jogging and motivation thread

Ender

PLacebo?
This week is training load is peaking before next week taper. So it was very siong for yesterday long run. But today woke up fresh and ready to do the last run of the week. Did the Creatine kick in? I know 1st few weeks is to saturated the muscle with the creatine, so the actual works by Creatine might not be in effect yet. Bu today really feeling motivated to run.

Ender

Hoot ah......yea, i realised my account has this usd 15 rewards, think they deposited into it. Think i had usd 2-3 from the product reviews that i posted, the rest they added on, so decided to make use of them.
Both items themselves are discounted, but really need discounts if not Amazon SG could be cheaper.

Yeah i was afraid the isolate form could taste bad. 4 decades ago i was trying to buff up for NS, i was drinking whey only (isolate not even popular then i think) iirc the choc whey already like not so nice. I had to mix a bit with choc marigold milk.
So far from what i see, the brand of whey i bought the reviews mentioned great tasting, but of coz need to discount a bit.

Vanilla taste i think i cannot.......yucks.

But heng i not really very lactose intolerant. 500ml low lactose milk is still somewhat ok, that'd be around 1.5 * 5 = 7-8g of lactose.
I still have some leftover protein bar (form last amazon prime sales) which I used on for long runs. Not nice, but more bearable than whey powder. But I am not replenishing them, coz expensive for price/(protein)gram. Thinking of going back to powder, but have to think of new ways to take them. One idea I thought off mixing the powder into small bowl peanut butter jam, and just eat it like that.

WussRedXLi

I still have some leftover protein bar (form last amazon prime sales) which I used on for long runs. Not nice, but more bearable than whey powder. But I am not replenishing them, coz expensive for price/(protein)gram. Thinking of going back to powder, but have to think of new ways to take them. One idea I thought off mixing the powder into small bowl peanut butter jam, and just eat it like that.

I just hope the double choc whey protein powder that i have just gotten from iherb can drink. 😅 😅

You tried Don don donki's saba? Frozen with the sukiyaki sauce of sorts. 5pcs = 12.80.
All of us like it very much. Just need to rinse most of the sauce away. Just microwave it from frozen can liao, very slowly. Much more palatable than canned sardines.

Heng my house got don don donki nearby @ 100AM. So quite easy.

sph777

Determination will trump stamina, endurance and everything else, no different from elite aiming for PB. If you got 5 months to prepare no problem lah.
It’s true. A lot about running on top of physical limits, mental game is needed. When you reach the wall at events, the determination to push through is a key factor to finish the race

Whispers

back to running. last sat, did a 30min 5km. woke up on sunday to a sore back...

now trying out zone 2 running mostly, about 9:30-11:00 min/km, relying all on apple watch instructions, accurate enough?

comments pls. need to get back fitness for some travels in Oct. hhaha

upzzz own post :o

xllms

20240512 17degC adidas adios pro 3
10.00km @ 5'58"av (59'41") HR 159av 167max
10.06km @ 6'40"av (67'08") HR 155av 161max
2x10km run without pushing too much after one week break
realized a few things
1) aap3 not suitable for my right feet for distances more than 10km as i felt lack of support on my right arch. Need to adjust my running gait to push off more on the ball of my right foot. Supination issue.
2) feeling strenous after 15-16km despite slower pace on return run. Been happening in all my long runs.
- need to find a way to condition both my heart and legs.
3) some strain above the right patella area. it comes and go, not sure why. Sometimes have it, sometimes not.
20240512120933-sport-share.jpg
17154866274522263.jpg

WussRedXLi

Today got some cycling event. Many cyclists near national stadium area.
That OCBC cycle lah. $103 and then got the what fee and GST and all that.
For that price somemore 40km only. Those on really good bikes can finish in a wee bit over 1hr, maciam like a 11-12km run.

I'll pass. They heng morning no rain, last year the route cut short due to inclement weather, lagi bang balls.
You know, it's like 30-50% probability that morning will kena rain nowadays.

But the good thing is that this is one of the rare chances that can cycle on expressway, ie ECP. Benjamin Sheares bridge.
Other than this one, will be the T100 (PTO Asia) dualthlon, which is 32 or 64km. I think i shall opt for T100 better.

WussRedXLi

But I thought your weight should already very low liao looking at the way you exercise 🤔

Yeah rather low body fat %, but just saying for those who wants to lose weight via exercise, i can confirm that it is possible ultimately. Just that it's not the top few choices. :ROFLMAO:

20-25hrs a week (even 10-15hrs a week is good), extremely few pax can do it due to work/family commitments ........but it's technically possible as i have found out if you wanna make it into a hobby so it wouldnt be so taxing.
My weight / body fat % dropped when started walking and then running, and then further dropped when started cycling. But it's definitely rather slow.

I used to run to get lunch/dinner during weekends, and now i cycle even farther. In fact gonna go get something soon at 4pm liao, another 8-9km. Then later dinner another 11km. This morning 6am out 9.30am back. hehe...... really no life one. :frown: :ROFLMAO:

Another thing is that recovery is rather compromised and it's not really optimally healthy, but what to do....... Just hope for the best and think that at least it's still comparatively better than overweight/obese and still binging on sugary/fried/bbq/processed food in hawker centres / shopping malls and with a sedentary lifestyle i guess. LEsser of the 2 evils. *shrugs*
Also, hope i don't screw up my knees or something.

WussRedXLi

20240512 17degC adidas adios pro 3
10.00km @ 5'58"av (59'41")
10.06km @ 6'40"av (67'08")
2x10km run without pushing too much after one week break
realized a few things
1) aap3 not suitable for my right feet for distances more than 10km as i felt lack of support on my right arch. Need to adjust my running gait to push off more on the ball of my right foot. Supination issue.
2) feeling strenous after 15-16km despite slower pace on return run. Been happening in all my long runs.
3) some strain above the right patella area. it comes and go, not sure why. Sometimes have it, sometimes not.

You tried before lower distances like 10km right. Why not aim to improve and master this portion first?
After that, also can consider jumping to 15-16km mark. Personally i feel it's doable.......
You see, i also dont go gun HM. Long runs 16-17km max test test can liao. Still, 10k and if you feel good push to 12k best. Sometimes go gun 3k 5k also shiok. Even SRY said it, 2.4k this year nationally ratified by SAA or something......it's gonna appeal to the masses coz that distance literally you next day or 2 can go gun again due to the very little recovery needed.

xllms

You tried before lower distances like 10km right. Why not aim to improve and master this portion first?
After that, also can consider jumping to 15-16km mark. Personally i feel it's doable.......
You see, i also dont go gun HM. Long runs 16-17km max test test can liao. Still, 10k and if you feel good push to 12k best. Sometimes go gun 3k 5k also shiok. Even SRY said it, 2.4k this year nationally ratified by SAA or something......it's gonna appeal to the masses coz that distance literally you next day or 2 can go gun again due to the very little recovery needed.
my original idea is to run more 20k or 2x10k to condition myself for HM.
your suggestion is possible as well. Do more 10k and try to achieve a faster base for 10k, before moving up gradually to HM.

WussRedXLi

my original idea is to run more 20k or 2x10k to condition myself for HM.
your suggestion is possible as well. Do more 10k and try to achieve a faster base for 10k, before moving up gradually to HM.

Yeah....coz points 2 & 3 i read sounds a bit scary. Just pull back a bit and try say 10k 55 mins. You can the run for training 12k or so. Regardless you now can consistently achieve below 1hr for your 10k, which means one of the goals achieve.

One more idea is double sessions, break up that 15 16k into 2 sessions, if you feel the need to clock some distance.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.