, undiluted gel sitting in the stomach causes a feeling of fullness and nausea.
  • Malabsorption and Fermentation: When carbohydrates are not absorbed in the small intestine due to improper dilution, they pass into the large intestine, where they are fermented by bacteria, producing gas, flatulence, and diarrhea.
    National Institutes of Health (.gov) +8

AI Overview

The higher limit for an isotonic sugar drink that balances rapid hydration with minimal risk of gastrointestinal (GI) distress is generally considered to be 6 to 8 grams of carbohydrate per 100ml (a 6–8% solution).
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +2
This concentration typically results in an osmolality of 270–330 mOsm/kg, which matches human bodily fluids, facilitating optimal gastric emptying and intestinal absorption.
National Institutes of Health (.gov) +1
Key Details for Avoiding GI Distress:
  • Optimal Range: 4–5% (4–5g/100ml) is considered the optimal balance for maximum absorption speed without nausea or cramping.
  • Upper Limit: Concentrations exceeding 8 to 10 grams per 100ml (8–10%) are known to slow gastric emptying and significantly increase the risk of GI distress, including abdominal cramping and bloating.
  • Optimal Mix: Using multiple transportable carbohydrates (e.g., a mix of glucose and fructose or maltodextrin) can allow for higher concentrations (up to 8–10%) while maintaining low GI distress, as they utilize different intestinal transporters.
  • Hypertonic Risk: Drinks containing more than 10g of sugar per 100ml are classified as hypertonic, which can pull water into the gut and cause abdominal pain.
    National Institutes of Health (.gov) +2

winningeleven

For the past few days . I was running 10km in the morning 5am and also in the evening just now . The weight I lost due to the water loss seem to be a lot more .
Is like I had run a 21km distance even though I only ran half of it.

WussRedXLi

Tiagong later Sawe going to set WR.

0930 london time. (1630 SGT).
0900hr london is for the girls

Switch on VPN and watch.

Here
https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/live/bbcone
Create account, go google for a UK postal code and key in when registering

Yes, Sabastian Sawe is targeting a world record (WR) attempt at the 2026 London Marathon on Sunday, April 26, 2026.
The Guardian +1
Following his victory in the 2025 London Marathon and a personal best of 2:02:05 in Valencia in 2024, the Kenyan "silent assassin" is aiming to break Kelvin Kiptum’s London course record of 2:01:25 and potentially the world record of 2:00:35.
The Guardian +1
Key Details of Sawe's 2026 Attempt:
  • Targeting History: Sawe stated that if the day goes well, "a world record will be possible".
  • Pacing Strategy: His team has instructed pacemakers to reach the halfway point in 60 minutes and 30 seconds to facilitate a WR pace.
  • Elite Field: He faces stiff competition, including a rematch with Jacob Kiplimo (who ran 2:03:37 last year) and major contenders like Tamirat Tola and Joshua Cheptegei.
  • Technology: Sawe is equipped with Adidas's new Pro Evo 3 supershoe, which is reported to be faster than its predecessor.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.