jogging and motivation thread

winningeleven

my thinking is a bit like tat also. but wun run so little lah. at least to my max whereby every km drop a few km. then walk and jog to continue if possible. just scare that cramp nia.
I ran In total 4 marathons . Not a single marathon I finished without problem.
1st one was the worst . not only cramped but also blisters on both feet. During that year 2002. Not many running shoes and everyone said Asics kayano was good and I worn it for the race day. Only 10 years later in 2013. I realized gel kayano was the wrong shoes. It is a stability shoe where it didn't suit my running style.

Then the 2nd marathon was in 2013. Also gave up mid way at the east coast park..that was around 18km mark. The weather was damn hot and horrible. I finished the race in 5hr 50 mins. Better than my 1st which was 6hr 45 mins.

3rd was the 2019. The only Stanchart marathon held at night. I trained for it and ran 30km long run 2 times in preparation for it. My projected timing should be 4hr 15 to 4hr 30mins. In the end. I suffered cramp on the 26km mark and had to jog/ walk all the way .Finished in 5hr 10 mins... My target was below 5 hours..

4th one was sundown . I believed should be year 2023..I didn't have time to train and only ran up to 21km only. After halfway thru the run that was about 23km . I felt my heart was damn tight. I told myself I had to listen to my body and soon began to walk . In the end. I finished in 5hr 20mins. If I felt ok that night. I should be able to finish 5hrs.

I always tell myself. It is just a run. No need to push ownself until collapse . There is always another race 😉

WussRedXLi

4th one was sundown . I believed should be year 2023..I didn't have time to train and only ran up to 21km only. After halfway thru the run that was about 23km . I felt my heart was damn tight. I told myself I had to listen to my body and soon began to walk . In the end. I finished in 5hr 20mins. If I felt ok that night. I should be able to finish 5hrs.

For me i'd have just DNFed there and then. lol
Maybe even ask for ambulance call to go check..... got some biomarkers to check for silent heart attacks etc.
I'd love to get to the bottom of any. (my uncle kena an episode of silent one prior to the major one, forgot what is the enzyme protein responsible for that, can check up to historically 2 weeks prior to the blood test)

edit - oh i rem now, is called troponin.

basic___

when one perspire buckets in super hot humid weather, always good to replenish water and be aware of one’s physical condition, eg. any signs of fatigue, giddiness, etc
Nowadays for long runs more than 15km, I bring a small running bottle out. It is a bit annoying to hold something while running but the weather is way too humid and hot to ignore it

WussRedXLi

Anyway, just remembered this....... for those who are afraid of heat in your races can watch this. eg WCH in SCSM, T100 esp the 100km triathlon run leg portion which is absolutely brutal coz of both race length and later start times, the 2 types of duatlhons still ok.....

2nd vid states the "dangers" of heat training. Got physiological factors to look out for, but for the scientific/data minded can keep to 38.5 so that you are not undertraining or fatally overheating (> 39 deg C) with sensors. 2nd vid summaries the heat injury signs

WussRedXLi

https://www.trainerroad.com/blog/coach-chads-strength-training-recommendations-for-cyclists/

Came across this.

For running, my guess is that you also gotta add in calves (targetting the soleus esp) and hamstrings. Anterior tibs if you want for injury and muscle imbalance prevention esp if you are really going for the calves.

Also, in 2023 and even 2024, i was doing reps 12 to even 15-18. Now i do things heavier and even as near as ~ 4 months ago i was going for 8 reps. After which recently i was trying 6 reps.

For me i also choose 1 warm up set, 2 working sets. If not feeling fresh i just do 1 working set. the 2 sets is just "for insurance".
Read somewhere that the gains really diminish past 2 sets and actually the first working set really nets you the most gains. (i alternate between upper vs lower body so weekly vol that'd be 3 x 2 = 6 at least, or 4 x 2 = 8)

Convenient strength calculator from TrainerRoad for cyclists
https://www.trainerroad.com/strength-training-calculator

Ueq2FvX.jpg

QQAYyP4.jpg

11S35IR.jpg

eQAg0pV.jpg

WussRedXLi

Sufficient or junk volume? You can have a lot of volume but still create a low stimulus (at best).....which you are already doing in your main sports anyway which has lagi more volume. Also not forgetting the neuromuscular aspect.

Lagi more hardcore

tanminghui1

I saw a video about 3 china guy testing the 1mile 4min speed on treadmill. The treadmill cannot support this speed so they set it to max. It so fast that 3 2.30 marathon guy cannot even last 20sec

WussRedXLi

Ouch for the chio bu. Somemore quite a fair bit of road rash, and deep too, sure scar one.

WussRedXLi

I saw a video about 3 china guy testing the 1mile 4min speed on treadmill. The treadmill cannot support this speed so they set it to max. It so fast that 3 2.30 marathon guy cannot even last 20sec

How about this treadmill?

Cadence = ~ 290

Neuro baby, neuro

WussRedXLi

Is 22. Even 22 didn't match the speed of the woman

Wait.....22mph or 22kmh. Usually normal treadmills dont go that fast

Oh shd be 22kmh for those runners.
The speed of 1 mile in 4 minutes is approximately
24.14 km/h

Faith Kipyegon was trying for that speed, 24.14kmh for 1 mile (4 min mile)

Pace would be 2:29 min/km.

tanminghui1

Wait.....22mph or 22kmh. Usually normal treadmills dont go that fast

Oh shd be 22kmh for those runners.
The speed of 1 mile in 4 minutes is approximately
24.14 km/h

Faith Kipyegon was trying for that speed, 24.14kmh for 1 mile (4 min mile)
Ya should be 22km hr. My bad

WussRedXLi

Interesting ......seems those few 2:30 runners were literally relying significant amts on their ATP-PC system to maintain that speed. And when it falls solely on the glycolytic energy system (and a little aerobic energy system), it was insufficient to produce and sustain that kind of power in order to maintain the speed. Too much lactate being produced as well coz over effort.

WussRedXLi

In 200-meter sprint races, elite male sprinters typically produce a blood lactate concentration of around 10.3 mmol/L according to research published by the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This is higher than the concentration seen after a 100-meter sprint (8.5 mmol/L). The increase in lactate concentration is correlated with the average velocity sustained over the race.

A 400-meter sprint results in a significant production of lactate, with post-race blood lactate levels typically reaching 12-25 mmol/L, according to ScienceDirect.com and RunningFront. This high level of lactate indicates a substantial reliance on anaerobic energy production during the race. The exact amount varies between individuals and depends on factors like gender and training.

In an 800-meter race, a runner's blood lactate concentration can reach levels around 15.53 mmol/L, according to one study. This is a significant amount, reflecting the high-intensity effort required for the event. The 800m is a middle-distance event where both anaerobic and aerobic energy systems are heavily involved. While lactate production is a byproduct of this energy production, it's important to note that lactate itself doesn't cause muscle fatigue, but rather the buildup of hydrogen ions that lowers the pH of the blood.

In a 1500-meter run, athletes typically produce a significant amount of lactate, with concentrations reaching upwards of 15 mmol/L. This high lactate concentration is a result of the intense anaerobic metabolism required to sustain the race. While the exact amount varies between individuals and depends on factors like training and pacing, the 1500m run generally results in a substantial increase in blood lactate levels.

In a 3000-meter run, the amount of lactate produced varies, but it's generally lower than in shorter, more intense events like the 400-meter run. Specifically, a study on under-20 male track athletes found that the peak blood lactate concentration after a 3000-meter steeplechase (a variation of the 3000m) was 11.87 mmol/L, according to the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This is significantly lower than the peak concentration of 18.27 mmol/L observed after a 400-meter run in the same study.

In a 5000-meter (5K) race, blood lactate levels typically reach around 6.5 mmol/L at the finish line, according to RunningFront. This level is significantly lower than what might be seen in shorter, more intense races like the 400m, where lactate levels can reach 25 mmol/L.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.