jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

Feel like joining sia.

I can abuse my legs (cycling / running) but i see all those burpees and balls and sleds and upper body stuff my legs jelly liao.
If they include push ups and maybe pull up stations, maybe i might be interested.

WussRedXLi

Runner got hit in the middle of the cycling/cart track. 11pm liao (that's why you see nobody else at the sides and no runner / cycling traffic, if not that area during peak periods is like crazy one).

As usual, all black top to bottom. No lights cliped neither.

I came across this before the SCDF and GBTB/Nparks security carts arrived. Was leaving the scene since nothing that i could do coz a group of people were already with her in the middle of the cycling/cart track protecting her sitting on the floor from being hit further, the SCDF/security buggy then came from Stay By the Bay entrance.

Dont know where popped, the lady was holding her bent arm and covering her face and with some gauze bandages on lower arm when transferred into the ambulance.

Really dont know why STILL have to be in the dead centre of the cycling/cart lane........even though it's already so late and really nobody on the 2 running/walking lanes (RHS of the vid, regulars here very well know the drill lah)

Anyway, this is like the 5th or 6th accident over there that i have come across. Other usual places are the corner at the Marina Barrage and the S curvy area on BEG after the MB bridge. Actually that S curve area my kid and i came across a pretty huge and loud head-on over there before with my kid, the bang sound scared the F out of my kid coz we were just metres away and he nearly cried.......didnt stay for the ambulance coz my kid somewhat affected.

tanminghui1

There is many exercise corner when you run

Which exercise do you use. I use the pull up for strength training. Is the log effective? Any other training?

rarenick

Which exercise do you use. I use the pull up for strength training. Is the log effective? Any other training?

Pull up and log use different muscles (check chatgpt). So do both if u can.

There's no need to cramp all exercises in 1 session. More effective when you spread them throughout the week.

sph777

Runner got hit in the middle of the cycling/cart track. 11pm liao (that's why you see nobody else at the sides and no runner / cycling traffic, if not that area during peak periods is like crazy one).

I came across this before the SCDF and GBTB/Nparks security carts arrived. Was leaving the scene since nothing that i could do coz a group of people were already with her in the middle of the cycling/cart track protecting her sitting on the floor from being hit further, the SCDF/security buggy then came from Stay By the Bay entrance.

Dont know where popped, the lady was holding her bent arm and covering her face and with some gauze bandages on lower arm when transferred into the ambulance.

Really dont know why STILL have to be in the dead centre of the cycling/cart lane........even though it's already so late and really nobody on the 2 running/walking lanes (RHS of the vid, regulars here very well know the drill lah)

Anyway, this is like the 5th or 6th accident over there that i have come across. Other usual places are the corner at the Marina Barrage and the S curvy area on BEG after the MB bridge. Actually that S curve area my kid and i came across a pretty huge and loud head-on over there before with my kid, the bang sound scared the F out of my kid coz we were just metres away and he nearly cried.......didnt stay for the ambulance coz my kid somewhat affected.

Yeah that junction all the way down to barrage, many near misses I have seen. When I run at 5-6am, I keep to the pedestrian zone as much as possible

tanminghui1

Today saw a cyclist nearly hit a pram at sengkang swimming pool cc

Pram turned into cc. Maid is stupid and didn't look. Bicycle speeding all the way and didn't stop or ring. Nearly hit and bicycle guy shouted f loudly.

endo5x5

I use the exercise corners mainly for static stretching. Some push-ups. Then 3 sets of 10x jump squats, fairly good warmup for a run.

Roughly 200m between the exercise corner to my usual start-line, so I jog up to it while letting my watch lock on to a GPS signal, then off I go at training pace.

WussRedXLi

Today saw a cyclist nearly hit a pram at sengkang swimming pool cc

Pram turned into cc. Maid is stupid and didn't look. Bicycle speeding all the way and didn't stop or ring. Nearly hit and bicycle guy shouted f loudly.

For walkway, bikes cannot go fast and around blind corners esp at such areas like ard buildings one lah.
Even for runners it is dangerous coz of potential blind corners, even if running at just 6:00 pace (10kmh) it is risky, much less bicycles.

tanminghui1

For walkway, bikes cannot go fast and around blind corners esp at such areas like ard buildings one lah.
Even for runners it is dangerous coz of potential blind corners, even if running at just 6:00 pace (10kmh) it is risky, much less bicycles.
A lot of inconsiderate cyclists. On weekend I saw many inconsiderate cyclists. One cycles at super high speed and keep shouting keep left. If one day he bang into children confirm jialat. Some parents take children for a walk in park and the children doesn't walk straight

rarenick

If running 10k distance, will u all take pre/post workout supplements? What do u take?

WussRedXLi

If running 10k distance, will u all take pre/post workout supplements? What do u take?

For me is no specific pre or post session supplements taken within 30-60 mins from the session to enhance it, but for sure need to get carbohydrates in within 60 mins to enhance recovery. In fact for me i would take immediately i reach home a small amount (even 3-5 gummies or sweet dried fruit is good), before i bathe / do laundry and then eat something solid food be it soba or instant noodles or ice cream etc.

But supplements taken other parts of the day on a daily basis, got Creatine, beta alanine, D3, Mg, Copper, Zinc, Boron and whey.
Then on some days iron.

WussRedXLi

Not sure about the exact science, but i just follow. No need to take too much of coz, for our level.
60-70g sufficient.
Protein not so much, can take half scoop (12.5 - 15g protein in my case) if that makes you feel "better" that you have done something. As long as daily can hit your 1.2-1.8g/kg targeted range.

For me i view esp for age > 50 (semi or fully) structured training as 40% and nuitrition/diet + sleep and any other misc recovery as 60%. Coz > age 50 really terok in recovery usually.

Case in point, my kid last weekend buang. Just 3 days his wound totally dry liao.
For around the same buang, would size etc. I needed like > 1 week. :s14::s16:
No question > 2X longer needed, possibly 3X even.
We also learned that disc wheel or deep section wheels or not, the initial front burst of a sumatra squall of > gusty / turbulent 30-40kmh wind pretty dangerous and can slap you down if not careful. He wasnt even going that fast as we already 400m away from home and slowing down for a 90 deg turn on Tg pagar rd just after Rapha/MAAP. :unsure:

d0eef0_64077bfd33264307b81a6a7c891eebd4~mv2.jpg

d0eef0_1c444c445d6d42438d7088486c8981c5~mv2.png

Eat your carbs in the 2h after exercise to optimize recovery​

• Feb 26, 2023

🍝 Why is it advisable to eat your carbs right after exercise for optimal recovery? 🔥

📉 During strenuous exercise, you will deplete your glycogen stores. You can see glycogen as super fuel that drives high-intensity muscle contractions. A multitude of studies have shown that when people start exercise with high glycogen stores, performance is optimized.

📈🔁 So, to recover well for a workout the following day (or within a couple hours) you want to replenish glycogen stores a quickly as possible. How? Simply by eating carbohydrates, for instance 2-4 g per kg bodyweight. Interestingly, you want to eat those carbs within the first two hours after exercise, because at that point the abilitity to transport glucose from the bloodstream to the muscles is optimized via GLUT4 [slide 2].

📖 Want to read more, read this gem from Erik Richter and Mark Hargreaves that goes into the detail of glycogen, exercise and GLUT4 transport

PMID: 23899560

Daily_Nutrition_for_Endurance_Athletes_3_600x600.png

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.