jogging and motivation thread

sph777

Yah.. I intend to run at my own pace..

For gels.. I thinking to bring 3.. eat at 7km and 14km.. the last gel will be spare if case need to eat..

Or should eat at 6km, 12km and 18km?
Go with how you feel. When tired and need a boost, just take. Don’t have to go by distance

winningeleven

Including me, that will be three of us with the same goal. Average pace 5:40 to meet 4 hours. So we have to go faster than that. Check point 21 km at 1:58 to 1:59 if able to negative split. Since it's 4 hours, we have to train til our zone 2 is 5:40 at least. If 5:40 is your zone 3, then very hard to achieve. ZOne 2 is the average pace you can sustain at for more than 3hours til legs break down, with proper refuelling and rehydration. That is what we paid SCSM for.
The leg break down (the wall) before 4 hours can happen even if 5:40 is your zone 2, coz lack of endurance training (single session long run >30km or low weekly mileage or lack of specificity training for long run), rehydration and refuelling strategy gone wrong, hot and humid weather, etc.
Once I ran after 15km. Even a slower 5:50 to 6min/km become my zone 3 pace liao.

Ender

Just hoot this for my daugther. Anyone want the best bang for buck exercise watch, this is it imo. Excellent HR monitor, Dual band GPS and barometer for altitude.

HuaweiWatchfit4Lazada.thumb.png.b0577a5aff3064a63cc897bd2076827d.png

rarenick

wow i tried 30 seconds sprint and 30 secs rest, can barely do it.... only did 3 sets
U must be very fit. See AI recommendations.

For sprint interval training, the optimal work-to-rest ratio depends on your fitness level and goals (fat burn, speed, or endurance). Here are the most common sprint-jog interval formats used:
---

🏃‍♂️ Beginner Level (Focus: Fat Loss / Cardiovascular Health)
Sprint: 15–20 seconds
Jog/Walk: 45–60 seconds
Ratio: 1:3 or 1:4
Rounds: 6–10 intervals
Frequency: 2–3 times per week

🏃‍♂️ Intermediate Level (Focus: Speed + Conditioning)

Sprint: 20–30 seconds
Jog: 30–60 seconds
Ratio: 1:1 or 1:2
Rounds: 8–12 intervals

🏃‍♂️ Advanced Level (Focus: Anaerobic Performance / HIIT)

Sprint: 30–40 seconds
Jog: 30–60 seconds
Ratio: 1:1
Rounds: 10–15 intervals

WussRedXLi

wow i tried 30 seconds sprint and 30 secs rest, can barely do it.... only did 3 sets

Heh heh....is not easy, but still possible, just gotta slowly build it up consistently. Also this has a higher risk of injury esp if not strengthening, so do slowly build it up.

But as mentioned yesterday, the good thing is that this does not need long amounts of time like 20-30km long runs so this is definitely "try able" by the vast majority of people who are interested in this area.

Anyway, if not doing advanced levels of racing whatsoever, just the mere fact that one is newly attempting this is a win, coz it open doors to something that you have not done and you just might incorporate it into your routine in future, albeit such training is only occasional in nature. But it usually would bring benefits in multiple areas, simply coz the vast majority of joggers wont be doing this so it is ultimately a new stimulus.

When you have started it and you enjoy it (i mean most folks like to run fast and sense of speed....), there is likeliness that you will continue. Of coz as mentioned above, dont kill it by risking injury.

WussRedXLi

Once I ran after 15km. Even a slower 5:50 to 6min/km become my zone 3 pace liao.

I am wondering if you guys have come across this Durability term. I see it quite often in cycling channels and even triathlons, but the more mainstream/casual running youtube channels i rarely or more like have never come across them using this term.

It sounds like the good old general term "endurance" to us casual folks but apparently there is a deeper meaning to it. Or even the layman term "stamina".

eg just one of the quick googled results
https://athletica.ai/unlocking-endurance-durability-the-missing-link-in-endurance-performance/

And of coz, one of the main thing involved and is important to us is HR and effort decoupling.
https://www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/aerobic-endurance-and-decoupling/

WussRedXLi

Remember, you will ultimately progress, just a matter of more or less depending on the training, if you are consistent.

Ender

I am wondering if you guys have come across this Durability term. I see it quite often in cycling channels and even triathlons, but the more mainstream/casual running youtube channels i rarely or more like have never come across them using this term.

It sounds like the good old general term "endurance" to us casual folks but apparently there is a deeper meaning to it. Or even the layman term "stamina".

eg just one of the quick googled results
https://athletica.ai/unlocking-endurance-durability-the-missing-link-in-endurance-performance/

And of coz, one of the main thing involved and is important to us is HR and effort decoupling.
https://www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/aerobic-endurance-and-decoupling/
I believe when one has already been running of some years, and has a good idea of their zone intensities, running near LT1, below or above depending on form, yield the best benefit for steady state HR training. TAO training appears to base all my economy runs, the easy or fillers runs to most of us, at this LT1. It's faster than our conversational pace, and SRY answered my query, it's also the pace you can race at 3 hours.
With TAO training, my HR remained relative steady at 5:38 average pace til 29km, when my legs hardened and cramped.

Endurance, my own concept is there are different type of endurance. I believe Winningeleven HR rises after 15km is aerobic endurance, which I think consistent long, easy runs, at LT1 pace helps. Need alot of hours in it. My SCSM case was muscle fatigue endurance, which was not enough single session long runs. TAO only gave me up to 25km long run. It goes against conventional wisdom that a couple of >30km is needed during peak phase.

milkiee

Including me, that will be three of us with the same goal. Average pace 5:40 to meet 4 hours. So we have to go faster than that. Check point 21 km at 1:58 to 1:59 if able to negative split. Since it's 4 hours, we have to train til our zone 2 is 5:40 at least. If 5:40 is your zone 3, then very hard to achieve. ZOne 2 is the average pace you can sustain at for more than 3hours til legs break down, with proper refuelling and rehydration. That is what we paid SCSM for.
The leg break down (the wall) before 4 hours can happen even if 5:40 is your zone 2, coz lack of endurance training (single session long run >30km or low weekly mileage or lack of specificity training for long run), rehydration and refuelling strategy gone wrong, hot and humid weather, etc.

wah jialat. 5:40 is not my zone 2 pace leh.
my zone 2 pace is around 6:00 to 6:30 for my 2 hours run with just water hydration.

i felt quite fresh after the run for 2XU HM at 5:30 pace though with gels and stuff.
then again i only maintain that pace for 18km at high zone 3.

rarenick

The regular runners here, can I assume u all not taking any long term medications? All the blood tests and BP readings all flying colours?

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.