jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

He is going for triple days, 280k peak weekly and consistent 250-280km/wk.
He's hooting Copenhagen in May. And then Gold Coast in July.
Lets see how it goes. 😅

edit - basket if you are a weekend warrior kind of cyclist, 280k/week even at a relatively slow pace also difficult.

rarenick

Actually talking about strength training (which he disses), no matter what sure got benefit here and there.
Road bike just came, no bike fit..... 4 rides over Sat and Sun today totalling 130km++, mix of whack, sprint, off saddle but majority Z2 grind.
No back pain no nothing despite no fitting. But back i can more or less feel a wee wee bit of strain (but not pain) coz of the more stretched out position . Even tried some km of psuedo TT position / puppy paws but i mindful of safety only tried on ultra familiar roads coz still getting used to it.
But of coz, nothing out of the ordinary, correct bike size, 170mm cranks (I'd prefer 165mm like on my foldie but that's for future change i guess. Dialed in (more or less) correct saddle height only solely based on inseam and height of fibula then use calculator. Front of patellar no issue no pain.
The rides, even if just using calculators and then confirmed via feel on rides, more or less feels ok.....coz i scared not tuned in then long term usage i spoil something kena injured coz of training mistakes (inevitable sometimes).
For those not been training for strength or similar isometrics like planks etc, my belief and what i have seen on youtube, for sure pecah....pain here pain there. I believe most useful for training is push ups, planks, any back exercises like pull ups, core stability stuff.
Now need to go find 3D printed saddle or a softer one. Butt pain.
1f923.png

This one bo bian......taobao way hope can find a cheap decent one that is good enough for 2.5-3hrs max can liao.
At first i was really really concerned and wanted to go for a pre-fit, even a basic cheap one to get the basics nailed down might be good. (that is the general recommendation). But, issue - a good pre and post fit costs like half the price of the bike.
:unsure:
It does not make financial sense.
But looks like what i suspected probably is correct. If you are conditioned, no issue one, unless if the bike is totally off (eg you go buy a L size 56 bike but you are 168cm tall, that one is cockster liao)
And then you go jump heckloads up in mileage coz new bike new toilet mah.......recipe for disaster.
If lagi jialat, injured some tendons here and there joined group ride and kena peer pressure / extreme training mistake , chao chao 2-3 months rehab one.
edit - of coz, just sharing what i have gone through and not trying to haolian....coz i have been long suspecting this. In fact, coz of T100, neck (upwards) strength i was even training for that for a few months. Aka like F1 driver like that.
Eg if one cant even do 20 push ups, cant plank 3 mins or 1 pull up or standing up on 1 leg also got issue liao, really need to go proper fitting...that one is almost confirm case need to optimize fit one else sure pain and cannot continue riding in such a higher-end hobby way.
What bike u bought?

I got a $300+ Pinarello Most saddle installed on a $200 Dahon Yuki

WussRedXLi

What bike u bought?

I got a $300+ Pinarello Most saddle installed on a $200 Dahon Yuki

Haha....if got spare stocks lying around, just use regardless of price. ....coz it works for ya.

Sava R7, 105 Di2 R7170 full set (chain also Shimano....M6100 i think, Hyperglid+ one), swapped to Conti GP5k. 2k sgd new condition.
I think vast vast vast majority not interested in such a bike locally. If teens want to play is those cheaper stuff like Sava EX7 alu bike or similar from Java. Then left is those hardcore DIYer enthusiast ownself source spec and build one lor, like those few on Oompa loompa.

Cant be beaten value, taobao already 12.99k rmb, havent count in GST and sea ship and 3% TB transaction fee.
This TB one uses KMC chain, else all others are Shimano.

Dont know if will pecah or not over time. So far so good and no soft spots when depressed, use coin to knock all uniform etc. But of coz all amateur basic tests.....my usage is purely solo and not difficult also.

BTW. i am not an expert, but this winspace T1550 frame is it normal to be able to depress the downtube laterally? Not a budget chinese frame also.
edit - actually the top tube is a bit soft also, just not as soft as the downtube

WussRedXLi

The Benjamin soon was my primary school classmate.

Actually i ask me to cycle nearly 14hrs, i will doze off to sleep first. Sheer monotony.
Rolling at ~6:00 running pace somemore.

Same goes for those Everesting efforts, done at Mt Faber.

Or like running ultramarthons on a treadmill.

DigDub

Actually i ask me to cycle nearly 14hrs, i will doze off to sleep first. Sheer monotony.
Rolling at ~6:00 running pace somemore.

Same goes for those Everesting efforts, done at Mt Faber.

Or like running ultramarthons on a treadmill.
So far I've done near to 20 round island rides. :o

WussRedXLi

Hayden Wilde got a very good result in T100 Singapore 2 weeks ago. Similarly for Kate Waugh. Both debut someore.

Lets see how Alex Yee does in London. Next week we'll know.

WussRedXLi

Dont know how she got so fast now one. Not sure if it's due to pure volume or what.
Sure probably was drafting most of the time (if not all the time lol).....but still.

Bonus

New vid from the winspace T1550 fella i just posted a few msg ago. Abang also very strong (he is around my age probably)

And if i am not terribly wrong part of that is the CCP5

xllms

Ever got stuck in torrential rain a couple of times. Lucky my iPhone never uplorry. I have a bad habit I don’t bring any money with me whenever I’m running. Want to take cab also cannot. Don’t even talk about buying a drink.

I realized many of us run long distance without drinking. Correct?
i normally drink after the run, regardless of runs, 3-30km. But everyone's habit different.

sph777

If doing long run with speed intervals mixed in then I will consume energy gel every 30 mins. If just long run, no speed work. I will not drink

xllms

After 30km then drink seems dangerous to me in terms of dehydration.
depends on one's body and weather etc. Of cos, one has to avoid dehydration esp in SG hot humid conditions. Drink more water before run and if running gear can accommodate a small waist water bottle and storage pouches for replenishments, it will help.
my context is different as i am not in SG. The furthest i ran in SG at one go was approx. 10-12km.

WussRedXLi

If really perspiring a lot coz of extended session, to the extent that there is visible salt marks, best to drink isotonics.
Or just hope that prior to run you had eaten some salty food for the sodium.

endo5x5

Ever got stuck in torrential rain a couple of times. Lucky my iPhone never uplorry. I have a bad habit I don’t bring any money with me whenever I’m running. Want to take cab also cannot. Don’t even talk about buying a drink.

I realized many of us run long distance without drinking. Correct?
Longest I tried was 15km night run with no hydration in between. Day run would be roughly 12km before I feel really cranky from the dehydration.

Before and after run, I do pocari hydration (my kitchen cabinet has boxes of pocari satchets lying around lol).

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.