jogging and motivation thread

Ender

one thing that bothers me is that i can only keep my HR at Z2 only at the first 35mins of my run. after that my HR will drift over to the Z3 and even at the low end of Z4 for the next maybe 1 hour. is it suppose to be like that? Or should I just not bother about my HR because its pace based training for TAO. It makes me wonder I should lower my pace further in the next PE assessment so that i can stay in Z2 longer for my economy run.
You are on a training plan, so things get pushed a little harder. Forget about the Z2 training we talked about for safety as there is a goal pace to train for. But the thing is the risk of injury and overtraining increase with training plans.

During Economy Run, it ideally be at Z2 for HR and sometimes it pushed to Z3 as this is pace base training intensity. But Pace intensity is still in Z2. If your HR is increasing over time the economy run, to me you have not adapted to steady state running yet. If this run an easy run, the HR should be steady for at least 80% of the run, regardless if is Z2 or Z3.

I don't know if lowering your next Perceived Effort Run will be better, or just stick to current pacing and hope that your get better over time in your steady state. I was able to do prolong steady state was due to the MAF running for a year in 2021, and it was really Z1/2 running. no risk of injury and was able to do very long mileage when I was in 6th month of training.

One thing try not to refuel during these easy runs. We want to train the body to use stores energy from our fats. Sometimes it's just our body not converting the FATS fast enough for the intensity we are in.

I can show you my recent training when my HR (red line) is at the border of Z2/3 , but still steady state, coz the trend is flat. But if you look at my constant pace, it's Z2 with Pace zoning.

Chart-Running.png

Z2-pace.png

But Long runs (TAO still call it economy run), my final few KM, the HR with trend upwards, coz leg fatigue liao.

milkiee

You are on a training plan, so things get pushed a little harder. Forget about the Z2 training we talked about for safety as there is a goal pace to train for. But the thing is the risk of injury and overtraining increase with training plans.

During Economy Run, it ideally be at Z2 for HR and sometimes it pushed to Z3 as this is pace base training intensity. But Pace intensity is still in Z2. If your HR is increasing over time the economy run, to me you have not adapted to steady state running yet. If this run an easy run, the HR should be steady for at least 80% of the run, regardless if is Z2 or Z3.

I don't know if lowering your next Perceived Effort Run will be better, or just stick to current pacing and hope that your get better over time in your steady state. I was able to do prolong steady state was due to the MAF running for a year in 2021, and it was really Z1/2 running. no risk of injury and was able to do very long mileage when I was in 6th month of training.

One thing try not to refuel during these easy runs. We want to train the body to use stores energy from our fats. Sometimes it's just our body not converting the FATS fast enough for the intensity we are in.

I can show you my recent training when my HR (red line) is at the border of Z2/3 , but still steady state, coz the trend is flat. But if you look at my constant pace, it's Z2 with Pace zoning.

Chart-Running.png

Z2-pace.png

But Long runs (TAO still call it economy run), my final few KM, the HR with trend upwards, coz leg fatigue liao.

wah nice. yes less than 10% of my run is in Z4 which is usually happens at the tail end.
Majority is within Z1 / Z2 / Z3 and the split is about 15% / 40% / 40% across time.
From 30mins to 2hours duration, TAO listed all of it as Economy run for me.

dreamaurora

That's what I wanted to achieve.

Pace to me is not really that important if I can complete a long distance run 🏃
Yup, I no longer chase pace. I actually find running in Zone 1 while listening to language podcast or music therapeutic. That's what I mostly do nowadays. But I am going to add a couple of faster Zone 3 runs in a week see if my pace improve slightly.

WussRedXLi

Finally, weekend around the corner.
Sat 630am, gonna hv a slow jog to telok blanga road n then look for rail way n the kampong bahru reaching the roti prata shop.
Target hopefully 13km.

Prata can try ABC Brickworks, that one ex Shenton WAy. Sat 7.00 got open.
Along the way via Rail Corridor.

Redhill market one not so good, i feel. Definitely not as good as the above or below.
I feel the Kg Bahru one so so also, can eat lah.

Best prata i have tasted is ABC Food Corner, not sure how you can reach there. By bicycle is easy around all these Rail Corridor, Alexander Canal PCN, MBS, Sentosa / Seah Im.
The mutton meat ($6) is also very good.
edit - but now google said Temporarily Closed.
Near here is Beo Crescent Hawker Centre and Havelock Rd Cooked Food Ctr.

WussRedXLi

Recreational Cyclists.

But even so, logically it's doesn't make sense at all.

If a runner is faster than a cyclist then he should be running at a super fast pace.

It's just like how a bike cannot be faster than a car.

Yes it will feel weird at first, just need to take shorter strides and lower your cadence also.

Definitely more possible than runner running longer than cyclists :ROFLMAO:

Runners can overtake but as you said, will eventually stop earlier. You can basically run vo2max (zone 5) for 12 minutes and outrun cyclists. But beyond that, you'll run out of stamina.

Just a matter of zone 0 cycling ba.....i do that quite often. Have cycled alongside / behind running various running groups listening to my music..... KNN, some super kiasee, always shout cyclist cyclist cyclist then they saw me no reaction they also didnt bother after a while. :unsure: :ROFLMAO:

edit - my kid also likes to keep to the runners' paces, coz he does not want to be booked for speeding ($300 fine), ie got excuse when stopped, as a speed reference of sorts ba. He can easily go much faster than that when the going is clear eg while at Sentosa ir some small clear roads like Magaret Drive, even on his 16" (349 rims/tyres) small bicycle.

My 5k TT "PB" on the foldie is 9 mins.....problem is that there are a few u-turns. ( i dont go Seletar or TMCR)

If keep in LT1 (147 bpm avg), is 10 mins flat, or 30km/h. I tested this one is coz i wanted a sort of truncated TT for brick session, ie run-bike-run so LT1 pace would be nice. After biking, i still could run 9.07 for 2.4k, wanted to do a 5k actually but not feeling too well that day so stopped earlier.
Part of duathlon training/testing.

I dont/havent test over 5k tho...... muscles not that developed yet, limiting factor is the muscles and lactate clearance.

I have some new aero stuff to play with and havent TT-ed yet but likely would at most add 1km/h and even 1kmh is likely to be overly optimistic.

Sprinting would be sprinters faster.
Acceleration is key. Usain Bolt hit like around 44kmh top speed. If just going by figures alone, need a relatively strong solo rider on a road bike / TT bike to get above 44kmh.

Anyway, 1km WR is around 65kmh.
1hr WR is around 56kmh
But that is track cycling tech/venue + pros.

huattoeat

Just get last season Gel Kayano, Gel Nimbus or GT2000 lar. Asics shoes are very well built and I ran them up to 800 km and they still look ok.
Shall take a look at asics, but dropping ~$150 for a shoe every 7-8months very heartache. :frown:

Currently using pegasus 38 that i bought on sale in Jan at slightly <100.

WussRedXLi

Shall take a look at asics, but dropping ~$150 for a shoe every 7-8months very heartache. :frown:

Amazon got got offer for Puma DN2. Can take a look. Pretty decent trainier and also can run for not so serious races, parkruns.

Issue is need to go shop to confirm sizes. Coz the US sizes a bit off vs other brands, ie you wear EU44 for ASICS, it's actually a EU43 for Puma. But ASICS US10 is Puma US10. Their conversion is a bit wierd one.

This is wide version, so no issue. The normal version some people might have isssue if got wide feet.

It's a very good shoe, superb wet grip......actually not only superb but it's the best out there already, nothnig is better than Pumagrip (the Elite line uses a slightly different rubber outsole compound that is harder, i dont feel the elite's Puma grip same wet grip)

The upper material is not those racing shoe mesh type, will absorb a bit of water, so super sweaters might not like this. But some folks do not like those plasticky synth mesh stuff also coz not as comfy, so it works both ways, see what you want.

https://www.amazon.sg/PUMA-377484-R...43e7fbfcd4e44ea55dc3c&gad_source=1&th=1&psc=1

https://www.amazon.sg/376807-Runnin...df-8e84-d5a224ee2038&pd_rd_i=B0BM9FGKF6&psc=1

dreamaurora

At my planned mileage, I will probably replace every 3-4 months :eek:.

But i think it’s money well spent. I’m using Kayano 30 for my easy runs now. It is really very comfortable. GT-2000 lighter and slightly less cushioned, good for shorter than 10 km runs.

If you go Queensway 3rd floor got this outlet that sells old stock shoes. Can get many good shoes below $100.

LWZ

Can I know how does one manage to run long distance without feeling tired? I usually ran about twice or thrice a week and and usually by the time I hit 3km, I already gave up and end my run. Do you like slow down your pace just to hit the distance or maintain it? It's mentally draining too even though I tried to keep myself distracted with music and the surrounding. This is from my run yesterday evening.

1run.jpg
I slow down pace

Stoway

Yup, I no longer chase pace. I actually find running in Zone 1 while listening to language podcast or music therapeutic. That's what I mostly do nowadays. But I am going to add a couple of faster Zone 3 runs in a week see if my pace improve slightly.
isn't Zone 1 walking pace? newbie here

Stoway

Wait for sales and get 2 pairs to rotate. $200 can last for 2 years

dreamaurora

isn't Zone 1 walking pace? newbie here
The slowest pace you can do without losing your running form. Depend on your fitness level, for me currently, it’s like 7:20 per km. You can see from my charts how I did it for one of my easy runs. For some of the elites one here I guess it’s like 6:00 per km. Then you have the uncles here who are doing 9:00 per km.

If you have one of those fancy Garmin watches, follow the Running Power metric, for me as long I keep my Running Power around 200-220 my HR is in Zone 1 or low Zone 2.

AkAM96z.png

gjzXP5Y.png

Stoway

The slowest pace you can do without losing your running form. Depend on your fitness level, for me currently, it’s like 7:20 per km. You can see from my charts how I did it for one of my easy runs. For some of the elites one here I guess it’s like 6:00 per km. Then you have the uncles here who are doing 9:00 per km.

If you have one of those fancy Garmin watches, follow the Running Power metric, for me as long I keep my Running Power around 200-220 my HR is in Zone 1 or low Zone 2.

AkAM96z.png

gjzXP5Y.png
can running form be consider even if I am running but even slower than walking pace? like just shuffling the feet.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.