jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

LOL, my wife complain I run too much instead of joining me for a run.

I have also been trying to coax mine to join us for cycling, i can buy 1 more decent bicycle no issue....it's good coz she does not like hot weather when exercising and so cycling (plus some speed walking) is good as the windspeed cooling vs RPE energy expenditure ratio is much better. But she said dangerous.

The funny thing is that whenever we go her indonland village, she ferry me on the 155cc one. :unsure: :ROFLMAO:
(face gotta be very thick tho......yeah confirm got stares)

edit - but to be honest, she might be right, cycling somewhat fast on PCNs/MBS area or on public roads here during regular exercise hours could even be riskier than riding a motorbike in her indonland village.

WussRedXLi

Share lobang

Don don donki has got a $12 for 3pkts Teriyaki Chicken, each pkt is 220g (~ 55g of protein) for $4 price.

Pretty decent price for a relatively healthy nutritious meal. (i dont take much of economy rice veg, expensive + that bloody place i frequent sucks in veg hygiene / washing). Got beef/pork as well but those are 140g.

I often eat this now with somen or soba that i cook at home during lunch as i get back daily.....sometimes dinner as well. Been eating a fair bit of sardines and mackerel, sian liao.

Just place the internal pouch into 200ml of hot water and wait for 8 mins, gao dim. I usually put into a slow 600W heat on the induction cooker and go for my fast shower wash sweaty armpits and rinse head coz of the run back home, come out just nice to serve the somen/soba and chicken (y)

sg-11134103-7rd6p-lx118jkuwi18aa.webp

WussRedXLi

Getting this type of band + hand grip for resisted decline push ups.

I am not sure if adding more height is the correct thing to proceed further, currently i am stacking my boxes to up 1m height and when dismounting i think a bit dangerous esp when you have done to very near failure and once my knees just crashed to the floor. Luckily impact not that great, my spine really felt the impact and one of my knees blue black.

Actually i already have a full set of those normal closed loop kind of resistance bands, but i think this type is slightly easier to use for push ups. Besides i need 1 dedicated band to place in my server room for push ups only as the other bands are placed in my house for other exercises.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?from=cart&id=678168483886&pisk=f-cnFi4jWvyBlfWgSdPBUCN6PSpOdwN740C827EyQlrs9ew82A4r2cTWRW3zq0mTfXLQeuHGrqiiq8TQ2uro24kpWIdxR2N7a0xvMIdcIoiZx_yzLUPaJzgLaZqsR2N74NIyHAuCqfWoC9zz4FVarz_UaJyP_5r_ry7E4kyNbr4ba7Pr4luayr_F8Jyz_Vr_kMSzLz7a7ya54gzr4V8gPbEBYklr9f-pHGwdIvhnsy2wH2rNx-ha-SZm8JCRwaa3KouUjnmFuLeZP8c5P_2-8xi7uDSequGi7Xkq0hBLYx4okYm2y9aTEXNg4XRfollnrf2IBMWUoWq33Xy2ZE04UAcg9X-5hV3gY-VtBdtLeWmnhoweChioSknrtRSHXuHxWXyi0hCiV8Dr95lebIjPsOWqCbf77UhNFTwU5PqAdswBleWXyNLMStq7LPaUDFYGFTwU5PqvSFX0OJz_8oC..&skuId=5040098335785&spm=a1z0d.6639537/202410.item.d678168483886.3dc97484ezKh1z

Weighted skipping rope.

So far my weighted (via resistance bands) calf raises and single leg pogo hops for all directions experiences have been good.
But this type would hit more of the gastrocs than the soleus as calf raises and single leg pogos you can bend much more, but ok lah....... try first and see.

https://detail.tmall.com/item.htm?id=851805037625&ns=1&priceTId=2100c82a17332861737327907e0bad&skuId=5813652122122&spm=a21n57.1.item.1.680d523cc1n5ZE&utparam={"aplus_abtest":"f3cad122d28e178efe125b93153e949b"}&xxc=ad_ztc

O1CN01sqhfW31malr4CVh5e_!!4611686018427385803-0-tbbala.jpg_960x960.jpg_.webp

O1CN01DA4d5l2EbVjV5XoKw_!!2157608763.jpg

WussRedXLi

Dynapenia already starts from around age 30

Bonus
59.5s M60

@DominicR-y5d

4 months ago
Tony, thanks for the video. My story is similar to yours--I ran 62 sec. at age 62. Now at age 83 I just ran the 400 in 73+. And good advice about those fast twitch 10 sec. runs.

dicxz80

Not a doctor, but this type of health concern better bring it your doctor. i also have sometime high some time ok pressure. Have seen a polyclinic doctor about it, and he asked to monitor by writing down the numbers in a table, 3 times a day., morning, afternoon and evening. After a few weeks, he read my chart, and he find not a concern despite some of the readings hit 145/90. While a lot are 127-135/75-85. He said no need to go for meds.

But don't use my number as a guide, but I suggest to do a similar charting for a few weeks and then show it to a doctor to discuss.
which doctor do you go ? normal GP ? and how many days do you need to record ? Thank you

Ender

which doctor do you go ? normal GP ? and how many days do you need to record ? Thank you
Polyclinic. About two weeks worth of data.

But if you want see your GP, just do it first before you see them, that will save you one consultation visit.

WussRedXLi

Age 10 already > 70 ml/kg/min what the sheet.

So i guess that sub 8 case for NAPFA 2.4 pri 6 possible and believable

Now thinking about it, no wonder some fixies can hang with me at least for a decent amount of time. (of coz they have drafting advantage, and i also gotta be real careful not to crash them)

WussRedXLi

Actually it's quite interesting, regarding the "men vs woman" topic thingy that you all would have seen many times before.

Top 100 women records (Track, not road) is 14:39.56 for 100th place.
WR is 14:00.21

And then we have quite a fair bit of youtubers / club runners (ie not pro or really running for a living in professional athletics) who can dig below 14:40, in parkruns, road races. Ok, of coz some would say that it is GPS lah......is road race lah so might not be 5k etc yada, but still.......

Even come across very serious but still non-pro triathletes (not full time runners) who managed to break 14:00, albeit just 1-2 seconds.
Yes it is GPS, but that's about it. GPS in open ground + straight line still is gonna be extremely close (heck from my own testing, open ground non-oval 800m track figure of 8 also extremely extremely close at least for my Huawei GT Runner)

This vid is somewhat old, 1 year +, for eg 10th Ben is 14:57 in the vid and now he is like 14:40 (possibly even faster if i missed any of his more recent vids)

Ender

Actually it's quite interesting, regarding the "men vs woman" topic thingy that you all would have seen many times before.

Top 100 women records (Track, not road) is 14:39.56 for 100th place.
WR is 14:00.21

And then we have quite a fair bit of youtubers / club runners (ie not pro or really running for a living in professional athletics) who can dig below 14:40, in parkruns, road races. Ok, of coz some would say that it is GPS lah......is road race lah so might not be 5k etc yada, but still.......

Even come across very serious but still non-pro triathletes (not full time runners) who managed to break 14:00, albeit just 1-2 seconds.
Yes it is GPS, but that's about it. GPS in open ground + straight line still is gonna be extremely close (heck from my own testing, open ground non-oval 800m track figure of 8 also extremely extremely close at least for my Huawei GT Runner)

This vid is somewhat old, 1 year +, for eg 10th Ben is 14:57 in the vid and now he is like 14:40 (possibly even faster if i missed any of his more recent vids)

Just break 1 or 2 sec on gps, you justify that? My last 5 km time trial at YCK stadium, gps record 5.03km. Seems like a acceptable error, but it is not for time trial. For a 4min/km pace (common pace for those who want to break sub 20) that's a 7 second error. For my pace, 4:19, that was a 7:45 sec I could have minus off and call it my PB and make it more impressive.
Time trial, just make an effort to do it properly. Not much a hassle as Singapore has many infrastructures. The effort you try to justify and compare data, is more than just make a trip to the stadium or park run and do it proper.

WussRedXLi

Just break 1 or 2 sec on gps, you justify that? My last 5 km time trial at YCK stadium, gps record 5.03km. Seems like a acceptable error, but it is not for time trial. For a 4min/km pace (common pace for those who want to break sub 20) that's a 7 second error. For my pace, 4:19, that was a 7:45 sec I could have minus off and call it my PB and make it more impressive.
Time trial, just make an effort to do it properly. Not much a hassle as Singapore has many infrastructures. The effort you try to justify and compare data, is more than just make a trip to the stadium or park run and do it proper.

I think you have misunderstood my post liao, i really meant it's the age old man vs woman discussion about performance.

My meaning is that....no matter how inaccurate that 13:59 GPS time in the youtube vid is or any other youtube vids based on GPS, he (that amateur triathlete) is still in realm of top world 100 females for track, ie below 14:40.
That is a 40 seconds diff.

I agree + know what are you talking about absolute accuracy. ie Track races have its place.
Regardless, i cannot change what all these youtube vids are posting what, right.... :)
I can only work with what i have and see.

WussRedXLi

Like i said, i agree with your statement if one is really anal about specific TT timings. This is why when i post timings, i put "TT" instead of TT, in quotes. (hope you get what i am saying)

I like performance but unfortunately i am not really that anal about the specifics and i dont really like track running round and round, though i do appreciate progression.

And i remember what you said before, if really wanna use GPS as a reference, that difference better be huge. Veryr ecently i tested was 420m on the GPS, 65 seconds, or say for 5k is 18:02, or 3k 10:15....
So of coz if really wanna compare, i'm not gonna say that im faster than someone who can run 70s for his 400 on track. Or 5k 18:30 (heck just round it up 19 mins lah..... :ROFLMAO: ). Or 3k 10:30 - 10:45, but i rarely see folks doing 3k tho....

ps. I also know some GPS readings are TERRIBLY off, eg 5.03 GPS is not 5k track, more like 4.5km track.
Or some races like Skechers 10k is 9.1km on GPS and god knows maybe actual distance possibly 8.95km or what.... these outliers are for another story. :ROFLMAO:

WussRedXLi

Just break 1 or 2 sec on gps, you justify that?

Orh...ok, i think i finally get your post.

"Break 1-2 secs on GPS" that triathlete 13:59 ....... vs 14:00 women 5k WR on track.

No, i was not comparing from that angle. 13:59 GPS on youtube vs 5k WR on track.

Bro! I not so stupid lah. :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

LWZ

Heng I don't really bother about timing, no such problem

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.