jogging and motivation thread

Jeremy1

Alright bro.
But one thing confirm is running n walking is completely different muscles .

I think running n walking are using the same muscles but just that running is using more effort as compared to walking.

Lchlch

I think running n walking are using the same muscles but just that running is using more effort as compared to walking.
Bro, every sun I walk, to a certain distance around 15km, then go for slow jog , leg won't feel tired as using different muscle. Of course whether got stamina another issue.

No matter how far I walk, when I started jogging, my pace seem like the same.

Jeremy1

Bro, every sun I walk, to a certain distance around 15km, then go for slow jog , leg won't feel tired as using different muscle. Of course whether got stamina another issue.

No matter how far I walk, when I started jogging, my pace seem like the same.

Because you had already warmed up before jogging.

That's warming up is very important.

You walked then jogged

Lchlch

Haversack is normally the length behind till near your waist level whrreas the running vest should be much higher up.
Ok bro.
Thks for yoir confirmation.
Might wear it during the vertical challenge at Dawson .

Kuudere

I asked Rui Yong before, it's cause Lui skipped NS, went to Australia.
Not only this, but he is also a 800/1500 guy. And trained in Australia since young with better weather/competition.

In Sg, cross country runners usually start with 3k and quickly progress upwards during jc/uni. 1.5k runners usually race 800/1.5k and prefer not to convert upwards. That's why people that are able to excel in multi-distances like Goh Chui Ling are rare.

As for Vanessa, would say she is generational talent. Long, efficient strides. I have seen her run back in 2017 and was confident that she could easily achieve a lot more.
Same goes for cycling, to a certain extent. If you are not a newbie runner/walker, for cycling you can just be on a foldie and still be faster than youngsters on fixeis or ladies on very expensive bikes vast majority of the time in local context. I can attest to this no issue, even just largely based on cardio alone (spin to win), at least for shorter distances.
(anyway SG is so small, those play play "surges" or "attacks" wont be farther than 2-3km)
Agree with your last line. Over the years, often see other fast runners try to outrun me or my brothers when we ran in a group. All of us, will up the pace when we see such runners. Usually, if run low 4 min/km for 1-2km, is sufficient to shake off any contesting runners. A couple of the competing runners will actually express gratitude for pacing them and giving them a good fight :ROFLMAO:

Lchlch

A good pair of walking shoes and through time, you should be better.
Bro, recently I went to get sunnystep sole .
Initially feel uncomfortable cos the middle part is abit round type .
First time wear for long walk, leg pain.

Jeremy1

Bro, recently I went to get sunnystep sole .
Initially feel uncomfortable cos the middle part is abit round type .
First time wear for long walk, leg pain.

Sunnystep is light but the shoes cushioning is no good.

You get those max cushioning :s21:

Jeremy1

Bro, tbh, I will not buy man! My heart pain.
The sunnystep sole is I got the lucky draw.
$80 to me can buy a good durable lasting jogging shoe.

I got it for my feet issue. It often support for the feet.

Ender

My turn to post safety advice. Coz in my years of running, I only fell down twice, strangely both during the pandemic period. The reason is the same, a raised ground, bump or kerb and at night. Those dark, dimly lit tar road, the bumps are invisible for those elderly who sight are not as good.
Both times were serious enough to land me at the A&E. Scrape my knees, face, shoulder badly and needed stiches. Good thing is no bone injuries, even though I felt my face and knees slammed to the ground for the 2nd fall.

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/m...-tripping-over-cracked-path-bukit-purmei-park

Man, 61, fractures shoulder after tripping over cracked path at Bukit Purmei park.​

160724_cracked%20path.jpg

While jogging at a neighbourhood park, a man tripped over the uneven path and fell, scraping his arm and knee and also fracturing his shoulder.

The incident occurred on the morning of July 6 at Bukit Purmei Hillock Park, reported Shin Min Daily News.

The man surnamed Chen, 61, said that his shoe had gotten caught in the cracks of a path leading to a staircase. He fell on his arms, which he had raised to shield his head.

Another jogger passing by helped him up and took him to sit at a park bench nearby, where a dizzy Chen rested for about 15 minutes before slowly making his way home.

His left arm was bleeding profusely and gravel had gotten in the wound.

Chen's daughter, who is a nurse, helped clean and bandage the scrape before taking him to the A&E department of a hospital.

"The examination found that the injuries on my left knee and left elbow were superficial. But after an X-ray, they discovered that I fractured my left shoulder," he recounted.

As Chen, who works as a cook at a kindergarten, is diabetic, his wounds heal more slowly. He was given two months of medical leave to recover at home.

"I hope the authorities can mend the path, as many elderly people exercise at the park every morning," he added.

A Shin Min reporter who visited the park on Monday (July 15) noticed two raised cracks, each measuring about 1 to 2cm wide, along the path.

The Tanjong Pagar Town Council told the AsiaOne it was aware of Chen's fall on the footpath and had contacted him on Monday to express their concern regarding his experience.

The repairs on the path are expected to be completed by the end of this week, the town council added.

It will also arrange for staff to visit Chen to better understand the circumstances surrounding his injuries and provide any assistance needed.

LWZ

My turn to post safety advice. Coz in my years of running, I only fell down twice, strangely both during the pandemic period. The reason is the same, a raised ground, bump or kerb and at night. Those dark, dimly lit tar road, the bumps are invisible for those elderly who sight are not as good.
tripped up about 3 times in the past 3-4 years, twice at the same stretch...

now slow down whenever I enter such areas

sales69

Both times were serious enough to land me at the A&E. Scrape my knees, face, shoulder badly and needed stiches. Good thing is no bone injuries, even though I felt my face and knees slammed to the ground for the 2nd fall.

https://www.asiaone.com/singapore/m...-tripping-over-cracked-path-bukit-purmei-park

Man, 61, fractures shoulder after tripping over cracked path at Bukit Purmei park.​

While jogging at a neighbourhood park, a man tripped over the uneven path and fell, scraping his arm and knee and also fracturing his shoulder.

The incident occurred on the morning of July 6 at Bukit Purmei Hillock Park, reported Shin Min Daily News.

The man surnamed Chen, 61, said that his shoe had gotten caught in the cracks of a path leading to a staircase. He fell on his arms, which he had raised to shield his head.

Another jogger passing by helped him up and took him to sit at a park bench nearby, where a dizzy Chen rested for about 15 minutes before slowly making his way home.

Chen's daughter, who is a nurse, helped clean and bandage the scrape before taking him to the A&E department of a hospital.

"The examination found that the injuries on my left knee and left elbow were superficial. But after an X-ray, they discovered that I fractured my left shoulder," he recounted.

As Chen, who works as a cook at a kindergarten, is diabetic, his wounds heal more slowly. He was given two months of medical leave to recover at home.

"I hope the authorities can mend the path, as many elderly people exercise at the park every morning," he added.

A Shin Min reporter who visited the park on Monday (July 15) noticed two raised cracks, each measuring about 1 to 2cm wide, along the path.

The Tanjong Pagar Town Council told the AsiaOne it was aware of Chen's fall on the footpath and had contacted him on Monday to express their concern regarding his experience.

The repairs on the path are expected to be completed by the end of this week, the town council added.

It will also arrange for staff to visit Chen to better understand the circumstances surrounding his injuries and provide any assistance needed.
Yes everyone pls be careful especially when running.

Don't get distracted by beautiful scenery, cute animals, birds or chiobu.

Many raised bumps out there. Tree roots, lobangs, uneven drain cover, etc.

If not in top condition, avoid uneven terrain, steps, etc. Stick to somewhere flat.

During 2022, I was tired. Almost finish my usual route, run up steps, trip then slam into ground, cannot move from shoulder down.

Cervical slipped disc. Hospitalised almost 1 month. Don't play play.

Jeremy1

Young trip n injure still okay and can recovered fast.

When you're old, it's will take much longer to heal.

Jeremy1

My fall so far are very fatal which can cost me my life.

Worked in Airforce and while rushing, twisted my right ankle caused my ankle to be badly swollen, bandaged and need to use support stand to nove around.

Fell down from 1 storey high when I was working in NTUC Store. Need to bring 1 Carton from that high level and used the ladder but fell down and luckily the Carton never land onto me. And funny is nothing happened to me 🤔

Raining and running one of the night, slip as it was wet and dropped into a 5 feet narrow drain, luckily never hit my head. Got to thanks NB for their stability shoes.

After vaccination, few days later went Bukit Timah Nature Reserve and walked. While walking uphill, suddenly blackout and fell off from the cliff and luckily was saved by the tree.

Uncle should have already died many years ago liao.

So now, I run very very carefully 👻

WussRedXLi

@Ender
Gonna get the HW Watch Fit 3, think released 3 months ago.

Wife's GT Runner got "stolen", left it in hospital room's window sill during during IV drip stay there and forgot to take. Left hospital at 11pm and called next day noon, gone liao, no lost and found.
But anyway, can sense battery life going a bit down, daily GPS use after 4 days need to charge liao which is a bit bummer coz last time can tahan 1 full week.

I just know this new model can support music upload to watch on iOS Apple phones. GT Runner does not have this music tab in the Huawei Health App while Andriod phones (me) has this function.

You know what's the GPS and HR sensor performance for this one? Got good youtube tests?

There is the GT4 but not sure about the difference, but i think maybe the similar to Apple Watch square format is a good and nice change for my wife, more fashion la.

WussRedXLi

Saw some new roots at Rail Corridor, before Alexander Connector Park (from Southern Corridor direction), bumpy for bicycles and i think for joggers can trip a bit one.

Last weekend Sat early morning already saw 1 jogger fly actually, slippery due to Fri rain and RC with solid foilage at some parts and shielded from wind is very difficult to dry up unless with a few good hours of direct sunlight hot weather.

Esp for those shoes with not good outsoles (actually for most shoes that is).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.