jogging and motivation thread

Kuudere

based on current form, should be able to complete within 2hr 30min. still need to work harder to complete within 2hrs.
Based on ur current timings, should be able to achieve 2 hr 10 min - 2hr 15 min.

As for 4 runs schedule, I think something like this would work

Long run: 15-16km (your 10km pace currently hit the 2 hr mark, but not yet for 15-16km. Best to run this distance and gain more familiarity/consistency)

Easy run: 2 sets of 10km (+/- depending on your long run mileage)

Hard run: 6-7km, can build up to 10km. Anywhere more not really necessary, since you want to run at faster than HM pace.

That's like 45+km week, if you factor for warm ups as well. More than enough for the half marathon.

Minimum must be 32km, but I doubt you'll fall under that.
I think your calculations quite spot on as my pb for HM set at AHM last year was 1:33+. Although I think the course was shorter than half
AHM still have the slope in the middle of the run, that slope slowed me down quite a lot when I last ran in 2016.

But in general, the calculator is quite helpful to get a gauge of your overall pacing so you don't end up overtraining and getting injuries. That's the main reason why I use them.
wah i'm also aiming for 2hrs HM for SCM2024 end of this year.
my mid point check is in June for 10K @ 50mins.

currently, i am using trainasone for my training (3 times a week) since January and it's mostly economy and progressive run for me. i hope i'm on the right track lol
10k at 50 minutes, 100% can clear 2hrs HM even on bad day 🤣

Speaking of SCM, might be thinking of joining as pacer for the 2 hr group as a volunteer. Want to give back to the running community and also not really into pushing times for the HM at least for this year.

milkiee

10k at 50 minutes, 100% can clear 2hrs HM even on bad day 🤣

Speaking of SCM, might be thinking of joining as pacer for the 2 hr group as a volunteer. Want to give back to the running community and also not really into pushing times for the HM at least for this year.
target only la not sure if i can achieve it or not lol

i have not been doing much speedwork though or hard runs. its mostly base building so far from the training programme. my current Z2 pace is 6:40 min/km at 150bpm. it seems like a far cry from the 5:41min/km pace to hit sub-2 HM.

xllms

Based on ur current timings, should be able to achieve 2 hr 10 min - 2hr 15 min.

As for 4 runs schedule, I think something like this would work

Long run: 15-16km (your 10km pace currently hit the 2 hr mark, but not yet for 15-16km. Best to run this distance and gain more familiarity/consistency)

Easy run: 2 sets of 10km (+/- depending on your long run mileage)

Hard run: 6-7km, can build up to 10km. Anywhere more not really necessary, since you want to run at faster than HM pace.

That's like 45+km week, if you factor for warm ups as well. More than enough for the half marathon.

Minimum must be 32km, but I doubt you'll fall under that.

first of all, don't think i can sustain my last week's mileage as it was clear leave period. now fully back to work, even if i can keep to 4x/weekly runs, don't think i can spend too much time doing my runs on tuesdays and wednesdays.

45+km/week is possible if i keep to 4x weekly as i normally do 2x6km per run. so a week total will be approx. 48km. if i replace one of such runs to a 20km, it will go beyond 50km/week.

other factors will be work schedule and body recuperation status, eg. don't think i can run tomorrow morning after sat's 22km and yesterday's 15km. now feeling quite breathless. 🤣

Kuudere

i have not been doing much speedwork though or hard runs. its mostly base building so far from the training programme. my current Z2 pace is 6:40 min/km at 150bpm. it seems like a far cry from the 5:41min/km pace to hit sub-2 HM.
Still have 9 months, long way left to go.

Can improve a lot during that time, maybe do some speedwork few months before then good to go.
first of all, don't think i can sustain my last week's mileage as it was clear leave period. now fully back to work, even if i can keep to 4x/weekly runs, don't think i can spend too much time doing my runs on tuesdays and wednesdays.

45+km/week is possible if i keep to 4x weekly as i normally do 2x6km per run. so a week total will be approx. 48km. if i replace one of such runs to a 20km, it will go beyond 50km/week.

other factors will be work schedule and body recuperation status, eg. don't think i can run tomorrow morning after sat's 22km and yesterday's 15km. now feeling quite breathless. 🤣
60+km definitely doable, just that most ppl doing that have been running for some time liao.

You can replace the runs 1-2 month before the HM. Right now, just chill at 40+ km and work on speed. The speed workouts should make your legs tired, so not really necessary to push for distance now.

Take some time off to rest up, no need to rush the training anyways.
Brisk / racewalking, Z2 cycling

Z2 running

> Marathon

> Half Marathon

Run for the experience quite shiok

Ender

What Iikely happening here is TAO following the periodization method of conditioning you prior to the start of the next mesocycle.
This likely your base building phase.

Remember for HM, race pace is at z3 to lower z4. But not threshold for under 2hr.
So your z2 at 6:40 is not conclusive yet. And, your base building phase will improve the z2 pace and endurance, I..e. go further.

Jeremy1

How you all manage to continue running for 21Km ?

I run 30 minutes 4 days at 6.5km per hour on treadmill already quite tiring liao :sad:

Ender

How you all manage to continue running for 21Km ?

I run 30 minutes 4 days at 6.5km per hour on treadmill already quite tiring liao :sad:
base building. If you ever decide to train seriously with a plan for a full marathon with a very specific running goal, easy days are like 10km to 21km.. Recovery runs are like 5 to 11 km. Yes it's possible to build yup your base to that with easy runs.

Ender

If have visual motivation or interest sure can.

Anyway i think her PB is 10K 42 mins.

This one I have my doubt. Too front heavy. Not a joke.. Coz endurance sport is extreme fat burning .. an efficient fat burner has a very typical shape profile. Maybe she is an outlier.

Kuudere

Date is as exepcted, always the 1st Sunday of December.

Novita Lam should be running for sure, no clue what event yet.

Her timings so far not bad.

2022 >> 1.09.10 10km

https://www.sportsplits.com/races/singapore-marathon-2022/events/4/results/individuals/34116

2023 >> 31.43 5km

https://www.sportsplits.com/races/singapore-marathon-2023/events/4/results/individuals/55532/

Wanted to run the HM in 2023 but downgraded to 5km due to kneecap injury. But her extrapolated HM pace based on calculator is quite good, about 2.25 - 2.32 based on her 5 and 10km timings.

Popular korean streamer ran the HM last year, run/walk all the way. 3.16.18

https://www.sportsplits.com/races/singapore-marathon-2023/events/2/results/individuals/25540

Confirm got more chiobu attending this year

I'll gladly support her run from behind

Just go run marathon at the end of the year and slow jog behind girls. 🤣

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.