jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Maybe very heavy seated single calf raises might be the only/best option for strength training...but doing it at home needs a lot of weights. Bent leg standing version with any weights or bands in the hand, it loads the quads a lot as well, and might give up before the calves do if you really load it up.
That is why they place the weights at the top part of the knees. Or in your case weighted vest/backpacks, plus some bands or free weights in the hands. Still, will really load up the quads, so standing with knees bent at 45-90 deg really no joke, 20 deg probably more practical. But then, if you can tahan 45-90 deg, that means you have strong quads also even if it is isometric. (concentric contraction > isometric contraction > eccentric contraction )

Another good option is to go to gym machines but that requires gym membership.
End of the day, really need to load it up.

Really no easy solution. Can only and mainly rely on certain plyometrics - at least that part is scientifically proven to improve timings.
old liao and almost sedentary lifestyle between 25-45 have wasted all the foundation i have build up in my teenage years. won't expect too much on my quads.
initially thought with your advice can search for weight straps on thighs but apparently no such stuffs, only have weight straps on calfs, ankles and body vest. Only option is perhaps body vest which is less bulky than using a backpack filled with stuffs. Of cos, backpack option no need to spend money 😂

xllms

@xllms for you to answer lol

u can go panggu running at kallang wave mall to try slow jog inside the shop
my usual size is 40.5. For 3.0turbo, i have tried both 40 & 40.5, 40.5 without insole is most comfortable for me. Can add bmai's insole but it will be slightly tight, esp for my left feet. So i recommend to get usual size if don't add insole.
adding insole will make the shoe even bouncier and less stable. Am someone who prefers firmer yet responsive midsoles for stability.
Since its available at panggu running @ kallang wave mall, go try it before deciding.

xllms

Maybe very heavy seated single calf raises might be the only/best option for strength training...but doing it at home needs a lot of weights. Bent leg standing version with any weights or bands in the hand, it loads the quads a lot as well, and might give up before the calves do if you really load it up.
That is why they place the weights at the top part of the knees. Or in your case weighted vest/backpacks, plus some bands or free weights in the hands. Still, will really load up the quads, so standing with knees bent at 45-90 deg really no joke, 20 deg probably more practical. But then, if you can tahan 45-90 deg, that means you have strong quads also even if it is isometric. (concentric contraction > isometric contraction > eccentric contraction )

Another good option is to go to gym machines but that requires gym membership.
End of the day, really need to load it up.

Really no easy solution. Can only and mainly rely on certain plyometrics - at least that part is scientifically proven to improve timings.
wish i had all these guidance/advices when i was in sec sch. pretty sure i would have gone under 11.5s for 100m & below 55s in 400m with all these training.

WussRedXLi

old liao and almost sedentary lifestyle between 25-45 have wasted all the foundation i have build up in my teenage years. won't expect too much on my quads.
initially thought with your advice can search for weight straps on thighs but apparently no such stuffs, only have weight straps on calfs, ankles and body vest. Only option is perhaps body vest which is less bulky than using a backpack filled with stuffs. Of cos, backpack option no need to spend money 😂

Yes, 2023 and prior......I also no strength and conditioning. Also neglected things. I was already racewalking since covid 2020 and then ran in late 2022, but the upper body really skinny like bamboo. My relatives all shocked at my physique, yes performance wise i pretty decent, but they scared i have "internal problems". 🤣 I was like 173cm and as light as 55-56 kg range then.

But if done consistently, 1-2 years period can already see very good gains if done consistently.....no need for off seasons at our level if you can help it. But my feel is that it it needs to be very slowly progressed up at our ages. No need to have off seasons but need to have that "enjoy it" mindset.
Now i am around 68kg. My running times like not radically different also. :unsure: (in fact my 3k timings got decent improvements but it might be due to specific shorter distance trainings rather than 2023 and prior in which i focussed more towards 10k region).

Backpack + weights or bands on the band is fine, provided your back muscles are sufficiently strong. If not also risky. Really need to be careful and slowly progress up (can also use lower reps like 1-2 and mix with unweighted, before slowly adding up).

Just anyhow quick google, found one specific to strength. 3.62% improvement to 5k TT. Also done on subjects not much different to most of us. That is around 60 seconds for a 27 min. Not as much as the 2 plus minutes for plyo jump squat/drop jumps, not sure if these 2 can be added and we just call it 3 mins possible.
A higher % would come from higher mileages, structured training via running of coz, but i think no real harm real S&C if you have plateaued already due to whatever reasons. Like for me, i cannot run long distance one, so if you tell me 2 to 3hr runs, i cannot do. But i can long distance cycle, so better than nothing even tho less specificity. Adding in strength and conditioning no brainer for both running + cycling, which both needs.

Main note : test subjects ascertained 1RM first, then trained 4-8 reps with 80% of 1RM. But i think for us no need to know 1RM, just hoot 8 reps till close to failure (1 to 2 reps before failure) can liao. Doing 50-100 reps is probably not the way to train, but still once in a blue moon is a fun way to play around lah, eg 100 push ups.
You can do to failure as well, or even drop sets ie fail liao then regress weight/resistance and hoot again till you fail again, but those quite advanced and needs to be able to tahan suffering.

ps note. 6 weeks only....nothing fancy. The plyo study i posted earlier was 8 weeks.
https://www.researchgate.net/public...ic_Running_Distance_and_5-km_Race_Performance

xllms

Yes, 2023 and prior......I also no strength and conditioning. Also neglected things. I was already walking since covid 2020 and then ran in 2023, but the upper body really skinny like bamboo. My relatives all shocked at my physique, yes performance wise i pretty decent, but they scared i have "internal problems". 🤣 I was like 173cm and as light as 55-56 kg range then.

But if done consistently, 1-2 years period can already see very good gains if done consistently.....no need for off seasons at our level if you can help it. But my feel is that it it needs to be very slowly progressed up at our ages. No need to have off seasons but need to have that "enjoy it" mindset.
Now i am around 68kg. My running times like not radically different also. :unsure: (in fact my 3k timings got decent improvements but it might be due to specific shorter distance trainings rather than 2023 and prior in which i focussed more towards 10k region).

Backpack + weights or bands on the band is fine, provided your back muscles are sufficiently strong. If not also risky. Really need to be careful and slowly progress up (can also use lower reps like 1-2 and mix with unweighted, before slowly adding up).

Just anyhow quick google, found one specific to strength. 3.62% improvement to 5k TT. Also done on subjects not much different to most of us. That is around 60 seconds for a 27 min. Not as much as the 2 plus minutes for plyo jump squat/drop jumps, not sure if these 2 can be added and we just call it 3 mins possible.
A higher % would come from higher mileages, structured training via running of coz, but i think no real harm real S&C if you have plateaued already due to whatever reasons. Like for me, i cannot run long distance one, so if you tell me 2 to 3hr runs, i cannot do. But i can long distance cycle, so better than nothing even tho less specificity. Adding in strength and conditioning no brainer for both running + cycling, which both needs.

Main note : test subjects ascertained 1RM first, then trained 4-8 reps with 80% of 1RM. But i think for us no need to know 1RM, just hoot 8 reps till close to failure (1 to 2 reps before failure) can liao. Doing 50-100 reps is probably not the way to train, but still once in a blue moon is a fun way to play around lah, eg 100 push ups.
You can do to failure as well, or even drop sets ie fail liao then regress weight/resistance and hoot again till you fail again, but those quite advanced and needs to be able to tahan suffering.

ps note. 6 weeks only....nothing fancy. The plyo study i posted earlier was 8 weeks.
https://www.researchgate.net/public...ic_Running_Distance_and_5-km_Race_Performance
thanks for sharing. you are a good role model to keep me going and don't slack 😜

besides all these training and conditioning, i also need to loose weight... 171cm @ 73-76kg now. Need to cut down to approx. 65-68kg, less burden on my legs

WussRedXLi

thanks for sharing. you are a good role model to keep me going and don't slack 😜

besides all these training and conditioning, i also need to loose weight... 171cm @ 73-76kg now. Need to cut down to approx. 65-68kg, less burden on my legs

Not role model lah...... i just treat as hobby and it becomes more and more enjoyable, and right now is cycling as hobby but running helps cycling so definitely gotta do some workouts as well.

Lose weight ah.....i remember then in 2022 and 23, i was cutting out quite a fair bit of carbs, my cai png all less rice one, and i was drinking pokka green tea as beverages, literally no sugar. That got me real thin and probably affected the quality of the workouts as well coz probably insufficient glycogen etc, but then again i wasnt running high mileages per session. Now i know better but anyway for cycling you cannot do that, sure bonk until gaolat.

xllms

Not role model lah...... i just treat as hobby and it becomes more and more enjoyable, and right now is cycling as hobby but running helps cycling so definitely gotta do some workouts as well.

Lose weight ah.....i remember then in 2022 and 23, i was cutting out quite a fair bit of carbs and i was drinking pokka green tea as beverages, literally no sugar. That got me real thin. Now i know better.
lol my beverage nowadays is 100% natural coconut water. And i cannot quit carbo (one day only one meal with carbo, usually lunch) cos if i don't eat carbo, i will feel less energy when i run. vicious cycle.
lowest recorded weight was ard 70.5kg, when my monthly mileage was high, near 200km.

kkkkdllmkkkk

lol my beverage nowadays is 100% natural coconut water. And i cannot quit carbo (one day only one meal with carbo, usually lunch) cos if i don't eat carbo, i will feel less energy when i run. vicious cycle.
lowest recorded weight was ard 70.5kg, when my monthly mileage was high, near 200km.
u drink what brand for coconut water???

if i drink too much, i will lao sai leh...

Shawny88

乔丹强风3TR
必迈远征者
匹克千层浪
安踏旅步2(PG7)
李宁赤兔8pro
特步2000公里v3
above are some for your consideration
Anyone is using 特步2000公里v3?
Any feedback or review for short distance (5km) jogging?

WussRedXLi

Now then i know this is standing psoas march. 🤣 Seems like i had been doing a bit wrong over the past 2 years tho..... need to lean a bit forward and keep abs/core engaged

This one together with the TFL one is another must do for cyclists and runners esp for office workers with low daily steps count.

WussRedXLi

am in China, whatever i drink you probably won't find it in SG.
可可满分椰子水
百分百新鲜椰子汁鲜榨饮料
https://e.tb.cn/h.huIzcOYB6cq7LWl?tk=RDMI4P2aXvI

if drink coconut water will laosai, maybe coconut water not suitable for you.

Last time whenever i visit the wife's indon hometown, 1 medium size coconut (actually quite large relative to what we see here) of around 800-900ml water + meat is 5000 rp nia. That time around S$0.80. Sometimes can get over 1000ml if you can get the large ones.
Now also around 80 cents ba. 12500rp = 1 SGD.

Batam much more expensive. Around $2. I drank like 2-3 times the past weekend, in addition to Kopi Kenangan and Fore kopi. Fav is Kopi Kenangan Mantan and Fore coffee Butterscotch sea salt, the former one SG does not have. I also like Kopi Kenangan's Caramel Machiatto.

SG, forget it, smal small one already like $4-5....maybe around 500ml nia. That means like $8 - 10

WussRedXLi

65cm quads + hamstrings, some quite pretty

A1t7AHJ.jpg

ocbQMHk.jpg

JkQwulh.jpg

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.