jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Anyway, just for clarity in case there are any other possible misunderstandings, im basing the top 100 women's 5k from here

https://worldathletics.org/records/all-time-toplists/middlelong/5000-metres/all/women/senior?page=1

14:40 top 100 is one aspect.

14:15 would already get you into top 10 recorded women 5k

zpgPpwV.jpg

I found this on wiki......interesting.

PU3z7lH.jpg

WussRedXLi

Heng I don't really bother about timing, no such problem

Actually nowadays i dont even really run in races (not even FOC park runs) or have specific goals for running.

Just training for dualthlon coz got first race next year (just do my best) and if really good and can enjoy then aim 2026. So in a way it's not important but still it's important in a way. :unsure: :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Cant find the 13:59 GPS non-pro triathlete vid but this is Kristian Blummerfelt running a 13:51 road 5k a few years ago.

Disclaimer : Again, not an official race, so it's not 5k distance certified, let alone track. Even Kristian mentioned it's not an official race.
It is what it is.

But then, it has rolling hills plus a very tight U-turn.....so it's gonna be much slower.

Kuudere

Age 10 already > 70 ml/kg/min what the sheet.

So i guess that sub 8 case for NAPFA 2.4 pri 6 possible and believable

Now thinking about it, no wonder some fixies can hang with me at least for a decent amount of time. (of coz they have drafting advantage, and i also gotta be real careful not to crash them)
Fastest current young guy in Sg (warmer weather) I know: Ong Chang Zhi

14 y.o. this year: 3.8km bedok reservoir (13.08), 2.4km (7:36), 1.5km (4.31)
13 y.o. last year: 1.5km (4.49), 2.4km (7.47)

https://www.sportsplits.com/races/s...ships-2024/events/2/results/individuals/15004
https://pocarisweat.com.sg/2400m
https://results.singaporeathletics.org.sg/ac22024/240225F684.htm

https://www.123finish.com/ath/ath.php?athid=33699&ath=Ong

>> 53.41 minute of video (results)

3 people between 13-14 ran under sub-8 min together with Chang Zhi. Most probably could break sub-8 min in primary school (<=12 y.o.)?
Actually it's quite interesting, regarding the "men vs woman" topic thingy that you all would have seen many times before.

Top 100 women records (Track, not road) is 14:39.56 for 100th place.
WR is 14:00.21

And then we have quite a fair bit of youtubers / club runners (ie not pro or really running for a living in professional athletics) who can dig below 14:40, in parkruns, road races. Ok, of coz some would say that it is GPS lah......is road race lah so might not be 5k etc yada, but still.......

Even come across very serious but still non-pro triathletes (not full time runners) who managed to break 14:00, albeit just 1-2 seconds.
Yes it is GPS, but that's about it. GPS in open ground + straight line still is gonna be extremely close (heck from my own testing, open ground non-oval 800m track figure of 8 also extremely extremely close at least for my Huawei GT Runner)

This vid is somewhat old, 1 year +, for eg 10th Ben is 14:57 in the vid and now he is like 14:40 (possibly even faster if i missed any of his more recent vids)

If you are 17:30 - 18:00 5k guy in sg running clubs, you pretty much dominate the non-paid free clubs. Overseas different standard for sure.

WussRedXLi

Fastest current young guy in Sg (warmer weather) I know: Ong Chang Zhi

14 y.o. this year: 3.8km bedok reservoir (13.08), 2.4km (7:36), 1.5km (4.31)
13 y.o. last year: 1.5km (4.49), 2.4km (7.47)

https://www.sportsplits.com/races/s...ships-2024/events/2/results/individuals/15004
https://pocarisweat.com.sg/2400m
https://results.singaporeathletics.org.sg/ac22024/240225F684.htm

https://www.123finish.com/ath/ath.php?athid=33699&ath=Ong

>> 53.41 minute of video (results)

3 people between 13-14 ran under sub-8 min together with Chang Zhi. Most probably could break sub-8 min in primary school (<=12 y.o.)?

If you are 17:30 - 18:00 5k guy in sg running clubs, you pretty much dominate the non-paid free clubs. Overseas different standard for sure.

Wow you really can dig out stats (and probably remember majority of them), next time i sure ask you liao. :ROFLMAO:
My brain and memory sliding...... 7:36 is crazy fast for kid

I think it was you that you mentioned your nephew or what is below 8 mins age 11-12 thereabouts? (Pri 6 is the first 2.4k that they'll run so i am assuming is this pri 6 age).

smW8Jgn.jpg

WussRedXLi

Found this run by this South African triathlete guy (professional though)
With a sub 8 3k, i have no qualms believing he is capable of sub 14 5k, below 14 min comfotably even.

Regardless, though it's road + GPS , as usual im really just in for the entertainment and in awe of these fellas somemore non purely runners.
And that's with some altitude change, it's not pan cake flat like a track.

Seriously Im in no position to comment it's not a legit attempt coz it is road + GPS. I am just
a regular hobbyist doing cycling and running. 😅 😅

If it makes anyone here happy, just rate him to be a 14:00 5k PB runner lor. *shrugs*

5k is not full vid, but i am not doubting it.
Coz 3k full vid for second vid.
Sub 8. :oops:

TiaMZEL.jpg

j7AuuZn.jpg

Ender

Found this run by this South African tri guy (professional though)
With a sub 8 3k, i have no qualms believing he is capable of sub 14 5k, below 14 min comfotably even.

Regardless, though it's road + GPS , as usual im really just in for the entertainment and in awe of these fellas, and you see his pace in the video you know it's not gonna be slow. And that's with some altitude change, it's not pan cake flat like a track.

Seriously Im in no position to comment it's not a legit attempt coz it is road + GPS. 😅 😅
If it makes anyone here happy, just rate him to be a 14:00 5k PB runner lor. *shrugs*

3k full vid for second vid.
Sub 8. :oops:

TiaMZEL.jpg

j7AuuZn.jpg

Not referring to the youtube video. Really got to make you point across in so many posts. In no way I say these runners are slow. Like how I acknowledge you are fast. Your ball park figure proves that. But I can be anal when someone claim a PB of a few seconds when it is not a measured course. If the improvement is like 22min to sub 20 minutes with GPS data, ya, I won't hesitate to agree that this guy had make significant progress, but if he PB by 10 seconds with GPS data, sorry , I won't celebrate his progress for him.

WussRedXLi

This tri chap siao lang fast also.... but he changed to doing triathlons from running during his younger days.

Dont know about the true accuracy unfortunately coz it's virtual and using his watch so of coz not directly comparable....but if it isn't too terribly far off, this is literally nearly like Jakob Ingrebrigtsen fast @ 13:13.66 (of coz climbing podiums in international running races is yet another story )

NZ Triathlete Hayden Wilde
13:21 5k @ NZ Virtual Champs in 2020
(this one virtual of coz, bo bian covid era)

https://athletics.org.nz/born-to-be-wilde/

https://athletics.org.nz/race-new-z...he-athletics-new-zealand-virtual-race-series/

"Quote"

“I ran a little 1.2km loop in Tauranga where we carry out our Saturday sessions,” he explains of the blistering run. “That day there was not a breath of wind and I just went for it. I went through the first 1km in around 2:40 and then I had a couple of sub 2:40 kms. I then just tried to hold on for as long as I could, just waiting for the 5km mark. When I looked down at my watch and I saw 13:21 it was pretty unbelievable. At the time I felt pretty good, but it must have been the adrenaline because for the next few days I was in pain!”

WussRedXLi

Not referring to the youtube video. Really got to make you point across in so many posts. In no way I say these runners are slow. Like how I acknowledge you are fast. Your ball park figure proves that. But I can be anal when someone claim a PB of a few seconds when it is not a measured course. If the improvement is like 22min to sub 20 minutes with GPS data, ya, I won't hesitate to agree that this guy had make significant progress, but if he PB by 10 seconds with GPS data, sorry , I won't celebrate his progress for him.

Yes, i gotcha..... I agree that a few seconds wont matter as it's totally within the error of margin with GPS.

Even for my own runs, that is why i post sometimes 5.02, 5.04, as much as 10.21/10.34 even....then i calculate back to 5.00 or 10.00km just for reference only, nothing serious.

eg even for easy run slower paces it will over run (this one last year)
C2vLFiS.jpg

Second factor is a wierd reason :

Even if I set the end distance to be 5.00km or 10.00km, im not totally sure why the stupid GT Runner takes some time to react and give that voice notification that "You have reached the set distance" and then i press the watch button, fast or slow paces same. EVen though the distance has turned 5.00 or 10.00km, it still takes a while to react. Wierd one. :unsure:

And it does not auto pause/stop also, dont know why they program it this way. Die die must user press the watch side button, so confirm there will be a delay.

But well, i guess that's why it's a Huawei. And my wife still cannot sync her music on iphone to her Huawei only android phones possible, it's just impossible and even the forum users say so.
I think next watch she will dump Huawei and go for Apple iphone sua...which probably is very soon.

Kuudere

Wow you really can dig out stats (and probably remember majority of them), next time i sure ask you liao. :ROFLMAO:
My brain and memory sliding...... 7:36 is crazy fast for kid

I think it was you that you mentioned your nephew or what is below 8 mins age 11-12 thereabouts? (Pri 6 is the first 2.4k that they'll run so i am assuming is this pri 6 age).
Don't be surprised, there are a lot of fast ppl these days

This girl managed to run 1:28:47 at 19 y.o.

She is a duathlete

Ender

Yes, i gotcha..... I agree that a few seconds wont matter as it's totally within the error of margin with GPS.

Even for my own runs, that is why i post sometimes 5.02, 5.04, as much as 10.21/10.34 even....then i calculate back to 5.00 or 10.00km just for reference only, nothing serious.

eg even for easy run slower paces it will over run (this one last year)
C2vLFiS.jpg

Second factor is a wierd reason :

Even if I set the end distance to be 5.00km or 10.00km, im not totally sure why the stupid GT Runner takes some time to react and give that voice notification that "You have reached the set distance" and then i press the watch button, fast or slow paces same. EVen though the distance has turned 5.00 or 10.00km, it still takes a while to react. Wierd one. :unsure:

And it does not auto pause/stop also, dont know why they program it this way. Die die must user press the watch side button, so confirm there will be a delay.

But well, i guess that's why it's a Huawei. And my wife still cannot sync her music on iphone to her Huawei only android phones possible, it's just impossible and even the forum users say so.
I think next watch she will dump Huawei and go for Apple iphone sua...which probably is very soon.
My opinion (just based on reviews, not personal experience) of the Huawei is their GPS sensor is as good as Garmin or Coros. But HR a notch better than the others. Your wife issues is more on functions. LOL . I will still recommend the Huawei to anyone who just started their journey but don't want to spend too much.

WussRedXLi

She is a duathlete

Jezuz, this girl barely stopped puberty and so accomplished already. She is like less than 2 mins from Vanessa.
Cycling (whether is got races or not) is one thing but training for dualthlons is a bit different and could be a big deciding factor.

19 yr old that time i only start pcc.......

I delayed entering NS at 22 yr old, my 2.4 that time failed. Actually i failed everything in BMT, ie SOC failed IPPT failed. That's why after BMT i went Airforce airbase become nua peng. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Single vs t-shirt for easy runs.....

Some triathletes wear tri suit do easy runs one. But that i shall not comment ba. They really gotta get used to the suit etc and probably is training in that specific aspect as well.

Even the Kristian blummenfelt 5k i posted earlier he was racing in a tri suit, vs ard 10 other runners in typical running gear.

One major good thing is that in vast majority of the cases, you go run FM in it also no chafing issue. (eg for Ironman). Nipple chafing, groin chafing being the 2 most common areas.
T100 middle distance is around half marathon distance.

Aerodynamics of the boundary layer trip lines or aero dots on the shorts area and sleeves/shoulder area not sure how much it'd help...in theory it is considered marginal gains. 22kmh is not slow and the effect is measureable.

Thermal regulation via skin tight spandex sometimes not terribly bad vs a loose singlet actually if it is not too warm (overseas).

Jeremy1

She is a duathlete

Always see the center girl in every race I run this year.

Super fast, I was running quarter way and she already running back on my way.

WussRedXLi

Those interested can try this seller. I got one set to try, im interested in the door stopper device in which you can clip the bands to, can try out some more different pulling exercises, currently my inverted row is pretty limited in pull training......that's the only consistent pull training that i have, other than the occasional negative pull ups for repping. (i can only do 3-4 pull ups so not exactly useful as reps)

Is using the latex bands for the 60 to 80lb versions.
For guys here ( dont think here got girls) I'd prefer you go as heavy as possible, the lighter ones are a bit useless.

The 2 band ones (60-80 pounds) is only 42rmb, direct shipping 18 rmb. Can place in comments when ordering whether you want 60, 80 or 70, 80 pounds, or even 80, 80 pounds for the 2 bands.
The 10-50lb ones are TPU, not latex.....but still pretty ok if you waat those.

Latex same material as those resistance bands you see @ Decathlon.

两条装【60磅-80磅】 【联系客服备注磅数60磅-80磅】

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?_u...=5227426766222&spm=a1z09.2.0.0.20fa2e8dXMQJfv

O1CN01UvOcVF1HYhnAwyBTm_!!0-tbbala.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp

WussRedXLi

Always see the center girl in every race I run this year.

Super fast, I was running quarter way and she already running back on my way.

Vanessa Lee, she holds the national record for 5k. IIRC 17:26 17:28 or something. Goh Chui Ling not far behind, think like 5-6 seconds slower only, She (Goh Chui Ling) broke the > 2 decades old previous record some time middle of this year and then like barely 1 month later Vanessa beat hers.

Maybe GCL might snatch it back soon. lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.