jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Agree with your last line. Over the years, often see other fast runners try to outrun me or my brothers when we ran in a group. All of us, will up the pace when we see such runners. Usually, if run low 4 min/km for 1-2km, is sufficient to shake off any contesting runners. A couple of the competing runners will actually express gratitude for pacing them and giving them a good fight :ROFLMAO:
Okok, I thought walk up can be of help to our running, jogging and walking.. as I found out it uses hip muscles n full burst of lung energy.

Indeed Kuudere, SG is really small, for eg that main straight at Bay East is only 1.5k between Sheares and Barrage bridge. If wanna play a bit more @ Tg Rhu is only 400m

His 1 mile 1609m is around 5 m 30s i think. 5k is 18k.
Walking.

Actually another interesting transferrable is running -> cycling. Believe not cycling that much recently, focussed a lot on running. Of coz his base / muscles /neuro for cycling still there. See how he fared.
Cycling -> running theorectically not that much, but i believe it is still there.
Of coz best is do both.

Lchlch

His 1 mile 1609m is around 5 m 30s i think. 5k is 18k.
Walking.

Actually another interesting transferrable is running -> cycling. Believe not cycling that much recently, focussed a lot on running. Of coz his base / muscles /neuro for cycling still there. See how he fared.
Cycling -> running theorectically not that much, but i believe it is still there.
Of coz best is do both.

Oh those professional walkers can walk like jogging.
As for me, I am just normal walk lile everybody walking to work, to school, to market, to mall.

WussRedXLi

Last year i ran with Ender and lead female @ Skechers 2023 10K last 2-3 km, quite chuan one, esp coz my kid's stupid little kid tri-wheels kickscooter too small wheels so high resistance + he is too big @ 50kg. :rolleyes: At those speeds 5.00 pace, i literally had to lean towards my kid before i could overcome the resistance at those paces. (resistance increases linearly with speed and then aerodynamics really start to kick in below 4.00 pace).
And also coz prior my kid and i already did 7km getting to Barrage there while i was pushing him.

That time also 敢死队, scooter flip flip lor, no helmet or elbow/knee pads. (a while later then i bought and made him put pads and helmet)

In this case, the wheels really gotta be big, less rolling resistance. But 2.37h marathon is i think 3.45-3.50 pace?
The CdA is horrible, both area and also the shape of the whole thing, even though speed is not comparatively high wrt cycling speeds which would make a significant diff as speed rises and the resistance rises quadruply.

WussRedXLi

Basket bloody warm day(s) liao. Tonight i think need some water to spray onto meshed cycling jersey active cooling despite cycling only.

All sweaty after jogging back home for lunch. Need to take a bath before returning to office, after which straight into server room to cool down. Usually i wash armpits ok liao, but now whole body like sticky oil also.

LWZ

do y'all soak your running attire overnight or handwash immediately ?

Jeremy1

Just went for a sport therapy on my legs 👍🏻

Highly recommended.

WussRedXLi

Just put into small basin, add powder into the small vol of water, squeeze and scrubbing action for 15 seconds, then rinse liao.
Throw into washing machine 40 seconds fling. Then hang @ window.

Ender

After run, will go immediately to bathroom floor rinse off the sweat while I shower for 1st round. While at the same time as I shower, I'll step on them for more effective sweat removal. Then it goes to the laundry basket for the next wash with the other home laundry. No chao sng smell.

raylong

Agree with your last line. Over the years, often see other fast runners try to outrun me or my brothers when we ran in a group. All of us, will up the pace when we see such runners. Usually, if run low 4 min/km for 1-2km, is sufficient to shake off any contesting runners. A couple of the competing runners will actually express gratitude for pacing them and giving them a good fight :ROFLMAO:
Agree but also be on guard. Wait Walkatolly come "excuse me can I walk with you" your whole group become famous on youtube.

WussRedXLi

Not sure if will work or not since not sure if weak in this area....but i think no harm if not overdoing it (overstrengthen, which i think not really possible via this alone).
IIRC cometdevil the TS got rather regular strain in this area as he posted before
For cyclists, this is not an uncommon issue with tight adductors.

Do in office also can, like what i do for minibands.
Think i can get 2. main key thing i see is time efficiency esp since i can do in office.

Will get for parents too.
Very cheap, all in i think SGD 5 per pc. Cheaper than shopee

I think for runners we need to get 2pcs for proper resistance. Can get 3pcs, since rmb 37 shipping fee for 3 pcs direct ship.

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?sp...484DpcQVo&id=643331137157&skuId=5536807747001

O1CN01hEAnnx1NaR6tSiRZX_!!2206368431586.jpg

WussRedXLi

I think for the rest of us, just stick to stuff like whey / protein, creatine, sufficient micronutrients eg with supplement intake coz diet though preferred is usually not totally practical, sleep. Can throw in your massage, foam rolling as well.

I think sleep is especially important. For me esp with a bit of supporting supplemental melatonin intake, i could feel a bit sore and pretty tired at 11.30pm or even after 12 midnight after my rides, hoot some melatonin and i can sleep till 8-8.15am solidly before going to work. Get a shot of Whey with 20-25g protein (easy to digest so no interference with sleep) and creatine after the session before sleep. Next day dont feel sore liao, at least not in a noticeable way....not saying that it is optimal esp with daily sessions.
That might be the most impt missing crucial ingredient for many seniors with regards to performance improvement. Coz i know, it's not easy to sleep soundly (enough Stage 3 and R.E.M), and be well rested the next day, even with 7 hrs of sleep. For me i do not feel tired the next day, for the majority of days.
Some seniors just get by with 4-6 hrs of sleep, my belief is that even good structured training it is gonna be of limited value, walk forwards 6 steps and then backwards 4 steps. My belief is that it is number 1 up there, absolutely vital recovery.

ps. I think there is some good debates about getting more quality sleep being more important than waking up at 5am just to train simply coz you are very motivated and disciplined. At least for teens, it's proven for their growth, hormones eg GH.

pps. I also sorta believe in the saying there is no overtraining, only under recovery. Not taking it at face value of coz, eg tomorrow i go hoot a long run of 35k at 4.30 pace, sure pecah.....not along those lines lah.

WussRedXLi

One more thing, i believe i have a case of very slightly enlarged prostate. (bo bian, not young liao)

So every night i'd need to get up to pee, every 2hrs or so. So each night 3-4 times. But the volume of urine is not high.
But what i noticed is that vast majority of the times i can get back to sleep fast. And my mouth sure dry, need to sip water, coz solid sleep.

Unless if it is near 5am and i managed to sleep before 10-11pm last night, then yeah i would then wake up and hoot early morning cycling (esp on weekends). Weekdays usually sleep a bit later and morning wake up 8am ish.

WussRedXLi

Think the gym rats / body builder / power lifers would have come across this.... but just posting.
Personally my belief is that there is some degree of truth to it, but probably it is also not so binary in reality.
Sorta, if you recover sufficient enough, you can subsequently train more, eg daily routine no day off also can (just active recovery good enough). If you cannot recover enough, then you cannot train more with more quality hours in a week, and so the performance result would follow accordingly.
However, our bodies have limits, and some people are really addicted to training/exercising. An addiction is dangerous.

https://breakingmuscle.com/repeat-after-me-there-is-no-such-thing-as-overtraining/

What Is Overtraining?​

Genuine overtraining refers to a long-term pattern of being overworked that is often coupled with substandard recovery. There are those who may put themselves in a genuine state of overtraining. Take, for example, the athlete who puts in between 1,000 and 1,300 quality hours a year. That works out to between nineteen to 25 hours per week, every week of the year, with no time off. These aren’t just junk hours, either. They are quality hours. Do you train that much? Do you put in that kind of effort?

Ask yourself a simple question and answer it honestly: “How much do I train in an average week?” Remember that just showing up to the gym for a few hours a day doesn’t mean you trained. We are talking about quality hours here. So, how many quality hours do you put in per week? It probably isn’t enough to actually be overtrained. Chances are that if you think you are overtrained, you are actually just under-recovered.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.