jogging and motivation thread

buffybuffy

If can do this after run at MBS is jin song

Rki9B8F.jpg
They have that for the F1 racer too in SG.

buffybuffy

Heat I cannot take it. I avoid at all cost. But rain is one of my favorite moment to do long run. But not the torrential type. Medium is alright. Very cooling.
Ever got stuck in torrential rain a couple of times. Lucky my iPhone never uplorry. I have a bad habit I don’t bring any money with me whenever I’m running. Want to take cab also cannot. Don’t even talk about buying a drink.

I realized many of us run long distance without drinking. Correct?

rarenick

Ever got stuck in torrential rain a couple of times. Lucky my iPhone never uplorry. I have a bad habit I don’t bring any money with me whenever I’m running. Want to take cab also cannot. Don’t even talk about buying a drink.
I realized many of us run long distance without drinking. Correct?

I bring my phone (with Google Pay) and cash for jogging. There were a few times I ran halfway to buy drinks from vending machine. But usually will finish 8km without drinking anything.

WussRedXLi

@Ender

U shd be expert in this, ever seen any runner tried this before? It might be a good turbo boost esp for short distances quite doable, say a 2.4 or 3k.

Willing to try, but just dont know where to get such stuff. (climbing shops?) Small canister can liao

Ender

@Ender

U shd be expert in this, ever seen any runner tried this before? It might be a good turbo boost esp for short distances quite doable, say a 2.4 or 3k.

Willing to try, but just dont know where to get such stuff. (climbing shops?) Small canister can liao

Really never heard of this.. Pure oxygen. But the guy holding his breath for 13 minutes is impressive. Pure oxygen really can last so long compare to air (21% of oxygen?).
i don't know where to get pure oxygen. Taobao? Aquarium sells CO2 for those aquatic plant hobbyist, maybe can ask the aquarium if can get oxygen?

dreamaurora

I bring my phone (with Google Pay) and cash for jogging. There were a few times I ran halfway to buy drinks from vending machine. But usually will finish 8km without drinking anything.
I can tahan 12-13 km without water in early morning or early evening. When sun is up, maximum 9-10 km. At 6 km mark can start feeling the effect of dehydration.

More vending machines can do contactless so for longer run I make sure there is one at halfway point.

dreamaurora

What other exercises u all do to maintain agility?
Strengthening exercises are a must I think to minimize injury and recover faster. Once I started doing them regularly few months ago I no longer have pain and was able to run faster.

One leg stands and pistol squats to strengthen ankle and knee respectively.

Ab wheel roll without knee guard to strengthen back and abs.

WussRedXLi

What other exercises u all do to maintain agility?

Need very specific movements. Coz training the whole muscle motor units and slow down type 2X/2A fibre loss etc.

As a runner / for running, SITs is a good and interesting general way to kickstart. No need to do too much, 1-2 times weekly 2-3 sets of 60-75m can liao. But of coz slowly progress distance/speed up.
For cycling, ultra high cadence and sprints good, even if power not there, as neuro work it is always good.

Personally for cycling, i have never believed in those 200km-600km stuff if one is after maintaining functional benefits in real life having a good quality of life.......i mean it's ok if young and is for fun but as a "challenge" esp for middle age groupers like us, not really. Heck, that is > energy expenditure than a FM already. I really see no point unless if young/pro.

This fella @ 61 his 400m is 59s

Ender

Need very specific movements. Coz training the whole muscle motor units and slow down type 2X/2A fibre loss etc.

As a runner / for running, SITs is a good and interesting general way to kickstart. No need to do too much, 1-2 times weekly 2-3 sets of 60-75m can liao. But of coz slowly progress distance/speed up.
For cycling, ultra high cadence and sprints good, even if power not there, as neuro work it is always good.

Personally for cycling, i have never believed in those 200km-600km stuff if one is after maintaining functional benefits in real life having a good quality of life.......i mean it's ok if young and is for fun but as a "challenge" esp for middle age groupers like us, not really. Heck, that is > energy expenditure than a FM already. I really see no point unless if young/pro.

This fella @ 61 his 400m is 59s

Crossed sword with this old guy before when he disses Vo2max was overrated. He just too one dimensional in his philosophy. I am not saying he is wrong in his philosophy, he is right and those who follow can reaps benefits. But that doesn't invalid other discipline. It's the same in the past with youtube influencers who promote only one form of running, and they usually dissed the heel strikers as totally wrong way and avoid at all cost, even if one has been running as a heel striker for years (e.g. Sage Canady). Again they are right in saying forestriking has some benefits, but this doesn't invalid heel strikers.

WussRedXLi

Crossed sword with this old guy before when he disses Vo2max was overrated. He just too one dimensional in his philosophy. I am not saying he is wrong in his philosophy, he is right and those who follow can reaps benefits. But that doesn't invalid other discipline. It's the same in the past with youtube influencers who promote only one form of running, and they usually dissed the heel strikers as totally wrong way and avoid at all cost, even if one has been running as a heel striker for years (e.g. Sage Canady). Again they are right in saying forestriking has some benefits, but this doesn't invalid heel strikers.

His methods are indeed very towards the extreme end but i think in reality if one is up to it and can follow through, it really reaps real benefits esp if one starts from middle age. Sort of best bang of the buck.
I also dont fully beleive some of the things that he said coz he also disses cali and strength training. 🤣
(for me i do is coz of hobby and also as a supplement to cycling / running performance)
But one thing i cannot deny and am ultra impressed is that he is razor quick razor sharp razor balance in many sports/movements/aspects, not only brute strength or brute aerobic.
Vs a mono sport athlete esp.

It's like what i mentioned, the other end of the spectrum is like cycling 200-600km. Personally i really see no benefit. Worst thing is such mono-sport endurance athletes is that they never go whack impact movements like for eg running / skipping etc, i personally understand fully as a cyclist myself, but heng is that i started off with walking and running so not a hater for these. This is esp so for middle aged athletes in which osteopenia is almost bao jiak one (IIRC in SG, prevalence for ladies after i forgot what age is like half half 50% liao)

I mean, my kid as pri sch also tried century riding, @ zone 1 lots of hours, good weather + proper fueling and more or less conditioned can do one.
IIRC straits times got 1 kid also did 80+km. But that is fine, hobby hooby for fun no issue as they are not after anti-frality. No harm at all.
But that is different for middle aged age groupers.

WussRedXLi

Actually talking about strength training (which he disses), no matter what sure got benefit here and there.

Road bike just came, no bike fit..... 4 rides over Sat and Sun today totalling 130km++, mix of whack, sprint, off saddle but majority Z2 grind.

No back pain no nothing despite no fitting. But back i can more or less feel a wee wee bit of strain (but not pain) coz of the more stretched out position . Even tried some km of psuedo TT position / puppy paws but i mindful of safety only tried on ultra familiar roads coz still getting used to it.

But of coz, nothing out of the ordinary, correct bike size, 170mm cranks (I'd prefer 165mm like on my foldie but that's for future change i guess. Dialed in (more or less) correct saddle height only solely based on inseam and height of fibula then use calculator. Front of patellar no issue no pain.
The rides, even if just using calculators and then confirmed via feel on rides, more or less feels ok.....coz i scared not tuned in then long term usage i spoil something kena injured coz of training mistakes (inevitable sometimes).

For those not been training for strength or similar isometrics like planks etc, my belief and what i have seen on youtube, for sure pecah....pain here pain there. I believe most useful for training is push ups, planks, any back exercises like pull ups, core stability stuff.

Now need to go find 3D printed saddle or a softer one. Butt pain. 🤣
This one bo bian......taobao way hope can find a cheap decent one that is good enough for 2.5-3hrs max can liao.

At first i was really really concerned and wanted to go for a pre-fit, even a basic cheap one to get the basics nailed down might be good. (that is the general recommendation). But, issue - a good pre and post fit costs like half the price of the bike. :unsure: It does not make financial sense.
But looks like what i suspected probably is correct. If you are conditioned, no issue one, unless if the bike is totally off (eg you go buy a L size 56 bike but you are 168cm tall, that one is cockster liao)
And then you go jump heckloads up in mileage coz new bike new toilet mah.......recipe for disaster.
If lagi jialat, injured some tendons here and there joined group ride and kena peer pressure / extreme training mistake , chao chao 2-3 months rehab one.

edit - of coz, just sharing what i have gone through and not trying to haolian....coz i have been long suspecting this. In fact, coz of T100, neck (upwards) strength i was even training for that for a few months. Aka like F1 driver like that.
Eg if one cant even do 20 push ups, cant plank 3 mins or 1 pull up or standing up on 1 leg also got issue liao, really need to go proper fitting...that one is almost confirm case need to optimize fit one else sure pain and cannot continue riding in such a higher-end hobby way.

WussRedXLi

Just as a frame of reference. How fast is 59s for 400 (@ his age 61).

More or less this fast and he would be competitive, vs M40 local standard at the finals.

I myself tried 400s before a few months ago. Dont ask me to try again this distance, i cannot. (even though i dig speed). Vs secondary sch girls track n field i also will come in last. lol

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.