jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

It takes some skill to run through wet surfaces, I am used to it already from my cross country days

Just now i saw an e-bike on the road slipped and fell during cornering. Possibly got some oil or what, and for sure the wetness did not help, the rain has already stopped.

Luckily no adjacent vehicles esp large vehicles with exposed wheels / big undercarriage gaps to swallow these riders.
Not even fast, is max 25kmh and i believe the cornering was just like around 20kmh, but you know.....with they way some of them food delivery riders ride.

WussRedXLi

Could try duathlon: https://www.justrunlah.com/race/metasprint-series-2025-aquathlon/

3k run, 18k bike, 3k run

I am planning to do bizad 10k in early Jan and then maybe go for wings-SA 4.8k on 22 Feb

https://www.instagram.com/stories/wings.athletic.club/?hl=en

Registration hasn't opened yet but date seems to be confirmed.

Yeah i have been training since earlier this year for dualthon next year. 3/18/3 is sprint format (eg your link's metasprint series by Metasports).
Then 4.5/32/4.5 is standard dualthlon distance eg T100 series open for amateurs. This one might break me if i go really fast like maintain ~ 90% of MHR ie LT2 for so long a period, i need to do a test run and see if 80% is comfy or not, so far not yet tested full distance. I think run leg can do 19 min, bike 58-59 min, then run again 19 min assuming all goes well with pacing (which it probably wont lol).

Long distance format for amateurs is 9.5/64/9.5. That one i confirm cannot, i believe energy expenditure even more than a full marathon.
Imagine you all SCSM go gun Sheares bridge 1 time, i go gun 4 times. WTF. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Plus all those other small little climbs like that what Ophir flyover climb near Concourse / Beach Rd.

And then downslope might need to brake a little, is not free speed in which you can recover most of it.....no way Really waste energy. Chiong down is actually quite scary if you are not a super experienced cyclist , speeds attained are nearly 90kmh with the most efficient aero TT position in a TT bike. Fooking scary if you ask me.

Ender

To all runners who were in the school x-country club, are there places like this in Singapore for a proper x-country race? muddy track, grass field.

WussRedXLi

Actually there is another one , organised by Trifactor. My kid and I went to Republic Ave last weekend and saw it. Seems like not a lot of people.

Hottest right now is the T100, but that one is not a beginner's event for play play, though i see some people joining it for play play pace.

A bit different format tho...... bike run bike and not run bike run

https://www.trifactor.asia/TF-BCR-2024-CHECKOUT

638qLNg.jpg

WussRedXLi

Aquathlon is too difficult to prepare for, even though the distance is short. I don't enjoy swimming in Sentosa so that's a big no for me liao

Stick to running, many races to join. So far, have one in early Jan and considering another one in end Feb.
Was thinking of the aquathlon then saw no more early bird. Not paying that price haha

Aqua and Tri need OWS / Open Water Swim certification.
ie not swimming pool that time young zhum zui certification. :D

Dual is the easiest to enter, metaprint even allows mountain bike/foldies. I believe T100 amateur races also no issue, saw a foldie on the racks at Promonitory. But overseas dual dont allow, eg Malaysia Powerman.

WussRedXLi

Imagine you all SCSM go gun Sheares bridge 1 time, i go gun 4 times. WTF. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:
Plus all those other small little climbs like that what Ophir flyover climb near Concourse / Beach Rd.

Maybe some runners might suspect this to be csb, common sense says that cyclist sure got advantage one..... but....

In fact some people who exercise don't even think cycling is a proper cardio exercise, is for lazy people who wants to hao lian that they are exercising when in fact they are not. :unsure:

And the bike leg, even on flat ground, if you really are gunning fast speeds and aiming fast times, the aerodynamic drag resistance really brings energy / distance efficiency ratio with cycling down a lot......compared to moderate speeds cycling.
Some people i spoke to think say something like 60k bike is like a 10k run in the park. Or a 110-120km SG RTI loop is like a HM :unsure: :eek:
Wishful thinking. I think many normal recreational people have been cycling at 15kmh or something like that.

Ender

Actually there is another one , organised by Trifactor. My kid and I went to Republic Ave last weekend and saw it. Seems like not a lot of people.

Hottest right now is the T100, but that one is not a beginner's event for play play, though i see some people joining it for play play pace.

A bit different format tho...... bike run bike and not run bike run

https://www.trifactor.asia/TF-BCR-2024-CHECKOUT

638qLNg.jpg
they were the organizer for the Garmin run, poorly managed baggage handling, and finisher tees collection.

Kuudere

Just now i saw an e-bike on the road slipped and fell during cornering. Possibly got some oil or what, and for sure the wetness did not help, the rain has already stopped.

Luckily no adjacent vehicles esp large vehicles with exposed wheels / big undercarriage gaps to swallow these riders.
Not even fast, is max 25kmh and i believe the cornering was just like around 20kmh, but you know.....with they way some of them food delivery riders ride.
Nasty, I think the floor must be quite wet. Not a good weather to cycle. Even for running, the chance of slipping is high, so I just try my best to avoid puddles. If necessary, just run through those.
Yeah i have been training since earlier this year for dualthon next year. 3/18/3 is sprint format (eg your link's metasprint series by Metasports).
Then 4.5/32/4.5 is standard dualthlon distance eg T100 series open for amateurs. This one might break me if i go really fast like maintain ~ 90% of MHR ie LT2 for so long a period, i need to do a test run and see if 80% is comfy or not, so far not yet tested full distance. I think run leg can do 19 min, bike 58-59 min, then run again 19 min assuming all goes well with pacing (which it probably wont lol).

Long distance format for amateurs is 9/64/9. That one i confirm cannot, i believe energy expenditure even more than a full marathon.

And then downslope might need to brake a little, is not free speed in which you can recover most of it.....no way Really waste energy. Chiong down is actually quite scary if you are not a super experienced cyclist , speeds attained are nearly 90kmh with the most efficient aero TT position in a TT bike. Fooking scary if you ask me.
short distance seems good, after all, need to do transition so it's a lot harder than just doing it alone.

And it's always good to train the transitions, most people don't do transition and split out the training instead.
To all runners who were in the school x-country club, are there places like this in Singapore for a proper x-country race? muddy track, grass field.

The closest I can recall is Macritchie reservoir and turf city, but that was many years ago.

https://www.redsports.sg/2007/04/22/48th-national-inter-school-cross-country-championships/ >> 2007

My time was already bedok reservoir. The most they did was start at grass patch for 200m run and transit to sand.

But you will never get your feet dirty, they can't simulate the same cross country terrain as overseas.

Dual is the easiest to enter, metaprint even allows mountain bike/foldies. I believe T100 amateur races also no issue, saw a foldie on the racks at Promonitory. But overseas dual dont allow, eg Malaysia Powerman.
Now that I think about it, swimming in open water is actually dangerous. If you cramp with no one around, then it's quite a difficult situation.

I am not aware of the certification that is required to participate in races.

WussRedXLi

And it's always good to train the transitions, most people don't do transition and split out the training instead.

I have already pre-registered for T100 standard dual already, that time when in Apr 2024 the even passed and they opened for reg. Just 1 month sold out already, and then is waiting list since then, ie as good as sold out.
Metasprint sprint distance i am interested but still thinking about it for registration now. Might be good for a B race as it is before T100

I have already tried quite a few brick sessions, esp the bike-to-run , it's very "disorienting" for the bike-to-run T2 ones, coz the cycling muscles aint activitaing the run muscles properly as far as neuromuscular is concerned, hence the term "jelly" legs. Neuromuscularly it's very difficult to run below 4:30/4:45....and the sprint distance and even the standard distance is so short.....so most probably for half that distance one already loses out a fair bit.

And the jelly legs lagi worse if pacing on the bike is jialat and one overbikes.

Hence also the reason that earlier today i mentioned the *slight* forefoot bias in which i tried and tested for 3k/5k shorter distances past few weeks / months and found this to be easier for this distance, at least for me.
And also the timings i have gotten are pretty good, in fact PB good. Might also be due to the weather, beta alanine or lactate meter trainings + adjustment to zone 2 and LT2 pace during trainings.... not sure, too many variables.

Easier, not say good running form or what in theory, but more of in practice......it might suit me (and some others) better and at least for my biomechanicals no issue for such distance, and as long as is not getting injured. Is good enough for even T100 standard dualthlon, so might be worth a shot.

Jelly legs
https://www.220triathlon.com/training/run-training/how-to-avoid-jelly-legs

WussRedXLi

Now that I think about it, swimming in open water is actually dangerous. If you cramp with no one around, then it's quite a difficult situation.

I am not aware of the certification that is required to participate in races.

Yeah....not really "certification" in strict paper sense lah...... just need to submit proof. Pacing is important too, and yeah they do pluck folks out from the water and DNF them. So there goes their $$$. :oops: (triathlon is iirc $400+ even for early bird)

Dont worry too much about cramping, many many folks in kayaks around. You raise hand and/or struggle they will just pluck you out.

eg for T100
Athletes must be competent swimmers to participate in this event. During registration you will be asked to confirm that you have completed at least three (3) open water swims. You must also submit proof that you have completed an open water swim of distance of 1500m or greater since 1 January 2023 at a pace of 2min30sec per 100m or faster, (ie a time of 37min30sec for 1500m or 47min 30sec for 1900m).

This proof must be uploaded to your registration before 11:59 SST (GMT +8) on Sunday 17 March 2024. Valid proof includes finisher certificate or screenshot of a race result showing event date, athlete name, swim distance and swim time.

WussRedXLi

hence the term "jelly" legs. Neuromuscularly it's very difficult to run below 4:30/4:45....and the sprint distance and even the standard distance is so short.....so most probably for half that distance one already loses out a fair bit.

And the jelly legs lagi worse if pacing on the bike is jialat and one overbikes.

One thing that totally amazed me was the T100 Dubai finals. The front 3 chaps were gunning as fast as 2:55-2:58 pace even till the 7th km mark for the last run leg. That's like a 14:35 - 14:50 5k, plus 2 extra km. That's like our national record track timing by SRY, but T100 is not done on the track but done on road with undulating climbs (WTF) and in hot weather.
Plus already done 80km bike and 2km swim.

And their T2 transition so bloody quick. Really dont know how these pros do it.

Ender

Almost every time I read of death or casualties in a Triathlon, it almost always at the 1st leg, i.e. the open water swimming. And I don't think it fatigue, or pushing too hard as this is the 1st leg. Body should be fresh.

WussRedXLi

Almost every time I read of death or casualties in a Triathlon, it almost always at the 1st leg, i.e. the open water swimming. And I don't think it fatigue, or pushing too hard as this is the 1st leg. Body should be fresh.

The often cited reason(s) is due to various cardiac issues. Not unlike what usually happens in HM/FM events. The usual % you see is slightly more than half / 60% of deaths occuring during this first leg. Unfortunately, the reality is the death rate is like 3X that compared to FM.

But heng, i dont know how to swim much even in swimming pool........so no such problem. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

ps. This is also why now + earlier i always said......these events, dont anyhow enter into them and just for play play. Without much training / screening. Even 6hr marathon can be fatal, some people just plonk in thinking these are like child's play. I would not give someone my blessings and encourage them to just try FM, even though they might take 6hrs 7hrs 7.30 hrs. Really need to train and condtion.

Not much training or worst of them all zero training (just normal exercising sessions nia) go enter just to test mental resilience, Bro, it's all about "mind over matter", you can do it one.

Wah biang, better dont F around.
Coz all these events, for sure without fail you see some people the face lagi worst than some of us go for our TTs. Some would even drag the buddy along, i ever saw 2 fellas dragging 1 man in the center...... for what man? Cannot means cannot, just DNF, train and then try again next year.

Actually even for 5k, 10k, dont anyhow gun simi race pace if not yet conditioned / trained. Esp after 35-40, go for your heart screenings first. And depending on your risk level / family history , repeat accordingly every X years.

sph777

Aquathlon is too difficult to prepare for, even though the distance is short. I don't enjoy swimming in Sentosa so that's a big no for me liao

Stick to running, many races to join. So far, have one in early Jan and considering another one in end Feb.

The last time I did open water aquathlon was in sec school. That time I did relay, swam then handed over to another friend to run. If ever I do aquathlon again, will do swim and run. I think was TAS New Balance Inter school aquathlon or something like that long ago. I think the proof that have done open water swim should be T100, if local competition should be no need. Open water and swimming pool is two different ball games though

ctan84

Jump rope is the only exercise I find that can still 'burn' the calves of an endurance runner. I use to do minimalist running, that really strengthen the calves via landing on the ball of the foot. that really burn the calves for any cushion shoes runners transiting over. Then I add on jump rope, and that burnt my calves even more.

By burnt, I mean the calves really got sore during and after the training.
You want that kind of burn just go do board kicking in olympic size pool for 40-50 laps loh. Really use nothing but your calves to propel you forward nia.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.