jogging and motivation thread

roflolmao

anyone here overcame plantar fasciitis, shin splints and knee pain when running?

i consider myself above average in fitness (recently gold in IPPT, can do 20+ chin ups) but have been struggling with knee pain for a decade and recently picked up plantar faciitis & shin splints

I want to run 10km in 45 mins.....

Mecisteus

i think got benefits in terms of some physio actually, cld be prescribed with it by the PT or physio. But need to do it in at a safer place. I think even walking/jogging lane also a bit dangerous, but still can do if able to keep in straight line.
I don't think worth the benefits after considering the safety aspects.

Humans are born with biomechanics and eyes to walk forward.

WussRedXLi

anyone here overcame plantar fasciitis, shin splints and knee pain when running?

i consider myself above average in fitness (recently gold in IPPT, can do 20+ chin ups) but have been struggling with knee pain for a decade and recently picked up plantar faciitis & shin splints

For the inflammation, just need to rest and get it fixed nicely first. Hoot NSAIDs (if no GI issue/sensitivities).
So this needs to be a solid reset and get everything fixed first before attempting to train again. No half fug recoveries here, if not you are just wasting time nia.

After that, maybe can start to run again but start from scratch........ie run 2km and slowly build 10% weekly mileage. Whenever you feel got some niggle @ the usual areas, stop and rest for a few days, maybe consider building 5% mileage nia, bo bian.

While running, the off days can do the usual strengthening, plyometrics etc. These need to be slowly built up as well. Shin splints just build with tibialis anterior raises, for PF can hoot calves.

For knees usually a bit more problematic. For me i have had good results with this. Same goes for my father.
After using body weight, can consider resistance bands. For me and my father we felt noticeable improvements in knee pain in just 2-3 weeks.

roflolmao

For the inflammation, just need to rest and get it fixed nicely first. Hoot NSAIDs (if no GI issue/sensitivities).
So this needs to be a solid reset and get everything fixed first before attempting to train again. No half fug recoveries here, if not you are just wasting time nia.

After that, maybe can start to run again but start from scratch........ie run 2km and slowly build 10% weekly mileage. Whenever you feel got some niggle @ the usual areas, stop and rest for a few days, maybe consider building 5% mileage nia, bo bian.

While running, the off days can do the usual strengthening, plyometrics etc. These need to be slowly built up as well. Shin splints just build with tibialis anterior raises, for PF can hoot calves.

For knees usually a bit more problematic. For me i have had good results with this. Same goes for my father.
After using body weight, can consider resistance bands. For me and my father we felt noticeable improvements in knee pain in just 2-3 weeks.

rested nearly for 1 week now, and still feel the pain

but yes, the plantar fasciitis/shin splints came after i whack 8km after 1 month never exercise due to long hours at previous job. must be getting old liao sigh

and i can squat my body weight +15kg for 5 reps, not sure if i should still continue my strength training also......

Ender

Someone posted this, not too sure if she is really running in all these events. 8th to 11th Aug, she has to piah, especially for 10km which will eat away some of her endurance form. Hope she can perform well for the FM after all the packed schedule.

Ender

Poor chap actually.
Not haolianing, but i dont think i will look that old even if i were 10 years from now at 63. Possibly 15 years from now. Actually my father looks younger than him.

You look younger than him also, you and him same age.
He is older by 2 years. REally day and night difference for our age group from those who are sedentary plus bad diet. For me is exercise with bad diet, still can be improve if I start to self cook. Too lazy to prep food.

Ender

but yes, the plantar fasciitis/shin splints came after i whack 8km after 1 month never exercise due to long hours at previous job. must be getting old liao sigh

and i can squat my body weight +15kg for 5 reps, not sure if i should still continue my strength training also......
I kenna shin splint before. Usually when on a FM training plan when the training load too much. The latest episode was only a month plus. Posterior Shin splint. I just reduce my training load , less pace, less disctance less duration. Wear my compression sleeves all day, even for my runs. At home while watching TV, do Tibilias raise. I also used rounded edge of my spare phone to press and scrape downward at the injured area. I apply Zambuk ointment for lubricant. Can feel a knot at the sensitive area.
After two weeks, I am back to my usual training load an without compression sleeve.

WussRedXLi

Dang it, i think i missed a large part of the pectorals for my push ups. Growth is got growth and strength is got improvement, just that....it could have been better.

Only hoot diamond (hands closed in), half rep partials, full ROM in decline position (50cm and 70cm heights).

Never knew that wide stance and with a squeeze at the top (protractio)n at the top can hit the pecs much better....esp in decline position.

Just did it. It is correct, since i didnt train at all in this pos, upper hands etc shaking after i did it to near failure. (y) That's the good news. Bad news is, i wasted a fair bit of time forlike 9 months coz never trained this way. :frown:

Confirm the wider stance hits the upper outer pectorals more, this morning a bit sore over there.
Somemore i was doing 50cm height decline push-ups.

But i think cannot be overly wide, will hurt the scapula. (shoulder blade)

WussRedXLi

Yeah the resting will take a fair bit of time, but eventually it will subside.
Issue is for some older folks, it wont subside one, and continue swelling, something like a get-away reaction.
Hence need some medication to actively manage it. You can try ibuprofen, just look for the brand neurofen in the usual pharmacies.

The strength training needs to be done in quite a few areas. But for basics those i mentioned would do.

sph777

I am a bui bui, my 10 km is 43 mins. I recovered from plantar (2023), shin splints (2024), got the shin splints while recovering from calf issue. For calf, plantar and shin splints really have to strengthen calf and ankles, do lots of stretching. If not resting, then do light runs or jogs, don't go all out as that will worsen the pain. As for knee pain, I have no experience. Now i do 30 minutes of calf and ankle stretching daily to avoid injury.

WussRedXLi

I am a bui bui, my 10 km is 43 mins. I recovered from plantar (2023), shin splints (2024), got the shin splints while recovering from calf issue. For calf, plantar and shin splints really have to strengthen calf and ankles, do lots of stretching. If not resting, then do light runs or jogs, don't go all out as that will worsen the pain. As for knee pain, I have no experience. Now i do 30 minutes of calf and ankle stretching daily to avoid injury.

Actually they (studies) are saying that such strengthening only help slightly, some more than others.......

I am going to say something controversial, but i believe it does help....however i also suspect maybe in some cases not at the "dosage" that typical exercises that runners i usually see @ MBS area are doing wrt the mileages they are doing and esp if some people don't progressively ramp up the weekly mileage gradually (some cases might even be just 5%, that's probably slower than what many people would wanna embark on).

I mean, it still helps, but my belief is that it might need to take a lot more for those runners who are still suffering and are far more susceptible from achilles, plantar and tibialis anterior pain be it the muscles or ligament/tendon/fascia. Different people different stokes mah.
ie it's not the most efficient method....but my belief is that it still works and is one of the easiest for the normal layman to self hoot.

Another eg, my kid spends around 6-8hrs a week (Weekend) on the foldable bike. I spend around 20hrs each week, daily rides, yeah mostly are lower intensities (Even zone 1) but still.... there are still top speed and VO2max/threshold intensities and i do my sprints/climbs/thresholds. Heck I believe i ride significantly more than most roadies who might do Sat and Sun and then 1 weekday ride. But I have no pain, and you know my age. Quite a lot of cyclists also do not strengthen one. My belief is really the strengthening in many areas, just short of being really into calisthenics. Actually i started strengthening even before i started to cycle, coz of my running.

Nowadays I strengthening every day, just hit different muscle groups via rotation so the the other groups can recover while i train. And of coz as usual, need to pay attention to recovery.
Thanks to Ender, my latest hoot is whey + creatine. I believe esp prior to sleep (ie recovery), the whey / creatine sets the stage for even more/better recovery. Whey is fast absorption, so no worries about interfering with sleep, maybe except for those who are ultra lactose intolerant (can choose whey isolate then)

But then i also would agree that a daily schedule is not for everyone, so.... *Shrugs*.
Just that, i also a bit vain, i want the upper body / core physique. :ROFLMAO:
Esp that cycling jerseys are somewhat tight, and my skinsuits are !@#!@# ccb tight, nipple also poke out tight.
If dont strengthen, really look like a joker one, i kid you not.
Running and cycling are lower body stuff, upper body sure many people neglect.

ps. TO hold a good aero (TT) position for cycling, no joke. Really need to strengthen in many areas, even the neck need to strengthen (think F1 racing, but much lower level). If not, you are just gonna be cramped and sore. Even for a standard duathlon (T100), we are talking about 32km bike leg, which would be around 1hr or slightly less than that. Long duathlon is 64km bike. T100 Tri is 80km bike . The majority of even the siao on cyclists here (not beginners) cannot hold aero for that long one. From what is saw at T100 this year, many do not hold aero in their races, really not easy.

WussRedXLi

One of the guys even hated running. (got 22.49 for 5k @ totally untrained level)

1:39:11

Ender

Schedule for Jakob Ingebrigtsen.

image.thumb.png.d957511f1adb878833eb082def5ed170.png

xllms

Hifi must sit, listen n enjoy but if you're always on the go then portable earbuds is a better go.
couldn't log onto this forum for quite some time for whatever reasons.
yes, hifi needs to sit down and enjoy. Always on the go, portable earbuds is a better choice. But I have way past this stage (was at this stage some 10-20 yrs ago, which i spent quite abit of money on my earphones and portable player, which are now kept somewhere in my house). Also have a headphone+amp set up which i was actively using when WFH. Now hardly use and planning to sell off the beloved amp.
As for hifi, i am also also simplifying my set up, opting for convenience over sound quality

xllms

Nothing beats sitting down in front of hifi while sipping ice cold Pellegrino Aranciata after a nice long run. :cool:

I've been following a cycle of 3 runs recently with one rest day in between the cycles.
Easy long run at Zone 2 -> Very Easy recovery run at Zone 1 -> Hard run at Zone 3/4

So far, it's effective and I'm gaining back my fitness level and yesterday could run 12 km at 7:15 pace with average HR of 137 for my recovery run. Hopefully by time I go to Hanoi I could do 6:30 pace for my recovery.
mine is sitting down in front of hifi slowly enjoying my whisky on the rocks, only with mood lights turned on.

xllms

Completely different feel. With stereo setup you feel the performers in front of you giving a live performance.

With headphone it’s like the sound inside your head and around you. Also my earlobes get warm and red quick with headphones. Headphone setup can get very expensive also.

https://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/tec...ami-headphone-amplifier-singapore-price-specs
yes, sound from hifi eqpt and sound via headphones are two different ways of presentation. While the gap can be bridged via open-can headphones, it is still different. Personally, i prefer sound from hifi, especially with good room acoustics.

xllms

sold away my worn out takumi 10 for $15 to a guy who plans to go back batam with it.
previously sold my adizero SL for $20, UB22 for $35 and zoom fly flyknit for $15
steady lah...didn't know can fetch such prices when sell used running shoes (y)

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.