jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

But what i do know, is that if i am at home and get exposed to around NEA 1hr readings of 40-50 ug/m3 for ~ 12 hrs straight without any air purifier or at work where levels tend to be relatively lower (I measured before with my meter), i tend to start to have mild headaches and feel queasy.
Probably that corresponds to around 20% more on the personal meters used in the website.

Of coz higher levels no need to say. Effects come over a shorter duration then.

Ender

Interestingly, i did a "test" last early evening, coz got cycling group "training"....initially i didnt want to go for the session coz it was visibly and smelt a bit hazy when i stepped out of the building at 6pm over here South side, but then heck it coz it's fun. I even brought my KF94 along just in case i needed to limp back if the haze surged some more. 😅

Nothing much lah, say LT2/Vo2 effort for like 20 mins (6-12X higher vol above rest), before that was zone 1 ride for like 60 mins (normal breathing) but after that was LT1 effort back to base for like 30 mins so maybe at most 3-4x higher breathing vol than rest as per AI. The haze levels i think more or less would be like the pic below, was trending down from the earlier 6-7pm mini surge.

Result : No triggering of my headache at these levels. which is my most common symptom of haze exposure.
Somemore my headache is the mild type that panadols can solve, not like my kid's migrane, vomit + really headache until can go hospital type if paracetamol + ibuprofen (plus anti nausea/vomitting like dimenhydrinate/metoclopramide) each taken 3 hrs and flipped around cannot solve.....coz the vomitting also reduces medications taken orally so it becomes a vicious cycle.
Still, nothing life-threatening, but it's damn acute damn stressful....the vomitting and headache actually causes BP spikes of nearly 200 systolic.

I think for your personal set threshold of < 99 ug/m3 for 1hr and if it doesnt trigger any acute symptoms or any more serious health risks that some may have, shd be fine. 99 ug/m3 if i rem correctly is around AQI 175 or something.

The website is pretty decent, really shows the trend and more importantly in 15 min resolution (15 min avg).
The way NEA displays their 1hr reading is averaged from several stations around that particular region and sometimes you see the personal meters spike and the NEA 1hr reading only registers 2hrs later.
So that 3 x 15 mins LT2 workout might already have lapsed, for eg.

p5ZkpsB.jpg
Oh, I got the numbers mixed up. Don't know if it's AQI or the ug/m3. The numbers I was referring to was between 50 to 100 is consider moderate zones. 100+ is risky. SO my practice is moderate, under 99, plus smell test, then it is good to go. But if it is moderate, but the smell is bad, no go.

Tudo88

I can barely complete 42 much less 50 much less 100, doesn't sound fun at all LOL
His target pace for 100km is 4.20/km

Most of us likely can do 50 to 100km la. Just jog a bit and walk most of the times then you can call yourself a ultramarathoner

WussRedXLi

Finished watching the end part, results.

Basically same as what Holly Archer found.

And somemore in this case, this is done not on an elite level athlete like Holly Archer is.
One of the presenter is a "slow" 8:00min/km runner.

WussRedXLi

Oh, I got the numbers mixed up. Don't know if it's AQI or the ug/m3. The numbers I was referring to was between 50 to 100 is consider moderate zones. 100+ is risky. SO my practice is moderate, under 99, plus smell test, then it is good to go. But if it is moderate, but the smell is bad, no go.

Ok i think you are then referring more towards the PSI reading, under PSI 100. The official health advisories are based on this, and this is a 24hr moving avg index figure. 24hr PSI 100 corresponds to the past 24hrs averaged out to be 55ug/m3 PM2.5 concentration.
The issue is also coz haze watchers like to use the AQI index figure....which has a slightly different scaling compared to our PSI index figure.....and then also use the ug/m3 concentration.

They also have the 1hr readings, based on concentration figure ie ug/m3 or micrograms per metre cube.
I think if for eg, the PSI reading is comfortably below PSI 100, but the 1hr concentration reading suddenly spikes to over 100 ug/m3 (it certainly would have a hazy smell then), then perhaps also can consider moving indoors to gyms

Kitaro9202

Just now try using my garmin watch for the qr code 10cent but I not sure isit my phone not with me the machine can't scan the qr code lo

WussRedXLi

Cycling and Running really hotting up big time over there.

Lots of new bikes stuff also. Which is good, got demand sure got supply / R&D

Shanghai marathon 6% hit rate
Wuxi 3%
Chongqing 4.29%
Imagine if Shanghai kena apass this year final assessment, next year 2027 will tio international branding liao.
@xllms

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.