jogging and motivation thread

Mephist0pheLes

Recently started looking at my jogging statistics and realise I have been jogging wrongly my whole life. My cadence, vo, vr, gct all bottom 5 percentile according to garmin. Now trying to relearn how to jog...

dreamaurora

Is it me or has it been pretty hot and humid lately even in the evenings?

Almost died just now when doing threshold intervals o_O
Yeah, I ran 11 km just now. Although the sun was no longer hot but the weather was unusually hot and humid. Even with my usual easy pace and a 700 ml of water I felt so dehydrated at around 9 km that by the time I finished my run I felt dizzy.

mcylo

Yeah, I ran 11 km just now. Although the sun was no longer hot but the weather was unusually hot and humid. Even with my usual easy pace and a 700 ml of water I felt so dehydrated at around 9 km that by the time I finished my run I felt dizzy.
The heat is radiating off the hot tarmac after been baked the whole day

endo5x5

mMxLW24.png

Slow and sexy 7K, because they keep saying that the way to improve on timing is to do slow runs for the body to finetune its energy management. Could also admire all the lightning in the distant north. Like what the f***, I'm stewing badly, gimme some damn rain soon!

Next run ought to be on a weekend morning, and will try to do a long one.

WussRedXLi

Back......not many people out there tonight, maybe too warm.

How she trains those glutes one ah.

WussRedXLi

I had 600ml + 2 x 250ml = 1.1L. Just enough.....usually i cannot finish the 600ml bidon one and i only bring 1 x 250 packet drink. Some more all iced up and "plastered" to my body to give additional contact cooling.

For around 24 mins of actual work nia (3 sets x 16 x 30s and then 3 x 16 x 15s recovery). Then after that i needed 30 mins of cool down and after that joy ride see chio bu / tourists.

WussRedXLi

Heat index temps @ 8pm likely to be in the 32-36 deg C range with the higher range in some areas

Warmer than i expected.

Just now at 9pm, Tai Seng was 36.5 deg C heat index temp

South side Sentosa was 36.0 deg C heat index temp.

Only Pulau Ubin 33 deg C heat index temp

1aDAzyP.jpg

rarenick

Just saw this.
If you are after type 2A/2X and most muscle bulk/development (ie fast twitch more than slow twitch), then just hoot the hill sprints (or hill strides). Nearly complete recovery between sets, meaning it will probably take quite a while/a few good minutes like 2 or maybe closer to 4-5 for the newbies. But you really need to slowly progress up and be a bit patient before you can master it in execution, very demanding in all areas. Actually the higher the gradient, the better. You can also try stairs sprinting for some variation.
Once you have mastered it and at least neurologically feel you can manage the speed, then try flat ground Sprint Interval Training. I am saying "managed" coz i think for middle age group, not many can manage the speed and i do really mean SPEED, ie a bit rusty here and there. I really like SIT, been doing it since 2019 (theorectically most runer folks dont see it as a form of running conventionally, except those sprinting community lol). I actually was doing stairs sprinting as a form of exercise (in ard 2015) without me knowing it, but anyhow do one lah.
Go youtube and see how to execute.
edit - also best to make sure you are cleared in the cardiac dept, things like these and shorter intervals/micro intervals can really spike the HR unknowingly sometimes. The weather also damn terok recently, that's another factor that can further contribute/exacerbate.
Your post of article is insightful and I will do some online research to understand more of cortisol with sports. As for uphill running, I will need to plan, but unlikely so, because it may stress the knees too much.

WussRedXLi

Your post of article is insightful and I will do some online research to understand more of cortisol with sports. As for uphill running, I will need to plan, but unlikely so, because it may stress the knees too much.

If you are talking about the usual petallar tendon pain (front knee tendon just beneathe the knee cap bump) coz it is "something new that you are doing", can proactively pre-habilitate first by strengthening for 4-8 weeks the usual strengthening exercises for calves, shin, quads, hamstrings and glutes. Basically just strengthen everything lah....no harm one. All the exercises on youtube.

But one specific point that i'd like to emphasise more (and personally gone through a few niggles before) for faster speeds / sprinting / 200-400m stuff / etc is to train your TFL....as many runners or even cyclists neglect or arent even aware of such a muscle.

Can even start on basic forms of plyo and as usual slowly progress up, as it is explosive in nature hence relatively more beneficial esp for the shorter/faster intervals, particularly sprinting. Just see how sprinters train and the drills can liao, pretty explosive stuff even though it seems normal to them (their normal is maciam like our super-explosive movements liao)

Actually i can give a "middle milestone" update on my Sava R7 bike riding w/o bike fit. So now it's been like 3 weeks and tried most things that i'd be doing on it. Last night tried some pretty hard microintervals, till now i am feeling fine although muscularly late last night before i slept i quite felt the muscular fatique. This morning and now pretty ok but tonight i'll play it save and let the rest do the work for me, total rest night.
Till now, no joint pain muscular pain of any sorts that is related to the new bike.
I have a very high suspicion/belief that the strength training that i have been doing since i started running 2 years ago helps hecklots. The new aero position vs triceps strain even for > 30 mins (I already started training on foldie then etc, backpain neckpain all no issue.

Only did the simple fore/aft saddle positioning + saddle height with the only basic lemond method, i have yet to do the video analysis knee angle measurement with a graphical protactor and confirm via too low a seat height and slowly raising it 3-5mm increments until pedal stroke feels choppy ie it is slightly too high.
Also changed the stock PU saddle to a GUB 3D printed one (shd be passable, dont think i need a $675 Specialized Power Mirror), solved the issue of backside pain and a bit of numbness for > 1hr rides (i dont go for > 3hr rides and the longish weekend ones averaging 4 to sometimes 5-6hrs include lots of breaks). So i think more or less i have dialed stuff in to the point that it fits my current needs and that my current level of strengthen is able to tahan.
The only race that i forsee doing is T100 standard duathlon, which is "only" 32km (just under +300m elevation gain)....though such a format is that it's all guns go LT1 to LT2 range you are already warmed up just gun first talk later, nothing else.

WussRedXLi

Some are 85 age group, some 80.

Just some insight to short distance drills by Japs

WussRedXLi

If you are talking about the usual petallar tendon pain (front knee tendon just beneathe the knee cap bump) coz it is "something new that you are doing", can proactively pre-habilitate first by strengthening for 4-8 weeks the usual strengthening exercises

Actually, anything that is "new" can cause this or similar other pain, it is just training error due to overuse.
I even kena before once for cycling, when i over-distanced mostly and maybe also over-intensity in a period of around 4 days.....damn shiok that time if i am not wrong cool weather and so just continued and whacked even.
Literally i more than doubled the distances i usually do on weekdays. That means say you usually do 10k 10k 10k 10k, you went to gun HM HM HM HM.....and at 10k pace. :s22:
(and cyclists would know that this is easily more achievable for cycling than for running, esp those going for new groups' group rides and they are new to training methods or worse are basically clueless as they dont know)

Then kena pain. Took a course of arcoxia 120mg for 2-3 days, got a little better than rested still. Then continued a bit but mild/shorter zone 2 days and it got better over the course of another week. Basically a non-issue.

This is despite quite a fair bit of strengthening and plyometrics done, which helps the musculoskeletal. It will help but it is not a god-send.....and perhaps when you really get into trouble, you wont get into real trouble really deep really fast coz at least you are partially conditioned even though you did not respect the distance/intensity rules, and so it's easily recoverable.

WussRedXLi

Even in cycling, must do single leg calf raises.

But then seriously, in the video the prescribed volume and intensity is nuts (too basic). Just 10 reps of single calf raises unweighted wont do much lah, in my experience.

WussRedXLi

Actually, anything that is "new" can cause this or similar other pain, it is just training error due to overuse.
I even kena before once for cycling, when i over-distanced mostly and maybe also over-intensity in a period of around 4 days.....damn shiok that time if i am not wrong cool weather and so just continued and whacked even.
Literally i more than doubled the distances i usually do on weekdays. That means say you usually do 10k 10k 10k 10k, you went to gun HM HM HM HM.....and at 10k pace. :s22:
(and cyclists would know that this is easily more achievable for cycling than for running, esp those going for new groups' group rides and they are new to training methods or worse are basically clueless as they dont know)

Something like this. Dont try this if you are not conditioned.
Jasper prob able to tahan coz he has tried 200++ kms before.
400km is maciam like running 3 x FMs, just without the impact.

Mephist0pheLes

i asked chatgpt to analyse my jogging stats since i started relearning how to jog 2 weeks ago

📈 Efficiency Progress Summary
🫀 Cardiovascular Efficiency
Avg Heart Rate decreased from 177 → 165 → 171 bpm (with some variation).

Heartbeats per KM dropped from 973.5 → 914.9 overall.

BPM per KM/h dropped from 16.23 → 15.25, showing you're sustaining similar or faster speeds with fewer heartbeats per hour — a strong gain in aerobic efficiency.

✅ Conclusion: Your heart is working more efficiently for the same or faster output.

🦵 Mechanical Efficiency
Cadence rose from 146 → 173 SPM and has stayed consistent — this is in the optimal range.

Stride Length dipped when cadence first rose, but then recovered from 0.97 → 1.09 m — this means you're now sustaining longer strides at high cadence, a hallmark of improved running economy.

Ground Contact Time fell from 292ms → 250ms — quicker foot turnover, less time wasted on the ground.

✅ Conclusion: You're producing more forward movement with quicker, more controlled steps.

🌀 Vertical Motion Control
Vertical Oscillation dropped from 11.2cm → 8.4–8.8cm — big improvement.

Vertical Ratio declined from 8.9% → 8.2% — you're bouncing less relative to your stride length, making your movement more horizontally focused.

✅ Conclusion: You’ve significantly reduced wasted energy from vertical bounce.

📊 Overall Trend
Category Progress
Cardiovascular Cost 🔻 Decreasing
Cadence 🔼 Increased and stable
Stride Length 🔼 Recovered and growing
Ground Contact Time 🔻 Decreasing
Vertical Bounce 🔻 Decreasing
Vertical Ratio 🔻 Decreasing

🏁 Final Verdict
Your run efficiency is improving at a fast and well-balanced rate — you're:

Using less energy (heartbeats) per km,

Running with quicker, more stable mechanics, and

Wasting less energy on vertical motion.

This kind of progression is rare to see this early — especially when cadence changes are involved. If you continue balancing recovery and adaptation, you’re on track to hit a new level of efficiency and endurance soon.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts.