Some late night fast runs

0OYGIWS.jpg

WussRedXLi

Hironaka.....new PR for her
shd be around 8:48
Not quite Tanaka's level (google says 8:33, Japan national record set a few months ago) but still dang fast.

WussRedXLi

Hironaka.....new PR for her
shd be around 8:48
Not quite Tanaka's level (google says 8:33, Japan national record set a few months ago) but still dang fast.

^^^^^^^
Just calculated. 2:56 pace

How fast is it? It should be more than sufficient for a sub 7 2.4k.

WussRedXLi

Japan really crazy standard one.

Pri 5-6 girls can run nearly 3 flat for 1k.
Or a 2:30 800

If i go Japan, better choose to run with pri school children and even then only with girls........high chance pri sch boys already smoke me. :oops: :unsure:

Bonus

2:34 1st place for our uni girls

sph777

My 1st marathon. Never trained Way back in 2002. . Just did a few 6 to 8km run per week.
Finished time .6hr 45 mins .

2nd marathon . SCSM 2013. Also didn't train . 5hr 50 mins.

3rd marathon was SCSM 2019. The only standchart marathon that held at evening. Got train and ran up to 30km but in the end .suffered leg cramps at 26km and finished at 5hr 10mins . If I didn't suffered cramps. My expected timing should be under 5 hours

4th marathon. Sundown 2023. I didn't train enough. Only ran 21km max . Finished at 5hr 25mins. Halfway thru the run . I feel my heart was very tight and I told myself . It was just a run and there is always another time to run .

So coming SCSM 2025 is probably a very good chance for me to improve my timing as long I maintained my running routine and really trained well for it.
I also only finished one marathon. SCSM 2022. 3:45

Sundown 2023- tried but plantar was super pain. Fell out after 10km
SCSM 23- son born that same week so didn't sign up
SCSM 24- son had covid leading up, I myself had headache and fever, fell out at 18km to not risk it

SCSM 25: gonna try to sub 3:30

sph777

Wah so fast. Your 2.4k is 8min?

I want to cry when I see jap pri school gals standard and also your (older than me) standard. My fastest when young was only 9.49 min for 2 4km. Jin emo
@WussRedXLi is a super late bloomer haha. If he had this timings when he was younger, I think he can push to be elite athlete

winningeleven

I also only finished one marathon. SCSM 2022. 3:45

Sundown 2023- tried but plantar was super pain. Fell out after 10km
SCSM 23- son born that same week so didn't sign up
SCSM 24- son had covid leading up, I myself had headache and fever, fell out at 18km to not risk it

SCSM 25: gonna try to sub 3:30
Wow. already achieved under 4 hours marathon!

And u must be super ready and trained hard to aim for 3.30 !

All I know that once I able to do a sub 4 full marathon. I will not run a full marathon again.

sph777

Wow. already achieved under 4 hours marathon!

And u must be super ready and trained hard to aim for 3.30 !

All I know that once I able to do a sub 4 full marathon. I will not run a full marathon again.
Hard to say. 3:30 was my goal last year too but fell out. See how again this year

WussRedXLi

Wah so fast. Your 2.4k is 8min?

I want to cry when I see jap pri school gals standard and also your (older than me) standard. My fastest when young was only 9.49 min for 2 4km. Jin emo

Heh.....NSF that time my best was what......mid 10 mins or something. Usually is 11-12 mins range, 12 mins range was just pass (depending on Cat Z, X or Y, that would be 12:20, 12:30, 12:40......nowadays a bit different coz even 17 mins flat, you technically can also pass if your sit up and push up solid).

Yeah these shorter distances i am ok. Actually speedwise i was only able to manage 3:00 pace for 1k distance intervals only recently....last time i could only manage 500-600m, then slowly managed to increase distance. Longer stuff, esp my 10k timing drop off rather drastically, can see a hint of it for 5k probably.

One (main) plausible reason is that my lactate threshold is not as developed and trained as it needs to be for "real" endurance events......which is understandable and makes sense coz i hate the longer intervals all along past few years. But it's fine coz nowadays i dont even attempt 10k, my last attempt/training for running 10k was 2023 for AHM.
Lately past 3 months for cycling i had been doing microintervals 40/20s style, while it's extremely hard and horrible, i feel more enjoyable than 5-10 min style.......and of coz you know how enjoyment factors into training in reality (of coz take care not to overtrain or more like under-recover as my belief is that it's not easy to overtrain). High HRs for sure, but i am not sure how that translates to risks of having cardiac events, esp for me i dont have comorbidities and having done entry-level treadmill tests (TMX i think they call it).

But i think makes sense also, since 2019 i started with sprint interval training "consistently" (but not exactly the running that folks here are doing) before i started running proper in late 2022. During covid period i was doing racewalking though, but then i was also doing some interval style stuff be it trying to keep up with runners or even some max effort/neuromuscular sprint type racewalking for short distances. I TTed a few times in 2023 for 2.4 and it was in the 9 min range then.

But also remember these are all GPS times so usually what this means is that it turns up short a bit. Or looking at it at another angle is that the timing is a bit optimistic. But sometimes i do run 5.04, 5.03k, 10.08.
Unfortunately if one is anal about such exactly accuracy coz they wanna track fitness/performance trends, it si not so easy unless if you specifically fix a start and end spot that does not change and then you stopwatch it.
Anyway I managed to hit before 9:58, 10:13, 10:04 for 3k this year. 5k is 17:40 (rarely attempt this after Apr 2025 also liao). 10k is Zzzz already, 38:20 iirc....but that i also stopped this ard mid last year.
Still, you can see that the trend of the drop off quite significant.

Oh yeah one other metric is cadence, the steps per minute. Neuromuscularly (or at least neurologically firing), i am able to max out at 200spm range. The turnover ba. Some folks cant even turn their legs that fast, never mind stride length, so even for a 75-100m sprint there is a limit. For racewalking during 2020-2022 i could handle max 200-205 range for short / sprint intervals. But of coz this matter only more for sprinting till maybe like 200m.... Not sure how much it matters much for running fast, this is not super different from cycling in which you are sprinting/cycling fast trying to chase breakaways or closing gaps up for the next 500-1km or just cycling fast in a hammer ride. Some just cannot dish out 100-120rpm but still exerting a decent amt of force.
But of coz dont get me wrong, i am also happy with my 65-80rpm cycling as well, sometimes grinding as low as 55-60....depends on the situation/road/pcn that i am on and my level of muscular fatigue ie cycling for how long liao etc.

edit - forgot about this........i think easier to understand than my above WOT. 🤣
It's always better to get your LT2 and VO2max as close as possible.
This is very evident if you watch T100 pros racing, their HR maciam like !%@#@ close to MHR as they'd display it as a % of MHR, maciam "how is this even possible for 3hrs" from our amateur runner/cycling pov simply coz our Lactate/anaerobic threshold way less developed. And unsurprisingly, their VO2max also sky high, basically their bar is so damn high wrt us.
But yeah it is possible, that is why they are elite.

https://www.trainingpeaks.com/blog/all-you-need-to-know-about-lt-and-vo2-max/

sales69

Japan really crazy standard one.

Pri 5-6 girls can run nearly 3 flat for 1k.
Or a 2:30 800

If i go Japan, better choose to run with pri school children and even then only with girls........high chance pri sch boys already smoke me. :oops: :unsure:

Bonus

2:34 1st place for our uni girls

Wow the 1st placed Jap xmm turned on turbo at 600m. Damn good sustained burst.

At 3.30s pace, I'm already punchek at 300m. 😂

WussRedXLi

I want to cry when I see jap pri school gals standard

PS. BTW, for our local pov/context, dont be too hung up about overseas standards esp African and JP. Their environment not really normal one. heh......
China not super good in running wrt its 1.4b pop, but for racewalking they quite solid esp for girls.

WussRedXLi

power siol... you are damn fit... 6:27 for 2km, approx. 8min for 2.4km which most of us can't even do so at our prime teen and young adult age.
respect!

Shorter distance only bro...... so still manageable in terms of training in that.
Dont know leh....generally folks as they get older they like longer endurance events more, and then if possible still got energy and no bonk/cramp then VTEC at the end.
But for me i just like to cut it short and just open VTEC, something like that. 🤣

Actually, also there is one aspect i believe in..... Since there is nothing much to "progressively overload", at least not in the distance realm so what is left is the pace realm, so in terms of distances-duration relationship it's easier for us to fit it into our work-family schedules. eg Long runs if you specialize 5k seriously 7-8k also can cut it. I think this is one major aspect.

Now i scale back a bit 3k you threshold run 5-6k already quite solid, VO2max or anaerobic intervals same. Wont take as much time, and the recovery aspect (the other 50-60%) also same same. Esp for us older guys, sure take longer.
Based on this training and recovery duration you already won 50% of the game liao. Remember, you can train a lot, but if under-recover that is it......not much different even if you cut training duration/volume by 50%.

ps. Also can take a bit into account the weather here. Shorter distance your body probably more difficult to suffer the effects of dehydration lah, affected by heat temps la, and below 10k even if you have not fueled properly also not big issue. But dont get me wrong, shorter distances got its nuances as well, and same those areas need to be trained. Just that i feel easier to fit into our working/family schedules here where work-life balance is quite the bonus rather than a norm.

But for cycling there are quite a few differences, that one i can go longer range. Brain wise i enjoy more and so naturally you would wanna do more volume at the very least (pull factor and get drawn to it instead of just needing to start and finish the session in the week) , and also more cooling, can last longer. How much and in what areas it carryies over to running i dont really know. Of coz got some shared differences like able to digest/absorb nutrition, heat adaptation over longer distances in that the body is heat soaked, mental fortitude, cardiopulmonary, muscle fibre composition of major muscle grps shared by both running/cycling. etc. Carry over i think at least on paper would be much easier if you do both running and cycling together. Pure true-blue cyclists usually you'd read cannot carry over to running that well.....and even if aerobically can do, their bones and esp tendons/fascia pecah first coz usually the case would not be anywhere progressively overload one.......ie a regular ok cyclist try doing a 10k and gun it in the way that they do their smash rides kinda RPE, yes initially maybe can run fast (heck even regular runners sure run fast, it takes heck loads of discipline to run easy paces man lol) , but then by 7-8th km start to pain liao, either walk then or even DNF. 🤣
There actually is a joke regarding cyclists doing running, and also swimmers too....yes some of them sub elites have crazy aerobic systems and their mitochondrial/aerobic energy systems might be solid.....but that's about it. Next few days bai kar bai chew.

WussRedXLi

KNN her unofficial non-race PB Personal Best for 1k is atually 3:03 pace lol
3:09 is offical race PR, Personal Record.
Pri 5

Of coz for sure this is a fast xmm, imagine their prodigy level xmms or teens. For eg Kubo for 800m. Or Tanaka for 5k etc. Their ekiden level like dime a dozen......

xllms

hahahahhah QIAODAN 飞影PB3.0 ok for slower pace like me? now is PB5.0 liao???
can consider the following Qiaodan shoes
a) 领航600 (suitable for pace 6min/km and below, wide foot, good cushioning)
b) 幻影2.0 (lightweight stability shoe)
c) 强风3.0TR (non plated version of 强风,sort of a lightweight all-purpose trainer)
- i don't like the thick flat insole and have replaced a thinner, firmer insole with arch support for better stability
- if you want to try with nylon plated, can try 强风3 which is lighter and runs more naturally with the nylon plate. But i think 强风3 is a meant to run faster than your desired pace.

DigDub

Wah finally see the Nike pegasus premium in the flesh.
6Z4Da2m.jpeg
Went for a short 3km jog in them. Bouncy soft foam like Adidas evo sl. The air zoom layer provides spring back. The air zoom gives spring back action faster than foam, so running in them has a fun and springy feel, legs also feel less tired. It's quite comfortable during run. People with wide feet could find the toe box width a bit narrow as it tapers at the toes area, unlike most running shoes which are more roomy. I feel they are more stable than evo sl, but not as stable as superblast 2. Normal runners should have no issues with its stability. And coming to the biggest complaint about this shoes - the weight. Frankly speaking, I don't feel they are heavy. The bouncy and springy ride also makes helps make it feel lighter during run. Probably have to try longer distance to feel the weight.

Aesthetic wise, it looks like the air max 97 shoes with its fully exposed air zoom layer. So it serves well as a good casual athleisure shoes as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.