jogging and motivation thread

Lchlch

He is different because he had been running for years liao.

But if only temperature drop by 10 degrees will definitely encourage more runners :s12:
Bro, recently the hot weather really very hard to jog...

Ender

Yes not young liao....sob sob..that's why I fo slow koh..I also share knee cap gv way too.
If concern is more on health and longevity, like our in house doc @binbinpon said, prioritize short session of high intensity interval over long distance endurance. The data already shows, VO2Max as the metrics has a very high if not the most inverse correlation to all cause mortality. Even higher than those who smokes vs non smoker.
10km is a good distance for endurance + intensity (improve timing) to train for general health.

Ender

Ender can still do FHM at 56. So no scared. haha
I actually want to just focus on 10km and HM for long term. These distances are more 'fun' to me. But the OCD in me that I have to achieve my sub 4 FM goal before I can retire from FM. If the goal is elusive, it seems, I can't retire from there until I am too old.

xllms

I actually want to just focus on 10km and HM for long term. These distances are more 'fun' to me. But the OCD in me that I have to achieve my sub 4 FM goal before I can retire from FM. If the goal is elusive, it seems, I can't retire from there until I am too old.
sama target for me. 😁

binbinpon

Well I don't usually do HM too.... once awhile for the fun of it.

Doing a relaxing 12 km in 1hr is usual routine. No need too much running ... lol

Ender

Jeremy1

What's your walking speed? You can walk 21km in less than 4h if your pace is around 11:25 min/km

That's why it's not really difficult.

You have 4 hours to complete unlike the FM given only 6 hours ? Why not 8 hours 🤔

raylong

If concern is more on health and longevity, like our in house doc @binbinpon said, prioritize short session of high intensity interval over long distance endurance. The data already shows, VO2Max as the metrics has a very high if not the most inverse correlation to all cause mortality. Even higher than those who smokes vs non smoker.
10km is a good distance for endurance + intensity (improve timing) to train for general health.
Your ang moh very chim... izit mean smokers with higher VO2max is better than non smokers with lower VO2max?

Ender

Your ang moh very chim... izit mean smokers with higher VO2max is better than non smokers with lower VO2max?

I watched some of Peter Attia's podcast. He used Hazard ratio. So those with high Vo2max vs those with low VO2Max, the likelihood of the low VO2max to dies is 8 times in the next 10 years (not too sure on the exact year).
While Smoker vs non smoker hazard ratio is alot lower. I can't recall the exact number, think is around 3 or 4.

But if you conflate the two data sets like what you said, smokers with high Vo2max vs non smokers with low Vo2max, my brain cannot compute.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.