jogging and motivation thread

Ender

Share my experience with TrainAsOne Adaptive Artificial Intelligence coach for this SCSM 2023. This programme started with some basic test, like 6min, 3.2km and Perceived Effort test to get a baseline of your current fitness before the actual training begins. What is critical is the perceived effort run, which I found out it has to be your typical easy days zone 2 run. Coz your future planned workout with majority known as economical runs are based on this perceived effort run test. Run the test too fast might result in the AI giving out a pace that is too fast for your Economical Runs. I suffered an overtrained situation in a 2019 SCSM when I first tried out TrainAsONe because of this. This 2023 SCSM is my 2nd time using it, but I am careful with the Perceived effort test.

One main point that TrainAsOne differ from traditional training plans, (JAck Daniel, Hansen, Pfitzinger, HAL, etc) is it doesn't prescribe the peaking long runs of 32km or more. My programme, max was a one time 26++km .. Instead it gives many back to back shorter runs, from 10km to 24km. With a couple of them focus on Progresssion and Pickup runs. These are runs, that throws in Marathon Pace (MP) and faster than MP within the workout. It can be quite intense, and my quads got injured two months prior. The AI was able to adapt to my injury, and gives out less intense workout which I felt undertrained just before the race. I was able to run continuously thoughout the race. The only point I walked was the upslope of Sheares bridge. No cramps after 30km, which I experienced for the 2022 SCSM even though I was using the Pfitzinger's Intermediate plan which includes a few >30km long runs with one even peaked at 35km.

And the AI did a spot on prediction of my race timing considering my unrecovered injuries and lack of speed session.

At least for me, it seems the TrainAsone's philosophy of not dishing out >30km runs suits me better than traditional training plans. TrainAsOne is not 80/20. even though alot of runs are at Economical pace, but a bulk of the effort was at MP, which are in the so called forbidden gray zones of the 80/20 concept.

A short write up below on TrainASone, reasoning why no >20miles run.

https://trainasone.com/ufaq/my-marathon-training-plan-does-not-include-20-mile-plus-runs-why/

VonDeVous

Share my experience with TrainAsOne Adaptive Artificial Intelligence coach for this SCSM 2023. This programme started with some basic test, like 6min, 3.2km and Perceived Effort test to get a baseline of your current fitness before the actual training begins. What is critical is the perceived effort run, which I found out it has to be your typical easy days zone 2 run. Coz your future planned workout with majority known as economical runs are based on this perceived effort run test. Run the test too fast might result in the AI giving out a pace that is too fast for your Economical Runs. I suffered an overtrained situation in a 2019 SCSM when I first tried out TrainAsONe because of this. This 2023 SCSM is my 2nd time using it, but I am careful with the Perceived effort test.

One main point that TrainAsOne differ from traditional training plans, (JAck Daniel, Hansen, Pfitzinger, HAL, etc) is it doesn't prescribe the peaking long runs of 32km or more. My programme, max was a one time 26++km .. Instead it gives many back to back shorter runs, from 10km to 24km. With a couple of them focus on Progresssion and Pickup runs. These are runs, that throws in Marathon Pace (MP) and faster than MP within the workout. It can be quite intense, and my quads got injured two months prior. The AI was able to adapt to my injury, and gives out less intense workout which I felt undertrained just before the race. I was able to run continuously thoughout the race. The only point I walked was the upslope of Sheares bridge. No cramps after 30km, which I experienced for the 2022 SCSM even though I was using the Pfitzinger's Intermediate plan which includes a few >30km long runs with one even peaked at 35km.

And the AI did a spot on prediction of my race timing considering my unrecovered injuries and lack of speed session.

At least for me, it seems the TrainAsone's philosophy of not dishing out >30km runs suits me better than traditional training plans. TrainAsOne is not 80/20. even though alot of runs are at Economical pace, but a bulk of the effort was at MP, which are in the so called forbidden gray zones of the 80/20 concept.

A short write up below on TrainASone, reasoning why no >20miles run.

https://trainasone.com/ufaq/my-marathon-training-plan-does-not-include-20-mile-plus-runs-why/
oic, no wonder this year u didnt talk about "by now, your training should peak at xx Km millege per week" :o
and didnt see u do as many long runs as before le. :o

WussRedXLi

Cool morning........ did a tempo then mainly zone 4 10K. Pretty hard effort, just stayed shy of redline.
Wah lao, maybe better stick to 5K better if aiming for hard efforts and timing, over sooner.

Able to grasp better pacing this time round so could get a best time.
Felt good @ 160s, the lactate burn was crazy at the end though.
Same, is just GPS type accuracy but good enough for me.

Interesting thnig is that i never specifically trained, but i did cycle (and also climbed, mainly @ Sentosa) quite a fair bit, then the usual strength/resistance training and a bit of plyo continued of course.

I think if don't aim for it, let it come naturally dont rush anything, might be better and then get improvements / PB . So not set up for any disappointments since no expectations.

hpsJTP2.jpg

WussRedXLi

Actually other than 5K, there is also a 3K PB that we all can shoot for. Much more accessible....i believe much less (relative) injury risk also.

zeroX26

Cool morning........ did a tempo then mainly zone 4 10K. Pretty hard effort, just stayed shy of redline.
Wah lao, maybe better stick to 5K better if aiming for hard efforts and timing, over sooner.

Interesting thnig is that i never specifically trained, but i did cycle (and also climbed, mainly @ Sentosa) quite a fair bit, then the usual strength/resistance training and a bit of plyo continued of course.

I think if don't aim for it, let it come naturally dont rush anything, might be better and then get improvements / PB . So not set up for any disappointments since no expectations.

hpsJTP2.jpg
Swee lah, last 2km can still surge in pace.

sph777

hpsJTP2.jpg
Great timing as always

Ender

hpsJTP2.jpg
Really, consider running as your main sport. Talent is there.

WussRedXLi

Swee lah, last 2km can still surge in pace.

If i rem correctly I think more like last 1.5k, slow increase in pace/effort since i saw 160+ so i think still have left a bit of gas in the tank and decided to up effort abit, but i also know 170+ range is pretty uncomfortable so gotta be mentally prepped.

WussRedXLi

IMG-9513.jpg
Confinement nanny came so I finally have time for a run. Really tough to find energy but wasn’t bad for a first run out in 5 days.

The lack of sleep is mainly the problem if i remember correctly, i think for the first year or even 1.5 to 2nd year gotta just maintain general fitness can liao.
But i think since there is so much more stress, best not to totally eliminate exercise and cite lack of time, coz i think it really helps you manage and face the pressures in both work and these new family commitments.
Jiayou (y)

WussRedXLi

Really, consider running as your main sport. Talent is there.

Heh....still slowing playing around and figuring how to best balance both cycling and running out. Now i think my right leg the ligament just below the tiablis anterior a bit sore (left ok tho...wierd), but i guess is to be expected since running mileage/intensity not that high. Think need to dial back a little for running in intensity and mileage and slowly ramp it up again....maybe play around with 3K and 5K range first.....like the beginning of this year.
Or maybe revisit racewalking again, i find it quite ok too, rather long time never do that alrdy....so can do all 3 and mix it up, all 3 are cardio and hit different parts of the body, hope spreads the stresses out and hopefully same goes for any niggles or injury risk.

But i think any further improvement probably will really take a much longer period of time liao esp without any specificity....but then again i believe the good thing is also this, no need for any "off-season", it's quite sustainable for me as long as it's enjoyable. But need to buy buy buy. :ROFLMAO: ok la, for "health"

sph777

The lack of sleep is mainly the problem if i remember correctly, i think for the first year or even 1.5 to 2nd year gotta just maintain general fitness can liao.
But i think since there is so much more stress, best not to totally eliminate exercise and cite lack of time, coz i think it really helps you manage and face the pressures in both work and these new family commitments.
Jiayou (y)
Agreed, if can find time then just squeeze in some exercises. Thanks!

zeroX26

Heh....still slowing playing around and figuring how to best balance both cycling and running out. Now i think my right leg the ligament just below the tiablis anterior a bit sore (left ok tho...wierd), but i guess is to be expected since running mileage/intensity not that high. Think need to dial back a little for running in intensity and mileage and slowly ramp it up again....maybe play around with 3K and 5K range first.....like the beginning of this year.
Or maybe revisit racewalking again, i find it quite ok too, rather long time never do that alrdy....so can do all 3 and mix it up, all 3 are cardio and hit different parts of the body, hope spreads the stresses out and hopefully same goes for any niggles or injury risk.

But i think any further improvement probably will really take a much longer period of time liao esp without any specificity....but then again i believe the good thing is also this, no need for any "off-season", it's quite sustainable for me as long as it's enjoyable. But need to buy buy buy. :ROFLMAO: ok la, for "health"
Try taking part in duathlons lah. I think you will enjoy it. The running portion is usually done at LT2 pace (Z4).

WussRedXLi

Try taking part in duathlons lah. I think you will enjoy it. The running portion is usually done at LT2 pace (Z4).

Those specific road bikes damn expensive, a bit too much for me as of now, not so siao on type haha. So even in 2024, probably forsee that not to be an interest for me. Another thing is also not much space to store those bikes, not even outside at the common corridor. Coz need to store the foldies, mainstay.

I'm actually already trying not to spend too much coz by right i should have started some retirement savings. 🤣

zeroX26

Those specific road bikes damn expensive, a bit too much for me as of now, not so siao on type haha. So even in 2024, probably forsee that not to be an interest for me. Another thing is also not much space to store those bikes.

I'm actually already trying not to spend too much coz by right i should have started some retirement savings. 🤣
There's no rule in duathlons that you need to have expensive road bikes to take part. In fact, for most just dipping their toes into this sport, its not uncommon to see them using normal bikes. Honestly, good equipment is just the icing on the cake; you still need a cake (a good physiology through training) to start with. That's how I like to explain to my workshop audience last time why splurging on all these expensive equipment and gadgets won't make you a better athlete unless you have the training to start with first.

WussRedXLi

There's no rule in duathlons that you need to have expensive road bikes to take part. In fact, for most just dipping their toes into this sport, its not uncommon to see them using normal bikes. Honestly, good equipment is just the icing on the cake; you still need a cake (a good physiology through training) to start with. That's how I like to explain to my workshop audience last time why splurging on all these expensive equipment and gadgets won't make you a better athlete unless you have the training to start with first.

What's the usual local cut off timings for dualthlons? Say PTO Asian is a 4.5k + 32k + 4.5k. I could not find the info...... The run i shd be alright, it's the bike part.

Since it's just for fun and totally non competitive, maybe i'll just join for fun in a foldie or something...... 🤣
(I totally cannot accept road cycling risks for various reasons, even if i get a bike from carousell, i'll still stick to PCNs)

I know what you are saying.....after all some folks race marathons in slippers / suits / jap wooden clogs or push prams. We have our tyre and hoola hoop ladies as well.

This forum is moderated by volunteer moderators who will react only to members' feedback on posts. Moderators are not employees or representatives of HWZ Forums. Forum members and moderators are responsible for their own posts. Please refer to our Community Guidelines and Standards and Terms and Conditions for more information.