jogging and motivation thread

xllms

Posted this like 3 days ago.

It's really a good idea to hit the pace @ novice level for your 5k for your age group in a TT.
Heck if 5k too long, 3k also can. This has a somewhat decent relationship to your VO2max esp for 2.4k to 3k distances.
That means if you are age 40, best that you can maintain 5:30 pace for at least 3k, if not 5k. Not talking about zone 2 here, you trial it as a TT.

You do it by base training or intervals even up to sprints, up to you.....see what fits your schedule.

alcEipx.jpg
am now most of my runs at paces between beginner to novice. Slower when i do 10km, eg. today 10km @ approx 6:50min/km av. Very comfortable pace with abit of strain at the end but feels good after the run, thanks to the cool wind this morning.

xllms

I heard this from docs before. Physical activity / exercise and good diet might not prevent you from ultimately getting a heart attack or other cardiac issues. No, coz there is genetics factor.
But they might be preventing you from actually dying from all these cardiac events should you kena one. Coz there is also this epigenetics factor. Even due to environment (job, stresses due to family/marital), air pollution etc....chronically elevated inflammation and cortisol levels.

Some pax just blame it on genetics and believe it is the be-all and end-all.... Just an excuse to blame it on.
yah, once heard from my BiL that his JC friend passed away in his sleep after working through the night rushing to complete work deadline in office with his team. Left office in the morning and returned home, took a shower, slept and never wake up again. He was an active sports person, playing tennis, swimming and running regularly. He was in his mid to late 40s then.

sales69

Posted this like 3 days ago.

It's really a good idea to hit the pace @ novice level for your 5k for your age group in a TT.
Heck if 5k too long, 3k also can. This has a somewhat decent relationship to your VO2max esp for 2.4k to 3k distances.
That means if you are age 40, best that you can maintain 5:30 pace for at least 3k, if not 5k. Not talking about zone 2 here, you trial it as a TT.

You do it by base training or intervals even up to sprints, up to you.....see what fits your schedule.

alcEipx.jpg
Yay I'm between Novice and Intermediate.

But must use breathe with mouth all the way. Use nose can only tahan 1km.

Do you guys use mouth or nose for breathing when doing fast, longer runs?

DigDub

Fit don't mean healthy. I see my friends their heart rate super high when doing not so siong exercise. I also scared for them.

xllms

There was a period (during autumn/winter period) i did all my 10km runs purely using nose in and out, but need to control pace to a comfortable level. Can't do so in summer conditions, especially this summer, which is brutal.

WussRedXLi

am now most of my runs at paces between beginner to novice. Slower when i do 10km, eg. today 10km @ approx 6:50min/km av. Very comfortable pace with abit of strain at the end but feels good after the run, thanks to the cool wind this morning.

You shd be able to hit at least novice level during TTs, no problem at all one.

yah, once heard from my BiL that his JC friend passed away in his sleep after working through the night rushing to complete work deadline in office with his team. Left office in the morning and returned home, took a shower, slept and never wake up again. He was an active sports person, playing tennis, swimming and running regularly. He was in his mid to late 40s then.

Too much stress too much cortisol esp over long term really no good.

In fact for my wife, her really good rheumatoid arthritis specialist also regularly (like 4-5 times a year) monitors her hs-CRP high sensitivity c-reative protein and ESR / erythrocyte sedimentation rate for inflammation. In fact recently also D-dimer, also something to do with systemic inflammation and coagulation. And even platelet count, which is already standard in the FBC.

Quite often all this triggers cardiac issues esp those in the higher risk group. He said people often think is just "风湿“ but esp if not managed properly and already got cardiac risks, people screw up not coz of the primary condition but due to cascaded effects.

Ender

seriously heart attack can happen to anyone, fit or unfit ppl. do what we can to minimise the risk and the rest 听天由命

Yep, can also happen during races one even to sub 3 full marathoners. Hence one good way is to screen at least once, esp before embarking on any sport. Even the $400 entry level TMX stress test + $170 plus body checkup blood tests better than nothing (though it would not detect blockages directly, but indirectly still can paint you a decent overall pic). Calcium scoring also not too expensive i think.
Not sure if pushing hard further increases the risk shd there be already a cardiac situation, i believe there shd be at least a small increase in risk, if not perhaps moderate increase even.
Actually the best thing for us is to continue to do what we do even if the scan shows blockages or plaque built up. i.e continue to exercise the level we do.
Runners with plaques are known to have the stable type, I.e. calcified type that doesn't rupture easily as opposed to soft type which sedentary people tends to have.
Besides exercise stimulate arteries adaptation too. Our arteries are less stiff, larger and more bypass vessels. Hence that's why we still can improve our fitness despite of the partial blockage. And do not have the symptoms that sedentary have with extreme blockage.
In fact calcifies plaques in endurance runners are not that uncommon. Kinda of paradox. It was so prevalent in the that in the past there was a cardiologist came out in Ted talk and warned us about endurance running. But latest studies all shows endurance runners has alot lower rate heart related mortality than sedentary and the we understand better now why is it so. That said, runner will fail some of the "test' for heart, especially the calc score and the ECG part. Even echo scan will show enlarged heart. But a good cardiologist will know the difference, whether it's benign or not.

WussRedXLi

Fit don't mean healthy. I see my friends their heart rate super high when doing not so siong exercise. I also scared for them.

Think got this other thing that one can also check and take note, HRV - heart rate variability.
You dont want a very stable beat actually........ runs contrary to common sense but it is best to have a not so regular heart beat.

WussRedXLi

Actually the best thing for us is to continue to do what we do even if the scan shows blockages or plaque built up. i.e continue to exercise the level we do.
Runners with plaques are known to have the stable type, I.e. calcified type that doesn't rupture easily as opposed to soft type which sedentary people tends to have.
Besides exercise stimulate arteries adaptation too. Our arteries are less stiff, larger and more bypass vessels. Hence that's why we still can improve our fitness despite of the partial blockage. And do not have the symptoms that sedentary have with extreme blockage.
In fact calcifies plaques in endurance runners are not that uncommon. Kinda of paradox. It was so prevalent in the that in the past there was a cardiologist came out in Ted talk and warned us about endurance running. But latest studies all shows endurance runners has alot lower rate heart related mortality than sedentary and the we understand better now why is it so. That said, runner will fail some of the "test' for heart, especially the calc score and the ECG part. Even echo scan will show enlarged heart. But a good cardiologist will know the difference, whether it's benign or not.

Thing is, he just stopped after a year or so. Not disciplined, not consistent......i think not uncommon to many exercisers out there also. The priority aspect.

For most of us here, priority is there, hence much easier to stay consistent unless due to some very extreme event that comes along. Even for job, i think we also wont wanna miss for > 1 month.

I went batam 2X past 2 months for recreational together with my wife i also brought my minibands along + do some short distance jogging there (i jogged in my cheap li-ning rmb 45 quick dry t-shirt and pajamas shorts actually lol)

sales69

There was a period (during autumn/winter period) i did all my 10km runs purely using nose in and out, but need to control pace to a comfortable level. Can't do so in summer conditions, especially this summer, which is brutal.
Ya heat fatigue plays a part.

For me, slow runs is nose all the way but it's heavy and loud breathe in/out.

Only learnt using nose when started doing slow zone 2 in 2023.

Last time is anyhow chiong using mouth breathing. 😄

WussRedXLi

Think got this other thing that one can also check and take note, HRV - heart rate variability.
You dont want a very stable beat actually........ runs contrary to common sense but it is best to have a not so regular heart beat.

Maybe i shd go turn it on liao. Coz i disabled continuous HR monitoring. heh......

How zhun is this metric due to limitations of the sensor (albeit the GT Runner's sensor is not too shabby, just wee bit below Apple's top range), i really dont know.

Yes, the HUAWEI WATCH GT Runner can provide Heart Rate Variability (HRV) data, but it's often through the automatic stress monitoring feature that measures HRV during rest periods, so ensure this is enabled in the Huawei Health app under the device's Health Monitoring settings. While the watch has many health monitoring functions, HRV is typically for assessing stress and recovery rather than during active workouts.

WussRedXLi

More than good enough bro.

Actually nose or mouth, seriously i dont really care, just let the brain take care of it.

Some believes and wants nose breathing, slight parasympathetic nervous system response, wee bit slower HR.
For me i heck care coz i think the difference is really small....at least for me. For others maybe they might find a difference.

sales69

More than good enough bro.

Actually nose or mouth, seriously i dont really care, just let the brain take care of it.

Some believes and wants nose breathing, slight parasympathetic nervous system response, wee bit slower HR.
For me i heck care coz i think the difference is really small....at least for me. For others maybe they might find a difference.
I find that if I use mouth too often, will tend to "forget" how to use nose, even for slower runs.

So got to strike a balance.

But recently doing more faster runs. Heck care just use mouth. Not like I have a choice. It's a necessity. 😄

Still trying to go under 25 mins for 5k.

Ender

Maybe i shd go turn it on liao. Coz i disabled continuous HR monitoring. heh......

How zhun is this metric due to limitations of the sensor (albeit the GT Runner's sensor is not too shabby, just wee bit below Apple's top range), i really dont know.

Yes, the HUAWEI WATCH GT Runner can provide Heart Rate Variability (HRV) data, but it's often through the automatic stress monitoring feature that measures HRV during rest periods, so ensure this is enabled in the Huawei Health app under the device's Health Monitoring settings. While the watch has many health monitoring functions, HRV is typically for assessing stress and recovery rather than during active workouts.
Very ley chey to do HRV. first is consistency for data to be valid. Collect like two weeks of morning data to start monitoring trend. Did it last time, every morning open 3 minutes measure HRV, until one day i find the advice don't match how I felt, especially when I was on a training plan. Days I felt fatigue, the advice say do as plan. Days I felt good it says, limit my training due to low HRV.

Ender

This HRv and steady state HR of zone 2 very different thing. HR at rest can be steady state, but still have variability. i.e rest at 45 BPM steady, but is not actually fixed at 45, there some variability especially for a rested body.

Run steady state is keepy the HR steady, around say 130 plus minus with a ceiling not crossing say maybe 132 bpm. And trained endurance runner can keep it steady for hours, even 3 or 4 hours steady with good cooling and hydration.

WussRedXLi

Very ley chey to do HRV. first is consistency for data to be valid. Collect like two weeks of morning data to start monitoring trend. Did it last time, every morning open 3 minutes measure HRV, until one day i find the advice don't match how I felt, especially when I was on a training plan. Days I felt fatigue, the advice say do as plan. Days I felt good it says, limit my training due to low HRV.

Wow......seems like not very zhun, possibly due to practical limitations in daily life movements etc, or maybe sensor not capable to register the nuances accurately though the theory for HRV and sensor measurement is sound. That's what i am afraid of. Seems like need to use lab stuff.

xllms

yah, have yearly medical check up. when encounter issues, see a doctor.

i didn't share with you guys here. Last early september i had an episode when i went to the toilet while trying to sit down, felt a rush of blood up/down my brain at the rear of my head and then felt dizzy for a few mins. Went to see a doctor and cardiologist, did some tests (incl. running on threadmills , ECG, etc) and made me measure HR twice daily (morning and evening) and record into the medical app whereby the doctors can monitor the data. HR was on the high side until earlier this year, which has since stabilized.

now also don't dare not to have insufficient sleep, cos similar area at the rear part of my lower head will have subtle pain/discomfort.

xllms

I find that if I use mouth too often, will tend to "forget" how to use nose, even for slower runs.

So got to strike a balance.

But recently doing more faster runs. Heck care just use mouth. Not like I have a choice. It's a necessity. 😄

Still trying to go under 25 mins for 5k.
yes, needs to do it slowly and work on it consistently.

sph777

yah, have yearly medical check up. when encounter issues, see a doctor.

i didn't share with you guys here. Last early september i had an episode when i went to the toilet while trying to sit down, felt a rush of blood up/down my brain at the rear of my head and then felt dizzy for a few mins. Went to see a doctor and cardiologist, did some tests (incl. running on threadmills , ECG, etc) and made me measure HR twice daily (morning and evening) and record into the medical app whereby the doctors can monitor the data. HR was on the high side until earlier this year, which has since stabilized.

now also don't dare not to have insufficient sleep, cos similar area at the rear part of my lower head will have subtle pain/discomfort.
Hopefully everything settled and no long term problems.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.