jogging and motivation thread

spectrearc

I thought rain stopped... went out at 7pm... **** me it hasn't, but still started jog

Went out for a 15k
- Didn't really check out map on Garmin Connect, thought autoplot ok
- The first turn already brings me into rail corridor, where there's not even gravel, it's just a dirt trail
- Run abit - it's just endless water, should probably have given up here since my feet are already soaked
- Give up, detour
- Run along the road, ok, supposed to turn into park connector (central catchment)
- Holy **** the park connector has no lights
- Nvm maybe only 1/2k
- Wtf why the road turning into dirt trail
- Wtf I'm trail running ... nvm push on hopefully end soon
- After another 2k sibei dulan, the park connector keep going up down left right, but no exit...
- Ok fine keep running.
- See lights, thought finish liao, but it's the ****ing expressway, no way to cross, emo abit, no exit, ok keep on going...
- At this point i'm mildly scared because it's ****ing dark and there's nobody around and i'm on a trail in the jungle with only my cellphone light and the terrain ****ing sucks
- Just as garmin tells me 3/4 there, massive ****ing treefall on the road
- Holy **** -> Try to detour, impossible, seems like a row of trees ****ing fell or something
- Emo, turn back
- After another eternity finally spot some humans (from torchlight), tell them there's treefall
- They don't believe me and move on... ok lor y'all have the same fun i had
- Finally exit to civilisation, everything looks bright and fresh

Accidentally ran half marathon, felt a lot longer because of the trail portion
The trail was ****ing terrible to run though, nearly fell/twisted my ankles since the track was broken as hell
> Wouldn't do it again

zeroX26

The trail was ****ing terrible to run though, nearly fell/twisted my ankles since the track was broken as hell
> Wouldn't do it again
Welcome to the world of real trail running. 20 yrs ago took part in my first and only 10k MacRitchie race. At the 7+km mark or so, a runner not far ahead of me fell and twisted his ankle so badly that it was out of shape. I stopped running hard and fast in a trail setting after that.

WussRedXLi

run indoors lor... safest lol.

the peak previously was around 130k/week. this time seems to be more infectious strain with many not testing and reporting. Frankly speaking running at the nparks is kinda risky.

So all runners take care.

I really wouldnt be surprised at all if there are 3-4X more cases out in the wild and not in the stats.
And add in common cold/flu, which is of course normal for this time of the year.

Im not really worried too much about the illness itself, but once (flu) i kena i was coughing like crazy for 4 weeks and i missed CNY (cold water + the mandarin oranges). Very very disruptive and esp uncomfortable at night.

My kid one and only covid infection, rather ok. But the night cough lasted 8 months. Coughed until vomit type coz of the phlegm. Few times soiled the mattresses coz even though the basin was just beside him also no time to flip over to vomit, and we had to wash at 2-5am kinda scenario. 🤔 o_O
Tried all the stuff like iherb NAC etc, sleeping slightly elevated, TCM, lozenges, pipa gao, various cough syrups. Only just manage it to to the best that we could.

WussRedXLi

Actually, my kid is technically still coughing right now, just very rarely. Don't know why. Maybe exercabated by the 2 common cold episodes he had this year.

COVID infection last year Oct. So 14 months liao.

WussRedXLi

I thought rain stopped... went out at 7pm... **** me it hasn't, but still started jog

Went out for a 15k
- Didn't really check out map on Garmin Connect, thought autoplot ok
- The first turn already brings me into rail corridor, where there's not even gravel, it's just a dirt trail
- Run abit - it's just endless water, should probably have given up here since my feet are already soaked
- Give up, detour
- Run along the road, ok, supposed to turn into park connector (central catchment)
- Holy **** the park connector has no lights
- Nvm maybe only 1/2k
- Wtf why the road turning into dirt trail
- Wtf I'm trail running ... nvm push on hopefully end soon
- After another 2k sibei dulan, the park connector keep going up down left right, but no exit...
- Ok fine keep running.
- See lights, thought finish liao, but it's the ****ing expressway, no way to cross, emo abit, no exit, ok keep on going...
- At this point i'm mildly scared because it's ****ing dark and there's nobody around and i'm on a trail in the jungle with only my cellphone light and the terrain ****ing sucks
- Just as garmin tells me 3/4 there, massive ****ing treefall on the road
- Holy **** -> Try to detour, impossible, seems like a row of trees ****ing fell or something
- Emo, turn back
- After another eternity finally spot some humans (from torchlight), tell them there's treefall
- They don't believe me and move on... ok lor y'all have the same fun i had
- Finally exit to civilisation, everything looks bright and fresh

> Wouldn't do it again

Once or twice just for feel is ok, but like you said you wouldn't do it again. Scary right. :ROFLMAO:

For others really try not to run in those relatively unlit places esp duing this rainy season, ie if not PCN or park type.......like what you mentioned like the RC or catchment areas. Either it is slippery at some parts (esp if you accidentally go onto the grass and you cant see much danger parts and/or cyclists would bang you if you are unlit.

Cyclists would have front lights, but tell me about it, don't bank on that. Even those with lights, it's quite a wide and very variable story. Even on the rail corridor at night, a small % do not cycle with front lights, or with sufficient lights (just a few 5mm LEDs or those cheap 100 lumens few dollar lights totally do not cut it).

Literally nobody cycles below 15 kmh on the RC when it is dark, literally nobody. Quite a few use it as their transportation route, so 20-25 even in the dark is not uncommon.Do the math on the reaction time needed compared to runners. Nparks do not do enforcement at those times, impossible too.

Those without StVZO or similar ones on TB with good cut off edges can dazzle and bang you and there is also this "moth effect" in which you unknowingly walk towards the light, esp with bright and blinking lights. I have seen that effect myself in reality. Even if not bang, clipping the other fella is not good.

If pedestrains do not have lights on them, in some scenarios the other fella travelling fast most likely cannot see ya till the very last minute. Heck even if you have your mobile phone screen switched on, the other fella might not see you until it's too late if he is not paying 100% attention (light visibility falls off with distance)

ps. The safest bet for anyone here not to fall into the "moth effect" trap esp on narrow trails like the rail corridor, is just to stop and stay put, if possible just step 1 step left eight into the edge of the path.

spectrearc

I actually bought those red lights that you can clip onto pants because even on pavements/park connectors cyclists can go very fast at night and while there is light on roads like the pavement outside mindef (gombak base) with all the lallang and trees the lighting can get really bad

My everything hurts today after run yesterday :( but on the bright side my adios 8s came

Adidas seems to have this weird stance of not discounting their Adizero line (other than the SLs) even though every other retailer (i got from irun) is doing it - kind of a pity... I actually thought this might be standard across retailers but I see Nike is already discounting VF3/AF2 so idk I guess it's just adidas?

Welcome to the world of real trail running. 20 yrs ago took part in my first and only 10k MacRitchie race. At the 7+km mark or so, a runner not far ahead of me fell and twisted his ankle so badly that it was out of shape. I stopped running hard and fast in a trail setting after that.
Ya, i actually almost twisted a few times. My ankles actually i think already got something wrong normally since sometimes i walk halfway the ankle can twist until 90 degrees on the outside of the feet (no pain though).

zeroX26

Ya, i actually almost twisted a few times. My ankles actually i think already got something wrong normally since sometimes i walk halfway the ankle can twist until 90 degrees on the outside of the feet (no pain though).
Sounds like chronic ankle laxity. Not difficult to handle, go visit a good sports physio for this. Don't "dr google" to self-treat hoh.

Skyrillex

Looking at the HK streetathon videos earlier actually made me quite looking fwd to the HKM race next month. Weather was quite cold as some mentioned but i see some still quite a handful wearing singlets. Gonna attempt 1 or 2 LSD this week before the holidays to prepare for the race. :o

Ender

Looking at the HK streetathon videos earlier actually made me quite looking fwd to the HKM race next month. Weather was quite cold as some mentioned but i see some still quite a handful wearing singlets. Gonna attempt 1 or 2 LSD this week before the holidays to prepare for the race. :o
What is temperature forecast on race day?
What I did for Taiwan and HK was I wore my usual Singapore attire, i.e. singlet and 5inch short. But I also put on a disposable poncho to trap heat while waiting for the race to start. After around 3 to 6km , when I felt I had warmed up enough, I threw away the poncho.
At the finish line, my wife was there with my barangs, so I could grab towel and wear my track suit asap.

Skyrillex

What is temperature forecast on race day?
What I did for Taiwan and HK was I wore my usual Singapore attire, i.e. singlet and 5inch short. But I also put on a disposable poncho to trap heat while waiting for the race to start. After around 3 to 6km , when I felt I had warmed up enough, I threw away the poncho.
At the finish line, my wife was there with my barangs, so I could grab towel and wear my track suit asap.
Seems like its around 14-19 deg closer to race day which is roughly the same as the current temperature.

Slightly lower than last year's SCHKM race which is 20-24deg but it was held in feb instead.

If possible i want to run light but if it gets too cold the poncho idea might be viable..

Ender

Seems like its around 14-19 deg closer to race day which is roughly the same as the current temperature.

Slightly lower than last year's SCHKM race which is 20-24deg but it was held in feb instead.

If possible i want to run light but if it gets too cold the poncho idea might be viable..
I saw those elite runners don't need to wear poncho or anything. Coz their pre race warm up quite intense one. For me, I was nuah to conserve more energy for the race. Warm up during the first 3km..LOL

14 to 19 C, doesn't seem too bad.

zeroX26

Do they still give out the Zodiac Medallion for this event coz its near to CNY? That was a nice highlight of this race.

xllms

sounds like my right ankle, previously until a few serious ankle rolls made it much worse. 🤣
despite seeing western specialists, professional chiropractors, chinese traditional medicine physicians, no one seem to be able to sort out one quirk on my right ankle, which is the between the Tibia/Fibula and Talus intersection. At times i will feel the Tibia/Fibula sinks into the Talus area which CT, MRI do not seem to pick up any issues. I don't know how else to describe it better.

xllms

I saw those elite runners don't need to wear poncho or anything. Coz their pre race warm up quite intense one. For me, I was nuah to conserve more energy for the race. Warm up during the first 3km..LOL

14 to 19 C, doesn't seem too bad.
this range of temperature is my favorite so long no cold wind, which can feel really chilly.

Mecisteus

Anyone brought a foldable bike and run at the sportshub indoor track ?

Where is the recommended place to park bike ?

Ender

Tonite weather is good. Low humiditiy by our local standard. Sweat dried up faster than usual. Normally, for this evening run, my shoes and socks will be soaked with sweat. Today they are relatively dry, only my top and bottom fully saturated with sweat.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.