jogging and motivation thread

WussRedXLi

U think he got chance to break Ben Khoo record?

Later ba.....his first full IM. His 18K run leg this year T100 SG faster than Ben though, that one is more of a heat training/heat management thing. So as usual, heat trained here, but need to go overseas to PR. Maciam like altitude training like that.

Both pax swim legs supposed to be their weakest, so fair enough.

winningeleven

There is another method wo quitting.

Get a job that is very close to your home. Run to work. If coy is within 1.2km, lunch hour is flexi or home got cook (the culture here is 1.5-2hrs, can nap occasionally after lunch) then can run back home as well, coz can quick shower. If coy is within 3k, running is possible, esp nowadays all these buildings got shower facilities, coz bike commuting is already there and you can see ECP/MBS and Rail Corridor folks doing that but mainly is ang mohs. Only thing is if rain then take public tpt.

All these should count for something at least, coz it's Mon-Fri, month after month year after year.
Yes, you'd also do your normal sessions on top of this.

If job is not demanding, no OT, can even do strengthening in office....... (one bro in this thread and me doing this, possible)

But then issue is, high chance of being pok / no career one. 🤣 But something has to give.

Either that or gotta be some ah sia kia or family needs to be financially free or something.
Very impossible for me. My work location is very inaccessible that there is no walking path or track unless I run on the road .

I guess only those who is self employed . Being a own boss can afford to put in a lot of time for it.

Most of the time. My weekly mileage is about 40km.

WussRedXLi

Pretty good video for those who have lower mileages or not doing many sessions per week.

Ender touched on this like last week also i think.......

Might be one of the main reasons why not improving sufficiently / plateaued.
Quite a few wondering why are they not getting faster/fitter when they are Z2 run-walk model 3 - 4 times a week (3-6k possibly) and terrified of injury (rightfully so regardless) of the faster stuff maybe not confident of progressive loading or no time for strength/conditioning/prehab. Not to say soley Z2 easy would not work over very long periods of time, just that people are usually not that consistent throughout the years.

WussRedXLi

Wah lao eh, can you imagine, pung sai also need to hold in.

bonus

bbbbbw

Went to try this ceramic speed ufo wax. But chain and cassette dirty so paid 120 to do a partial service although bike bought in Apr 2025.

they washed the bike and tuned it. Then apply the ceramic wax. So next time no need degreaser or wet lube just apply the wax to the chain.

100ml bottle is $39 or they do for you $65. Every 700km apply the wax to the chain 😃

DigDub

Went to try this ceramic speed ufo wax. But chain and cassette dirty so paid 120 to do a partial service although bike bought in Apr 2025.

they washed the bike and tuned it. Then apply the ceramic wax. So next time no need degreaser or wet lube just apply the wax to the chain.

100ml bottle is $39 or they do for you $65. Every 700km apply the wax to the chain 😃
I'm using silca synergetic wet lube. Quite clean and last long.

WussRedXLi

Eh......not the first vid i came across regarding this. I am wondering if the same goes for cycling. (hence i always cap my rides to within 2:30, including breaks actually so moving time slightly less than that)

My thinking is that I'd rather cap it, recover as much as possible (sleep min 7 hrs and sometimes lunchtime naps if work schedule allows) , then next day do it again. For cycling is easier to recover also comparatively.

Talking abt sleep recovery, think better go prep liao and sleep asap. lol

winningeleven

Spell it out which shoes for what run. No excuse for only having one pair of shoes, need many pairs. LOL

Casual or recreational runner usually just want a proper running shoe that can do everything. Tell them u need specific pair for short and fast run/ long slow run. They said waste money 🤑. Actually I agree with it .

As a regular runner. I don't think we will limit ourself just to wear all running shoes from one brand only .

winningeleven

[url=https://ibb.co/Mx1kS5rc] link facebook to website html[/URL]

1st time running with my prime X2 Strung since it is having sale at discount price $209 after X3 released. Ran 7 km with light moderate effort

The shoe almost 300g and definitely suited for heavy runner
For a person who weight 55kg . I still go ahead and purchase it. 😂
All because I am curious about how it feels to run a shoe with 2 carbon plates

sph777

Wah lao eh, can you imagine, pung sai also need to hold in.

bonus

I think Ben got say before for the fast ones just let it go in the suit. Clean and wash after race

My colleague who is not as fast but can complete says they have portapotties along the course usually. Only the fast ones no time to use. He will definitely use the portapotty

sph777

Eh......not the first vid i came across regarding this. I am wondering if the same goes for cycling. (hence i always cap my rides to within 2:30, including breaks actually so moving time slightly less than that)

My thinking is that I'd rather cap it, recover as much as possible (sleep min 7 hrs and sometimes lunchtime naps if work schedule allows) , then next day do it again. For cycling is easier to recover also comparatively.

Talking abt sleep recovery, think better go prep liao and sleep asap. lol

honestly I also feel I may not want to take the challenge of sub 3 marathon. Maybe after this year stick to half marathons. My main goal this year is always still to lose weight. Lost 3 kg then put on back after holiday.

Kuudere

That's why you're the closest among us to hit sub 3. Zero90 is alr there. I think @Kuudere can also if he really trains for marathon.
I am hardly even satisfied with HM, how to go for marathon?! I am cramping up doing a HM. But there are races I want to try - 15km (there's a few of such races in Sg). I have never cramped up running a fast 15k. I also would like to try overseas races if I can work my way up to HM. Not in a rush to do it though, still 5/10k.
I can actually do it if I wanted to... job is not demanding, no OT, WFH 100% when in SG, very flexi work when in SG

But its quite a 'no career' role la...
My job was the exact same case last year. But contract didn't get renewed, found a new job that was 100% WIO, more people-facing. Long story short, I went from napping in the afternoon during work hours to napping after work. I need proper naps to function effectively for my runs.
Closer to home, Aaron Lee (aaroniseverything) trying to hit 4 flat for Z2.
His current like 4:20-4:30

UK Elite national level can do 3:45 thereabouts i think. After that drink beer. (y)
(see vid below)

Oh yeah, Jakob Ingrebrigsen 2.2 mmol/L blood lactate at ~ 2:30 min/km pace.

One "common" comment i see is "why some of those runners on PCNs or track run so fast one, big ego or what"..
If you ever meet say Aaroniseverything then you'd know why....... i have bumped across him several times at MBS/GBE liao but too fast coz opposite directions, cant say Hi. He mostly topless one so not difficult to spot.

If such fellas given 60 mins to learn racewalking and get the neuro locked in, i think in 1km they can walk faster than recreational joggers do intervals. (any longer of coz the muscles cannot lah coz got some slightly different muscles involved)

His Z2 probably be mid 4.3x, 4.20 is high Z2 for him. He is fast, but I would still say there are crazier people out there.

Ben Khoo > 3.57 min/km LT1
Vanessa > 4.17 min/km LT1
Shaun > 3.32 min/km LT1

And Vanessa is faster than Aaron last year based on a 10k race. But regardless, he is still a legend.
In case anyone is wondering, SRY's Houston marathon timing is over 5 mins faster than the gold-winning timing of the 2023 SEA Games
He is outright much faster than the 2nd fastest Singaporean marathon runner, also 5 minutes. Most likely, they send Ahmad Arif Ibrahim and Henry He Yong to represent.

Henry will be an interesting pick because he is in his early 40s and still doing well.
Very impossible for me. My work location is very inaccessible that there is no walking path or track unless I run on the road .

I guess only those who is self employed . Being a own boss can afford to put in a lot of time for it.

Most of the time. My weekly mileage is about 40km.
Same, my current work wants me to go work full time, study part time. Hard to find time if I get into part time studies next year.

WussRedXLi

I think Ben got say before for the fast ones just let it go in the suit. Clean and wash after race

My colleague who is not as fast but can complete says they have portapotties along the course usually. Only the fast ones no time to use. He will definitely use the portapotty

Yeah....just that quite kang kor to be releasing big biz in the one piece suit.

Personally i also hate using the porta loos at the aid stations, very ngeow one. Even now NDP (see fireworks / mobile column) got porta loos like at the Promonitory / SG River etc.......will still go to MBS/Fullerton hotel or go Funan Ctr do biz. Best is Fullerton Hotel. 🤣
Basically is i hate smelly/dirty toilets.

WussRedXLi

Ben Khoo > 3.57 min/km LT1
Vanessa > 4.17 min/km LT1
Shaun > 3.32 min/km LT1

And Vanessa is faster than Aaron last year based on a 10k race. But regardless, he is still a legend.

I do think he made big improvements from early last year till now. I think is due to his triathlon pursuit which recently past few months really ramped up with all the races. And very possibly still getting faster.

Oh coz folks like Shaun is also getting faster, Vanessa too. And Ben setting new record recently in June.

But one big diff is, Aaron is totally self funded / self "meddling" / self find out ie basically what you see from the youtube vids, no endorsements no ambassadorship etc. Not really different from all of us here in this thread.....just more siaolang level. 🤣

Tudo88

honestly I also feel I may not want to take the challenge of sub 3 marathon. Maybe after this year stick to half marathons. My main goal this year is always still to lose weight. Lost 3 kg then put on back after holiday.
Sub 90 HM goal

WussRedXLi

Just do shorter distances ba. Not say less of a challenge even for 3k 5k or heck even 800m/1500m....... but more of training hours easier to manage and fit into our SG work/lifestyle context.
Like i was posting / discussing with LWZ yesterday, career willing and location willing.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.