jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

yesterday felt sore in my left knee when squatting down, while doing laundry

still went ahead to run in the evening, felt OK

Tightness, discomfort while squatting down.....problem persists and worsens then becomes pain....then difficult to stand back up and affects daily life (squatting down no issue tho). You walk no issue no feeling one....is only when it is at the extreme ROM flexion end. Same common issue/feeling with cyclists.

Is inflammation....... root cause you gotta nail it down eventually if it becomes a recurring issue. Or maybe it can be solved with specific strengthening of say anterior tibs or glute medius coz got some small tracking problem of the petallar and excerbated by exercise? You gotta try yourself see what works if it recurs again.

Coz for elderly (> age 65), it can more easily turn into a runaway condition, that's always what happens to my father. Not sure why, just guessing maybe old the recovery process not so power so not so difficult to heal.
Then need NSAIDs etc, bo bian one coz runaway condition and then affect daily life.

Is can run/cycle no issue, but regress the intensity/volume best, my experience.

Tudo88

How do people hit like 100km/week mileage? I am running 6 days a week and 80km is like my peak. Double sessions a day is out of the question for working people. My easy runs are usually 12-13km. So it's either up the mileage on the easy runs or do double long runs.

2 easy runs
1 interval sessions
1 threshold
1long run
1 recovery

sph777

How do people hit like 100km/week mileage? I am running 6 days a week and 80km is like my peak. Double sessions a day is out of the question for working people. My easy runs are usually 12-13km. So it's either up the mileage on the easy runs or do double long runs.

2 easy runs
1 interval sessions
1 threshold
1long run
1 recovery
I think it's both. Increase mileage on easy runs and on days that they are more free do morning and evening runs

sph777

A lot of his runs are ~15km+. Each week will do a 20km long run at low 5 minute pace. Doesn't really go that slow, so able to clock the mileage without taking too much time.

His training breakdown:
  • Long runs are >20km and done at around marathon pace
  • Speed sessions done in FFRC/ASICS club running with short recovery period. FFRC usually has a 3:1 or 2:1 run/rest cycle and ASICS club usually 1 min rest.
  • Interval sessions are longer (FFRC does 1.2-1.5km repeats, while ASICS does >2-3km repeats).
  • Easy/recovery runs are 10-15km and done at low 5 minute pace.
What I think is important is that if gunning for marathon then long run should ideally be 20km building up to 30km, helps a lot with pace consistency and avoid hitting the wall.

Longer interval splits benefit a lot more than shorter splits, given that you are not striving for VO2 max pace in the marathon. Have to build up both the distance in each split + sets over time.
@Tudo88 @Kuudere posted before of some running club guy's 100km per week workouts

Tudo88

I think it's both. Increase mileage on easy runs and on days that they are more free do morning and evening runs
If do double long runs in a week sure can hit. That's like close to 60% of the 100km mileage already.

kkkkdllmkkkk

Hmm showed on my youtube's first page. (prob coz i was searching SCSM 2 days ago)

HM, 8km in @ 7:30 pace (same as the fella asking) and walked after that. 3hrs finish time.
So guess if walk another 21km it might be 4hrs max.

After collecting the goodies and sat on Padang field, can see the cloud cover cleared and it was HOT liao. Just before 5am start time for his Pen D ......3 hrs so that'd be 8.30am. Anyway srsly speaking it's best for folks to be mindful and choose correct corresponding pens if deciding not to run or not properly trained etc....

Think the folks here also mentioned by 9 plus it was really sweltering.

7:30 pace is like my jogging pace liao...

xllms

if one is able to do a double session on weekday, eg. 2x10km then one of the weekends, do LSD, eg. 25-30km, already cover 45-50km. Rest of the days consistently cover 10km, more or less reach 100km/week.

winningeleven

2 easy runs
1 interval sessions
1 threshold
1long run
1 recovery

To hit 100km per week. I need to quit my job . My max probably is 60km per week .

A long run. 30 to 32 km
A HM 21km
A easy or recovery run 10km

Ender

For slower runners, especially if our zone 2 is around 6 min/km or slower, I advocate training volume by duration. If we follow the mileage, like 100km a week, our training load are going to be very high compare to elite runners. e.g. Their easy days zone 2 for 1 hour can cover 15km. Our similar effort zone 2 easy run for 1 hour is less than 10km.
Likewise if they do 30km LSD, it can be around 2 hours of zone2. If we want to follow mileage and do similar volume of 30km in our zone 2 it may take almost 3 hours. At 3 hours of zone2 for non elite, the later part of the workout will drift to zone 3 coz we are enduring afor 3 hours instead of 2 hours. Our training load is significant higher than the elite runners and hence body is more beat up than elite runner for the same 30km.

Now I just call my runs more than 1:45 hours as long runs, instead base on distance.

Tudo88

if one is able to do a double session on weekday, eg. 2x10km then one of the weekends, do LSD, eg. 25-30km, already cover 45-50km. Rest of the days consistently cover 10km, more or less reach 100km/week.
Double sessions in a day is really quite shag to be honest. I tried before and realised it's not feasible for me at least.

xllms

Double sessions in a day is really quite shag to be honest. I tried before and realised it's not feasible for me at least.
done once never going to try again, too old for such intensity
if i ever do it one fine day, i am pretty sure i will rest the next day 🤣
young ppl can try

Skyrillex

2 easy runs
1 interval sessions
1 threshold
1long run
1 recovery
U2hA77z.png

3SeaO76.png

Here is my mileage for last week.
Sunday - 14km easy treadmill @ 1.5%
Monday - 12km tempo run
Tuesday - 18km run with hills
Wednesday - 8km recovery (Was quite shag this day)
Thursday - 10km tempo run
Friday - 6km easy treadmill @ 2% (Busy day)
Saturday - 8km easy treadmill @ 1.5%
- 26km negative split long run (5min to 4.30min pace)
Easily 100km for the week, but no intervals so i think not the best reference haha.

For your case I think its easily just up easy runs mileage, reduce injury risk also.
Or up mileage on 1 of your easy runs and long run works also.

WussRedXLi

For me is 12.5hrs cumulative for Mon-Fri at night, if take 5:30 pace that'd be 136km. If take 5:00 pace that'd be 150km. Within 5k, 5:00 is easy but the cardiac drift slowly creeps up. Anyway i dont do really long distance, even though technically 5k is long distance. Of coz i dont do that in reality, 12.5hrs is for my cycling.

Then weekends is just joyride (ie junk miles) with my kid, 6-8hrs. Coz he is not fast, moving speed is avg 22-25kmh nia.

One weekday morning prior to work i'd go gun fast running, be it SIT + intervals or LT2. Needs to be speed one, for neuro, RE etc.
Also run to and from work including lunchtime where i run home for makan and back, but that is really easy pace. That's how i get ~ 30km running in. (running theorectically does improves cycling as there is some carry over)

So if i were to be a kee siao runner with some workouts/thresholds, possibly over 180km / week. Of coz, legs pecah first. Running is not like cycling, in which the latter is non-impact / weight bearing.

Anyway, my cycling volume is not even a lot. But really not healthy for some cyclists, unfortunately most of the cycling events are like that, maciam way more energy expenditure than even a 42.195k FM.

WussRedXLi

Also, 2.5hrs each night cycling (i did close to 3hrs just now actually), much easier to carry your water (ice cold water also can) together with you. If i go kee siao i can carry 2.8L worth of liquids by screwing on the downtube/seat stay holders and take 2 additional bottles there, usually i mount 2 holders at the back of saddle rails coz of aerodynamics. But usually the 2 bottles mounted to the saddle rails is sufficient, just refill, sure got chance. Back pocket jerseys you wanna stuff anything also can......some even stuff into the jersey. lol. If got money, just stop by the hawker ctr or petrol kiosks or 7-11.
Ultra distances 3-6hrs no issue if you wanna go crazy...then maybe need 4 bottles for extra insurance coz then can carry 1-2 as liquid fuel/electrolytes eg isotonics, Pokka fuji apple, the rest plain water.....1 can of red bull/coke/Mug root beer at the back jersey pockets etc

Of coz, ultra runners also can carry 3L water bladders and foodstuff, but good luck with the load. I'd hate to torture myself like that daily. Of coz, you can plan the journey and stop by 7-11, hawker etc....... but it's gonna get expensive man. Either that or you loop ECP, MBS or similar and drink water from the toilets.

sph777

U2hA77z.png

3SeaO76.png

Here is my mileage for last week.
Sunday - 14km easy treadmill @ 1.5%
Monday - 12km tempo run
Tuesday - 18km run with hills
Wednesday - 8km recovery (Was quite shag this day)
Thursday - 10km tempo run
Friday - 6km easy treadmill @ 2% (Busy day)
Saturday - 8km easy treadmill @ 1.5%
- 26km negative split long run (5min to 4.30min pace)
Easily 100km for the week, but no intervals so i think not the best reference haha.

For your case I think its easily just up easy runs mileage, reduce injury risk also.
Or up mileage on 1 of your easy runs and long run works also.
That's why you're the closest among us to hit sub 3. Zero90 is alr there. I think @Kuudere can also if he really trains for marathon.

WussRedXLi

So this could a possible the reason why some of us cannot get those fast times for endurance events be it HM/FM/cycling/triathlons/duathlons. Not really talking about a 4 hr+ FM.......faster than that.

They found that they (non pros, but pretty experienced amateurs and most probably not in the recreational realm) could not utilize more than 44-46g / hr. Just training your gut to stomach and holding it in and not merlion might not be the root cause.

edit - not sure if Connor was ex pro or national level or what....... but his might be a bit skewed, his mid 200 watts (260W for the test) is like his zone 2 iirc. He looked like he was just chilling. And yeah, while he was posing to lie down on the floor after the lab test trying to look wasted, his face still got smile one.....basket.
GTN folks not so much, but most of the GCN folks are powerhouses even if now "retired".

zAemcGx.jpg

8833jkg.jpg

WussRedXLi

To hit 100km per week. I need to quit my job . My max probably is 60km per week .

There is another method wo quitting.

Get a job that is very close to your home. Run to work. If coy is within 1.2km, lunch hour is flexi or home got cook (the culture here is 1.5-2hrs, can nap occasionally after lunch) then can run back home as well, coz can quick shower. If coy is within 3k, running is possible, esp nowadays all these buildings got shower facilities, coz bike commuting is already there and you can see ECP/MBS and Rail Corridor folks doing that but mainly is ang mohs. Only thing is if rain then take public tpt.

All these should count for something at least, coz it's Mon-Fri, month after month year after year.
Yes, you'd also do your normal sessions on top of this.

If job is not demanding, no OT, can even do strengthening in office....... (one bro in this thread and me doing this, possible)

But then issue is, high chance of being pok / no career one. 🤣 But something has to give.

Either that or gotta be some ah sia kia or family needs to be financially free or something.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.