jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Don't know if can even beat sec sch xmm :ROFLMAO:

UjcgNMm.jpg

3k split 10:15
5K split 18:02
(actually going for 3K, but after that just continued to do 5k for fun)

RKgtccc.jpg
U alr crazy fast la

Ender

WussRedXLi

U alr crazy fast la

Im 5 seconds slower than M70 ang moh 15 years my senior. Maybe i am at M75-M80 league.

But is like that.......fast twitch is must train one to maintain (what is lost is lost tho....cant gain back), issue is that i only started at around age 50 for fast twitch, so already lost like 10-15 years worth of fast twitch.......and i dont think i am that genetrically gifted to have a body muscle % of fast twitch in the first place. So will be limited, only tahan a slower loss nia since more or less started training. Plyo also got use.

sph777

Im 5 seconds slower than M70 ang moh 15 years my senior. Maybe i am at M75-M80 league.

But is like that.......fast twitch is must train one to maintain (what is lost is lost tho....cant gain back), issue is that i only started at around age 50 for fast twitch, so already lost like 10-15 years worth of fast twitch.......and i dont think i am that genetrically gifted to have a body muscle % of fast twitch in the first place. So will be limited, only tahan a slower loss nia since more or less started training. Plyo also got use.

Also, although they older, they may have full time training etc. Can't really compare. Conditions there also definitely cooler

WussRedXLi

Also, although they older, they may have full time training etc. Can't really compare. Conditions there also definitely cooler

Possible, I think is mainly coz they have been training for these short distances for long, maybe carried over from their school/uni previous background. Main thing about these old speedsters is that they largely maintained their fast twitch fibers over age 40, decline is minimal.

For average hobbyists, even if they had been running / cycling / swimming do triathlons, as long as there is not much top end speed / explosive training, sure continue to lose their fast twitch. Sure continue declining at a rate faster than the hobbyists.

Slow twitch for strength / endurance no issue, can be trained even through 50, 60. So buffed old uncles sure got, able to do long distance events like triathlons have. But those still retaining explosive power i think not many.

Skyrillex

@Skyrillex I take this and other flavours with the caffeine.
Is this gel thick like the GU brand? Asking cause I personally tried both GU and SIS but i find GU abit hard to swallow at times during runs. Then had to faster drink water LOL else it'll be too sticky for my liking.

For SIS gels slightly better cause not so thick but idk why its more prone to stomachache for me :frown:.
Have you guys tried this? Read from other forum is ho jiak. Sorry, my assessment for energy gel is up to taste only. Can get from lazada.

https://honeystinger.com/
Never see before, but see online review say that its quite sweet.

Kuudere

nah, I got it. You have to get 100pts. So even if you do well in running it’s useless. You have to excel in all 3 stations.
In my opinion, I rather run sub-8 min 2.4k and get gold (85 points) than 100 points (9 min 10 sec running). I ran 8.38 for the 2.4k in IPPT and I was the talk of the town throughout my reservist this week.
Don't know if can even beat sec sch xmm :ROFLMAO:

3k split 10:15
5K split 18:02
(actually going for 3K, but after that just continued to do 5k for fun)
RKgtccc.jpg
I ran 400m 66s in training (not all out). All out would be between 58 to 64s without blocks and carbon plate shoes.
U alr crazy fast la
National distance runners have their peak 400m ~56-57s. Usually, when they run 200s in training, you'll know how fast they can run out 400m all out.

nogizaka46

In my opinion, I rather run sub-8 min 2.4k and get gold (85 points) than 100 points (9 min 10 sec running). I ran 8.38 for the 2.4k in IPPT and I was the talk of the town throughout my reservist this week.

I ran 400m 66s in training (not all out). All out would be between 58 to 64s without blocks and carbon plate shoes.

National distance runners have their peak 400m ~56-57s. Usually, when they run 200s in training, you'll know how fast they can run out 400m all out.
8:38 isn’t fast by national standards, I got an 8:49 at mid 30s with all other stations maxed out and I was still humbled by a Nepalese runner in my neighbourhood who jogged a 7:50 on Strava, he made the 8min look effortless , then I realised he was one of SRY’s competitors at Pocari sweat run after I saw him on fb.

Kuudere

8:38 isn’t fast by national standards, I got an 8:49 at mid 30s with all other stations maxed out and I was still humbled by a Nepalese runner in my neighbourhood who jogged a 7:50 on Strava, he made the 8min look effortless , then I realised he was one of SRY’s competitors at Pocari sweat run after I saw him on fb.
I ran it without carbon plated shoes and off 1 year of serious running. I was 10.07 last year. Will try my best and see what I can get next year.

WussRedXLi

Really shiok, now only 28 deg C heat index temperature, literally every morning also 28 deg C HI

Think next Sunday also 28 deg C, possibly 27 deg C heat index if the day before got afternoon heavy rain.

Conditions are in place for your local PB.
Actually no problem with local weather, can set 2 categories 1 for local PB and also 1 for overseas PB, still can play it this way

OSUDGvI.jpg

WussRedXLi

Actually i kinda only do short 60-75m SITs and then next is jump to 600-800m training intervals at much slower paces (which probably do not count much at all as training for these at all).

I am checking out ways on how to best rope in interesting ways to maintain fast twitch muscle fibres into age 60s and then 70s
Unfortunately, i ought to have started my SITs like....15-20 years ago before it started to decline. :unsure: :ROFLMAO:
Now slow like sec 2 girls already, just hope can maintain and decline as little as possible with appropriate training.

Aim is to prevent falls esp those really sudden falls. My age 93/94 grandma tripped and fell like that, this year only. All of us tot really could not make it liao.

WussRedXLi

Actually you can see the big difference bt you and me in 400s. Haven't even pull out 100s even. :ROFLMAO:

3k should be close to 10 mins if pace properly. But 400 is turtle slow, even though i started SITs in 2019, which is too late. Im not sure how much beta alanine has got to do with it, but there was a study in which male recreational club runners improved by 3.6 seconds in their 800s.

I think you late 20s right, in around 5 years time you really need to spend conscious effort and time to do such top end training liao, put money into the bank. You will reap the benefits when you hit 50s and really see it in your 60s. Literally all 60 year old fellas that i know cannot even chase after a bus at the bus stop...shuffle yes, but really kick it, no :unsure:

sph777

Is this gel thick like the GU brand? Asking cause I personally tried both GU and SIS but i find GU abit hard to swallow at times during runs. Then had to faster drink water LOL else it'll be too sticky for my liking.

For SIS gels slightly better cause not so thick but idk why its more prone to stomachache for me :frown:.

It isn't very think. Definitely thicker than isotonic drinks but less thick than the free gels at the stations. I think if you want, can try at least before the race. Decathlon sells also.

https://www.decathlon.sg/p/pure-spo...ion-c0810aa2-41cc-48db-a929-c8f3a552d871.html

Ender

Never tried before. I use pure energy gels cause got discount code that time haha.

This year sponsor is Shotz. Anyone tried before? More concern of the taste. Hope it's not like Gu. From memory more thna 10 year ago, GU taste like medicine, almost wanted to throw up.
image.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.