jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Interesting patent by Apple. A sensore that measure your sweat rate. This would be useful for heavy sweater lie @xllms and myself. See if we been hydrated enough, or know when we reach the red line and must stop exercise.

https://www.androidcentral.com/wearables/apple-patented-perspiration-sensor-for-tracking-sweat-loss

Apple just patented a sweaty trick every fitness watch could benefit from​

What you need to know​

• The U.S. Patent Office granted Apple a patent titled "Wearable Devices with Perspiration Measurement Capabilities."
  • The perspiration sensor would measure sweat loss during a workout, both the rate of sweat and total fluid loss.
  • Apple would incorporate other sensor data like body temperature and local humidity to help contextualize the data.
lol you remember me as a big sweater 🤣
thanks for sharing this cool new tech

xllms

My milege is quite poor, around10-20km per week. Intend to slowly increase to around 30km per week like this:
Wkday 7km MAF run
Wkday 8km MAF run
Wkend 5km interval run
Wkend 10km lsd run

Intend to keep this milege, maybe tiil last quarter of year from Sept, slowly increase lsd to 30km progressively.

Possible to run sub 4hr marathon, if current speed is around 51min for 10km?

51min for 10km should allow you complete HM within 2hrs. but to complete FM within 4hrs, you have to maintain your pace throughout till finish. To do so, i believe you need to ram up your mileage to condition your body.

WussRedXLi

yup, for me to do runs on weekdays i have to factor in work. if i do it in the morning, the distances of the run will be determined what time to wake up and how much time i need to wash up get changed and reach office before 9am.
Most of the time i have to wake up by 5am, do 2x6km runs + warm up and cool down (approx. 90mins), daily routine+shower (30mins). Catch a quick breakfast before heading out.
Likewise for runs after work, what time do i knock off and reach home is crucial. After work is more challenging for me as i don't enjoy eating dinner after runs. Assuming am back home by 8pm, it will be 9.30-10pm earliest after my run and shower. Biggest fear is the adrenalin after runs will make me fail to fall asleep easily. Me also try to avoid running after meals, did few times, awful feeling.

I once puked before at Marina Bay East during the longer + harder session. And that's already 1 hour post dinner then i head out. But yeah like you said, if dont makan before heading out then dinner would be easily be 9-10pm period.

Nowadays for the harder zone 4 sessions, i try to have just a bit of dinner, save the dinner to makan after the session, gotta microwave it. Either that or i just head out 2hrs after dinner, so i'd also be coming back home later after the session. Also is ok for me, coz for cycling the later is better since less traffic, as i'd utilize Shenton Way to get back from MBS area. Much faster than using the sidewalk shared paths there and the pedestrian crossings.

But interestingly, no issue sleeping at night after the night sessions.

But the days are getting warmer, so less chance of that happening already, probably gotta have more early morning sessions.

Ender

This evening did 6km perceived effort assesment by TAO. TAo needs to reassessment my fitness after 4 weeks of non TAO training.
drenched with sweat..Guess I will wearing ventilated holes singlet for the hot month..

fulaien

Looks like a good plan. Just that LSD not much diff from your easy days (MAF days). MAke it 15km. Coz LSD should have some pushing your legs thru fatigue. If easy days is already can reach 8km without being too shack, I don't think a extra 2km from there gonna make it a leg fatigue day for LSD.

51 min for 10km, most predictor will say can. But it's better to use the next lower distance timing to predict, i,e, what was your HM PB.. Can go below 1:50min?

51min for 10km should allow you complete HM within 2hrs. but to complete FM within 4hrs, you have to maintain your pace throughout till finish. To do so, i believe you need to ram up your mileage to condition your body.

Thanks! Looks like milege is still king.

Yup i think my lsd should work up to be around 15 to 20km.
Anything beyond 20km is too long and boring. I probably start training harder from Sept. Now is just maintanence.

WussRedXLi

Since you corssed train, this hot month would be good to cross trained with swimming.

Issue is i can't swim for nuts. Even breast stroke got some issue, can paddle/kick but very inefficient. I cant do freestyle one. Anyway the main issue is no easy access to pool.

Actually toying with the idea of running at a gym, but too cheapo to put into effect coz my area no cheap ones.
Think i would be the special one to have 2 USB clip fans blowing at me, together with the aircon. :ROFLMAO:

Kuudere

4.8km lactate threshold w/ 400m final surge

10.30 - 2.4km split
  • Faster than last week, was able to run a negative split as well. 2nd half is 10.11 2.4km pace.
  • Managed to pace with a guy who is running in the same direction as me for 1 lap at lap 8. He was going at a high 9 min 2.4km pace.

Lactate threshold

5km

(First 2.4km) 9.57
Just came back from ASICS 5km hard run.

5km time trial

@Skyrillex @sph777 Motivated by your runs, I tried to chase back my old timings but ended up with 22:09.

Pace: 4.26/km

Been focusing on Z3 long intervals lately, neglected Z4 trainings and paid the price for speed. Down about 1 min 30s from 9 months ago.
  • Will probably be adopting some variant of sph777 training, replacing that with a stand-still rest instead. Maybe start off with 400s since the nearby track at my home have some maintenance (elevated platform) at the 400m mark.
  • Continue to maintain weekly mileage of 30+ km and 80 easy, 20 tempo/hard
  • Slowly increase mileage of the hard runs
  • Cut back on going for club runs, since they are doing long intervals. Not very relevant for me at this moment.
Right now, @bo_tak_chek_bbfa machiam laughing at me liao :crazy:

WussRedXLi

Pro lai liao, one of his faster runs or shd i say one of his fastest FM....either that or he started off too fast. :ROFLMAO:
His 5k split is 15.34 mins for this one, for not a full time pro this is crazy. But issue is i think at the end ran out of battery so we'll never know his timing for this one. His PB iirc is low 2.20s range......maciam like Soh Rui Yong.

Wah lao at the start so many people open VTEC. o_O

Cometdevil

moi is doing approx 3km at near 8min/km pace :cry:

due to pain moi running style are small steps and with very little lift off the ground.
strangely, it gets slightly better if i maintain and do jogging daily.
however if i stop for 3-4 days the pain at the side of the knees facing outwards will be more pronounced

moi ish testing out this caltrate supplement once a week to see if it helps.
your symptoms sounds like what im facing too!
for me i think my leg posture when watching video on com is bad so lead to this aching problem.
if you manage resolve let me know too i will copy your training

Kuudere

yup, for me to do runs on weekdays i have to factor in work. if i do it in the morning, the distances of the run will be determined what time to wake up and how much time i need to wash up get changed and reach office before 9am.
Most of the time i have to wake up by 5am, do 2x6km runs + warm up and cool down (approx. 90mins), daily routine+shower (30mins). Catch a quick breakfast before heading out.
Likewise for runs after work, what time do i knock off and reach home is crucial. After work is more challenging for me as i don't enjoy eating dinner after runs. Assuming am back home by 8pm, it will be 9.30-10pm earliest after my run and shower. Biggest fear is the adrenalin after runs will make me fail to fall asleep easily. Me also try to avoid running after meals, did few times, awful feeling.
I am used to evening runs since I've gotten used to eating dinner post-runs. But yes, I experience the same, just finished dinner at 10pm because came back from running club. Without the club, usually eat around 8pm.

If end work at 8pm, then pointless to run liao, wait for another day.

That's why I've been mostly keeping to 30+km weeks so that I can eat my dinner on time and get on with other things in life.
Since you corssed train, this hot month would be good to cross trained with swimming.
Sometimes I do swimming. Sometimes, work out at home with the cycling machine. But usually, my issue is more on the rain than the heat. I don't mind running in the rain but I realised that I caught a minor cold from time to time because of that.
Thanks! Looks like milege is still king.

Yup i think my lsd should work up to be around 15 to 20km.
Anything beyond 20km is too long and boring. I probably start training harder from Sept. Now is just maintanence.
Adding on to all the other advices here, perhaps you can try signing up for a half marathon to warm you up for the marathon run. In that case, it wouldn't be too much of a shock when adapting to the longer race mileage.
Issue is i can't swim for nuts. Even breast stroke got some issue, can paddle/kick but very inefficient. I cant do freestyle one. Anyway the main issue is no easy access to pool.

Actually toying with the idea of running at a gym, but too cheapo to put into effect coz my area no cheap ones.
Think i would be the special one to have 2 USB clip fans blowing at me, together with the aircon. :ROFLMAO:
Maybe can get those cycling machine.

I have this at home, use it from time to time to cycle.
Pro lai liao, one of his faster runs or shd i say one of his fastest FM....either that or he started off too fast. :ROFLMAO:
His 5k split is low 15 mins for this one, for not a full time pro this is crazy. But issue is i think at the end ran out of battery so we'll never know his timing for this one. His PB iirc is low 2.20s range......maciam like Soh Rui Yong.

That's the thing with races. You chase for PB, sometimes you go out too hard at the start. And in some cases, you might even burn out and lose your position.

You chase for position, then you forego going for PB and race tactical.

My running club today, also have one guy tried to chase for PB. Was on track for first 2km, but end up slowing down to a worse timing than if he would've stayed consistent.

Been learning it the hard way the last couple of weeks.

WussRedXLi

That's the thing with races. You chase for PB, sometimes you go out too hard at the start. And in some cases, you might even burn out and lose your position.

You chase for position, then you forego going for PB and race tactical.

My running club today, also have one guy tried to chase for PB. Was on track for first 2km, but end up slowing down to a worse timing than if he would've stayed consistent.

Been learning it the hard way the last couple of weeks.

10k was 31.57 for this jipun fella lead group. Run first 10k like sunday run like that. :ROFLMAO: Wah lan eh, our last SEA games Cambodia i remember SRY gunned with the indon kia (they shared water), the indon kia came in low 31 mins and then collapsed on the floor. Then the females were 35 mins the wa nam bus (really fast ladies), the first few also laid on the floor after finishing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.