jogging and motivation thread

HirotoXeno

Anyone exercise at night?

After dinner 830pm reach home. Then by 1030pm need to go to bed. In between 8.30pm and 10.30pm only got 2 hours. How to manage it such that got time to digest food and not overstrained before sleep?
Night don't eat. Just go run

rarenick

i do intermittent fasting with night runs, but mine is evening run like 5.30 to 6.30pm.
So i eat my last meal (oats) at 3.30pm, then go run at 5.30pm, come back, skip dinner and just drink water.
Wah. I sure faint

WussRedXLi

Yesterday, I mentioned that i made a tweak to my Heart Rate Zones on my Samsung Health app. I switched to Heart Rate reserve option. Previously, it was Based on Max HR.

Based on Samsung Health, Heart Rate Reserve is the difference between your resting heart rate and your maximum heart rate. Heart rate reserve is an indicator of fitness and how hard you're working during exercise.

I asked ChatGPT on which is better to measure Heart Rate Zones, here's the answer:

For the most accurate heart rate zone settings for running—especially if your goal is improving performance, endurance, or fat burn—you should base your zones on Heart Rate Reserve (HRR), which uses both:

• Resting Heart Rate (RHR)
  • Maximum Heart Rate (Max HR)

This method is known as the Karvonen Formula, and it's more personalized than just using a percentage of Max HR alone.

✅ Why Heart Rate Reserve (HRR) is More Accurate:​

1. Takes your fitness level into account
    A lower resting HR generally means you're fitter. HRR reflects this, while Max HR-only methods don't.
  2. Improves zone precision
    Two people with the same Max HR but different resting HRs will have different cardiovascular responses, which HRR captures.

💡 Karvonen Formula (HRR-based Zones):​

\text{Target HR} = ((\text{Max HR} - \text{Resting HR}) \times \% \text{Intensity}) + \text{Resting HR}

🏃‍♂️ Example (plug in your actual numbers):​

• Max HR: 190 bpm
  • Resting HR: 60 bpm

Zone 2 (60–70% HRR):

((190 - 60) \times 0.60) + 60 = 138 bpm
((190 - 60) \times 0.70) + 60 = 147 bpm
\Rightarrow Zone 2 = 138 to 147 bpm

⚙️ How to Set This in Your Watch:​

Most advanced fitness watches (Samsung, Garmin, Polar) let you:

• Manually input Resting HR and Max HR, or
  • Choose “Heart Rate Reserve” as the basis for zones

Make sure to:

1. Set your Resting HR from your true resting state (e.g. right after waking up)
  2. Estimate Max HR from testing (or use 220-age as a rough estimate if unsure)
  3. Select “Heart Rate Reserve” if your device supports it

🧠 Summary:​

MethodUses RHR?More Accurate?Recommended?
% of Max HR only❌❌No
Heart Rate Reserve✅✅ ✅ ✅Yes!

If next time you decide to be more kee siao about running or cycling hobbies......can try getting a lactate meter, esp if you have had experience pricking yourself with a lance to monitor your blood glucose levels while checking for diabetes/prediabetes so it's not a big deal.

This method is the most accurate, and also fastest to track your zones while you are improving fast in a training block that is working well. ie beginner-intermediate gains.
Just every fornight do 1 test during your session is sufficient.

rarenick

About right, what you guys recommend. Slow down pace, lower heart rate, keep in the zones. Just like today, i drop my heart rate, ran more comfortably today, take longer breaks when heart rate goes up.
One thing this video mentioned, it's ego. People don't like the idea of being overtaken and you wanted to force yourself to chase and not lose face. He also said, remove pace indicator from your watch, just focus of the current time and heart rate. Slowly, gradually, you will be faster. Just like what i feel today, slighter faster with a lower heart rate and not focusing on pace.
TLDR; Drop your ego and pace. Don't chase it.

Good.
I learnt the hard way for a few months; unlearn and relearn.
In the beginning it was the ego.
Then the slow running technique.
And finally the strategy of pausing (thru walking longer, sprinting shorter).

WussRedXLi

Maybe 1 day try to test this. Havent tried before.

Temp of 26.1 and around 85% RH (heat index temp of 28.1 deg C)

HR Recovery of 36bpm for me? Tested after having loaded myself up with 40 min worth of 120-125bpm easy session before i steadily ramped it up with approx 2 min effort peaking at 168 bpm before i let it slide down.
(my MHR shd be around 182bpm)

Not sure how the fella in the vid tested with, but his HR recovery was 37.
His results was 99% of the general population and 75% of "elites", whatever that means.

edit - his age 47. Im a bit older at 56.

Sllyo7y.jpg

sskr1kn.jpg

osu9hdp.jpg

R7pKy27.jpg

WussRedXLi

Feel like joining sia.

I can abuse my legs (cycling / running) but i see all those burpees and balls and sleds and upper body stuff my legs jelly liao.
If they include push ups and maybe pull up stations, maybe i might be interested.

WussRedXLi

Runner got hit in the middle of the cycling/cart track. 11pm liao (that's why you see nobody else at the sides and no runner / cycling traffic, if not that area during peak periods is like crazy one).

As usual, all black top to bottom. No lights cliped neither.

I came across this before the SCDF and GBTB/Nparks security carts arrived. Was leaving the scene since nothing that i could do coz a group of people were already with her in the middle of the cycling/cart track protecting her sitting on the floor from being hit further, the SCDF/security buggy then came from Stay By the Bay entrance.

Dont know where popped, the lady was holding her bent arm and covering her face and with some gauze bandages on lower arm when transferred into the ambulance.

Really dont know why STILL have to be in the dead centre of the cycling/cart lane........even though it's already so late and really nobody on the 2 running/walking lanes (RHS of the vid, regulars here very well know the drill lah)

Anyway, this is like the 5th or 6th accident over there that i have come across. Other usual places are the corner at the Marina Barrage and the S curvy area on BEG after the MB bridge. Actually that S curve area my kid and i came across a pretty huge and loud head-on over there before with my kid, the bang sound scared the F out of my kid coz we were just metres away and he nearly cried.......didnt stay for the ambulance coz my kid somewhat affected.

tanminghui1

There is many exercise corner when you run

Which exercise do you use. I use the pull up for strength training. Is the log effective? Any other training?

rarenick

There is many exercise corner when you run
Which exercise do you use. I use the pull up for strength training. Is the log effective? Any other training?

Pull up and log use different muscles (check chatgpt). So do both if u can.

There's no need to cramp all exercises in 1 session. More effective when you spread them throughout the week.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.